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glance

Workers’ 
Compensation 
Division



Mission:
“To continuously improve 
Oregon’s workers’ compensation 
system for workers and 
employers.”



Who we are
The Workers’ Compensation Division administers and 
regulates laws and rules that affect the participants in 
the Oregon workers’ compensation system, including 
workers, employers, insurers, claims examiners, 
attorneys, medical providers, and others. Workers’ 
compensation payroll and premium assessments, fees, 
and investment income fund our services. WCD is part 
of the Department of Consumer and Business Services 
(DCBS), Oregon’s largest business regulatory and 
consumer protection agency.

The division oversees programs and services that help 
ensure timely and appropriate medical treatment and 
time-loss benefits to injured workers, while helping 
keep costs and burdens low for Oregon employers. 
The division administers return-to-work programs that 
help injured workers return to their previous job or 
find new employment. 



How we serve you
◆◆ Enforcing workers’ compensation insurance 
coverage laws so that employers maintain 
coverage for their subject workers. 

◆◆ Ensuring that injured workers receive timely and 
accurate benefits and quality medical care. 

◆◆ Facilitating injured workers’ early return to work 
through incentive programs to employers. 

◆◆ Providing consultation, training, and technical 
assistance to workers, employers, insurers, claims 
examiners, attorneys, medical providers, and 
others.

◆◆ Administering and overseeing the Workers’ Benefit 
Fund programs.



Since 1991, 
Oregon’s 
workers’ 
compensation 
costs have declined 
more than 60 percent, 
and Oregon employers 
have saved billions as a result. 
Worker benefits are at or above the 
median nationwide and workplace 
injury and illness rates in the state have 
declined more than 50 percent since the late 
1980s. Litigation has decreased dramatically 
and injured workers today are much more likely 
to return to work than their predecessors. Perhaps 
most significant, the system continues to be driven by 
the parties it affects the most: workers and employers. 



The Management-Labor Advisory Committee, which 
originated in 1990, remains the forum in Oregon to 
discuss and resolve workers’ compensation issues.

The division works continuously to improve the 
Oregon workers’ compensation system for its 
participants. 

We are proud to share our values with you:

◆◆ Community: We serve by building positive 
relationships and working together to improve 
outcomes.

◆◆ Integrity: We tell the truth and honor 
commitments.

◆◆ Respect: We encourage and value all perspectives.

◆◆ Adaptability: We initiate change and respond to 
the needs of our community.

◆◆ Accountability: We use public resources ethically 
and responsibly.

◆◆ Expertise: We strive to learn and grow to achieve 
better performance.



By law, Oregon employers must carry workers’ 
compensation insurance or be self-insured. Workers’ 
compensation insurance protects workers by paying 
for medical treatment and lost wages and protects 
employers by shielding them from liability lawsuits 
that might result from work-related injuries or 
illnesses.

Employers pay premiums to workers’ compensation 
insurance companies. Those premiums finance most 
of the benefits received by workers if they are injured 
or suffer an occupational disease on the job. The 
Legislature makes laws determining the level of 
benefits and who qualifies for benefits. The division 
carries out policy for the governor, regulates Oregon’s 
workers’ compensation system, makes certain that 
employers provide insurance, and ensures that injured 
or ill workers receive the benefits due to them.



Workers’ Compensation

Who 
to call

For more information, contact:

Workers’ Compensation Division 
350 Winter St. NE 

P.O. Box 14480 
Salem, OR 97309-0405

Workers’ compensation infoline: 
800-452-0288 (toll-free) 

503-947-7585 (general questions) 
503-947-7810 (central reception) 

503-947-7581 (fax) 
Web: wcd.oregon.gov 

Email: workcomp.questions@oregon.gov
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