
 
Nov. 9, 2015 

To:   Workers’ compensation insurers, self-insured employers, and service companies 

Subject:  Death during permanent total disability 

INDUSTRY NOTICE 

This industry notice provides clarification regarding the benefits due when an injured worker dies during a period of 

permanent total disability (PTD), as described under Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 656.204 and 656.208. 

For dates of injury on or after Sept. 20, 1985, the date of marriage is irrelevant in determining whether a spouse is eligible 

for fatal and burial benefits.  

Additionally, on July 1, 2009, ORS 656.204 was updated to require insurers and self-insured employers to pay any 

remaining unpaid burial benefit to the estate of the worker. This update applies to all qualifying claims, regardless of the 

date of injury. These benefits are a continuation of PTD benefits.  

Therefore, any monthly surviving spouse or dependent benefits due must continue on the established PTD payment 

schedule, and burial benefits must be paid to the beneficiaries/estate of the injured worker within 30 days of the injured 

worker’s death. 

Under ORS 656.506 and Oregon Administrative Rule 436-075-0020, benefits are increased beyond the statutory amount 

and reimbursed through the Retroactive Program benefit schedule in effect at the time of death. The current schedule is 

provided in Bulletin 373, effective Oct. 1, 2015. 

The following table on the next page outlines the requirements. 
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Requirements: 

Date of Injury  

 

Burial Due When: 

Statutory Benefits 

From Through Date of Injury Amount 

 

 

7/1/1915 

 

 

6/30/1973 

 

 

NO BURIAL DUE UNLESS DEATH IS 

DIRECTLY RELATED TO INJURY 

7/1/1915 6/30/1941 $100 

7/1/1941 6/30/1945 $150 

7/1/1945 6/30/1950 $200 

7/1/1950 6/30/1956 $300 

7/1/1956 6/30/1964 $400 

7/1/1964 6/30/1973 $600 

 

7/1/1973 

 

9/19/1985 

WORKER LEAVES QUALIFYING 

DEPENDENT(S)  

(must be married at date of injury or within 

two years)                                                              

or                                                                                                                                                      

DEATH IS DIRECTLY RELATED TO 

INJURY 

7/1/1973 10/31/1981 $1,000 

11/1/1981 9/19/1985 $3,000 

 

 

9/20/1985 

 

 

6/30/2016 

 

WORKER LEAVES QUALIFYING 

DEPENDENT(S)  

(date of marriage does not matter)                                                                                                 

or                                                                                                                                                  

DEATH IS DIRECTLY RELATED TO 

INJURY 

9/20/1985 6/30/1994 $3,000 

7/1/1994 6/30/2008 10 x 

average 

weekly 

wage 

7/1/2008 6/30/2016 20 x 

average 

weekly 

wage 

 

We appreciate your dedication to adherence to the requirements of Oregon Revised Statutes and Oregon Administrative 

Rules. For more information, please contact Self-Insurance, Registration, and Reimbursements Manager Adam 

Breitenstein at 503-947-7751, or email adam.j.breitenstein@oregon.gov.  

 

_______________________ 

John Shilts, Administrator 

Workers’ Compensation Division 
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