



BULLETIN NO. 387 (Revised) May 6, 2025

TO: Workers' compensation insurers, self-insured employers, and employers

SUBJECT: Coverage requirements for casual labor under ORS 656.027(3)

EFFECTIVE: July 1, 2025

This bulletin provides guidance on determining whether employment is "casual" under Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 656.027(3), and Oregon Administrative Rule 436-050-0045(1). This bulletin replaces Bulletin 387 dated May 16, 2024.

Under Oregon law, employers must provide workers' compensation coverage to all workers they employ, except for workers who fall under a specific exclusion. Workers who fall under a specific exclusion are called "nonsubject workers."

ORS 656.027(3)(a) provides that a worker is nonsubject when the worker's employment is considered casual and one of two conditions are met:

- (A) The employment is not in the course of the trade, business or profession of the employer; or
- (B) The employment is in the course of the trade, business or profession of a nonsubject employer.

Employment is "casual" when the total labor cost for that employment is less than a certain amount in any 30-day period, regardless of the number of workers employed. If an employer's total labor cost equals or exceeds that amount in any 30-day period, the employer must provide coverage on a going-forward basis. Effective July 1, 2025, employment is casual when the total labor cost is below \$1,162.01.

Under ORS 656.027(3)(b), the total labor cost must be adjusted annually on July 1 by the same percentage increase, if any, as is made to the Oregon state average weekly wage (SAWW). See <u>Bulletin 111</u> for more information about the SAWW.

If you have questions about this bulletin, contact the Workers' Compensation Division, Employer Compliance Unit, at 888-877-5670 or wcd.employerinfo@dcbs.oregon.gov.

Matt West, Administrator

Workers' Compensation Division

Distribution: WCD-LY, GovDelivery electronic mailing lists

Total labor cost threshold			
	Applicable SAWW	Percentage increase	Casual labor threshold
1/1/2022 - 6/30/2022	\$1,247.13	N/A	\$1,000.00
7/1/2022 - 6/30/2023	\$1,325.24	6.263%	\$1,062.63
7/1/2023 - 6/30/2024	\$1,295.86	0.000%*	\$1,062.63
7/1/2024 - 6/30/2025	\$1,331.48	2.749%	\$1,091.84
7/1/2025 - 6/30/2026	\$1,417.06	6.427%	\$1,162.01

^{*} Under ORS 656.027(3)(b), the total labor cost must be adjusted annually on July 1 by the same percentage **increase**, if any, as is made to the Oregon average weekly wage. If the average weekly wage does not change or decreases, amounts will not be adjusted for that year.