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 BULLETIN NO. 367 

 Nov. 9, 2016 
  

TO: Workers’ compensation insurers, self-insured employers, 

 and self-insured employer groups 
 

SUBJECT: 2017 premium assessment rate                    
 

This bulletin provides the workers’ compensation premium assessment rate to be applied against premium earned 

during the calendar year 2017. This bulletin replaces Bulletin 367 issued Oct. 22, 2015. 
 

Effective Jan.1, 2017, the department determined an assessment rate of 6.8 percent of direct earned premium is necessary 

for the department to carry out its statutory responsibility to regulate, administer, and enforce the workers’ compensation 

and occupational safety and health laws of the state of Oregon (see ORS 656.612 and OAR 440-045-0020). This rate is an 

increase of 0.6 percentage points from the 2016 rate. This assessment funds the operations of the Workers’ Compensation 

Division, the Workers’ Compensation Board, most of Oregon-OSHA, a portion of the Division of Financial Regulation, 

and other parts of the Department of Consumer and Business Services that support these activities. 
 

An additional assessment of 0.2 percent for self-insured employers and public-sector self-insured employer groups, and 

1.0 percent for private-sector self-insured employer groups is required to fund the Self-Insured Employer Adjustment 

Reserve and the Self-Insured Employer Group Adjustment Reserve (ORS 656.614 and OAR 440-045-0025).  
 

These rates apply to all premium earned on or after Jan. 1, 2017. Insurers should refer to Bulletin 144 for payment 

instructions. Self-insured employers and self-insured employer groups should refer to Bulletin 374. These bulletins are 

available on our website: http://wcd.oregon.gov/forms/Pages/bulletins.aspx. 
 

Assessment rates for 2017 and rates for prior four years are: 

 

Year Insurers Self-insured employers Self-insured employer groups 

2017 6.8 percent 7.0 percent 7.0 percent – public groups 

7.8 percent – private groups 

2016 6.2 percent 6.4 percent 6.4 percent – public groups 

7.2 percent – private groups 

2015 6.2 percent 6.4 percent 6.4 percent – public groups 

7.2 percent – private groups 

2014 6.2 percent 6.4 percent 7.2 percent 

2013 6.2 percent 6.4 percent 6.4 percent 
 

The department mailed the attached notice to Oregon employers announcing the average pure premium rate, Workers’ 

Benefit Fund assessment rate, and premium assessment rate. 
 

If you have questions about this bulletin, contact the Workers’ Compensation Division, Performance Section,  

503-947-7687.  

 

/s/ Louis Savage 

Louis Savage, Administrator 

Workers’ Compensation Division 

 

Distribution: WCD-LY, PD8903, PD8913, SIPA, PADS, electronic mailing lists 

Attachment:  Notice to Oregon Employers dated Nov. 9, 2016
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NOTICE TO OREGON EMPLOYERS 
Nov. 9, 2016  

What Employers Will Pay for Workers’ Compensation in 2017 

Please share this notice with your payroll and risk management staff 

 Insurance premium: The pure premium rate for 2017 will decrease by an average 6.6 percent 

compared with 2016. Pure premiums are the base rates, before insurer costs are added. The impact on 
your company’s rate depends on a variety of factors, including industry and individual claim records. 
Your next policy renewal with your insurer will reflect this change. 

 Premium assessment: Insurance companies (on your behalf), self-insured employers, and self-insured 
employer groups pay an assessment to the state to administer workers’ compensation and workplace safety 
programs. The assessment will increase from 6.2 percent to 6.8 percent of premiums paid. Self-insured 
employers and self-insured employer groups pay an additional amount into a reserve fund to pay claims in 
the event of an insolvency. 

Self-insured employers pay 7.0 percent in 2017. Public-sector self-insured employer groups pay 7.0 
percent. Private-sector self-insured employer groups pay 7.8 percent. 

Employer Payroll Information 

Workers’ Benefit Fund (cents-per-hour) assessment: Employers and employees split this assessment, 
which employers collect through payroll. This assessment will decrease from 3.3 cents to 2.8 cents per 
hour or partial hour worked by each individual that an employer must cover or chooses to provide with 
workers’ compensation coverage. 

Employers must pay at least half the amount (1.40 cents per hour) and deduct no more than half 
from workers’ wages. 

Each quarter, employers use Forms OQ and OTC to report and pay the assessment through Oregon’s 
Combined Payroll Tax Reporting System. For information about calculating the assessment, go to 
oregon.gov/DCBS/Pages/wbf.aspx, call 503-378-2372, or email wbfassess.fabs@oregon.gov. 

This fund pays for benefits to injured workers and their beneficiaries. The fund also provides money 
to employers to help injured workers return to work. 

 

For more information about workers’ compensation costs: 

 Contact your insurer. 

 Call the Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services at 800-452-0288 (toll-free) 

or visit http://www.cbs.state.or.us/external/dir/wc_cost/index.html. 

440-3256 (10/16/COM) 

http://oregon.gov/DCBS/Pages/wbf.aspx,
mailto:wbfassess.fabs@oregon.gov
http://www.cbs.state.or.us/external/dir/wc_cost/index.html


Important reminder 

An employer cannot require a worker injured on the job to get treatment from a specific health care 
provider. Doing so could result in a civil penalty. Form 801 “Report of Job Injury or Illness” is being 
revised to have employers and workers acknowledge this prohibition. Your insurer will provide 
updated forms. 

 

Workers’ Compensation Services for Employers 

The Department of Consumer and Business Services provides many programs and services that drive Oregon’s 
success in keeping workers’ compensation costs low and in improving workplace safety and health. 

Workers’ Compensation Division: Help with return-to-work programs and issues such as medical and dispute 
resolution, coverage, compliance, and reconsideration. 800-452-0288 (toll-free), workcomp.questions@ 
oregon.gov, wcd.oregon.gov. 

Oregon OSHA: Help with safety and health programs, accident investigation, on-site consultations, and 
technical trainings. 800-922-2689 (toll-free), osha.oregon.gov. 

Small Business Ombudsman for Workers’ Compensation: Help with questions on premium calculation, audit 
disputes, coverage, claims and policy provisions, outreach, and education. 503-378-4209, wc.advocate@ 
oregon.gov, oregon.gov/DCBS/SBO. 
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