
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nov. 10, 2015 

 

Proposed Changes to 

Workers’ Compensation Rules 

Threshold (split point) for reporting individual claims  

by self-insured employers 
 

The Workers’ Compensation Division proposes changes to OAR 436-050, Employer/Insurer 

Coverage Responsibility. 

 

Please review the attached documents for more information about proposed changes and 

possible fiscal impacts. 

The department welcomes public comment on proposed changes and has scheduled a public 

hearing. 

When is the hearing? Dec. 21, 2015, 10 a.m. 

Where is the hearing?  Labor & Industries Building 

350 Winter Street NE, Room E 

Salem, Oregon 97301 

How can I make a comment? Come to the hearing and speak, send written comments, or do 

both. Send written comments to:  

Email – fred.h.bruyns@oregon.gov 

 Fred Bruyns, rules coordinator 

 Workers’ Compensation Division 

 350 Winter Street NE (for courier or in-person delivery) 

 PO Box 14480, Salem, OR 97309-0405 

 Phone – 503-947-7717; Fax – 503-947-7514 

 The closing date for written comments is Dec. 23, 2015. 

How can I get copies of the proposed rules? 

 On the Workers’ Compensation Division’s website – 

 www.wcd.oregon.gov/policy/rules/rules.html#proprules 

 Or call 503-947-7717 to get free paper copies 

Questions? Contact Fred Bruyns, 503-947-7717. 



Hearing Date Time Location Hearings Officer
12-21-15 10:00 a.m. Room E, Labor & Industries Building, 350 Winter St. NE, Salem Fred Bruyns

The Agency requests public comment on whether other options should be considered for achieving the rule’s substantive goals while reducing negative
economic impact of the rule on business.

436-050-0003, 436-050-0175
AMEND:

REPEAL:

RENUMBER: Secure approval of new rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.

AMEND AND RENUMBER: Secure approval of new rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.

656.407, 656.430, and 656.726(4)
Statutory Authority:

Other Authority:

656.407, 656.430
Statutes Implemented:

RULE SUMMARY

The public may also listen to the hearing or testify by telephone:
Dial-in number is 1-213-787-0529; Access code is 9221262#.

The agency proposes to index the threshold for reporting individual claims by self-insured employers to the National Council on Compensation
Insurance (NCCI) split point as published in agency Bulletin 209, and to remove the NCCI split point dollar amount from the rules. The split
point will increase from $15,500 to $16,000 effective Jan. 1, 2016.

Last Day (m/d/yyyy) and Time
for public comment

Rules Coordinator Name Email Address

*The Oregon Bulletin is published on the 1st of each month and updates the rule text found in the Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation.

Fred Bruyns fred.h.bruyns@oregon.gov

Secretary of State

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULEMAKING HEARING*
A Statement of Need and Fiscal Impact accompanies this form

ADOPT:

RULEMAKING ACTION
Secure approval of rule numbers with the Administrative Rules Unit prior to filing.

Department of Consumer and Business Services, Workers' Compensation Division 436
Agency and Division Administrative Rules Chapter Number

Rules Coordinator Telephone

Fred Bruyns (503) 947-7717

Department of Consumer and Business Services, Workers' Compensation Division, PO Box 14480, Salem, OR 97309-0405

Address

Threshold (split point) for reporting individual claims by self-insured employers

Not more than 15 words that reasonably identifies the subject matter of the agency's intended action.

RULE CAPTION

12-23-2015 Close of Business

FILED

ARCHIVES DIVISION
SECRETARY OF STATE

11-9-15 3:54 PM



Secretary of State

STATEMENT OF NEED AND FISCAL IMPACT
A Notice of Proposed Rulemaking Hearing accompanies this form.

FILED

ARCHIVES DIVISION
SECRETARY OF STATE

11-9-15 3:54 PM

Department of Consumer and Business Services, Workers' Compensation Division 436
Agency and Division Administrative Rules Chapter Number

Threshold (split point) for reporting individual claims by self-insured employers

Rule Caption (Not more than 15 words that reasonably identifies the subject matter of the agency's intended action.)
In the Matter of:

Statutory Authority:

Amendment of OAR 436-050, Employer/Insurer Coverage Responsibility

656.407, 656.430, and 656.726(4)

Other Authority:

Statutes Implemented:
656.407, 656.430

Need for the Rule(s):
The agency is proposing changes in self-insured loss reporting to ensure that reporting requirements remain consistent with requirements for
insurers developed by the National Council on Compensation Insurance (NCCI). Under OAR 436-085-0030(10), "The director will determine
an experience rating modification for each self-insurance plan. The director will use the same method as that used by the National Council on
Compensation Insurance * * *."

Fiscal and Economic Impact:

The agency projects that proposed changes will have no significant fiscal or economic impact on any persons or organizations.

Statement of Cost of Compliance:

1. Impact on state agencies, units of local government and the public (ORS 183.335(2)(b)(E)):

a. The agency projects that proposed rule changes will create no significant compliance costs for state agencies.
b. The agency estimates that proposed rule changes will create no significant compliance costs for units of local government.
c. The agency estimates that proposed rule changes will create no significant compliance costs for the public.

2. Cost of compliance effect on small business (ORS 183.336):
a. Estimate the number of small business and types of businesses and industries with small businesses subject to the rule:

Self-insured employers are usually larger employers that can assume the risk ordinarily carried by an insurance company.

b. Projected reporting, recordkeeping and other administrative activities required for compliance, including costs of
professional services:

The agency projects that there will be no related cost increases for small businesses.

c. Equipment, supplies, labor and increased administration required for compliance:
The agency projects that there will be no related cost increases for small businesses.

If not, why?:

How were small businesses involved in the development of this rule?

Administrative Rule Advisory Committee consulted?:

The agency invited more than 2900 people to a rulemaking advisory committee meeting, including a number of small business
representatives. However, the subject matter of the rulemaking issues discussed was almost exclusively relevant to larger businesses, and
small business representatives did not attend the Sept. 24, 2015 advisory committee meeting.

Yes

Documents Relied Upon, and where they are available:
Advisory committee records, OAR 436-085-0030(10), and the NCCI 2016 advisory loss cost filing, OREG-130268041, effective 1/1/2016.
These records are available for public inspection in the offices of the Workers' Compensation Division, 350 Winter Street NE, Salem, Oregon
97301-3879, upon advance request, during regular business hours, 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. Contact Fred Bruyns,
503-947-7717, fred.h.bruyns@oregon.gov.

Printed Name Email Address

Administrative Rules Unit, Archives Division, Secretary of State, 800 Summer Street NE, Salem, Oregon 97310. ARC 925-2007

Fred Bruyns fred.h.bruyns@oregon.gov12-23-2015 Close of Business
Last Day (m/d/yyyy) and Time

for public comment



DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AND BUSINESS SERVICES 

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION DIVISION 
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 Employer/Insurer Coverage Responsibility 

Oregon Administrative Rules 

Chapter 436, Division 050 

 
 

 

Proposed 
 
NOTE: New text is underlined. Deletions have strike-through a style. 

436-050-0003 Applicability of Rules 

(1) These rules are effective Jan. 1, 2015Jan. 1, 2016, to carry out the provisions of: 

(a) ORS 656.017 – Employer required to pay compensation and perform other duties. 

(b) ORS 656.029 – Independent contractor status. 

(c) ORS 656.126 – Coverage while temporarily in or out of state. 

(d) ORS 656.407 – Qualifications of insured employers. 

(e) ORS 656.419 – Workers’ compensation insurance policies. 

(f) ORS 656.423 – Cancellation of coverage by employer. 

(g) ORS 656.427 – Cancellation of workers’ compensation insurance policy or surety 

bond liability by insurer. 

(h) ORS 656.430 – Certification of self-insured employer. 

(i) ORS 656.434 – Certification effective until canceled or revoked; revocation of 

certificate. 

(j) ORS 656.443 – Procedure upon default by employer. 

(k) ORS 656.447 – Sanctions against insurer for failure to comply with orders, rules, or 

obligations under workers’ compensation insurance policies. 

(l) ORS 656.455 – Records location and inspection. 

(m) ORS 656.745 – Civil penalties. 

(n) ORS 656.850 and 656.855 – Worker leasing companies. 

(o) ORS 731.475 – Insurer’s in-state location. 

(2) The director may waive procedural rules as justice requires, unless otherwise 

obligated by statute. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 656.704 and 656.726(4) 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.017, 656.029, 656.126, 656.407, 656.419, 656.423, 656.427, 656.430, 656.434, 656.443, 656.447, 

656.455, 656.745, 656.850, 656.855, and 731.475 

Hist: Amended 11/26/14 as WCD Admin. Order 14-062, eff. 1/1/15 

Amended xx/xx/xx/ as WCD Admin. Order xx-xxx, eff. xx/xx/xx 

See also the Index to Rule History: http://wcd.oregon.gov/policy/rules/436_history.pdf. 
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436-050-0175 Annual Reporting Requirements 

(1) To determine the financial status of a self-insured employer and to evaluate the 

employer’s continuity of operation, a self-insured employer must file annually with the director 

an audited financial statement or annual report with audited financial statement, including SEC 

Form 10K if issued, for the just completed fiscal year. A self-insured employer that is not a 

municipality must make the filing within 120 days of the fiscal year end and a self-insured 

employer that is a municipality must make the filing within 180 days of the fiscal year end. All 

financial statements and annual financial reports filed, as required by this section, will be 

retained by the director for a period of at least three years. In lieu of an audited financial 

statement or annual report, a self-insured employer may file a financial statement certified by the 

employer that the financial statement is true and accurate and presents the employer’s financial 

condition and results of operations as of the date of the statement.  

(2) Notwithstanding section (l) of this rule, the director may require an employer to 

submit an audited financial statement if the certified financial statement submitted is insufficient 

to evaluate the employer’s financial status. 

(3) The financial statements and reports filed by a self-insured employer group must 

demonstrate the group’s acceptable financial viability based on criteria under OAR 436-050-

0260 including, but not limited to, satisfactory financial ratios and net worth. 

(4) By March 1 of each year, self-insured employer groups must file with the director: 

(a) A statement certifying the amount of the group’s combined net worth under OAR 

436-050-0260(3)(a), as of the date of the statement; and  

(b) A copy of the fidelity bond furnished to the group by the administrator or a copy of 

the comprehensive crime policy obtained by the group, in an amount sufficient to protect the 

group against the misappropriation or misuse of any moneys or securities. If the fidelity bond or 

policy covers more than one year, is still in effect, and a copy was provided to the director in the 

prior year, the group’s annual filing may state that fact in lieu of providing an additional copy.  

(5) By March 1 of each year, self-insured employer groups consisting of private employer 

members must file with the director: 

(a) A statement certifying that each employer member of the group meets the individual 

net worth requirement under OAR 436-050-0260(3)(b), as of the employer member’s most 

recent fiscal year end; and 

(b) A list of the group’s current board members and their professional affiliations.  

(6) The self-insured employer must report claim loss data described in Bulletin 209 by 

March 1 of each year for the purposes of experience rating modification, retrospective rating 

calculations, and determining deposits.  

(a) The report must be certified to be true and accurate by an authorized representative of 

the self-insured employer, and must include:  

(A) A report of losses for each year in the experience rating period. The report must 

cover all claims incurred during the reporting period and must be valued as of January 1 of the 

current year. Reports must include:  



ORDER NO. 15-XXX 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AND BUSINESS SERVICES 

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION DIVISION 

Proposed EMPLOYER/INSURER COVERAGE RESPONSIBILITY 

Page 3 

(i) Contract medical expenses;  

(ii) Total maximum medical reimbursement amount;  

(iii) Number of claims for which the maximum medical reimbursement amount is 

claimed;  

(iv) For claims with incurred losses of $15,500 or less at or below the National Council 

on Compensation Insurance (NCCI) split point published in Bulletin 209, total paid, outstanding 

reserves, and total incurred losses;  

(v) Number of claims with incurred losses of $15,500 or less at or below the NCCI split 

point; and  

(vi) For each claim with incurred losses exceeding $15,500 the NCCI split point, 

worker’s name, date of injury, claim number, total paid, outstanding reserves, and total incurred 

losses. Claims must be listed in alphabetical order.  

(B) A report of losses covering the self-insured period prior to the experience rating 

period. The report must list all open claims and must be valued as of January 1 of the current 

year. The report must include:  

(i) The worker’s name, listed in alphabetical order;  

(ii) Date of injury;  

(iii) Claim number;  

(iv) Total paid;  

(v) Outstanding reserves; and  

(vi) Total incurred losses.  

(C) Identification of claims involving catastrophes, Workers with Disabilities Program, 

permanent total disability or fatal benefits, third party recoveries, and claims where the total 

incurred has or is expected to exceed the self-insured retention of the self-insured employer’s 

excess insurance policy.  

(D) The total annual paid losses for the previous four fiscal years valued as of January 1 

of the current year.  

(b) Bulletin 209 provides guidelines for self-insured employers and their authorized 

representatives to use in submitting the required data. Bulletin 209 is available on the Workers’ 

Compensation Division’s website. 

(c) Each self-insured city, county, or qualified self-insured employer group that is 

exempted from the security deposit requirements under ORS 656.407(3) and OAR 436-050-0185 

must, in addition to the above, provide the director by March 1 of each year, the procedures, 

methods, and criteria used in the process of determining the amount of their actuarially sound 

workers’ compensation loss fund, including procedures for determining the amount for injuries 

incurred but not reported. The director may require a qualified self-insured employer group 

exempted from the security deposit requirements to provide an actuarial study that demonstrates 

its loss reserve account is actuarially sound and adequately funded under OAR 436-050-

0185(2)(d). 
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(7) Notwithstanding sections (1) through (5) of this rule, the director may require a self-

insured employer group to submit financial statements, reports, or information more frequently 

for reasons including, but not limited to, changes in the group’s financial status or viability, 

private employer members’ individual net worth, group membership, private employer groups’ 

board membership, or incurred claims costs. 

(8) Notwithstanding section (6) of this rule, the director may require a self-insured 

employer to submit claim loss data more frequently if the nature of the self-insured employer’s 

business has changed since the last annual loss report for reasons including, but not limited to, 

mergers or acquisitions, changes in employment level, nature of employment, or incurred claims 

costs.  

(9) If a self-insured employer fails to comply with the requirements of sections (1) 

through (8) of this rule, the director may impose any or all of the following sanctions:  

(a) Require the self-insured employer to increase its deposit and premium assessments by 

25%; 

(b) Conduct an audit to obtain the necessary loss information at the self-insured 

employer’s expense; 

(c) Assess civil penalties of up to $250 per day that the information is not provided 

beyond the deadline; or 

(d) Revoke the employer’s certification for self-insurance.  

(10) To ensure each self-insured employer’s claims are valued appropriately for use in 

deposit, experience rating, and retrospective rating calculations, the director will perform routine 

test audits. If a self-insured employer’s total claims values are found to be 10 percent or more 

below the director’s determined values, the current experience rating will be recalculated using 

the director’s determined values and will be used in the security deposit and retrospective rating 

calculations. In addition, penalties may be assessed. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 656.407, 656.430, 656.704, and 656.726(4) 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.407 and 656.430 

Hist: Amended 11/26/14 as WCD Admin. Order 14-062, eff. 1/1/15 

Amended xx/xx/xx/ as WCD Admin. Order xx-xxx, eff. xx/xx/xx 

See also the Index to Rule History: http://wcd.oregon.gov/policy/rules/436_history.pdf 
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