
 
 BULLETIN NO. 209 (REV.) 

 Dec. 2, 2016 
 
TO: Self-insured employers and self-insured employer groups 

 

SUBJECT: Report of losses instructions and guidelines 

 

EFFECTIVE: Jan. 1, 2017 

 
This bulletin explains reporting requirements under Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) 436-050-

0175(3), which requires all self-insured employers to submit claims loss data to the department for 

calculation of annual experience rating modifications, security deposits, and retrospective rating plan 

adjustments. This bulletin replaces Bulletin 209 issued Dec. 2, 2015. 

 

Revisions include: 

 

 Updates to reflect changes to OAR 436-050, effective Jan. 1, 2017. 

 Increasing the self-insured employers’ reporting threshold for individual claims from $16,000 

to $16,500 to be used with Form 2809, “Self-insured Employer Report of Losses Experience 

Rating Period,” established by the National Council on Compensation Insurance (NCCI) split 

point for Oregon, effective Jan. 1, 2017. 

 Adding Appendix 1: Certification.  

 Renaming Figure 1 to Appendix 2: Report of Losses Reporting Guidelines.  

 Replacing Section VI with Appendix 3: Factors to Consider When Estimating Outstanding 

Reserves. 

  Updating Appendix 4: Period Life Table to reflect the 2013 Social Security Administration 

Actuarial Life Table. 

 Removal of language that each year the division will notify Self-Insured Employer and 

Employer Groups of the reporting periods by letter. The division will no longer send these 

letters or provide extensions for submission. The self-insured employer is responsible for 

submission of accurate reports and may use its service company, if applicable, for assistance in 

accurate and timely reporting of data. 

 

I. DEFINITIONS 

 

A. “Open claim” means a claim for which the employer expects future indemnity or medical 

payments or there is current litigation. 

 

B. “Closed claim” means a claim for which the employer expects no future indemnity or medical 

payment or litigation. 

 

C. “Contract medical” means the costs of employer-furnished first aid and medical facilities, 

including personnel or retainer fees for nurses and physicians that are not allocated to individual 

claims. Report the same contract medical amount for the succeeding experience rating years. 
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D. “Total paid” means indemnity paid plus medical paid. This is the net amount paid after accounting 

for any recovery or reimbursed amounts. 

 

E. “Medical reimbursement” An employer may choose to reimburse for medical services on accepted 

non-disabling claims up to certain amount.  Reimbursements are restricted to the total medical 

costs on the claim, and may not exceed the maximum amount. Refer to Bulletin 345, OAR 436-

060-0055(7), and ORS 656.262(5) for additional detail. This provision may not be applied 

retroactively.   
 

F. “Net losses” means the amount the self-insured employer incurs after receiving any recovery 

allowed by law or reimbursement from the Workers’ Benefit Fund (WBF) program.  

 

G. “Outstanding reserves” means estimated future payments for the life of the worker and any eligible 

beneficiaries.  

 

H. “Recoveries” means monies recovered through subrogation. See Appendix 2. 

 

I. “Reimbursements” means monies received from WBF programs. See Appendix 2. 

 

J. “Total incurred losses” means paid losses minus the medical reimbursement amount on accepted 

non-disabling claims, where applicable, plus outstanding reserves. Total incurred losses must be 

reduced by any monies recovered through subrogation or from the WBF program. Round to the 

nearest dollar. Submissions should not include negative values. See Appendix 2, Report of 

Losses Reporting Guidelines on page seven of this bulletin. 
 

II. HOW TO REPORT LOSSES 

 

Submit report of losses information on Forms 2809 and 2810, or in a format consistent with these forms. 

Service companies are expected to coordinate with the self-insured employer to reconcile data for claims, 

financial records, and excess information prior to final submission to the division. Provide loss figures for 

total paid, outstanding reserves and total incurred losses. Loss figures should reflect net losses only. For 

specific information on reportable losses, see Part IV of the National Council on Compensation Insurance 

(NCCI) Workers' Compensation Statistical Plan. You can request copies through NCCI Products and Services 

by calling 800-622-4123 or online at http://www.ncci.com. 

Submit report of losses to the Performance Section, Registration and Reimbursement Unit, by March 1. 

Under OAR 436-050-0175(5), if a self-insured employer does not comply with reporting requirements, the 

director may: impose an increase to the self-insured’s security deposit and premium assessments by 25 

percent, conduct an audit to obtain the necessary loss information at the self-insured employer’s expense, 

assess civil penalties, or revoke the employer’s self-insurance certification.  

 

The “Report of Losses” may be submitted through the Workers’ Compensation Division’s Web portal, 

located at https://www4.cbs.state.or.us/exs/wcd/portal/. Instructions for using the portal can be found in 

the right hand corner of the portal webpage.  

 

 

http://wcd.oregon.gov/forms/Pages/forms.aspx
http://www.ncci.com/
https://www4.cbs.state.or.us/exs/wcd/portal/
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III. EXPERIENCE RATING PERIOD 

 

The normal experience rating period consists of losses from the last three completed fiscal years (July 1
st
 

through June 30
th
). Report the claims for each fiscal year on a separate Form 2809, “Self-Insured Employer 

Report of Losses Experience Rating Period.” The self-insured employers’ reporting threshold for individual 

claims will match the NCCI split for Oregon beginning Jan. 1, 2017.  

 

Report of Losses-Period Covered for 2017: 

  Valuation Period 1 07/01/15 through 06/30/16 

  Valuation Period 2  07/01/14 through 06/30/15 

  Valuation Period 3  07/01/13 through 06/30/14 

 

IV.        NON-EXPERIENCE RATING PERIOD 

 

Report and value claims with dates of injury before the experience rating period that were open with 

outstanding reserves as of Jan. 1, 2017. Report all applicable Oregon claims, whether disabling or non-

disabling, on Form 2810, “Self-Insured Employer Report of Losses Non-Experience Rating Period.” Include 

loss information for all legal entities covered under the self-insurance certification. Do not include any claims 

incurred before the self-insurance period. 

 

Non-experience period dates: 

  Self-insured employer effective date (start date) through 06/30/13 

 

*Please note if you have an Assumption Agreement for Corporate Merger and Guarantee on file, which 

includes previous self-insurance periods, report those open claims in the appropriate experience rating period.  

 

V.  DIRECTIONS FOR THE REPORT OF LOSSES: 

 

A. The report must list all claims, (open, closed, accepted, deferred, denied, disabling, or non-

disabling) for all valuation periods. Round totals to the nearest dollar. Claims must be valued as 

of January 1 of the current year, and must include: 

i. List all claims in alphabetical order (worker’s last name first); 

ii. The date of injury; 

iii. The claim number; 

iv. The total amount paid; 

v. Outstanding reserves; and 

vi. Total incurred losses.  

 

B. Identification of claims involving: 

i. Catastrophes (CAT);  

ii. The Workers with Disabilities Program (WDP); 

iii. Permanent total disability (PTD); 

iv. Fatal Benefits (F); 

v. Third-party recoveries 

  Do not report recoveries associated with these two programs: 

 Employer-at-Injury Program (EAIP) 

 Supplemental Disability Benefit (SDB);and 

vi. Total incurred losses that exceed, or are expected to exceed, the self-insured retention 

level of the self-insured employer’s excess insurance policy.  

 

C. Claims with third-party recovery (subrogation): Report net amount incurred and identify as a third- 

party claim. 

http://wcd.oregon.gov/forms/Pages/forms.aspx
http://wcd.oregon.gov/rtw/Pages/eaip.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/DCBS/Pages/wbf-program.aspx
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D. Catastrophes: If any one accident results in two or more claims where the combined incurred 

losses exceed $20,000, identify each claim as CAT 1. Identify claims resulting from a second 

catastrophe as CAT 2, etc. 

 

E. Permanent total disability and fatality: Identify as PTD or F. Submit Form 2808, “Claim Reserve 

Worksheet,” if any of the following are true:  

i.  With the first report of loss (experience rating period or non-experience rating period) 

submitted after the PTD or fatality status has been assigned. 

ii.  When PTD benefits change to fatal benefits, i.e., when a PTD worker dies and the 

beneficiary becomes entitled to fatal benefits. 

iii.  Upon request by the division.  

 

If the beneficiary of fatal benefits remarries, note this on the report of losses submitted after the 

remarriage occurs. Report statutory amounts paid and reserved. 

 

F. Workers with Disabilities Program: Identify as WDP and indicate percentage of relief. Report the 

net amount incurred based on percentage relief. When a claim has 100 percent relief, report only 

the $1,000 deductible as paid, $0 as outstanding reserve, and $1,000 as total incurred. 

 

G. Self-Insurance Retention (SIR)* when applicable. Report all paid costs and outstanding reserves: 

  

1. When the paid costs have exceeded the SIR level. For example, a claim with a SIR level 

of $100,000, paid costs $175,000, and outstanding reserve $250,000: Report total paid 

$175,000, outstanding reserve $250,000, and total incurred $425,000. Identify as SIR and 

the amount of the SIR level. The division will make the necessary adjustment for deposit 

purposes.  

 

2. When the paid costs have not exceeded the SIR level, but are expected to. For example, 

a claim with an SIR level of $100,000, paid costs $75,000, and outstanding reserve 

$350,000: Report total paid $75,000, outstanding reserve $350,000, and total incurred 

$425,000. Identify as SIR and the amount of the SIR level. The division will make the 

necessary adjustment for deposit purposes. 

 

*Note:   If a claim has approached or has exceeded the excess SIR level and is being reported as an 

“excess claim” for the first time, provide proof of initial reporting to the excess carrier. If a 

claim is being reimbursed by excess insurance coverage prior to the last Report of Losses, 

provide proof of ongoing reporting to the division; the initial reporting will remain on file. 

  

 In order for the division to recognize and apply excess insurance obligations and 

reimbursements, Form 2937, “Claims Reserved in Excess of Self-Insured Retention,” must 

be completed and submitted. Failure to identify claims by applicable excess carrier, excess 

policy number, and SIR level will impact the final security deposit level. Some excess policies 

issued for self-insured municipalities may have separate SIR levels for particular NCCI 

classification codes (e.g., police and firefighters). When a separate SIR level applies to a 

claim identified on Form 2937 for this reason, ensure that the applicable SIR level is 

included. Certain types of claims and claim costs that are approaching, but have not 

exceeded the SIR level must be reported to the excess carrier prior to excess reimbursement, 

consistent with the excess policy terms and conditions and reflected on Form 2937. 

 

 For claims subject to excess insurance reporting requirements, proof of proper reporting to 

the excess carrier must be attached to Form 2937. In addition, the division may require proof of 

payment being reimbursed to the self-insured employer by the excess carrier. 

 

http://wcd.oregon.gov/forms/Pages/forms.aspx
http://wcd.oregon.gov/forms/Pages/forms.aspx
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Refer to Appendix 2: Report of Losses Reporting Guidelines on page seven. Claims should be reserved 

for the ultimate probable cost for the life of the claim.  

If you have questions about this bulletin or related forms, email the Performance Section at 

WCD.SelfInsurance@oregon.gov, or call 503-947-7057. 
 

 

 

/s/ Louis Savage 

Louis Savage, Administrator 

Workers’ Compensation Division 

  

Distribution:  WCD-LY, electronic mailing lists 

 

Attachments:  Form 2808, “Claim Reserve Worksheet” (Rev. 1/17) 

 Form 2809, “Self-Insured Employer Report of Losses Experience Rating Period” (Rev. 1/17) 

 Form 2810, “Self-Insured Employer Report of Losses Non-Experience Rating Period”  

 (Rev. 1/13) 

 Form 2937, “Claims Reserved in Excess of Self-Insured Retention” (Rev. 1/16) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

mailto:WCD.SelfInsurance@oregon.gov
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Appendix 1: Certification 

 

 
Include the following statement with each self-insured employer’s report of losses, signed by  

an authorized representative of the self-insured employer: 

 

I certify this is a true and accurate statement of all claims occurring during the experience 

rating period, and includes all open claims occurring before the experience rating period 

with outstanding reserves as of Jan. 1, (year); 

 

Self-insured employer: _____________________________________________________ 

   (Name) 

 

______________________________     ____________________________              

(Signature)  (Date) 

             

 _____________________________        ____________________________ 

(Title)        (Printed name)  

 

______________________________ 

(Phone number of contact person) 

 

The division will return reports of losses that do not include this certification. 
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Appendix 2: Report of Losses Reporting Guidelines 

 Include in Losses Reduce from Losses 

 

 Statutory benefits: Any benefits payable 

to or on behalf of the worker under the 

law in effect at the time of the injury 

 Recoveries (after subtracting recovery 

expenses, such as legal costs for 

pursuing subrogation)  

 

Indemnity costs:  Time loss compensation* 

 Awards 

 Remarriage allowance 

 Stipulation amounts and fees, settlement 

amounts and fees (Claims Disposition 

Agreement and Disputed Claims 

Settlement)  

 Penalties, if the reason for the penalty 

was within the self-insured employer’s 

control 

Amounts reimbursed or reimbursable from 

the Workers Benefit Fund (WBF): 

 Retroactive Program (PTD and Fatal) 

 Social Security offset (SSO) 

 Reopened Claims Program/Own Motion 

(RCP)  

 

Medical costs:  Scheduled exams for closure/rating, e.g., 

independent medical exams, worker 

requested medical exams, arbiter exams 

 Physical therapy, work hardening 

 Prosthetic appliance 

purchase/replacement 

 Prescriptions 

 Surgeries 

 Transportation 

 Burial 

 All other medical care as provided under 

ORS 656.245 

 Medical costs to determine 

compensability of the injury or 

condition 

 Nurse case management fees 

 Bill audit fees 

 Independent medical exam for 

compensability or management 

 

Legal costs:   Fees paid to worker attorneys 

 

 Defense attorney costs 

 Legal costs to determine compensability 

of the injury or condition 

 Settlement costs for termination/release 

agreements 

 Legal costs for pursuing subrogation 

Vocational assistance 

costs: 
 Include if the date of injury was on or 

after Jan. 1, 1986. Also include if the 

injury was before Jan. 1, 1986 and 

reimbursement was not approved by 

WCD 

 Preferred Worker Program qualifying 

for claims cost reimbursement  

 

 

*Note: If, under ORS 656.262(4)(b) and OAR 436-060-0025(2),  the self-insured employer 

continues to pay the same wage at the same pay interval that the worker received at the 

time of injury, in lieu of issuing separate time-loss payments, the employer must include 

indemnity costs in the paid and outstanding reserve amount (also known as salary 

continuation). Report the indemnity costs in the same amounts as would otherwise be due 

if temporary total disability or temporary partial disability were paid. 

  

http://www.oregon.gov/DCBS/Pages/wbf-program.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/DCBS/Pages/wbf-program.aspx
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors656.html
https://www.oregon.gov/DCBS/OIW/Pages/ime.aspx
http://wcd.oregon.gov/rtw/Pages/pwp.aspx
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Appendix 3: Factors to Consider When Estimating Outstanding Reserves 

 

A. Pre-existing medical conditions that may extend disability or length of treatment. 
 

B. Age of worker. 
 

C. Level of education/training. 
 

D. Prior claims history. 

 

E. If a hearing request has been received or there is a likelihood of litigation (worker is represented 

by an attorney or has had an attorney in prior claims), reserves should reflect the potential for 

additional claims costs. Refer to file notes, attorney correspondence, investigative reports, etc. 

 

F. Refer to Claim Reserve Worksheet, Form 2808, which may be used for establishing outstanding 

reserves for those self-insured employers that may not have an existing claims reserving 

procedure or reserve worksheet. All self-insured employers are to use the Claim Reserve 

Worksheet, Form 2808, for reporting PTD and fatal claims, as indicated on page three of this 

bulletin. 
 

G.  If a claim file indicates the worker will be granted PTD, or PTD has been granted, reserves 

 should include: 

1. Statutory benefits to the worker for his or her remaining life expectancy, based on the 

attached period life table. If the worker has received a Social Security offset (SSO), reduce 

future PTD benefits by the amount of future SSOs, starting at the worker’s full retirement 

age. 

 

2. Maximum potential benefits to the spouse, based on the attached period life table. This 

will include widow(er) benefits if the spouse's life expectancy exceeds the worker's life 

expectancy. For example, if a worker's remaining life expectancy is 30 years and the 

spouse's remaining life expectancy is 40 years, reserves should include PTD for the worker 

for 30 years and widow(er) benefits for 10 years. 

 

3. Burial allowance should be included in accordance with the law in effect at date of injury. 

 

4. Upon death of worker, reserve for future benefits as a fatal claim. 
 

H. Fatal claim reserves should include: 

1. Benefits to a widow(er) for his or her remaining life expectancy, based on the attached 

period life table. Do not estimate for remarriage. 

 

2. Maximum potential benefits to other beneficiaries. For example, for dates of injury on or 

after July 1, 1973, if a child/dependent is currently in school, benefits should be reserved 

to age 23. 

 

3. For dates of injury on or after Sept. 20, 1985 through June 6, 1995, statutory widow(er) 

benefits will increase approximately $300/month after the last child's eligibility for 

benefits has expired. In those cases, it will be necessary to allocate future widow(er) 

benefits between the two applicable rates. For example, if the youngest child is eligible for 

benefits an additional 18 months and the widow's remaining life expectancy is 43 years, 

reserves for the widow should include benefits for 1.5 years as a widow with children and 

41.5 years as a widow without children. 
 

Note:  Benefits for a dependent adult will remain in effect for the life of that individual. See the 

claims reserve tab at http://wcd.oregon.gov/worker/Pages/death-benefits.aspx.  

http://wcd.oregon.gov/worker/Pages/death-benefits.aspx
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Appendix 4:  Period Life Table 2013 
 

Exact Age 

 

Male 

 

Female 

  

Exact Age  

 

Male 

 

Female 

  

Exact Age 

 

Male 

 

Female 
0 76.28 81.05  50 29.58 33.16  100 2.12 2.45 

1 75.78 80.49  51 28.73 32.27  101 2.01 2.30 

2 74.82 79.52  52 27.89 31.38  102 1.90 2.17 

3 73.84 78.54  53 27.05 30.49  103 1.80 2.03 

4 72.85 77.55  54 26.23 29.62  104 1.70 1.91 

5 71.87 76.56  55 25.41 28.74  105 1.60 1.78 

6 70.88 75.57  56 24.61 27.88  106 1.51 1.67 

7 69.89 74.58  57 23.82 27.01  107 1.42 1.56 

8 68.90 73.58  58 23.03 26.16  108 1.34 1.45 

9 67.90 72.59  59 22.25 25.31  109 1.26 1.35 

10 66.91 71.60  60 21.48 24.46  110 1.18 1.26 

11 65.92 70.60  61 20.72 23.62  111 1.11 1.17 

12 64.92 69.61  62 19.97 22.78  112 1.04 1.08 

13 63.93 68.62  63 19.22 21.95  113 0.97 1.00 

14 62.94 67.63  64 18.48 21.13  114 0.90 0.92 

15 61.96 66.64  65 17.75 20.32  115 0.84 0.85 

16 60.99 65.65  66 17.03 19.52  116 0.78 0.78 

17 60.02 64.67  67 16.32 18.73  117 0.72 0.72 

18 59.05 63.68  68 15.61 17.95  118 0.67 0.67 

19 58.09 62.70  69 14.92 17.18  119 0.61 0.61 

20 57.14 61.72  70 14.24 16.43     

21 56.20 60.75  71 13.57 15.68     

22 55.27 59.77  72 12.92 14.95     

23 54.33 58.80  73 12.27 14.23     

24 53.40 57.82  74 11.65 13.53     

25 52.47 56.85  75 11.03 12.83     

26 51.54 55.88  76 10.43 12.16     

27 50.61 54.91  77 9.85 11.50     

28 49.68 53.94  78 9.28 10.86     

29 48.75 52.97  79 8.73 10.24     

30 47.82 52.01  80 8.20 9.64     

31 46.89 51.04  81 7.68 9.05     

32 45.96 50.08  82 7.19 8.48     

33 45.03 49.11  83 6.72 7.94     

34 44.10 48.15  84 6.27 7.42     

35 43.17 47.19  85 5.84 6.92     

36 42.24 46.23  86 5.43 6.44     

37 41.31 45.28  87 5.04 5.99     

38 40.38 44.33  88 4.68 5.57     

39 39.46 43.37  89 4.34 5.17     

40 38.53 42.43  90 4.03 4.80     

41 37.61 41.48  91 3.74 4.45     

42 36.70 40.54  92 3.47 4.13     

43 35.78 39.60  93 3.23 3.84     

44 34.88 38.66  94 3.01 3.57     

45 33.98 37.73  95 2.82 3.34     

46 33.08 36.81  96 2.64 3.12     

47 32.19 35.89  97 2.49 2.93     

48 31.32 34.97  98 2.36 2.76     

49 30.44 34.06  99 2.24 2.60     

 

Social Security Actuarial Publications Statistical Tables 

Period Life Table, 2013 

https://www.ssa.gov/OACT/STATS/table4c6.html

