
ORDER NUMBER 03-077 

OREGON DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AND BUSINESS SERVICES 

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION DIVISION 

 
 

REVISION-MARKED COPY 

[Bracketed 8 point text is deleted]; bold/underlined text is added 

 

EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2004 

 

OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

CHAPTER 436, DIVISION 085 

PREMIUM ASSESSMENTS; ASSESSMENTS/CONTRIBUTIONS 

436-085-0008 Administrative Review 

 (l) Any party as defined by ORS 656.005[(20)] aggrieved by a proposed order or proposed 

assessment of civil penalty of the director or division issued pursuant to ORS 656.745 or 656.750 may 
request a hearing by the Hearings Division of the Workers’ Compensation Board in accordance with 
ORS 656.740 (section 9, chapter 170, Oregon Laws 2003). 

 (a) The request for hearing must be sent in writing to the [a]Administrator of the Workers’ 
Compensation Division. No hearing [shall]will be granted unless the request specifies the grounds upon 

which the person requesting [said]the hearing contests the proposed order or assessment. 

 (b) The request for hearing must be filed with the [a]Administrator of the Workers’ 
Compensation Division within [twenty (20)]60 days [of receipt by the aggrieved person of notice]after the mailing of 

the proposed order or assessment. No hearing [shall]will be granted unless the request is [received 

by]mailed or delivered to the administrator within [said twenty (20)]60 days [of receipt of notice]after the 

mailing date of the proposed order or assessment. 

 (2) Any party as [described in section (1)]defined by ORS 656.005 aggrieved by an action or order of 
the director or division pursuant to these rules, other than as described in section (1), where such action 

or order qualifies for review [by hearing before the director ]as a contested case, may request review pursuant to 
ORS 183.310 through 183.550 as modified by these rules pursuant to ORS 183.315(1). When the 

matter qualifies for review as a contested case, the process for review [shall]will be as follows: 

 (a) The request for hearing must be sent in writing to the [a]Administrator of the Workers’ 
Compensation Division. No hearing [shall]will be granted unless the request specifies the grounds upon 

which the action or order is contested and is received by the administrator within thirty (30) days of the 
action or from the date of mailing or other service of an order. 

 (b) The hearing [shall]will be conducted by [the director or the director’s designee] an Administrative Law 

Judge of the Office of Administrative Hearings . 

 (c) Any proposed order [in a contested case ]issued by [another person on behalf of the director]the 

administrative law judge is [a proposed order ]subject to revision by the director. The director may allow 
objections to the proposed order to be filed for the director’s consideration within thirty (30) days of 

issuance of the proposed order. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.506, 656.538, 656.612, 656.614 & 656.726(4), 656.740 
Stats. Implemented: 656.740 (section 9, chapter 170, Oregon Laws 2003), ORS 183.310 - 183.550, 656.745, 656.750 

Hist: Filed 12/9/85 as WCD Admin. Order 5-1985, eff. 1/1/86. 
 Amended 12/18/87 as WCD Admin. Order 5-1987, eff. 1/1/88. 
 Amended 11/29/90 as WCD Admin. Order 24-1990, eff. 1/1/91. 
 Amended 12/13/91 as WCD Admin. Order 15-1991, eff. 1/1/92. 

 Amended 12/3/03 as WCD Admin. Order 03-077, eff. 1/1/04 


