
Oregon Workers’ 
Compensation:
Frequently 
Asked 
Questions



This brochure is intended only as a general 
guide on Oregon workers’ compensation 
and is not intended to represent official 
interpretations of the law. 



Workers’ compensation 
insurance pays for 
workers’ medical 
treatment and 
lost wages on 
accepted claims 

when workers 
suffer work-
related 

injuries and illnesses. By law, 
Oregon employers that have 
one or more employees, full or 
part time, must carry workers’ 
compensation insurance 
or be self-insured. Workers’ 
compensation insurance not 
only protects workers, but also 
protects employers by shielding 
them from liability lawsuits that 
might result from work-related 
injuries or illnesses.

QWhat is workers’ compensation 
insurance?



Employers pay 
premiums to workers’ 
compensation 
insurance 
companies, and 
those premiums 

finance most  
 of the 

benefits 
received by workers if they are 
injured or suffer an occupational 
disease on the job.

QWho pays for workers’ 
compensation?







The Workers’ 
Compensation 
Division (WCD) 
administers and 
regulates laws and 
rules that affect  

 the 
participants  

 in the 
Oregon workers’ compensation 
system. The division oversees 
programs and services that help 
ensure timely and appropriate 
medical treatment and time-loss 
benefits to injured workers, while 
helping keep costs and burdens 
low for Oregon employers. 
The division also administers 
return-to-work programs that 
help injured workers return to 
their previous job or find new 
employment.

QWho regulates workers’ 
compensation?



All employers 
in Oregon that 
are required to 
provide workers’ 
compensation 
coverage must 

display a 
Notice of 
Compliance 

poster in a central gathering 
area such as a break room where 
workers will see it. 

QWhat information does an 
employer have to display to  

 comply with workers’  
 compensation?





Workers who have 
work-related injuries 
or illnesses may 
elect to file a claim 
to receive workers’ 
compensation 

benefits. They 
must fill out 
the Report 

of Job Injury or Illness (Form 
801) from their employers or the 
Worker’s and Physician’s Report 
for Workers’ Compensation (Form 
827) from their doctors. Either 

Q If a work injury or illness occurs, 
how is it reported?



form begins the claim process 
and is sent by the employer or 
doctor to the insurer. 

Employers should notify 
their workers’ compensation 
insurance company within five 
days of knowledge of the claim. 
Employers cannot prohibit 
workers from filing a claim. Even 
if a worker does not want to file a 
claim, the employer should offer 
the Form 801 and maintain a 
copy of it. 





An employer cannot 
direct care, even if the 
worker is enrolled 
in a managed care 
organization 
(MCO). The 

worker may  
 go to a 

medical 
facility or doctor of his or her 
choice. In the case of an MCO, the 
worker may still select a doctor 
within the MCO.

Q Can an employer direct an injured 
worker to a particular doctor or  

 facility?



An insurer must accept 
or deny a claim 
within 60 days 
and, subsequently, 
notify WCD 
within 14 days of 

acceptance or 
denial. 

When 
an insurer denies a claim, it 
must send the worker a letter 
explaining why the claim was 
denied and provide information 
about the right to appeal the 
denial to the Hearings Division of 
the Workers’ Compensation Board 
(WCB). 

When an insurer accepts a claim, 

QWhat is the time frame to accept 
or deny a workers’ compensation  

 claim?



it must send the worker a Notice 
of Acceptance letter specifying 
the medical conditions that will 
be covered under the claim. WCD 
oversees claims handling by 
auditing insurers’ files to see if 
claims were processed accurately 
and in a timely manner.

Workers temporarily or 
permanently disabled by accepted 
work-related injuries or illnesses 
may receive payment from the 
workers’ compensation insurer 
for lost wages and permanent 
disability. Some workers may 
qualify for vocational services. 
Oregon’s workers’ compensation 
benefits also include death 
benefits.



In order for injured 
workers to receive 
payments for 
time lost from 
work, health 
care providers 

must notify 
insurers or 
self-insured 

employers of the injured workers’ 
inability to work. After the 
original injury, workers will not be 
paid for the first three calendar 
days they are unable to work 
unless they are totally disabled 
for at least 14 consecutive 
calendar days or are admitted to 

QWhat are benefit payments?



a hospital as an inpatient within 
14 days of the first onset of total 
disability.

Workers will receive a 
compensation check every two 
weeks during the recovery period 
as long as health care providers 
verify the workers’ inability to 
work. These checks will continue 
until the workers return to work 
or are considered medically 
stationary. Time-loss benefits are 
two-thirds of a worker’s gross 
weekly wage at the time of injury 
up to a maximum set by Oregon 
law.





When an injured 
worker’s doctor 
determines that 
the worker’s work-
related injury or 
illness is not 

expected to 
improve 
with further 

treatment or the passage of 
time, the worker is considered 
medically stationary. The insurer 
will notify the worker that the 
claim will be closed and how 
much, if any, permanent disability 
payment is due. 

QWhat does medically stationary 
mean?



When claims are 
accepted, insurers 
or self-insured 
employers will pay 
medical bills  

 due to medical 
conditions 

the insurers 
accept in 

writing, including reimbursement 
for prescription medications, 
transportation, meals, lodging, 
and other expenses up to 
a maximum established 
rate. Injured workers must 
make a written request for 
reimbursement and attach copies 
of receipts. Medical bills are not 
paid before claim acceptance. 
Bills are not paid if a claim is 
denied, with some exceptions. 
Contact the insurer or self-
insured employer for questions 
about medical bill payment.

QWhat medical treatments will 
workers’ compensation insurance  

 pay for?







WCD administers two 
programs that help 
injured workers 
return to work: 
the Employer-at-
Injury Program, 

which offers 
incentives  

 to 
employers to provide light-duty 
work during a worker’s recovery, 
and the Preferred Worker 
Program, which offers employers 
incentives, such as worksite 
modification and wage subsidies 
to hire injured workers. Contact 
the division for more information 
at 800-445-3948 (toll-free).

QWhat if an injury prevents a 
worker from returning to his or  

 her job?



An insurer or injured 
worker may request 
mediation services 
from WCD or 
the Workers’ 
Compensation 

Board (WCB)  
 if there is a 

dispute 
about a claim issue, or request 
a hearing or an administrative 
review. There are time limits for 
most appeals and some issues 
must be appealed to WCD before 
going to WCB. 

QWhat if the insurer or worker 
disagrees with a decision?







Workers may represent 
themselves. 
However, workers’ 
compensation 
is complex and 
injured workers  

 may want to 
hire an 
attorney 

to handle the appeals process. 
Attorney fees are paid out of or 
in addition to any compensation 
that may be awarded to the 
injured worker. For more 
information, contact the Oregon 
State Bar referral service at  
800-452-7636 (toll-free) or visit 
www.oregonstatebar.org.

Q Do workers need an attorney?

http://www.oregonstatebar.org


Service 
 directory

The Workers’ Compensation Division — 
Enforces and regulates Oregon’s workers’ 
compensation laws and administers several 
funds, including the Workers’ Benefit Fund, 
designed to benefit employers and workers.

800-452-0288 (toll-free) 
503-947-7585 (general questions) 
503-947-7810 (central reception) 
503-947-7581 (fax) 
wcd.oregon.gov 
workcomp.questions@oregon.gov

The Ombudsman for Injured Workers (OIW) — 
Helps injured workers with all aspects of the 
workers’ compensation system.

800-927-1271 (toll-free) 
503-378-3351 (fax) 
www.oregon.gov/DCBS/OIW/ 
oiw.questions@oregon.gov

http://wcd.oregon.gov
mailto:workcomp.questions%40oregon.gov?subject=
http://www.oregon.gov/DCBS/OIW/
mailto:oiw.questions%40oregon.gov?subject=






Service 
 directory

The Workers’ Compensation Board — Helps 
resolve workers’ compensation claims and 
health and safety citation disputes. WCB 
conducts hearings, mediations, reviews 
appeals, and approves claims disposition 
agreements.

503-378-3308 
877-311-8061 (toll-free in Salem) 
866-880-2078 (toll-free in Portland)

Oregon State Bar 
800-452-7636 
www.oregonstatebar.org

Claims process flow chart
http://wcd.oregon.gov/Publications/2235.pdf

http://www.oregonstatebar.org
http://wcd.oregon.gov/Publications/2235.pdf
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