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Vocational Assistance to Injured Workers 
 

) 
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) 
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) 
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ORDER OF ADOPTION OF 
TEMPORARY RULES 
No. 03-066 

 

The Director of the Department of Consumer and Business Services, pursuant to the rulemaking 
authority in ORS 656.726(4), and in accordance with the procedure provided by ORS 

183.335(5), temporarily amends OAR Chapter 436, Division 120, “Vocational Assistance to 
Injured Workers.” 

EXPLANATION 

This temporary rule reflects changes in the law due to legislation passed by the 2003 Oregon 
Legislature. 

Enrolled Senate Bill 233 (§9, ch. 170, OL 2003) changes the time frame for appeal of a proposed 
order or proposed assessment of civil penalty from 60 days following the party’s receipt of 
notice to 60 days from the date the order is mailed by the department. 

Enrolled Senate Bill 620 (§2, ch. 756, OL 2003) requires payment of fees to workers’ attorneys 
when a claimant prevails at the administrative review level in certain medical and vocational 

disputes or if the worker’s attorney is instrumental in obtaining a settlement. These rules include 
a matrix for determining fees that is based on the estimated results achieved and the attorney’s 
time devoted to the case. 

FINDINGS 

Failure to act promptly will result in serious prejudice to the public interest. 

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED: 

(1) Temporary amendments to OAR Chapter 436, Division 120, Vocational Assistance to 
Injured Workers, as set forth in Exhibit "A," attached hereto and incorporated by reference 

herein, are adopted on this 12th day of December, 2003 to be effective January 1, 2004 
through June 28, 2004. 

(2) The Statement of Need and Justification, attached hereto, is by this reference incorporated 
herein. 

(3) The rules amended, the Certificate and Order for Filing, and the Statement of Need and 

Justification shall immediately be filed with the Secretary of State. 
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(4) The rules amended, with revision marks, shall be filed with Legislative Counsel, pursuant to 
ORS 183.715 within ten (10) days after filing with the Secretary of State. 

Dated this 12th day of December, 2003. 
DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER 

AND BUSINESS SERVICES 
 
/s/ John L. Shilts 

John L. Shilts, Administrator 

Workers’ Compensation Division 
 

Pursuant to ADA Guidelines, alternate format copies of the rules will be made 
available to qualified individuals upon request. 

If you have questions about these rules or need them in an alternate format, 
contact the Workers' Compensation Division at (503) 947-7810. 

Attachments:  Exhibit “A” (temporary rules) 
 Certificate & Order for Filing Temporary Administrative Rules 
 Statement of Need and Justification 

Distribution: WCD-ID, S, T, U, AT, CE, EG, IA, LU, NM, CI, LL, PW, RE, VR, ML, S0, S5, S8 
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EXHIBIT “A” 

OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

CHAPTER 436, DIVISION 120 

436-120-0001 Authority for Rules 

The director has adopted OAR 436-120 by the director's authority under ORS 

656.283(2), 656.340, and 656.726 (4). 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4) 
 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.262(6), 656.268, 656.283(2), 656.313, 656.331(1)(b), 656.340, 656.447, 656.740, 656.745, ORS Ch. 183, and 

section 15, chapter 600, Oregon Laws 1985 
 Hist: Filed 12/30/73 as WCD Admin. Order 6-1973, eff. 1/11/74 
 Amended 11/5/74 as WCD Admin. Order 45-1974, eff. 11/5/74 (Temporary) 
 Amended 2/6/75 as WCD Admin. Order 4-1975, eff. 2/26/75 

 Amended 3/29/76 as WCD Admin. Order 1-1976, eff. 4/1/76 
 Amended 9/29/77 as WCD Admin. Order 3-1977, eff. 10/4/77 (Temporary) 
 Amended 2/1/78 as WCD Admin. Order 1-1978, eff. 2/1/78 
 Amended 5/22/80 as WCD Admin. Order 6-1980, eff. 6/1/80 

 Amended 12/29/82 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1982, eff. 1/1/83 (Temporary) 
 Amended 6/30/83 as WCD Admin. Order 2-1983, eff. 6/30/83 
 Amended 12/14/83 as WCD Admin. Order 5-1983, eff. 1/1/84 

 Renumbered from OAR 436-61-003, 5/1/85 
 Amended 12/12/85 as WCD Admin. Order 7-1985, eff. 1/1/86 
 Amended 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 
 Amended 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 

 Amended 4/13/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-053, eff. 5/15/01 

436-120-0002 Purpose of Rules 

The purpose of these rules is to prescribe uniform standards for determining eligibility, 

delivery and payment for vocational services to injured workers, procedures for resolving 
disputes, and to establish standards for the certification of vocational counselors and providers. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4) 

Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.012(2)(c), 656.258, 656.268(1), 656.283, 656.340, and section 15, chapter 600, Oregon Laws 1985 
 Hist: Filed 12/29/82 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1982, eff. 1/1/83 (Temporary) 
 Filed 6/30/83 as WCD Admin. Order 2-1983, eff. 6/30/83 
 Amended 12/14/83 as WCD Admin. Order 5-1983, eff. 1/1/84 

 Renumbered from OAR 436-61-008, 5/1/85 
 Amended 12/12/85 as WCD Admin. Order 7-1985, eff. 1/1/86 
 Amended 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 

 Amended 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 
 Amended 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 

436-120-0003 Applicability of Rules 

(1) These rules govern vocational assistance pursuant to the Workers' Compensation Law 

on or after the effective date of these rules except as OAR 436-120 otherwise provides. 

(2) The director's decisions under OAR 436-120-0008 regarding eligibility will be based 

on the rules in effect on the date the insurer issued the notice. The director's decisions regarding 
the nature and extent of assistance will be based on the rules in effect at the time the assistance 
was provided. If the director orders future assistance, such assistance shall be provided in 

accordance with the rules in effect at the time assistance is provided. 

(3) Under these rules a claim for aggravation or reopening a claim to process a newly 

accepted condition will be considered a new claim for purposes of vocational assistance 
eligibility and vocational assistance, except as otherwise provided in these rules. 
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(4) The renewal period of a certified vocational counselor certified as of June 1, 2000 is 
extended for three years, at which time the vocational counselor must meet the continuing 
education requirements set by these rules. Individuals currently certified as either a vocational 

rehabilitation counselor intern or a return to work specialist will have five years from June 1, 
2000 to renew their certification pursuant to OAR 436-120-0820 by meeting the continuing 

education requirements. 

(5) The requirement for the director's advance approval of services eligible for claims 
cost reimbursement pursuant to OAR 436-120-0720 (6) shall apply to any actions taken after the 

effective date of these rules. 

(6) Applicable to this chapter, the director may, unless otherwise obligated by statute, in 

the director's discretion waive procedural rules as justice so requires. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4) 
 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.283(2), 656.340 

 Hist: Filed 3/29/76 as WCD Admin. Order 1-1976, eff. 4/1/76 
 Amended 9/26/77 as WCD Admin. Order 3-1977, eff. 10/4/77 (Temporary) 
 Amended 2/1/78 as WCD Admin. Order 1-1978, eff. 2/1/78 
 Amended 5/22/80 as WCD Admin. Order 6-1980, eff. 6/1/80 

 Amended 12/4/81 as WCD Admin. Order 4-1981, eff. 1/1/82 
 Amended 12/29/82 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1982, eff. 1/1/83 (Temporary) 
 Amended 6/30/83 as WCD Admin. Order 2-1983, eff. 6/30/83 
 Amended 12/14/83 as WCD Admin. Order 5-1983, eff. 1/1/84 

 Renumbered from OAR 436-61-004, 5/1/85 
 Amended 12/12/85 as WCD Admin. Order 7-1985, eff. 1/1/86 
 Amended 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 
 Amended 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 

 Amended 2/2/96 as Admin. Order 95-074, eff. 3/1/96 
 Amended 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 
 Amended 4/13/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-053, eff. 5/15/01 

 Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02 

436-120-0004  Notices and Reporting Requirements 

(1)The insurer shall inform a worker with a compensable injury of the employment 

reinstatement rights and responsibilities of the worker under ORS chapter 659A and this rule. 
This information shall be given: 

(a) At the time of claim acceptance, pursuant to ORS 656.262(6); 

(b) At the time of contact of the worker under OAR 436-120-0320 about the need for 
vocational assistance, pursuant to ORS 656.340(2); and 

(c) Within five days of receiving knowledge of the attending physician’s release of the 
worker to return to work, pursuant to ORS 656.340(3), the insurer shall inform the worker about 
the opportunity to seek reemployment or reinstatement under ORS 659A.043 and 659A.046, and 

inform the employer about the worker’s reemployment rights. 

(2) All notices and warnings to the worker issued pursuant to OAR 436-120 shall be in 

writing, signed and dated, and state the basis for the decision, the effective date of the action, the 
relevant rule(s), the worker's appeal rights required pursuant to this rule, and the telephone 
number of the Ombudsman for Injured Workers. However, the insurer's response does not need 

to be in writing when the insurer approves a worker's request for a particular vocational service. 
All notices and warnings are subject to the following conditions: 
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(a) The following headings shall be used for the following notices. Should one notice be 
used for multiple actions, all appropriate headings shall be listed: 

(A) Eligibility: NOTICE OF ELIGIBILITY FOR VOCATIONAL ASSISTANCE, 

EFFECTIVE (date) 

(B) Ineligibility: NOTICE OF INELIGIBILITY FOR VOCATIONAL ASSISTANCE, 

EFFECTIVE (date) 

(C) Selection or change of provider: SELECTION OF (OR CHANGE OF) 
VOCATIONAL ASSISTANCE PROVIDER, EFFECTIVE (date) 

(D) Category of assistance: NOTICE OF VOCATIONAL EVALUATION TO BEGIN 
(date) or NOTICE OF ENTITLEMENT TO TRAINING, EFFECTIVE (date) or NOTICE OF 

ENTITLEMENT TO DIRECT EMPLOYMENT SERVICES, EFFECTIVE (date) 

(E) End of training: NOTICE OF TRAINING END, EFFECTIVE (date) 

(F) End of eligibility: NOTICE OF END OF ELIGIBILITY FOR VOCATIONAL 

ASSISTANCE, EFFECTIVE (date) 

(b) Warning letters do not require specific language in the headings but should include a 

heading clearly indicating the purpose of the warning. 

(c) The insurer shall simultaneously send a copy to the worker's representative. Failure to 
send a copy of the notice to the worker's representative stays the appeal period until the worker's 

representative receives actual notice. 

(d) All notices and warnings except those notifying a worker of eligibility or entitlement 

to training shall contain the worker's appeal rights in bold type, as follows: 

"If you disagree with this decision, you should contact (person's name and 

insurer) within five days of receiving this letter to discuss your concerns. 

If you are still dissatisfied, you must contact the Workers' Compensation 

Division within 60 days of receiving this letter or you will lose your right to 

appeal this decision. A consultant with the division can talk with you about 

the disagreement and, if necessary, will review your appeal. The address and 

telephone number of the division are: (address and telephone number of the 

Workers' Compensation Division)." 

(3) If the insurer is unable to determine eligibility or make a decision regarding a 

particular vocational service because of insufficient data, the insurer shall explain what 
information is necessary and when it expects to determine eligibility or make a decision. 

(4) Notice of Eligibility for vocational assistance shall include the following: 

(a) Selection of the category of vocational assistance, if known; 

(b) The worker's rights and responsibilities; 

(c) Procedures for resolving dissatisfaction with an action of the insurer regarding 
vocational assistance; 
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(d) The current list of vocational assistance providers, and an explanation of the worker's 
participation in the selection of a vocational assistance provider. This notice shall include the 
following language in bold type: 

"If you have questions about the vocational counselor selection process, 

contact (use appropriate reference to the insurer). If you still have questions 

contact the Workers' Compensation Division's toll free number (use 

appropriate telephone number)." 

(e) Information about potential reemployment assistance under OAR 436-110. 

(5) Notice of Ineligibility for vocational assistance is subject to the following conditions: 

(a) The notice shall be sent to the worker by both regular and certified mail. 

(b) The notice shall include information about services which may be available at no cost 
from the Employment Department or the Vocational Rehabilitation Division, and reemployment 
assistance under OAR 436-110. 

(c) If the notice is based on a finding of "no substantial handicap," it shall list some 
suitable occupations. 

(d) If the insurer is not required to determine eligibility pursuant to OAR 436-120-
0320(2), no Notice of Ineligibility is required unless the worker or worker's representative 
requested a determination of eligibility. When the ineligibility is due to no permanent disability 

award, the notice must inform the worker of entitlement to an eligibility determination upon a 
final order granting permanent disability. 

(6) Notice of Denial of Vocational Service shall be given by the insurer. 

(7) Notice of Selection of Category of Vocational Assistance shall be given by the 
insurer. When direct employment services are selected, the notice shall state the worker is not 

entitled to training. 

(8) The approved, denied or amended return-to-work plan shall be sent to the worker. 

Notification of Denial of Return-to-Work Plan shall include any components of the plan which 
the insurer did not approve. 

(9) Notice of End of Training shall state whether the worker is entitled to further training. 

The effective date of the end of training letter shall be the worker's last date of attendance. 

(10) Notice of End of Eligibility for vocational assistance shall be sent by both regular 

and certified mail to the worker. 

(11) Warnings to the worker shall state what the worker must do within a specified time 
to avoid ineligibility or the ending of eligibility or training. 

(12) The insurer shall simultaneously send a copy of the following notices to the 
department: 

(a) Notice of Eligibility; 

(b) Notice of Ineligibility; 
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(c) Approved Return-to-Work Plan and any amendments; 

(d) Notice of End of Training; and 

(e) Notice of Ending of Eligibility for Vocational Assistance. 

(13) The insurer shall file a closing status report with the division for each eligible 
worker within 30 days after eligibility ends. The insurer shall report the following information: 

(a) The date and reason for ending of eligibility, return-to-work and vocational assistance 
provider information. 

(b) For post-1985 injuries, the insurer shall also report cost information for eligibility 

determination and vocational services provided under these rules as required by the director. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4), and 192.410 through 192.505 

 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.340(5), 656.340(7) 
 Hist: Filed 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 
 Amended 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 
 Amended 2/2/96 as WCD Admin. Order 95-074, eff. 3/1/96 

Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-0600, -0610, and -0620, as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 
Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02. 

436-120-0005 Definitions 

Except where the context requires otherwise, the construction of these rules is governed 
by the definitions given in the Workers' Compensation Law and as follows: 

(1) "Administrative approval" means approval of the director. 

(2) "Cost-of-living matrix" is a chart issued annually by the director in Bulletin 124 or in 
an addendum to Bulletin 124 which publishes the conversion factors, effective July 1 of each 
year, used to adjust for changes in the cost-of-living rate from the date of injury to the date of 

calculation. The conversion factor is based on the annual percentage increase or decrease in the 
average weekly wage, as defined in ORS 656.211. 

(3) "Division" refers to the Workers' Compensation Division of the Department of 
Consumer and Business Services. 

(4) "Employer at injury" means an employer in whose employ the worker sustained the 

compensable injury, or occupational disease. 

(5) "Insurer" means the State Accident Insurance Fund, an insurer authorized under ORS 

chapter 731 to transact workers' compensation insurance in Oregon, or a self-insured employer. 
A vocational assistance provider acting as the insurer's delegate may provide notices and 
warnings required by OAR 436-120. 

(6) "Permanent employment” is a job with no projected end date or a job which had no 
projected end date at time of hire. Permanent employment may be year-round or seasonal. 

(7) “Physical Demand Characteristics of Work” Strength Rating: The physical demands 
strength rating reflects the estimated overall strength requirements of the job, which are 
considered to be important for average, successful work performance. The following definitions 

are used: “occasionally” is an activity or condition that exists up to 1/3 of the time; “frequently” 
is an activity or condition that exists from 1/3 to 2/3 of the time; “constantly” is an activity or 
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condition that exists 2/3 or more of the time. 

(a) Sedentary Work (S): Exerting up to 10 pounds of force occasionally and/or a 
negligible amount of force frequently to lift, carry, push, pull, or otherwise move objects, 

including the human body. Sedentary work involves sitting most of the time, but may involve 
walking or standing for brief periods of time. Jobs are sedentary if walking and standing are 

required only occasionally and all other sedentary criteria are met. 

(b) Light Work (L): Exerting up to 20 pounds of force occasionally, and/or up to 10 
pounds of force frequently, and/or a negligible amount of force constantly to move objects. 

Physical demand requirements are in excess of those for Sedentary Work. Even though the 
weight lifted may be only a negligible amount, a job should be rated Light Work: (1) when it 

requires walking or standing to a significant degree; or (2) when it requires sitting most of the 
time but entails pushing and/or pulling of arm or leg controls; and/or (3) when the job requires 

working at a production rate pace entailing the constant pushing and/or pulling of materials even 

though the weight of those materials is negligible. NOTE: The constant stress and strain of 
maintaining a production rate pace, especially in an industrial setting, can be and is physically 

demanding of a worker even though the amount of force exerted is negligible. 

(c) Medium Work (M): Exerting 20 to 50 pounds of force occasionally, and/or 10 to 25 
pounds of force frequently, and/or greater than negligible up to 10 pounds of force constantly to 

move objects. Physical demand requirements are in excess of those for Light Work. 

(d) Heavy Work (H): Exerting 50 to 100 pounds of force occasionally, and/or 25 to 50 

pounds of force frequently, and/or 10 to 20 pounds of force constantly to move objects. Physical 
demand requirements are in excess of those for Medium Work. 

(e) Very Heavy (VH): Exerting in excess of 100 pounds of force occasionally, and/or in 

excess of 50 pounds of force frequently, and/or in excess of 20 pounds of force constantly to 
move objects. Physical demand requirements are in excess of those for Heavy Work. 

(8) “Reasonable cause” may include, but is not limited to, a medically documented 
limitation in a worker’s activities due to illness or medical condition of the worker or the 
worker’s family, financial hardship, or circumstances beyond the reasonable control of the 

worker. “Reasonable cause” for failure to provide information or participate in activities related 
to vocational assistance will be determined based upon individual circumstances of the case. 

(9) “Reasonable labor market”: An occupation can be said to have reasonable 
employment opportunities if competitively qualified workers can expect to find equivalent jobs 
in the occupation within a reasonable period of time. A reasonable period of time, for workers in 

the majority of occupations, would be the six months that they could collect regular 
unemployment insurance benefits, if they were entitled to them. (Oregon Occupational 

Projections Handbook, 2002-2008) 

(10) “Regular employment” means the employment the worker held at the time of the 
injury or at the time of the claim for aggravation, whichever gave rise to the potential eligibility 

for vocational assistance; or, for a worker not employed at the time of aggravation, the 
employment the worker held on the last day of work prior to the aggravation claim. If the basis 

for potential eligibility is a reopening to process a newly accepted condition, "regular 
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employment" is the employment the worker held at the time of the injury; when the condition 
arose after claim closure, "regular employment" is determined as if it were an aggravation claim. 

(11) "Substantial handicap to employment" means the worker, because of the injury or 

aggravation, lacks the necessary physical capacities, knowledge, skills and abilities to be 
employed in suitable employment. "Knowledge," "skills," and "abilities" have meanings as 

follows: 

(a) "Knowledge" means an organized body of factual or procedural information derived 
from the worker's education, training and experience. 

(b) "Skills" means the demonstrated mental and physical proficiency to apply knowledge. 

(c) "Abilities" means the cognitive, psychological, and physical capability to apply the 

worker's knowledge and skills. 

(12) "Suitable employment" or "suitable job" means employment or a job: 

(a) For which the worker has the necessary physical capacities, knowledge, skills and 

abilities; 

(b) Located where the worker customarily worked, or within reasonable commuting 

distance of the worker's residence. A reasonable commuting distance is no more than 50 miles 
one-way modified by other factors including, but not limited to: 

(A) Wage of the job. A low wage may justify a shorter commute;  

(B) The pre-injury commute; 

(C) The worker's physical capacities, if they restrict the worker's ability to sit or drive for 

50 miles; 

(D) Commuting practices of other workers who live in the same geographic area; and 

(E) The distance from the worker's residence to the nearest cities or towns which offer 

employment opportunities; 

(c) Which pays or would average on a year-round basis a suitable wage as defined in 

section (13) of this rule; and 

(d) Which is permanent. Temporary work is suitable if the worker's job at injury was 
temporary; and the worker has transferable skills to earn, on a year-round basis, a suitable wage 

as defined in section (13) of this rule. 

(13) "Suitable wage" means: 

(a) For the purpose of determining eligibility for vocational assistance, a wage at least 80 
percent of the adjusted weekly wage as defined in OAR 436-120-0007. 

(b) For the purpose of providing and/or ending vocational assistance, a wage as close as 

possible to 100 percent of the adjusted weekly wage. This wage may be considered suitable if 
less than 80 percent of the adjusted weekly wage, if the wage is as close as possible to the 

adjusted weekly wage. 

(14) "Transferable skills" means the knowledge and skills demonstrated in past training 
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or employment which make a worker employable in suitable new employment. More general 
characteristics such as aptitudes or interests do not, by themselves, constitute transferable skills. 

(15) "Vocational assistance" means any of the services, goods, allowances and temporary 

disability compensation under these rules to assist an eligible worker return to work. This does 
not include activities for determining a worker's eligibility for vocational assistance. 

(16) "Vocational assistance provider" means an insurer or other public or private 
organization, authorized under these rules to provide vocational assistance to injured workers. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4) 

Sta. Impltd.: ORS 656.340 
 Hist: Filed 6/30/66 as WCD Admin. Order 7-1966, eff. 6/30/66 
 Amended 12/20/73 as WCD Admin. Order 6-1973, eff. 1/11/74 

 Amended 11/5/74 as WCD Admin. Order 45-1974, eff. 11/5/74 (Temporary) 
 Amended 2/6/75 as WCD Admin. Order 4-1975, eff. 2/26/75 
 Amended 3/29/76 as WCD Admin. Order 1-1976, eff. 4/1/76 
 Amended 9/29/77 as WCD Admin. Order 3-1977, eff. 10/4/77 (Temporary) 

 Amended 2/1/78 as WCD Admin. Order 1-1978, eff. 2/1/78 
 Amended 5/22/80 as WCD Admin. Order 6-1980, eff. 6/1/80 
 Amended 12/4/81 as WCD Admin. Order 4-1981, eff. 1/1/82 
 Amended 12/29/82 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1982, eff. 1/1/83 (Temporary) 

 Amended 6/30/83 as WCD Admin. Order 2-1983, eff. 6/30/83 
 Amended 12/14/83 as WCD Admin. Order 5-1983, eff. 1/1/84 
 Renumbered from OAR 436-61-005, 5/1/85 
 Amended 12/12/85 as WCD Admin. Order 7-1985, eff. 1/1/86 

 Amended 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 
 Amended 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 
 Amended 2/2/96 as WCD Admin. Order 95-074, eff. 3/1/96 
 Amended 12/11/96 as WCD Admin. Order 96-073, eff. 2/1/97 

 Amended 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 
 Amended 4/13/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-053, eff. 5/15/01 

Amended 12/14/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-066, eff. 1/2/02 (Temporary) 

Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02. 

436-120-0006 Administration of Rules 

(1) At any time, the director may order the insurer to determine eligibility or provide 

specified vocational assistance to achieve compliance with ORS chapter 656 and these rules. The 
order may be appealed as provided by statute. 

(2) Orders issued by the division in carrying out the director's authority to administer and 

to enforce ORS chapter 656 and these rules are considered orders of the director. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4) 
 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.283(2), 656.313 

 Hist: Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-001 and 210, 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 
 Amended 2/2/96 as WCD Admin. Order 95-074, eff. 3/1/96 
 Amended 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 

 Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02 

436-120-0007 Establishing the Adjusted Weekly Wage to Determine Suitable Wage 

To determine a suitable wage as defined in OAR 436-120-0005 (13), the insurer shall 

first establish the adjusted weekly wage as described in this rule. The insurer must calculate the 
"adjusted weekly wage" whenever determining or redetermining a worker's eligibility. 

(1) For the purposes of this rule, the following definitions apply: 

(a) "Adjusted weekly wage" is the wage currently paid as calculated under this rule. 
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(b) "Cost-of-living adjustments" or "collective bargaining adjustments" are increases or 
decreases in the wages of all workers performing the same or similar jobs for a specific 
employer. These adjustments are not variations in wages based on skills, merit, seniority, length 

of employment, or number of hours worked.  

(c) "Earned income" means gross wages, salary, tips, commissions, incentive pay, 

bonuses and the reasonable value of other consideration (housing, utilities, food, etc.) received 
from an employer for services performed from all jobs held at the time of injury or aggravation. 
Earned income also means gross earnings from self- employment after deductions of business 

expenses excluding depreciation. Earned income does not include fringe benefits such as 
medical, life or disability insurance, employer contributions to pension plans, or reimbursement 

of the worker's employment expenses such as mileage or equipment rental. 
(d) "Job at aggravation" means the job or jobs the worker held on the date of the 

aggravation claim; or, for a worker not employed at time of aggravation, the last job or 

concurrent jobs held prior to the aggravation. Volunteer work does not constitute a job for 
purposes of this subsection. 

(e) "Job at injury" is the job on which the worker originally sustained the compensable 
injury. For an occupational disease, the job at injury is the job the worker held at the time there is 
medical verification that the worker is unable to work because of the disability caused by the 

occupational disease. 

(f) "Permanent, year-round employment" is permanent employment in which the worker 

worked or was scheduled or projected to work in 48 or more calendar weeks a year. Paid leave 
shall be counted as work time. Permanent year-round employment includes trial service. It does 
not include employment with an annual salary set by contract or self-employment. 

(g) “Temporary disability” means wage loss replacement for the job at injury. 

(h) "Trial service" is employment designed to lead automatically to permanent, year-

round employment subject only to the employee's satisfactory performance during the trial 
service period. 

(2) The insurer shall determine the nature of the job at injury or the job or jobs at 

aggravation by contacting the employer or employers to verify the worker's employment status. 
All figures used in determining a weekly wage by this method shall be supported by verifiable 

documentation such as the worker's state or federal tax returns, payroll records, or reports of 
earnings or unemployment insurance payments from the Employment Department. The insurer 
shall calculate the worker's adjusted weekly wage as described by this rule. 

(3) When the job at injury or the job at aggravation was temporary or seasonal, calculate 
the worker's average weekly wage as follows, then convert to the adjusted weekly wage as 

described in section (6) of this rule: 

(a) When the worker's regular employment is the job at injury and the worker did not 
hold more than one job at the time of injury, and did not receive unemployment insurance 

benefits during the 52 weeks prior to the injury, the worker’s average weekly wage is the same as 
the wage upon which temporary disability is based. 
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(b) When the worker's regular employment is the job at aggravation and the worker did 
not hold more than one job at the time of aggravation, and did not receive unemployment 
insurance benefits during the 52 weeks prior to the aggravation, the worker’s average weekly 

wage is calculated using the same methods used to calculate temporary disability as described in 
OAR 436-060-0025. 

(c) When the worker held more than one job at the time of injury or aggravation and/or 
received unemployment insurance benefits, the worker’s average weekly wage is determined by 

combining the worker’s earned income and any unemployment insurance payments received 

during the 52 weeks prior to the injury or aggravation. The total shall be divided by 52 weeks, or 
if the worker worked less than 52 weeks by the number of weeks worked plus the number of 

weeks the worker received unemployment benefits. Extended gaps from all jobs are not included 
as weeks worked. 

(4) When the job at injury was other than as described in section (3) of this rule, use the 

weekly wage upon which temporary disability was based, and then convert the weekly wage to 
the adjusted weekly wage as described in section (6) of this rule. 

(5) When the job at aggravation was other than as described in section (3) of this rule, the 
worker's average weekly wage is calculated using the same methods used to calculate temporary 
disability as described in OAR 436-060-0025, and then convert to the adjusted weekly wage as 

described in section (6) of this rule. 

(6) Adjusted weekly wage: After arriving at the weekly wage pursuant to this rule, 

establish the adjusted weekly wage by determining the percentage increase or decrease from the 
date of injury or aggravation, or last day worked prior to aggravation, to the date of calculation, 
as follows: 

(a) Contact the employer at injury or aggravation regarding any cost-of-living or 
collective bargaining adjustments for workers performing the same job. When the worker held 

two or more jobs at aggravation, contact the employer for whom the worker worked the most 
hours. Adjust the worker's weekly wage by any percentage increase or decrease; 

(b) If the employer at injury or aggravation is no longer in business and the worker's job 

was covered by a union contract, contact the applicable union for any cost-of-living or collective 
bargaining adjustments. Adjust the worker's weekly wage by the percentage increase or decrease; 

or 

(c) If the employer at injury or aggravation is no longer in business or does not currently 
employ workers in the same job category, adjust the worker's weekly wage by the appropriate 

factor from the cost-of-living matrix. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), ORS 656.726(3) 
Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.340(5) and (6) 

Hist: Filed 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 
Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-025, 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 
Amended 2/2/96 as WCD Admin. Order 95-074, eff. 3/1/96 

Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-0310, 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 
Amended 12/14/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-066, eff. 1/2/02 (Temporary) 
Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02. 
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436-120-0008 Administrative Review and Contested Cases (Temporary Rule) 

(1) Administrative review of vocational assistance matters : Under ORS 656.283(2) 
and 656.340(4), a worker wanting review of any vocational assistance matter must apply to the 

director for administrative review. Also, under ORS 656.340(11) and OAR 436-120-0320(10) 
when the worker and insurer are unable to agree on a vocational assistance provider, the insurer 

shall apply to the director for administrative review. Because effective vocational assistance is 
best realized in a nonadversarial environment, the first objective of the administrative review is 
to bring the parties to resolution through alternative dispute resolution procedures, including 

mediation conferences, whenever possible and appropriate. When a dispute is not resolved 
through mutual agreement or dismissal, the director shall close the record and issue a Director's 

Review and Order as described in subsections (f) and (g) of this section. A worker need not be 
represented to request or to participate in the administrative review process, which is as follows: 

(a) The worker's request for review must be mailed or otherwise communicated to the 

department no later than the 60th day after the date the worker received written notice of the 
insurer's action; or, if the worker was represented at the time of the notice, within 60 days of the 

date the worker's representative received actual notice. Issues raised by the worker where written 
notice was not provided may be reviewed at the director's discretion. 

(b) The worker, insurer, employer at injury, and vocational assistance provider shall 

supply needed information, attend conferences and meetings, and participate in the 
administrative review process as required by the director. Upon the director's request, any party 

to the dispute shall provide available information within 14 days of the request. The insurer shall 
promptly schedule, pay for, and submit to the director any medical or vocational tests, 
consultations, or reports required by the director. The worker, insurer, employer at injury, or 

vocational assistance provider shall simultaneously send copies to the other parties to the dispute 
when sending material to the director. If necessary, the director will assist an unrepresented 

worker in sending copies to the appropriate parties. Failure to comply with this subsection may 
result in the following: 

(A) If the worker fails to comply without reasonable cause, the director may dismiss the 

administrative review as described in subsection (d); or, the director may decide the issue on the 
basis of available information. 

(B) If the insurer, vocational assistance provider, or employer at injury fails to comply 
without reasonable cause, the director may decide the issue on the basis of available information. 

(c) At the director's discretion, the director may issue an order of deferral to temporarily 

suspend administrative review. The order of deferral will specify the conditions under which the 
review will be resumed. 

(d) The director may issue an order of dismissal under appropriate conditions. 

(e) The director shall issue a letter of agreement when the parties resolve a dispute within 
the scope of these rules. Any agreement may include an agreement on attorney fees, if any, 

to be paid to the worker’s attorney. The agreement will become final on the 10th day after the 
letter of agreement is issued unless the agreement specifies otherwise. Once the agreement 

becomes final, the director may reconsider approval of the agreement upon the director's own 
motion or upon a motion by a party. The director may revise the agreement or reinstate the 
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review only under one or more of the following conditions: 

(A) One or both parties fail to honor the agreement; 

(B) The agreement was based on misrepresentation; [or] 

(C) Implementation of the agreement is not feasible because of unforeseen 
circumstances[.]; or 

(D) All parties request revision or reinstatement of the review. 

 (f) After the parties have had the opportunity to present evidence, and any meetings or 
conferences deemed necessary by the director have been held, the director shall issue a final 

order, including the notice of record contents. The parties will have 60 days from the issuance of 
the order to request a contested case hearing before the director. 

(g) The director may on the director's own motion reconsider or withdraw any order that 
has not become final by operation of law. A party also may request reconsideration of an 
administrative order upon an allegation of error, omission, misapplication of law, incomplete 

record, or the discovery of new material evidence which could not reasonably have been 
discovered and produced during the review. The director may grant or deny a request for 

reconsideration at the director's sole discretion. A request for reconsideration must be mailed 
before the administrative order becomes final, or if appealed, before the contested case order is 
issued. 

(h) During any reconsideration of the administrative review order, the parties may submit 
new material evidence consistent with this rule and may respond to such evidence submitted by 

others. 

(i) Any party requesting reconsideration or responding to a reconsideration request shall 
simultaneously notify all other interested parties of their contentions and provide them with 

copies of all additional information presented. 

(j) A request for reconsideration does not stay the 60-day time period within which the 

parties must request a contested case hearing. 

(2) Attorney fees: In any dispute in which a represented worker prevails after a 

proceeding has commenced before the director, the director shall award an attorney fee to 

be paid by the insurer or self-insured employer as provided in ORS 656.385 (§2, ch. 756, 

OL 2003). The attorney fee will be proportionate to the benefit to the injured worker. 

Primary consideration shall be given to the results achieved and the time devoted to the 

case. Absent extraordinary circumstances or agreement by the parties, the fee may not 

exceed $2000, nor fall outside the ranges for fees as provided in the following matrix: 
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Estimated Benefit 

Achieved 

Professional Hours Devoted 

 1-2 hours 2.1-4 hours 4.1-6 hours 6.1-8 hours 8.1-12 hours 

$1-$2000 $100-400 $200-700` $300-750 $600-1000 $800-1250 

$2001-$4000 $200-500 $400-800 $600-900 $800-1300 $1050-1500 

$4001-$6000 $300-700 $600-1000 $800-1250 $1000-1450 $1300-1750 

$6001-$10000 $400-900 $800-1300 $1050-1600 $1350-1800 $1550-2000 

(a) An attorney must submit the following to the director in order to be awarded an 

attorney fee: 

(A) A current, valid retainer agreement 

(B) A statement of hours spent on the case if greater than two hours. In the absence 

of such a statement, the director shall assume the time spent on the case was 1-2 hours. 

(b) In determining the value of the results achieved, the director may consider, but 

is not limited to the following: 

(A) Where there is a return-to-work plan that includes the disputed service(s), the 

assumed value is the cost of the disputed service(s) as projected in the plan; 

(B) Where the service(s) have not been incorporated in an existing return-to-work 

plan, the assumed value is the actual or projected cost of the service(s) up to the amount 

allowed in the fee schedule provided in OAR 436-120-0720; 

(C) For the purposes of applying the matrix, the value of an eligibility determination 

is assumed to be the maximum allowed in the fee schedule provided in OAR 436-120-0720 

for completing an eligibility evaluation; the value of vocational assistance or a training 

plan, unless determined to be otherwise, is assumed to fall within the highest category 

provided in the above matrix; or 

(D) A written agreement between the parties regarding the value of the benefit to 

the worker submitted to the director prior to the issuance of an order. 

(c) If any party believes extraordinary circumstances exist that justify a fee outside 

of the ranges provided in the above matrix or above $2000, they may submit a written or 

faxed statement of the extraordinary circumstances to the director. 

(d) In order to provide parties an opportunity to inform the director of agreements, 

or submit statements of extraordinary circumstances or professional hours for 

consideration in determining the attorney fee, the director will provide the parties notice by 

phone or fax at least 3 business days in advance that an order or other written resolution of 

the dispute will be issued. Any statements provided to the director must simultaneously be 

provided to all other parties to the dispute. 

(e) An assessed attorney fee shall be paid within 30 days of the date the order 
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authorizing the fee becomes final. 

[(2)] (3) Contested cases regarding the director's administrative review: Under ORS 
656.283, orders issued under subsection (1) (f) of this rule and dismissals issued under 

subsection (1)(d) of this rule may be appealed to the director for a contested case hearing as 
follows: 

(a) The party must send the request for hearing in writing to the administrator of the 
Workers' Compensation Division and shall simultaneously send a copy of the request to the other 
party(ies). The request must specify the grounds upon which the order is contested. 

(b) The [party must mail the] request [to] must be received by the division within 60 days of the 
date of the order. 

(c) The [division] hearing will be conducted [the hearing] in accordance with the rules 
governing contested case hearings in OAR 436-001. 

[(3)] (4) Contested cases regarding jurisdiction or reimbursement of costs: Under 

ORS 183.310 through 183.550 and ORS 656.704(2), a worker may appeal an order of dismissal 
based on lack of jurisdiction under subsection (1)(d) of this rule, or, under ORS 183.310 through 

183.550 and ORS 656.704(2), an insurer may appeal department denial of reimbursement for 
vocational assistance costs under OAR 436-120-0730, as follows: 

(a) The party must send the request for hearing to the administrator of the Workers' 

Compensation Division. The party must also simultaneously send a copy of the request to the 
other party(ies). The request must specify the grounds upon which the denial is contested. 

(b) The [party must mail the] request [to]must be received by the division no later than the 30th 
day after the party received the dismissal or written denial. 

(c) The [division] hearing will be conducted [the hearing] in accordance with the rules 

governing contested case hearings in OAR 436-001. 

[(4)] (5) Contested case hearings of civil penalties: Under ORS 656.740 (§9, ch. 170, 

OL 2003) an insurer or an employer may appeal a proposed order or proposed assessment of 
civil penalty pursuant to ORS 656.745 and OAR 436-120-0900 as follows: 

(a) The insurer or employer must send the request for hearing in writing to the 
administrator of the Workers' Compensation Division. The request must specify the grounds 
upon which the proposed order or assessment is contested. 

(b) The party must [mail] file the request [to] with the division [no later than the 60th day] within 

60 days after [the insurer or employer received] the mailing date of the notice of the proposed order or 

assessment. 

(c) The division shall forward the request and other pertinent information to the Hearings 
Division of the Workers' Compensation Board. 

(d) The Hearings Division shall conduct the hearing in accordance with ORS 656.740 and 
ORS chapter 183. 

[(5)] (6) Contested case hearings of sanctions and denials of certification or 

authorization by the director: Under ORS 183.310 through 183.550, an insurer sanctioned 
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pursuant to ORS 656.447 and OAR 436-120-0900, a vocational assistance provider or certified 
individual sanctioned pursuant to ORS 656.340(9)(b) and OAR 436-120-0915, a vocational 
assistance provider denied authorization pursuant to ORS 656.340(9)(a) and OAR 436-120-0800, 

or an individual denied certification pursuant to ORS 656.340(9)(a) and OAR 436-120-0810 may 
appeal as follows: 

(a) The party must send the request for administrative review in writing to the 
administrator of the Workers' Compensation Division. The request must specify the grounds 
upon which the action is contested. 

(b) The [party must mail the] request [to]must be received by the division no later than the 60th 
day after the party received notification of the action, unless the director determines there was 

good cause for delay or that substantial injustice may otherwise result. 

(c) The [division] hearing will be conducted [the hearing] in accordance with the rules 
governing contested case hearings in OAR 436-001. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.704(2), 656.726(4) 

 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 183.310 through 183.555, 656.283(2), 656.340, 656.447, 656.740 (§9, ch. 170, OL 2003), 656.745 

 Hist: Filed 5/26/82 as WCD Admin. Order 9-1982, eff..6/1/82 

 Amended 6/30/83 as WCD Admin. Order 2-1983, eff. 6/30/83 
 Filed 12/14/83 as WCD Admin. Order 5-1983, eff. 1/1/84 
 Renumbered from OAR 436-61-191, 5/1/85 

 Renumbered from OAR 436-61-970, 5/1/85 
 Amended 12/12/85 as WCD Admin. Order 7-1985, eff. 1/1/86 
 Amended 12/1/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 
 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-210 and 260, 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 

 Amended 2/2/96 as WCD Admin. Order 95-074, eff. 3/1/96 
 Amended 12/11/96 as WCD Admin. Order 96-073, eff. 2/1/97 
 Amended 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 
 Amended 4/13//01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-053, eff. 5/15/01 

 Amended 12/14/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-066, eff. 1/1/02 (Temporary) 
 Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02. 

 Amended 12/12/03 as WCD Admin. Order 03-066, eff. 1/1/04 (Temporary) 

436-120-0320 Determining Eligibility for Vocational Assistance and Selection of Vocational 

Assistance Provider 

(1) Unless one of the provisions in section (2) below applies, the insurer shall contact a 

worker with an accepted disabling claim or claim for aggravation to begin the eligibility 
determination within five days of the following: 

(a) The insurer's receipt of a request for vocational assistance from the worker. If the 

insurer does not know the worker's permanent limitations, the insurer shall contact the attending 
physician within 14 days of receiving the request for vocational assistance. The insurer shall 

notify the worker if the eligibility determination is postponed until permanent restrictions are 
known or can be projected. 

(b) The insurer's receipt of a medical or investigative report sufficient to document a need 

for vocational assistance, including medical verification of projected or actual permanent 
limitations due to the injury. 

(c) The insurer's knowledge that the claim qualifies for closure because the worker is 
medically stationary. If the claim qualifies for closure under ORS 656.268(1)(b) or (c), the 
insurer may postpone the determination until the worker is medically stationary or until 
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permanent restrictions are known or can be projected, whichever occurs first. 

(d) The worker is granted a permanent disability award. 

(2) The insurer is not required to determine eligibility if: 

(a) Eligibility has previously been determined under the current opening of the claim and 
there are no newly accepted conditions; 

(b) The worker has returned to regular or other suitable employment with the employer at 
injury or aggravation; or 

(c) The worker's claim was closed with no permanent disability award. The following by 

themselves do not make a worker ineligible for vocational assistance: 

(A) A finding that a worker is not entitled to an additional award of permanent disability 

on aggravation, or 

(B) A finding that a worker is not entitled to a permanent disability award because of an 
offset of permanent disability from a prior claim, or 

(C) The worker disposes of permanent disability through a claim disposition agreement 
(CDA). 

(3) If the insurer receives a request for vocational assistance from the worker or the 
worker’s representative and the insurer is not required to determine eligibility under section (2), 
the insurer shall notify the worker and provide: 

(a) The reasons the insurer is not required to determine eligibility, 

(b) The circumstance which would require the insurer to determine eligibility, and 

(c) The appropriate telephone number of the division, with instructions to contact the 
division with questions about vocational assistance eligibility requirements and procedures. 

(4) Nothing in these rules prevents the insurer from finding a worker eligible and 

providing vocational assistance at any time. 

(5) The insurer shall complete the eligibility determination within 30 days of the contact 

required in section (1) or if the eligibility determination was postponed within 30 days of receipt 
of verification of projected or actual permanent limitations. 

(6) A vocational counselor certified under OAR 436-120 shall determine if a worker 

meets eligibility criteria. 

(7) The insurer shall provide the vocational counselor with all existing relevant medical 

information regarding the worker's physical capacities and limitations. 

(8) After the worker's permanent limitations are known or can be projected, the worker 
shall, upon written request from the insurer, provide vocationally relevant information needed to 

determine eligibility within a reasonable time set by the insurer. 

(9) A worker entitled to an eligibility evaluation is eligible for vocational services if all 

the following additional conditions are met: 

(a) The worker is authorized to work in the United States. 
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(b) The worker is available in Oregon for vocational assistance. The insurer shall 
consider the worker available in Oregon if the worker lives within commuting distance of 
Oregon or documents, in writing, willingness to relocate to or within commuting distance of 

Oregon within 30 days of being found eligible. The worker is responsible for costs associated 
with being available in Oregon. The requirement that the worker be available in Oregon for 

vocational assistance does not apply if the Oregon subject worker neither worked nor lived in 
Oregon at the time of the injury. 

(c) As a result of the limitations caused by the injury or aggravation, the worker: 

(A) Is not able to return to regular employment; 

(B) Is not able to return to any other suitable and available work with the employer at 

injury or aggravation; and 

(C) Has a substantial handicap to employment and requires assistance to overcome that 
handicap. 

(d) None of the reasons for ineligibility under OAR 436-120-0350 applies under the 
current opening of the claim. 

(10) Upon determining the worker eligible, the insurer and worker shall jointly select a 
vocational assistance provider. No later than 20 days from the date the insurer determined the 
worker eligible, the insurer shall either notify the worker of the selection of vocational assistance 

provider, or if the parties are unable to agree, refer the dispute to the director. The worker and 
insurer shall follow the same procedure to select a new vocational assistance provider. 

(11) Unless all parties otherwise agree in writing, vocational assistance will be due at any 
given time with respect only to one claim of the worker. If the worker is eligible for vocational 
assistance under two or more claims, and there is a dispute about which claim gives rise to the 

need for vocational assistance pursuant to these rules, the director will select the claim for the 
injury which results in the most severe vocational impact. If services are provided under more 

than one claim at a time pursuant to a written agreement of all parties, time and fee limits may 
extend beyond the limits otherwise imposed in these rules. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4), 656.340(9) 

 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.340 
 Hist: Filed 12/29/82 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1982, eff. 1/1/83 (Temp.) 
 Filed 6/30/83 as WCD Admin. Order 2-1983, eff. 6/30/83 
 Amended 12/14/83 as WCD Admin. Order 5-1983, eff. 1/1/84 

 Renumbered from OAR 436-61-111, 5/1/85 
 Amended 12/12/85 as WCD Admin. Order 7-1985, eff. 1/1/86 
 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-060, 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 

 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-035, 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 
 Amended 2/2/96 as WCD Admin. Order 95-074, eff. 3/1/96 
 Amended and renumbered from OAR 436-120-0330 and -0370, as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 
 Amended 4/13/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-053, eff. 5/15/01 

 Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02. 

436-120-0340 Determining Substantial Handicap 

(1) A certified vocational counselor shall perform a substantial handicap evaluation as 

part of the eligibility determination unless the insurer finds that the worker has a substantial 
handicap to employment. 
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(2) To complete the substantial handicap evaluation the vocational counselor shall submit 
a report documenting the following information: 

(a) Relevant work history for at least the preceding five years; 

(b) Level of education, proficiency in spoken and written English or other languages, 
where relevant, and achievement or aptitude test data if it exists; 

(c) Adjusted weekly wage as determined under OAR 436-120-0007 and suitable wage as 
defined by OAR 436-120-0005(13); 

(d) Permanent limitations due to the injury; 

(e) An analysis of the worker's transferable skills, if any; 

(f) A list of physically suitable jobs for which the worker has the knowledge, skills and 

abilities, which pay a suitable wage, and for which a reasonable labor market is documented to 
exist as described in subsection (g) below; 

(g) An analysis of the worker's labor market utilizing standard labor market reference 

materials including but not limited to Employment Department (OED) information such as the 
Oregon Comprehensive Analysis File and other publications of the Occupational Program 

Planning System (OPPS) and Oregon Automated Reporting System (OARS) wages-offered data, 
and material developed by the division. When using OARS wages-offered data, the vocational 
counselor shall use the median wage (Q2) unless there is sufficient evidence that a higher or 

lower wage is more appropriate. When such data is not sufficient to make a decision about 
substantial handicap, the vocational counselor shall perform individual labor market surveys as 

described in OAR 436-120-0410(6); and 

(h) Consideration of the vocational impact of any limitations which existed prior to the 
injury. 

(3) The vocational counselor who determines whether the worker is eligible for 
vocational assistance based on a substantial handicap assessment shall sign the following 

statement: 

My signature certifies I have reviewed and analyzed the material referenced 

in this evaluation report in making my decision regarding whether this 

worker is eligible for vocational assistance. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4) 
 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.340(5) and (6) 

 Hist: Filed 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 
 Amended 2/2/96 as WCD Admin. Order 95-074 eff., 3/1/96 
 Amended 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 

 Amended 4/13/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-053, eff. 5/15/01 
 Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02. 

436-120-0350  Ineligibility and End of Eligibility for Vocational Assistance 

A worker is ineligible or the worker's eligibility ends when any of the following 

conditions apply: 

(1) The worker does not or no longer meets the eligibility requirements as defined in 

OAR 436-120-0320. The insurer must have obtained new information which did not exist or 
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which the insurer could not have discovered with reasonable effort at the time the insurer 
determined eligibility. 

(2) The worker is determined not to have permanent disability after a finding of 

eligibility. 

(3) The worker’s lack of suitable employment is not due to the limitations caused by the 

injury or which existed before the injury. 

(4) The worker has been employed at least for 60 days in suitable employment after the 
injury or aggravation and any necessary worksite modification is in place. 

(5) The worker, prior to beginning an authorized return-to-work plan, refused an offer of 
suitable employment, or left suitable employment after the injury or aggravation for a reason 

unrelated to the limitations due to the compensable injury. If the employer-at-injury offers 
employment to a non-medically stationary worker, the offer must be made in accordance with 
OAR 436-060. 

(6) The worker, prior to beginning an authorized return-to-work plan, refused or failed to 
make a reasonable effort in available light-duty work intended to result in suitable employment. 

Prior to finding the worker ineligible or ending eligibility, the insurer shall document the 
existence of one or more suitable jobs which would have been available for the worker upon 
successful completion of the light-duty work. If the employer-at-injury offers such employment 

to a non-medically stationary worker, the offer must be made in accordance with OAR 436-060. 

(7) The worker, after completing an authorized training plan, refused an offer of suitable 

employment. 

(8) The worker has declined or has become unavailable for vocational assistance for 
reasonable cause. If the insurer does not believe the worker had reasonable cause , the insurer 

shall warn the worker prior to finding the worker ineligible or ending the worker's eligibility 
under this section. 

(9) The worker has failed, after written warning, to participate in the vocational 
assistance process, or to provide relevant information. No written warning is required if the 
worker refuses a suitable training site after the vocational counselor and worker have agreed in 

writing upon a return-to-work goal. 

(10) The worker has failed, after written warning, to comply with the return-to-work plan. 

No written warning is required if the worker stops attending training without reasonable cause, 
or without notifying the vocational counselor or the insurer. 

(11) The worker's lack of suitable employment cannot be resolved by providing 

vocational assistance. This includes circumstances in which the worker cannot benefit from, or 
participate in, vocational assistance because of medical conditions unrelated to the injury. 

(12) The worker has misrepresented a matter material to evaluating eligibility or 
providing vocational assistance. 

(13) The worker has refused, after written warning, to return property provided by the 

insurer or reimburse the insurer after the insurer has notified the worker of the repossession; or 
the worker has misused funds provided for the purchase of property or services. No vocational 
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assistance shall be provided under the current or subsequent openings of the claim until the 
worker has returned the property or reimbursed the funds. 

(14) The worker physically abused any party to the vocational process, or after written 

warning, has continued to sexually harass or threaten to physically abuse any party to the 
vocational process. This section does not apply if such behavior is the result of a documented 

medical or mental condition. In such a situation, eligibility should be ended under section (11) of 
this rule. 

(15) The worker has entered into a claim disposition agreement (CDA) which disposes of 

vocational assistance eligibility. The parties may agree in writing to suspend vocational services 
pending approval by the Workers' Compensation Board (Board). The insurer shall end eligibility 

when the Board approves the CDA. No notice regarding the end of eligibility is required. 

(16) The worker has received maximum direct employment services and is not entitled to 
other categories of vocational assistance. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4) 
 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.340 
 Hist: Filed 12/29/82 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1982, eff. 1/1/83 (Temp.) 

 Filed 6/30/83 as WCD Admin. Order 2-1983, eff. 6/30/83 
 Amended 12/14/83 as WCD Admin. Order 5-1983, eff. 1/1/84 
 Renumbered from OAR 436-61-126, 5/1/85 
 Amended 12/12/85 as WCD Admin. Order 7-1985, eff. 1/1/86 

 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-090, 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 
 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-045, 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 
 Amended 2/2/96 as WCD Admin. Order 95-074, eff. 3/1/96 
 Amended 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 

 Amended 4/13/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-053, eff. 5/15/01 
 Amended 12/14/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-066, eff. 1/1/02 (Temporary) 
 Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02. 

436-120-0360 Redetermining Eligibility for Vocational Assistance 

If a worker was previously found ineligible or the worker's eligibility ended for any of the 
reasons specified below, upon notification of a change of circumstances the insurer shall 

redetermine eligibility. The insurer shall complete the eligibility evaluation within 35 days of one 
of the following: 

(1) The worker, for reasonable cause, declined or was not available for vocational 
assistance, or the barrier causing the worker's lack of suitable employment could not be resolved 
by providing vocational assistance, and those circumstances have changed. The insurer may 

require the worker to provide documentation the barrier no longer exists, including medical or 
psychological reports relating to noncompensable conditions. 

(2) The worker was not available in Oregon, and the worker becomes available. The 
worker must request redetermination within six months of the worker's receipt of the insurer's 
notice. 

(3) The worker's claim was denied, and the claim is later accepted and all appeals 
exhausted. 

(4) The worker was not awarded permanent disability and the worker is later awarded 
permanent disability. 
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(5) The worker was not authorized to work in the United States, and the worker is now 
authorized to work in the United States. The time limit set in this section applies to any worker 
found ineligible or whose eligibility ended because the worker was not authorized to work in the 

United States regardless of the date the notice of ineligibility or end of eligibility was issued. 
Within six months of the date of the worker's receipt of the insurer's notice of ineligibility or end 

of eligibility, the worker must: 

(a) Request redetermination; and 

(b) Submit evidence to the insurer that the worker has applied for authorization to work 

in the United States and is awaiting a decision by the United States Immigration and 
Naturalization Service (INS). The worker shall promptly provide the insurer with a copy of any 

decision by the INS. The insurer shall redetermine eligibility upon receipt of documentation of 
the worker's authorization to work in the United States. 

(6) The worker was unavailable for vocational assistance due to short-term incarceration 

for a matter unrelated to the worker's claim and is now available. Within six months of the date 
of the worker's receipt of the insurer's notice of ineligibility or end of eligibility, the worker 

must: 

(a) Request redetermination; and 

(b) Submit evidence to the insurer that the worker is now availab le to participate in 

vocational assistance. 

(7) Prior to claim closure a worker's limitations due to the injury became more restrictive. 

(8) Prior to claim closure the insurer accepts a new condition which was not considered 
in the original determination of the worker's eligibility. 

(9) The worker returned to work prior to the worker becoming medically stationary, and 

the physician later rescinds the release. 

(10) The worker returned to work prior to becoming medically stationary, and the worker 

requests a redetermination within 60 days of the mailing date of the Notice of Closure. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4) 
 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.340 

 Hist: Filed 12/12/85 as WCD Admin. Order 7-1985, eff. 1/1/86 
 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-095, 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 
 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-055, 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 
 Amended 12/11/96 as WCD Admin. Order 96-073, eff. 2/1/97 

 Amended 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 
 Amended 4/13/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-053, eff. 5/15/01 
 Amended 12/14/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-066, eff. 1/1/02 (Temporary) 
 Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02. 

436-120-0400  Selection of Category of Vocational Assistance 

(1) The insurer shall select the category of vocational assistance within 30 days of the 
date of the insurer's referral to a vocational assistance provider, but no later than 50 days after the 

determination of eligibility. The insurer shall notify the worker and document the reason for its 
decision. 

(2) The insurer shall select one of the following categories of assistance: 
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(a) A vocational evaluation, if the insurer lacks sufficient information to choose between 
training and direct employment services or to determine if the worker can benefit from 
vocational assistance. 

(b) Direct employment services, if the worker has the necessary transferable skills to 
obtain suitable new employment. 

(c) Training, if the worker needs training in order to return to employment which pays a 
wage significantly closer to 100 percent of the adjusted weekly wage. "Significantly closer" may 
vary depending on several factors, including, but not limited to, the worker's wage at injury, 

adaptability, skills, geographic location, limitations and the potential for the worker's income to 
increase with time as the result of training. 

(3) The insurer shall reconsider the category of vocational assistance within 30 days of 
the insurer's knowledge of a change in circumstances including, but not limited to, the following: 

(a) A change in the worker's permanent limitations; 

(b) A change in the labor market; or 

(c) The category of vocational assistance proves to be inappropriate. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4) 
 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.340(7) 
 Hist: Filed 12/17/87 as Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 
 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-083 and 085, 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 

 Amended 2/2/96 as WCD Admin. Order 95-074, eff. 3/1/96 
Amended 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 

436-120-0410 Vocational Evaluation 

(1) When the insurer selects this category of vocational assistance, a certified vocational 
counselor shall complete the evaluation and report within 45 days, and provide a copy to all 
parties. 

(a) Vocational testing shall be administered by an individual certified to administer the 
test. 

(b) A work evaluation shall be performed by a Certified Vocational Evaluation Specialist 
(CVE), certified by the Commission on Certification of Work Adjustment and Vocational 
Evaluation Specialists. 

(2) On-the-job evaluations shall evaluate a worker's work traits, aptitudes, limitations, 
potentials and habits in an actual job environment. 

(a) First, the vocational counselor shall perform a job analysis to determine if the job is 
within the worker's capacities. The insurer shall submit the job analysis to the attending 
physician if there is any question about the appropriateness of the job. 

(b) The evaluation should normally be no less than five hours daily for four consecutive 
days and should normally last no longer than 30 days. 

(c) The evaluation does not establish any employer-employee relationship. 

(d) A written report shall evaluate the worker's performance in the areas originally 
identified for assessment. 
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(3) Situational assessment is a procedure that evaluates a worker's aptitude or work 
behavior in a particular learning or work setting. It may focus on a worker's overall vocational 
functioning or answer specific questions about certain types of work behaviors. 

(a) The situational assessment requires these steps: planning and scheduling observations; 
observing, describing and recording work behaviors; organizing, analyzing and interpreting data; 

and synthesizing data including behavioral data from other pertinent sources. 

(b) The assessment should normally be no less than five hours daily for four consecutive 
days and should normally last no longer than 30 days. 

(4) Work adjustment is work-related activities that assist workers in understanding the 
meaning, value, and demands of work. It may include the assistance of a job coach. 

(5) Job analysis is a detailed description of the physical and other demands of a job 
based on direct observation of the job. 

(6) Labor market surveys are obtained from direct contact with employers, other actual 

labor market information, or from other surveys completed within 90 days of the report date. 

(a) A labor market survey is needed when standard labor market reference materials do 

not have adequate information upon which to base a decision, or there are questions about a 
worker's specific limitations, training and skills, which must be addressed with employers to 
determine if a reasonable labor market exists. 

(b) The person giving the information must have hiring responsibility or direct 
knowledge of the job's requirements; and the job must exist at the firm contacted. 

(c) The labor market survey report shall include, but is not limited to, the date of contact; 
firm name, address and telephone number; name and title of person contacted; the qualifications 
of persons recently hired; physical requirements; wages paid; condition of hire (full-time, part-

time, seasonal, temporary); date and number of last hire(s); and available and anticipated 
openings. 

(d) Specific openings found in the course of a labor market survey are not, in themselves, 
proof a reasonable labor market exists. 

(7) The vocational evaluation report shall include an analysis of all vocational 

information, and a recommendation of the category of vocational assistance needed for the 
worker to obtain suitable employment. The report must include the worker's signature indicating 

the worker has read and received a copy of the report. Certain information may be excluded from 
the report, as allowed by ORS 192.525. The signature does not imply the worker's agreement 
with the conclusions of the evaluation. The worker may attach written comments to the 

evaluation report. 

(8) Upon receipt of the vocational evaluation report, the insurer shall notify the worker 

within 10 days whether the worker will receive direct employment services or training, or that 
the worker is unable to benefit from vocational assistance. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4) 

 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.340(7) 
 Hist: Filed 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 
 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-081, 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 
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 Amended 2/2/96 as WCD Admin. Order 95-074, eff. 3/1/96 
 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-0420, 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00  
 Amended 4/13/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-053, eff. 5/15/01 
 Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02. 

436-120-0430 Direct Employment 

(1) The insurer shall provide an eligible worker with four months of direct employment 

services dating from the date the insurer approves a direct employment plan or the completion 
date of an authorized training plan. Direct employment services include, but are not limited to, 
the following: 

(a) Vocational evaluation, if needed. 

(b) Employment counseling. 

(c) Job search skills instruction, which teaches workers how to write resumes, research 
the job market, locate suitable new employment, complete employment applications, interview 
for employment, and develop other skills related to looking for suitable new employment. 

(d) Job development, which assists the worker to contact appropriate prospective 
employers, and with related return-to-work activities. 

(e) Job analysis. 

(2) The insurer shall provide return-to-work follow-up for at least 60 days after the 
worker becomes employed to ensure the work is suitable and to provide any necessary assistance 

which enables the worker to continue the employment. 

(3) Direct employment services are available for more than four months if the worker was 
unable to participate for reasonable cause. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4) 
 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.340(7) 
 Hist: Filed 12/29/82 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1982, eff. 1/1/83 (Temporary) 

 Filed 6/30/83 as WCD Admin. Order 2-1983, eff. 6/30/83 
 Amended 12/14/83 as WCD Admin. Order 5-1983. eff. 1/1/84 
 Renumbered from OAR 436-61-060, 5/1/85 
 Amended 12/12/85 as WCD Admin. Order 7-1985, eff. 1/1/86 

 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-030, 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 
 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-075 and 083, 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 

Amended 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 

Amended 12/14/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-066, eff. 1/1/02 (Temporary) 
Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02. 

436-120-0440 Training 

(1) Training services include a vocational evaluation if needed, plan development, 

training, monthly monitoring of training progress, and job placement services as necessary. 

(2) Training is limited to an aggregate of 16 months, subject to extension to 21 months by 

the director for a worker with an exceptional disability resulting from the compensable 
condition(s) and any limitations which existed prior to the injury or an exceptional loss of 
earning capacity. 

(a) "Exceptional disability" is defined as disability equal to or greater than the complete 
loss, or loss of use, of both legs. Exceptional disability also includes brain injury which results in 

impairment equal to or greater than Class III as defined in OAR 436-035. 
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(b) An "exceptional loss of earning capacity" exists when no suitable training plan of 16 
months or less is likely to eliminate the worker's substantial handicap to employment. The 
extension must allow the worker to obtain a wage "significantly closer," as described in OAR 

436-120-0400(2)(c), to the worker's adjusted weekly wage and at least 10 percent greater than 
could be expected with a shorter training program. 

(3) A worker enrolled and actively engaged in training shall receive temporary disability 
compensation subject to OAR 436-060, and payment of awards of permanent disability are 
suspended. At the insurer's discretion, training costs may be paid for periods longer than 21 

months, but in no event shall temporary disability compensation be paid for a period longer than 
21 months. 

(4) The selection of plan objectives and kind of training shall attempt to minimize the 
length and cost of training necessary to prepare the worker for suitable employment. 
Notwithstanding OAR 436-120-0320 (9) (b), the director may order the insurer, or the insurer 

may elect, to provide training outside Oregon if such training would be more timely, appropriate 
or cost effective than other alternatives. The plan must be developed and monitored by a 

vocational assistance provider certified pursuant to these rules. 

(5) Training status continues during the following breaks: 

(a) A regularly scheduled break of not more than six weeks between fixed school terms; 

(b) A break of not more than two weeks between the end of one kind of training and the 
start of another for which the starting date is flexible; and 

(c) A period of illness or recuperation which does not prevent completion of the training 
by the planned date. 

(6) On-the-job training prepares the worker for permanent, suitable employment with the 

training employer and for employment in the labor market at large. On-the-job training shall be 
considered first in developing a training plan. The following conditions apply: 

(a) Training time is limited to a duration of 12 months. 

(b) The on-the-job training contract between the training employer, the insurer, and the 
worker shall include, but is not limited to, the worker's name; the employer's legal business 

name, Workers' Compensation Division Employer Registration number, and the name of the 
individual providing the training; the training plan start and end dates; the job title, the job duties, 

and the skills to be taught; the base wage and the terms of wage reimbursement; and an 
agreement that the employer will pay all taxes normally paid on the entire wage and will 
maintain workers' compensation insurance for the trainee. If the training prepares a worker for a 

job unique to the training site, the contract must acknowledge that the training may not prepare 
the worker for jobs elsewhere. 

(c) The insurer shall not reimburse the training employer 100 percent of the wages for the 
entire contract period. 

(d) The insurer shall pay temporary disability compensation as provided in ORS 656.212. 

(e) The worker's schedule shall be the same as for a regular full-time employee. The 
schedule may be modified to accommodate the worker's documented medical condition or class 
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schedule. 

(7) Skills training is offered through a community college, based on predetermined 
curriculum, at the training employer's location. Skills training is subject to the following 

conditions: 

(a) Training is limited to 12 months. 

(b) Training does not establish any employer-employee relationship with the training 
employer. The activity is primarily for the worker's benefit. The worker does not receive wages. 
The training employer makes no guarantee of employing the worker when the training is 

completed. 

(c) The training employer has a sufficient number of employees to accomplish its regular 

work and the training of the worker, and the worker does not displace an employee. 

(d) The worker's schedule shall be the same as for a regular full-time employee. The 
schedule may be modified to accommodate the worker's documented medical condition or class 

schedule. 

(8) Rehabilitation facilities training provides evaluation, training and employment for 

severely disabled individuals. 

(9) Basic education may be offered, with or without other training components, to raise 
the worker's education to a level to enable the worker to obtain suitable employment. It is limited 

to six months. 

(10) Formal training may be offered through a vocational school licensed by an 

appropriate licensing body, or community college or other post-secondary educational facility 
which is part of a state system of higher education. Courseload shall be consistent with the 
worker's abilities, limitations and length of time since the worker last attended school. Courses 

shall relate to the vocational goal. 

(11) The worker is entitled to job placement assistance after completion of training. 

(12) When the worker returns to work following training, the insurer shall monitor the 
worker's progress for at least 60 days to assure the suitability of employment before ending 
eligibility. 

(13) Training ends and the plan shall be re-evaluated when any of the following occurs: 

(a) A change in the worker's limitations which renders the training inappropriate. 

(b) The worker's training performance is unsatisfactory and training is not likely to result 
in employment in that field. In an academic program, the worker fails to maintain at least a 2.00 
grade point average for at least two grading periods or to complete the minimum credit hours 

required under the training plan. The vocational counselor shall report any unsatisfactory 
performance and the insurer shall give the worker a written warning of the possible end of 

training at the first indication of unsatisfactory performance. 

(14) The insurer shall not provide any further training to a worker who has completed one 
training plan unless the worker has sustained a compensable aggravation or newly accepted 

condition which renders the worker incapable of obtaining suitable employment, or the previous 
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plan was inadequate to prepare the worker for suitable employment because of an error or 
omission by the insurer. 

(15) Training shall end if any of the following applies: 

(a) The worker has successfully completed training; or 

(b) The worker is not enrolled and actively engaged in the training. However, none of the 

following will be considered as ending the worker’s training status: 

(A) A regularly scheduled break of not more than six weeks between fixed school terms; 

(B) A break of not more than two weeks between the end of one kind of training and the 

start of another for which the starting date is flexible; or 

(C) A period of illness or recuperation which does not prevent completion of the training 

by the planned date. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4) 
 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.340 

 Hist: Filed 12/29/82 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1982, eff. 1/1/83 (Temporary) 
 Filed 6/30/83 as WCD Admin. Order 2-1983, eff. 6/30/83 
 Amended 12/14/83 as WCD Admin. Order 5-1983. eff. 1/1/84 
 Renumbered from OAR 436-61-060, 5/1/85 

 Amended 12/12/85 as WCD Admin. Order 7-1985, eff. 1/1/86 
 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-030, 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 
 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-075 and 085, 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 
 Amended and renumbered from OAR 436-120-0450, 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 

 Amended 4/13/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-053, eff. 5/15/01 
 Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02. 

436-120-0455 Optional Services 

(1) Optional services are services provided to an ineligible worker or services provided to 
an eligible worker in excess of those described in these rules. Such services are at the discretion 
of an insurer. 

(2) The insurer shall not use optional services to circumvent the intent of these rules. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.283, 656.340, 656.704, 656.726 
 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656 

 Hist: Amended and renumbered from OAR 436-120-0910, 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 

436-120-0500 Return-to-Work Plans: Development and Implementation 

(1) A return-to-work plan should be a collaborative effort between the vocational 

counselor and the injured worker, and should include all the rights and responsibilities of the 
worker, the insurer, and the vocational counselor. Prior to submitting the plan to the insurer, the 

vocational counselor shall review the plan and plan support with the worker. Certain information 
may be excluded, as allowed by ORS 192.525. The injured worker must be given the opportunity 
to review the plan with the worker's representative prior to signing it. The vocational assistance 

provider shall confirm the worker's understanding of and agreement with the plan by obtaining 
the worker's signature. The counselor shall submit copies signed by the vocational counselor and 

the worker to all parties no later than 30 days after the selection of direct employment or 60 days 
after the selection of training. Circumstances beyond the insurer's and worker's control may 
necessitate an extension of this time frame. 
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(2) Within 14 days of receipt of the signed return-to-work plan, the insurer shall approve 
or reject the plan and notify the parties. If the insurer lacks sufficient information to make a 
decision, the insurer shall advise the parties what information is needed and when it expects to 

make a decision. 

(3) If, during development of a return-to-work plan, an employer offers the worker a job, 

the insurer shall perform a job analysis, obtain approval from the attending physician, verify the 
suitability of the wage, and confirm the offer is for a bona fide, suitable job as defined in OAR 
436-120-0005 (13). If the job is suitable, the insurer shall help the worker return to work with the 

employer. The insurer shall provide return-to-work follow-up during the first 60 days after the 
worker returns to work. If return to work with the employer is unfeasible or, during the 60-day 

follow-up the job proves unsuitable, the insurer shall immediately resume development of the 
return-to-work plan. 

(4) If the vocational goal or category of assistance is later changed, the insurer shall 

amend the plan. All amendments to the plan shall be initialed by the insurer, vocational 
assistance provider, and the worker. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4) 
 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.340(9) 
 Hist: Filed 12/29/82 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1982, eff. 1/1/83 Temporary) 
 Filed 6/30/83 as WCD Admin. Order 1-1983, eff. 6/30/83 

 Amended 12/14/83 as WCD Admin. Order 5-1983, eff. 1/1/84 
 Renumbered from OAR 436-20-177, 5/1/85 
 Amended 12/12/85 as WCD Admin. Order 7-1985, eff. 1/1/86 
 Amended 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 

 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-105 and 170, 10/31/94 as Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 
 Amended 2/2/96 as WCD Admin. Order 95-074, eff. 3/1/96 
 Amended 12/11/96 as WCD Admin. Order 96-073, eff. 2/1/97 

 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-0600, 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 
 Amended 4/13/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-053, eff. 5/15/01 
 Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02 

436-120-0510  Return-to-Work Plan Support 

(1) The injured worker and vocational counselor shall work together to develop a return-
to-work plan that includes consideration of the following: 

(a) the injured worker's transferable skills; 

(b) the injured worker's physical and mental capacities and limitations; 

(c) the injured worker's vocational interests; 

(d) the injured worker's educational background and academic skill level; 

(e) the injured worker's pre-injury wage; and 

(f) the injured worker's place of residence and that labor market. 

(2) Return-to-work plan support shall contain, but is not limited to, the following: 

(a) Specific vocational goal(s) and projected return-to-work wage(s). 

(b) A description of the worker’s current medical condition, relating the worker’s 
permanent limitations to the vocational goals. 

(c) A description of the worker’s education and work history, including job durations, 
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wages, Dictionary of Occupational Titles codes or other standardized job titles and codes, and 
specific job duties. 

(d) If a direct employment plan, a description of the worker’s transferable skills which 

relate to the vocational goals and a discussion of why training will not bring the worker a wage 
significantly closer to 100 percent of the adjusted weekly wage at the time of injury. 

(e) If a training plan, a discussion of why direct employment services will not return the 
worker to suitable employment. 

(f) A summary of the results of any evaluations or testing. If the results do not support 

the goals, the vocational assistance provider shall explain why the goals are appropriate. 

(g) A summary of current labor market information which shows the labor market 

supports the vocational goals and documents that the worker has been informed of the condition 
of the labor market. 

(h) A labor market survey as prescribed in 436-120-0410(6), if needed. 

(i) If the labor market information does not support the goals, the vocational assistance 
provider shall explain why the goals are appropriate. The worker and worker’s representative, if 

any, shall acknowledge in writing an awareness of the poor labor market conditions and a 
willingness to proceed with the plan in spite of these conditions. In the case of a training plan, 
this acknowledgment shall include an understanding the insurer will provide no additional 

training should the worker be unable to find suitable employment because of the labor market. 

(j) A job analysis prepared by the vocational assistance provider, signed by the worker 

and by the attending physician or a qualified facility designated by the attending physician, and 
based on a visit to a worksite comparable to what the worker could expect after completing 
training. If the attending physician is unable or unwilling to address the job analysis and does not 

designate a facility as described above, the insurer may submit the job analysis to a qualified 
facility of its choice. The insurer shall submit the resulting information to the attending physician 

for concurrence. If the attending physician has not responded within 30 days of the date of 
request for concurrence, the plan may proceed. 

(k) A signed on-the-job training contract, if applicable. 

(l) A description of the curriculum, which must be term by term if the curriculum is for 
formal training. 

(m)  If material pertinent to a return-to-work plan is contained in a previous eligibility or 
vocational evaluation, the insurer may attach a copy of the evaluation to the plan. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4) 

 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.340 
 Hist: Filed 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 
 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-105, 10/31/94 as Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 
 Amended 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 

 Amended 4/13/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-053, eff. 5/15/01 
 Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02. 
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436-120-0520 Return-to-Work Plan: Responsibilities of the Eligible Worker and the 

Vocational Assistance Provider 

(1) The worker shall participate and maintain contact with the vocational counselor 

throughout plan development and as required in the plan, and shall inform the vocational 
counselor of anything which might affect the worker's participation in or successful completion 

of the plan. If the worker stops attending training for any reason, the worker must notify the 
vocational counselor by the close of the next working day. 

(2) Vocational counselors are responsible for the following: 

(a) During plan development, the vocational counselor shall provide resource materials 
about jobs, training programs (if appropriate), labor markets and other pertinent information to 

help the worker select a vocational goal; direct information gathering; and otherwise help the 
worker analyze and evaluate options. 

(b) The vocational counselor shall help the worker plan the curriculum and help the 

worker enroll. The vocational assistance provider shall contact the worker, trainers and training 
facility counselors to the extent necessary to assure the worker's participation and progress. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4) 
 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.340 
 Hist: Filed 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 
 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-115, 10/31/94 as Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 

 Amended 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 

436-120-0530  Return-to-Work Plan Review 

The director may review return-to-work plans and supporting information. If the director 

finds a return-to-work plan or its supporting information does not conform to these rules: 

(1) The director shall notify the insurer and vocational assistance provider in writing of 

the preliminary finding of nonconformance. The notification must inform the insurer of changes 
or information required to bring the plan into conformance. 

(2) The insurer shall, within 30 days of notification, make appropriate changes, supply 

additional information requested by the division, or explain why no change(s) should be made. 

(3) If the insurer does not respond timely or is unable to bring the plan into conformance, 

the director will return the plan to the parties with notification that the plan does not conform to 
OAR 436-120 and may order the insurer to develop a plan that conforms to the rules. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4) 

 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.340 
 Hist: Filed 12/14/83 as WCD Admin. Order 5-1983, eff. 1/1/84 
 Renumbered from OAR 436-61-172, 5/1/85 
 Amended 12/12/85 as WCD Admin. Order 7-1985, eff. 1/1/86 

 Amended 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 
 Filed 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 
 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-170 and 215, 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 
 Amended 2/2/96 as WCD Admin. Order 95-074, eff. 3/1/96. 

 Amended 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 
 Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02. 

436-120-0700 Direct Worker Purchases 

(1) The insurer shall provide direct worker purchases as necessary for an eligible worker's 
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participation in vocational assistance and to meet the requirements of a suitable job. A worker is 
no longer eligible for these purchases once eligibility ends unless the purchases are necessary to 
complete a plan. Direct worker purchases include partial purchase, lease, rental and payment. 

(2) Direct worker purchases shall not include purchases of real property; payment of fines 
or other penalties; or payment of additional driver's license costs, increased insurance costs or 

any other costs attributable to problems with the worker's driving record. 

(3) In making its decision regarding a direct worker purchase, the insurer may choose the 
least expensive, adequate alternative. If the worker wants a direct worker purchase which is more 

expensive than that authorized by the insurer, the worker may select that alternative, and the 
worker shall pay the difference in cost. 

(4) Within 14 days of its receipt of a request for a direct worker purchase, the insurer 
shall approve the purchase or notify the worker of its denial. 

(5) The insurer shall pay for approved direct worker purchases in time to prevent delay in 

the provision of services. 

(6) The worker may pay for mileage, child or senior care, or for purchases such as 

clothing, books and supplies or the worker may request an advance of any of these costs based 
on documentation of need. 

(a) The insurer shall reimburse costs within 28 days of receiving the written request from 

the worker and any required supporting documentation. 

(b) The insurer shall return denied requests for reimbursement to the worker within 28 

days of the insurer's receipt with an explanation of the reason for nonpayment. 

(7) The insurer shall assign to the worker right and title to the nonexpendable direct 
worker purchases paid by the insurer as follows: 

(a) The insurer shall make such assignment no later than the 60th day of continuous 
employment unless the worker remains eligible and the suitability of the employment is in 

question. 

(b) The insurer may repossess nonexpendable property if the worker no longer requires 
the property for training or employment. 

(c) The insurer may require repayment of advancements or reimbursements if the worker 
misrepresented information material to the purchase decision or if the worker used the funds for 

something other than the approved purchase. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4) 
 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.340 

 Hist: Filed 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 
 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-087, 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 
 Amended 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 

436-120-0710 Direct Worker Purchases: Kinds 

The insurer shall provide the direct worker purchases described in sections (1) through 
(12) of this rule without regard to the worker's pre- or post-injury income except as specifically 

stated. In determining the necessity of direct worker purchases described in sections (13) through 
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(18), the insurer shall consider, among all factors, the worker's pre-injury net income as 
compared with the worker's post-injury net income. Permanent partial disability award payments 
shall not be considered as income. For the insurer to find the purchase necessary, the worker's 

pre-injury net income, as adjusted by the cost-of-living matrix, must be greater than the worker's 
post-injury net income, unless the worker can establish financial hardship. The insurer may 

require the worker to provide information about expenditures or family income when the worker 
claims a financial hardship. 

(1) Tuition, fees, books and supplies for training or studies . Payment is limited to 

those items identified as mandatory by the instructional facility, trainer or employer. The insurer 
shall pay the cost in full, and shall not require the worker to apply for grants to pay for tuition, 

books or other expenses associated with training. 

(2) Wage reimbursement for on-the-job training. The amount shall be stipulated in a 
contract between the training employer and the insurer. 

(3) Travel expenses for transportation, meals and lodging required for participation 

in vocational assistance. For the purposes of this section, "participation in vocational assistance" 

includes, but is not limited to job search, required meetings with the vocational assistance 
provider, and meetings with employers or at training sites as required by the plan or plan 
development. The conditions and rates for payment of travel expenses are as follows: 

(a) Transportation. Costs shall be paid at public transportation rates when public 
transportation is available; otherwise, mileage shall be paid at the rate of reimbursement for State 

of Oregon classified employees. Costs incidental to mileage, such as parking fees, also shall be 
paid. For workers receiving temporary total disability or equivalent income, private car mileage 
shall be paid only for mileage in excess of the miles the worker traveled to and from work at the 

time of injury. Mileage payment in conjunction with moving expenses shall be allowed only for 
one vehicle and for a single one-way trip. To receive reimbursement for private car mileage, the 

worker must provide the insurer with a copy of the driver's valid driver's license and proof of 
insurance coverage. 

(b) Meals and lodging, overnight travel. For overnight travel, meal and lodging expense 

shall be reimbursed at the rate of reimbursement for State of Oregon classified employees. 

(c) Special travel costs. Payment shall be made in excess of the amounts specified in this 

section when special transportation or lodging is necessary because of the physical needs of the 
worker, or when the insurer finds prevailing costs in the travel area are substantially higher than 
average. 

(4) Tools and equipment for training or employment. Payment is limited to items 
identified as mandatory for the training or initial employment, such as starter sets. Purchases 

shall not include what the trainer or employer ordinarily would provide to all employees or 
trainees in the training or employment, or what the worker possesses. 

(5) Moving expenses. Payment is limited to workers with employment or training 

outside reasonable commuting distance. In determining the necessity of paying moving 
expenses, the insurer may consider the availability of employment or training which does not 

require moving, or which requires less than the proposed moving distance. Payment is limited to 
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moving household goods weighing not more than 10,000 pounds. If necessary, payment includes 
reasonable costs of meals and lodging for the worker's family and mileage pursuant to subsection 
(3)(a) of this rule. 

(6) Second residence allowance . The purpose of the second residence is to enable the 
worker to participate in training outside reasonable commuting distance. The allowance shall 

equal the rental expense reasonably necessary, plus not more than $200 a month toward all other 
expenses of the second residence, excluding refundable deposits. In order to qualify for second 
residence allowance, the worker must maintain a permanent residence. 

(7) Primary residence allowance . This allowance is applicable when the worker must 
change residence for training or employment. Payment includes the first month's rent and the last 

month's rent only if required prior to moving in. 

(8) Medical examinations and psychological examinations for conditions not related 

to the compensable injury when necessary for determining the worker's ability to 

participate in vocational assistance. 

(9) Physical or work capacities evaluations . 

(10) Living expense allowance during vocational evaluation. Payment is limited to 
workers involved in a vocational evaluation at least five hours daily for four or more consecutive 
days, and not receiving temporary disability payments. The worker shall not be barred from 

receiving a living expense allowance if the worker is unable to participate five hours daily 
because of limitations caused by the injury. Payment shall be based on the worker's temporary 

total disability rate if the worker's claim were reopened. 

(11) Work adjustment, on-the-job evaluation, or situational assessment cost(s). 

(12) Membership fees and occupational certifications, licenses, and related testing 

costs. Payment under this category is limited to $500. 

(13) Clothing required for participation in vocational assistance or for employment. 

Allowable purchases do not include items the trainer or employer would provide or the worker 
possesses. 

(14) Child or disabled adult care services. These services are payable when required to 

enable the worker to participate in vocational assistance at rates prescribed by the State of 
Oregon's Department of Human Services. For workers receiving temporary total disability 

compensation or equivalent income, these costs shall be paid only when in excess of what the 
worker paid for such services at the time of injury, adjusted using the cost-of-living matrix. 

(15) Dental work, eyeglasses, hearing aids and prosthetic devices. These are not 

related to the compensable injury and enable the worker to obtain suitable employment or 
participate in training. 

(16) Dues and fees of a labor union. Payment shall be limited to initiation fees, or back 
dues and one month's current dues. 

(17) Vehicle rental or lease . There is no reasonable alternative enabling the worker to 

participate in vocational assistance or accept an available job. The worker shall provide the 
insurer with proof of a valid driver's license and insurance coverage. Payment under this 
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category is limited to $1,000. 

(18) Any other direct worker purchase the insurer considers necessary for the 

worker's participation as described in the introductory paragraph of this rule . Payment 

under this category is limited to $1,000. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4) 

 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.340 
 Hist: Filed 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 
 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-087, 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 
 Amended 2/2/96 as WCD Admin. Order 95-074, eff., 3/1/96 

 Amended 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 
 Amended 4/13/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-053, eff. 5/15/01 
 Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02. 

436-120-0720 Fee Schedule and Conditions for Payment of Vocational Assistance Costs  

(1) The director has established the following fee schedule for professional costs and 
direct worker purchases. The schedule sets maximum spending limits per claim opening for each 

category; however, the insurer may spend more than the maximum limit if the insurer determines 
the individual case so warrants. Spending limits are to be adjusted annually, effective July 1. The 
annual adjustment is based on the conversion factor described in OAR 436-120-0005(2) and 

published with the cost-of-living matrix. The amounts in section (2) do not include the 
adjustment effective July 1, 2002. 

(2) Amounts include professional costs, travel/wait, and other travel expenses: 
 

Categories of Vocational Assistance 
Professional 

Spending Limits 

Direct Worker Purchases 

Spending Limits 

Eligibility determination without substantial 

handicap analysis 

$351 Not applicable (NA) 

Substantial handicap analysis $702 NA 

Vocational evaluation $1,320 $1,056 

Direct Employment $4,752 $2,376 

Training $11,880 $14,256 

DE/Training Combined $13,200 NA 

Dispute Resolution $396.00 NA 

 

(3) Wage reimbursement for on-the-job training contracts, and the living expense 

allowance during vocational evaluation, are not covered by the fee schedule. 

(4) Services and direct worker purchases provided after eligibility ends to complete a 

plan or employment is subject to the maximum amounts in effect at the time of closure. 

(5) The insurer shall pay, within 60 days of receipt, the vocational assistance provider's 
billing for services provided under the insurer-vocational assistance provider agreement. The 

insurer shall not deny payment on the grounds the worker was not eligible for the assistance if 
the vocational assistance provider performed the services in good faith without knowledge of the 
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ineligibility. 

(6) An insurer entitled to claims cost reimbursement pursuant to OAR 436-110 for 
services provided pursuant to OAR 436-120 is subject to the following limitations: 

(a) Optional services are not reimbursable. 

(b) The director must approve eligibility before any services are provided. The request 

must be submitted on Form 1084. 

(c) The insurer must obtain the director's approval in advance of the following actions: 

(A) Notifying the worker of eligibility for vocational services; 

(B) Any waiver of the provisions of OAR 436-120; or 

(C) Exceeding the fee schedule. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4) 
 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.340, 656.258 
 Hist: Filed 5/22/80 as WCD Admin. Order 6-1980, eff. 6/1/80 
 Amended 12/4/81 as WCD Admin. Order 4-1981, eff. 1/1/82 

 Amended 12/29/82 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1982, eff. 1/1/83 (Temp) 
 Amended 6/30/83 as WCD Admin. Order 2-1983, eff. 6/30/83 
 Amended 12/14/83 as WCD Admin. Order 5-1983, eff. 1/1/84 

 Renumbered from OAR 436-61-120, 5/1/85 
 Amended 12/12/85 as WCD Admin. Order 7-1985, eff. 1/1/86 
 Amended 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 
 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-215 and 070, 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 

 Amended 2/2/96 as WCD Admin. Order 95-074, eff. 3/1/96 
 Amended 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 
 Amended 4/13/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-053, eff. 5/15/01 
 Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02. 

436-120-0730 Reimbursement of Vocational Assistance Costs for Pre-1986 Injuries 

(1) This rule applies only to pre-1986 injuries, and carries out the provisions of section 
15, chapter 600, Oregon Laws 1985. A reference to "pre-1986 injuries" relates to injuries 

sustained before January 1, 1986, and encompasses original claims, claims for aggravation, new 
medical condition claims, and claims for omitted conditions. 

(2) For costs to be reimbursable, services must be approved in advance by the Workers’ 
Compensation Division. Both direct worker purchases and professional services shall be billed 
on the Vocational Reimbursement Request (Form 1592). The insurer shall not request 

reimbursement of costs the insurer has not paid. Requests to exceed the fee schedule must be 
submitted on Form 1084. Original insurer signatures (not photocopied signatures) must be 

provided on all reimbursement requests. Staff certification number(s) must be provided for all 
reimbursement request charges with the exception of direct worker purchases. The insurer shall 
submit all reimbursement requests no later than one year after the date of service. 
 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4) 
 Stat. Impltd.: Section 15, chapt. 600, Oregon Laws 1985, ORS 656.340 
 Hist: Filed 5/22/80 as WCD Admin. Order 6-1980, eff. 6/1/80 

 Amended 12/4/81 as WCD Admin. Order 4-1981, eff. 1/1/82 
 Amended 12/29/82 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1982, eff. 1/1/83 (Temp.) 
 Amended 6/30/83 as WCD Admin. Order 2-1983, eff. 6/30/83 
 Amended 12/14/83 as WCD Admin. Order 5-1983, eff. 1/1/84 

 Renumbered from OAR 436-61-300, 5/1/85 
 Amended 12/12/85 as WCD Admin. Order 7-1985, eff. 1/1/86 
 Amended 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/87 
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 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-220 and 255, 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 
 Amended 2/2/96 as WCD Admin. Order 95-074, eff. 3/1/96 
 Amended 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 
 Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02. 

436-120-0800 Authorization of Vocational Assistance Providers 

(1) A vocational assistance provider must be authorized by the director under this rule. 

(2) A vocational assistance provider must submit an application which includes the 
following: 

(a) A description of the specific vocational services to be provided and verification of 

staff certifications pursuant to these rules; 

(b) The plan for supervising and training staff; and 

(c) Evidence of compliance with applicable state and federal requirements. 

(3) The director may approve or deny authorization based on the completed application 
and the department's certification records. 

(a) The authorization shall specify the scope of authorized vocational services as 
determined by the vocational assistance provider's staff certifications. 

(b) Vocational assistance providers whose authorization is denied under this rule may 
appeal as described in OAR 436-120-0008. 

(4) An authorized vocational assistance provider shall: 

(a) Notify the division within 30 days of any changes in office address, telephone 
number, contact person or staff, and update the roster of certified staff which includes staff 
certification numbers. 

(b) Adequately train and supervise certified staff; and 

(c) Provide each certified staff person with department rules, bulletins, and other 

information, as provided by the director. 

(d) The vocational assistance provider shall maintain the worker’s vocational assistance 

files for four years after the end of vocational assistance with that vocational assistance provider, 

or in a pre-1986 case, for five years after the end of vocational assistance with that provider. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4) 

 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.340 
 Hist: Filed 12/4/81 as WCD Admin. Order 4-1981, eff. 1/1/82. 
 Amended 12/31/81 as WCD Admin. Order 8-1981, eff. 1/1/82 (Temp.) 
 Amended 5/26/82 as WCD Admin. Order 9-1982, eff. 6/1/82 

 Amended 6/30/83 as WCD Admin. Order 2-1983, eff. 6/30/83 
 Amended 12/14/83 as WCD Admin. Order 5-1983, eff. 1/1/84 
 Renumbered from OAR 436-61-180, 5/1/85 
 Amended 12/12/85 as WCD Admin. Order 7-1985, eff. 1/1/86 

 Amended 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 
 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-200 and 203, 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 
 Amended 2/2/96 as WCD Admin. Order 95-074, eff. 3/1/96 
 Amended 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 

 Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02 
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436-120-0810 Certification of Individuals 

Individuals determining workers' eligibility and providing vocational assistance shall be 
certified by the director and on the staff of an authorized vocational assistance provider, insurer, 

or self-insured employer. 

(1) An applicant for certification shall submit an application, as prescribed by the 

director, demonstrating the qualifications for the specific classification of certification as 
described in OAR 436-120-0830. 

(2) Department certification is not required to perform work evaluations, but the work 

evaluator must be certified by the professional organizations described in OAR 436-120-
0410(1)(b). 

(3) The director may approve or disapprove an application for certification based on the 
individual's application. 

(a) Certification shall be granted for five years. A vocational counselor who is nationally 

certified as described in OAR 436-120-0830(1)(a) shall be granted an initial certification period 
to coincide with their national certification. 

(b) Individuals whose certification is denied under this rule may appeal as described in 
OAR 436-120-0008. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4) 

 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.340 
 Hist: Filed 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 
 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-205, 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 
 Amended 2/2/96 as WCD Admin. Order 95-074, eff. 3/1/96 

 Amended 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 

436-120-0820 Renewal of Certification 

(1) A certified individual shall renew their certification every five years by submitting the 

following documentation to the director no later than 30 days prior to the end of their 
certification period: 

(a) Current certification by the Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor Certification 
(CRCC) or the Commission for Case Managers Certification (CCMC) or the Certification of 
Disability Management Specialists Commission (CDMSC); or 

(b) Verification of a minimum of 60 hours of continuing education units pursuant to this 
rule within the five years prior to renewal. At least seven and one-half hours must be for training 

in ethical practices in rehabilitation counseling. 

(2) The department will accept continuing education units for training approved by the 
CRCC, CCMC or the CDMSC; courses in or related to psychology, sociology, counseling, and 

vocational rehabilitation, if given by an accredited institution of higher learning; training 
presented by the department pertaining to OAR 436-120, 436-105, and 436-110; and any 

continuing education program certified by the department for vocational rehabilitation providers. 
Sixty minutes of continuing education will count as one unit, except as noted in section (3) of 
this rule. 

(3) In the case of college course work, the department will grant credit only for grades of 
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C or above and will multiply the number of credit hours by six to establish the number of 
continuing education units. 

(4) Failure to meet the requirements of this section shall cause an individual's 

certification to expire. Such an individual may reapply for certification upon completion of the 
required 60 hours of continuing education. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4) 
 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.340 
 Hist: Filed 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 
 Amended 2/2/96 as WCD Admin. Order 95-074, eff. 3/1/96 

 Amended 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 
 Amended 4/13/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-053, eff. 5/15/01 
 Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02. 

436-120-0830 Classification of Vocational Assistance Staff 

Individuals providing vocational assistance shall be classified as follows: 

(1) Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor certification allows the individual to determine 

eligibility and provide vocational assistance services. Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor 
certification requires: 

(a) Certification by the following national certifying organizations: Commission on 
Rehabilitation Counselor Certification (CRCC), the Commission for Case Managers 
Certification (CCMC), or the Certification of Disability Management Specialists Commission 

(CDMSC); 

(b) A master's degree in vocational rehabilitation counseling and at least six months of 
direct experience; 

(c) A master's degree in psychology, counseling, or a field related to vocational 
rehabilitation, and 12 months of direct experience; or 

(d) A bachelor's or higher degree and 24 months of direct experience. Thirty-six months 
of direct experience may substitute for a bachelor's degree. 

(2) Vocational Rehabilitation Intern certification allows an individual who does not meet 

the requirements for certification as a Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor the opportunity to 
gain direct experience. Vocational Rehabilitation Intern certification requires a master’s degree 

in psychology, counseling, or a field related to vocational rehabilitation; or a bachelor's degree 
and 12 months of direct experience. Thirty-six months of direct experience may substitute for a 
bachelor's degree. The Vocational Rehabilitation Intern certification is subject to the following 

conditions: 

(a) The intern must be supervised by a certified Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor who 

shall co-sign and assume responsibility for all the intern's eligibility determinations, vocational 
evaluations, return-to-work plans, vocational and billing reports. 

(b) When the intern has met the experience requirements, the intern may apply for 

certification as a Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor. 

(3) Return-to-Work Specialist certification allows the person to provide job search skills 

instruction; job development; return-to-work follow-up and labor market survey; and to 
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determine eligibility for vocational assistance, except where such determination requires a 
judgment as to whether the worker has a substantial handicap to employment. This certification 
requires 24 months of direct experience. Full-time (or the equivalent) additional college 

coursework in psychology, counseling, or a field related to vocational rehabilitation may 
substitute for up to 18 months of direct experience, on a month-for-month basis. 

(4) To meet the direct experience requirements for Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor, 
the individual must: 

(a) Perform return-to-work plan development and implementation for the required 

number of months; or 

(b) Perform three or more of the qualifying job functions listed in paragraphs (A) through 

(J) of this subsection for the required number of months, with at least six months of the 
experience in one or more of functions listed in paragraphs (A) through (D) of this subsection. 
The qualifying job functions are: 

(A) Return-to-work plan development and implementation; 

(B) Employment counseling; 

(C) Job development; 

(D) Early return-to-work assistance which must include working directly with workers 
and their employers; 

(E) Vocational testing; 

(F) Job search skills instruction; 

(G) Job analysis; 

(H) Transferable skills assessment or employability evaluations; 

(I) Return-to-work plan review and approval; or 

(J) Employee recruitment and selection for a wide variety of occupations. 

(5) To meet the direct experience requirements for Vocational Rehabilitation Intern or 

Return-to-Work Specialist, the individual must: 

(a) Perform return-to-work plan development and implementation for the required 
number of months; or 

(b) Perform three or more of the qualifying job functions listed in paragraphs (4)(b)(A) 
through (J) of this rule for the required number of months. 

(6) To receive credit for direct experience, the individual must: 

(a) Perform one or more of the qualifying job functions listed in paragraphs (4)(b)(A) 
through (J) of this rule at least 50 percent of the work time for each month of direct experience 

credit. Qualifying job functions performed in a job which is less than full time shall be prorated. 
For purposes of this rule, full time shall be 40 hours a week. An individual will not receive credit 

for any function performed less than 160 hours. 

(b) Provide any documentation required by the director, including work samples. The 
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director may also require verification by the individual's past or present employers. 

(7) All degrees must be from accredited institutions and documented by a copy of the 
transcript(s) with the application for certification. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4) 
 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.340 
 Hist: Filed 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 

 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-205, 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 
 Amended 2/2/96 as WCD Admin. Order 95-074, eff. 3/1/96 
 Amended 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 
 Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02. 

436-120-0840 Professional Standards for Authorized Vocational Assistance Providers and 

Certified Individuals 

(1) Authorized vocational assistance providers and certified individuals shall: 

(a) Determine eligibility and provide assistance in an objective manner not subject to any 
conditions other than those prescribed in these rules; 

(b) Fully inform the worker of the categories and kinds of vocational assistance pursuant 
to OAR 436-120 and reemployment assistance pursuant to OAR 436-110; 

(c) Document all case activities in legible file notes or reports; 

(d) Provide only vocationally relevant information about workers in written and oral 
reports; 

(e) Recommend workers only for suitable employment; 

(f) Fully inform the worker of the purpose and results of all testing and evaluations, 
except as limited by ORS 192.525; and 

(g) Comply with generally accepted standards of conduct in the vocational rehabilitation 
profession. 

(2) Authorized vocational assistance providers and certified individuals shall not: 

(a) Provide evaluations or assistance if there is a conflict of interest or prejudice 
concerning the worker; 

(b) Enter into any relationship with the worker to promote personal gain, or the gain of a 
person or organization in which the vocational assistance provider or certified individual has an 

interest; 

(c) Engage in, or tolerate, sexual harassment of a worker. "Sexual harassment" means 
deliberate or repeated comments, gestures or physical contact of a sexual nature; 

(d) Violate any applicable state or federal civil rights law; 

(e) Commit fraud, misrepresent, or make a serious error or omission, in connection with 

an application for authorization or certification; 

(f) Commit fraud, misrepresent, or make a serious error or omission in connection with a 
report or return-to-work plan, or the vocational assistance activities or responsibilities of a 

vocational assistance provider under OAR chapter 436; 
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(g) Engage in collusion to withhold information, or submit false or misleading 
information relevant to the determination of eligibility or provision of vocational assistance; 

(h) Engage in collusion to violate these rules or other rules of the department, or any 

policies, guidelines or procedures issued by the director; 

(i) Fail to comply with an order by the director to provide specific vocational assistance, 

except as provided in ORS 656.313; or 

(j) Instruct any individual to make decisions or engage in behavior which is contrary to 
the requirements of these rules. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4) 
 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.313, 656.340 
 Hist: Filed 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88g 

 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-207, 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 
 Amended 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 
 Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02 

436-120-0900 Audits, Penalties and Sanctions 

(1) Insurers and employers at injury shall fully participate in any department audit, 
periodic program review, investigation or review, and provide records and other information as 

requested. 

(2) If the director finds the insurer or employer at injury failed to comply with OAR 436-
120, the director may impose one or more of the following sanctions: 

(a) Reprimand by the director. 

(b) Recovery of reimbursements. 

(c) Denial of reimbursement requests. 

(d) An insurer may be assessed a civil penalty pursuant to ORS 656.745 for any violation 
of OAR 436-120. 

(3) Insurers or employers at injury who fail to comply with a director's order, to give 
notices required by OAR 436-120-0004, or to provide materials requested by the director may be 

assessed civil penalties pursuant to this matrix.  

Violations in a Calendar Year: 1 2 3 4 5+ 

Days Late: 

1 to 7 

 

$100 

 

$200 

 

$300 

 

$500 

 

$1,000 

 

8 to 14 

 

$200 

 

$300 

 

$500 

 

$1,000 

 

$2,000 

 

15 to 21 

 
$300 

 
$500 

 
$1,000 

 
$2,000 

 
$2,000 

 

22+ 

 

$500 

 

$1,000 

 

$2,000 

 

$2,000 

 

$2,000 

 
(4) In determining the amount of a civil penalty to be assessed in matters not listed in 

section (3) of this rule, the director may consider: 
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(a) The degree of harm inflicted on the worker; 

(b) Whether there have been previous violations or warnings; and 

(c) Other matters as justice may require. 

(5) Pursuant to ORS 656.447, the director may suspend or revoke an insurer's authority to 
issue guaranty contracts upon determination that the insurer has failed to comply with these 

rules. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340, 656.726(4) 
 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.340, 656.447, 656.745(1) and (2) 

 Hist: Filed 12/4/81 as WCD Admin. Order 4-1981, eff. 1/1/82 
 Amended 6/30/83 as WCD Admin. Order 2-1983, eff. 6/30/83 
 Amended 12/14/83 as WCD Admin. Order 5-1983, eff. 1/1/84 
 Renumbered from OAR 436-61-981, 5/1/85 

 Amended 12/12/85 as WCD Admin. Order 7-1985, eff. 1/1/86 
 Amended 12/17/87 as WCD Admin. Order 11-1987, eff. 1/1/88 
 Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-255 and 270, 10/31/94 as WCD Admin. Order 94-058, eff. 1/1/95 
 Amended 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 

 Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02. 

436-120-0915 Sanctions of Authorized Vocational Assistance Providers and Certified 

Individuals 

(1) Vocational assistance providers and certified individuals shall fully participate in any 
department audit, periodic program review, investigation or review, and provide records and 

other information as requested. 

(2) If the director finds any authorized vocational assistance provider or certified 
individual failed to comply with OAR 436-120, the director may impose one or more of the 

following sanctions: 

(a) Reprimand by the director. 

(b) Probation, in which the department systematically monitors the vocational assistance 
provider's or individual's compliance with OAR 436-120 for a specified length of time. Probation 
may include the requirement an individual receive supervision, or successfully complete 

specified training, personal counseling or drug or alcohol treatment. 

(c) Suspension, which is the termination of authorization or certification to determine 

eligibility and provide vocational assistance to Oregon injured workers for a specified period of 
time. The vocational assistance provider or individual may reapply for authorization or 
certification at the end of the suspension period. If granted, the vocational assistance provider or 

individual will be placed on probation as described in subsection (2)(b) of this rule. 

(d) Revocation, which is a permanent termination of authorization or certification to 

determine eligibility and provide vocational assistance to Oregon injured workers. 

(3) The director shall investigate violations of OAR 436-120 and may impose a sanction 
under these rules. Before issuing a suspension or revocation, the director shall send a notice of 

the proposed action and provide the opportunity for a show-cause hearing. The process is as 
follows: 

(a) The director shall send by certified mail a written notice of intended suspension or 
revocation and the grounds for such action. The notice shall advise of the right to participate in a 
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show-cause hearing. 

(b) The vocational assistance provider or individual has 10 days from the date of receipt 
of the notification of proposed action in which to request a show-cause hearing. 

(c) If the vocational assistance provider or individual does not request a show-cause 
hearing, the proposed suspension or revocation shall become final. 

(d) If the vocational assistance provider or individual requests a show-cause hearing, the 
director shall send a notification of the date, time and place of the hearing. 

(e) After the show-cause hearing, the director shall issue a final order which may be 

appealed as described in OAR 436-120-0008(5). 

(4) The director may bar a vocational assistance provider or individual who has received 

a suspension or revocation under this rule from sponsoring or teaching continuing education 
programs. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.340(9), 656.726(4) 

 Stat. Impltd.: ORS 656.340 
 Hist: Amended and Renumbered from OAR 436-120-0850, 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 
 Amended 4/13/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-053, eff. 5/15/01 

 Amended 5/30/02 as WCD Admin. Order 02-057, eff. 7/1/02. 

436-120-0920 Service of Orders 

(1) When the director imposes a sanction or assesses a penalty under the provisions of 

OAR 436-120-0900 or 436-120-0915, the order, including a notice of the party's appeal rights, 
shall be served on the party. 

(2) The director shall serve the order by delivering a copy to the party in the manner 

provided by Oregon Rules of Civil Procedure 7D, or by sending a copy to the party by certified 
mail with return receipt. 

 Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.704, 656.726, 656.283, 656.340 
 Stat. Impltd.: ORS Ch. 656 
 Hist: Filed 4/27/00 as WCD Admin. Order 00-055, eff. 6/1/00 
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Secretary of State 

Certificate and Order for Filing 

TEMPORARY ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
A Statement of Need and Justification accompanies this form 

 

I certify that the attached copies* are true, full and correct copies of the TEMPORARY 

Rule(s) adopted on December 12, 2003 by the 
  Date prior to or same as filing date. 

Department of Consumer and Business Services, Workers’ Compensation Division  chapter 436 
Agency and Division   Administrative Rules Chapter No. 

Fred Bruyns (503) 947-7717 
Rules Coordinator Telephone 

350 Winter Street NE, Rm 27; Salem, OR 97301-3879; PO Box 14480, Salem OR 97309-0405 
Address 

to become effective January 1, 2004 through June 28, 2004 
 Date upon filing or later A maximum of 180 days including the effective date. 
 

RULEMAKING ACTION 
List each rule number separately, 000-000-0000. 

AMEND: OAR

436-001-0265 

436-009-0008 

436-009-0015 

436-009-0060 

436-009-0070 

436-009-0080 

436-010-0005 

436-010-0008 

436-010-0210 

436-010-0220 

436-010-0230 

436-010-0240 

436-010-0250 

436-010-0265 

436-010-0270 

436-010-0275 

436-010-0280 

436-010-0340 

436-015-0008 

436-015-0030 

436-015-0050 

436-015-0060 

436-015-0070 

436-015-0090 

436-030-0003 

436-030-0005 

436-030-0007 

436-030-0009 

436-030-0010 

436-030-0034 

436-030-0035 

436-030-0115 

436-030-0125 

436-030-0135 

436-030-0145 

436-030-0165 

436-030-0185 

436-120-0008

ORS 656.704, 656.726 
Statutory Authority: 

ORS 183.335; OAR 137; OAR 436-001 
Other Authority: 

ch. 86, OL 2003 (HB 2305); §9, ch. 170, OL 2003 (SB 233); ch. 429, OL 2003 (SB 285);  

§2, ch. 756, OL 2003 (SB620); §3, ch. 811, OL 2003 (HB 3669) 
Statutes being Implemented 
 

RULE SUMMARY 

These temporary rules reflect changes in the law due to legislation passed by the 2003 Oregon Legislature: 

 Senate Bill 233 changes the time frame for appeal of a proposed order or proposed assessment of civil penalty from 60 days 

following the party’s receipt of notice to 60 days from the date the order is mailed by the department. This change has been 

incorporated into OAR 436-010, 436-015, 436-030, and 436-120. 

 Senate Bill 285 allows an insurer or self-insured employer to contest its Notice of Closure in certain circumstances, and OAR 

436-030 has been revised accordingly. 

 Senate Bill 620 requires payment of fees to workers’ attorneys when a claimant prevails at th e administrative level in certain 

medical and vocational disputes or when the attorney is instrumental in obtaining a settlement. This fee provision has been 

included in OAR 436-001, 436-009, 436-010, and 436-120. 

 House Bill 2305 addresses how medical records may be released, consistent with the federal Health Insurance Portability and 

Accountability Act, and OAR 436-010 has been revised to be consistent with chapter 429, OL 2003. 

 House Bill 3669 gives additional authority to nurse practitioners to treat in jured workers and authorize temporary disability 

payments. OAR 436-009, 436-010, 436-015, and 436-030 have been amended to reflect this change. This bill was a result of 

legislative action after development of the legislative concepts by nurse practitioners and the Management Labor Advisory 

Committee. 

  /s/ John L. Shilts          December 12, 2003
Authorized Signer Date 

  

John L. Shilts, Administrator, Workers’ Compensation Division 
Printed name  
 

*Copies include a photocopy of this certificate with paper and electronic copies of each rule listed in the Rulemaking Action. 



 

DIV 120 - 45 

Secretary of State 

STATEMENT OF NEED AND JUSTIFICATION 
A Certificate and Order for Filing Temporary Administrative Rules accompanies this form.  

 

Dept. of Consumer and Business Services, 

Workers’ Compensation Division  OAR chapter 436 
Agency and Division  Administrative Rules Chapter Number 
 

In the Matter of 

OAR 436-001, Procedural Rules Governing Rulemaking and 

Hearings 

OAR 436-009, Oregon Medical Fee and Payment Rules  

OAR 436-010, Medical Services 

OAR 436-015, Managed Care Organizations  

OAR 436-030, Claims Evaluation, Determination, and 

Reconsideration 

OAR 436-120, Vocational Assistance to Injured Workers  

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

) 

 

Statutory Authority, 

Statutes Implemented, 

Statement of Need, 

Principal Documents Relied Upon 

 

Statutory Authority: ORS 656.704, ORS 656.726 

Other Authority: ORS 183.335, OAR 137, OAR 436-001 

Statutes Implemented: ch. 86, OL 2003 (HB 2305); §9, ch. 170, OL 2003 (SB 233); ch. 429, OL 2003 (SB 285);  

§2, ch. 756, OL 2003 (SB620); §3, ch. 811, OL 2003 (HB 3669) 

Need for the Temporary Rules: These temporary rules are needed to implement changes in the law due to 

legislation passed by the 2003 Oregon Legislature: 

 Senate Bill 233 changes the time frame for appeal of a proposed order or proposed assessment of civil penalty 

from 60 days following the party’s receipt of notice to 60 days from the date the order is mailed by the 

department. 

 Senate Bill 285 allows an insurer or self-insured employer to contest its Notice of Closure in certain 

circumstances. 

 Senate Bill 620 requires payment of fees to workers’ attorneys when a claimant prevails at the administrative 

review level in certain medical and vocational disputes or when the attorney is instrumental in obtaining a 

settlement. 

 House Bill 2305 addresses how medical records may be released, consistent with the federal Health Insurance 

Portability and Accountability Act. 

 House Bill 3669 gives additional authority to nurse practitioners to treat injured workers and authorize temporary 

disability payments. 

Documents Relied Upon: Enrolled Senate Bills 233, 285, and 620. Enrolled House Bills 2305 and 3669. These 

documents are available for public review from the Administrator’s Office, Department of Consumer and Business 

Services, Workers’ Compensation Division, Labor and Industries Building, 350 Winter Street N.E., Salem, Oregon 

97301-3879, during regular business hours, between 8:00 am and 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday. 

Justification of Temporary Rule(s): Failure to act promptly will result in serious prejudice to the public interest or 

the interest of the parties concerned, primarily Oregon employers, insurers, self-insured employers, managed care 

organizations, nurse practitioners, other medical providers, injured workers, and  attorneys representing injured 

workers. These temporary rules are needed to bring administrative rules into alignment with Oregon Laws 2003. 

 

 /s/ John L. Shilts   December 12, 2003 

 Authorized Signer and Date 

 John L. Shilts, Administrator, Workers’ Compensation Division 

 Printed name 

 

Administrative Rules Unit, Archives Division, Secretary of State, 800 Summer Street NE, Salem, Oregon 97310.  
 


