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436-010-0003 Applicability Of Rules 

 (1) These rules shall be applicable on or after the effective date to carry out the provisions of 

ORS 656.245, 656.247, 656.248, 656.250, 656.252, 656.254, 656.256, 656.260, 656.268, 

656.313, 656.325, 656.327, 656.331, 656.704, and 656.794, and govern all providers of medical 

services licensed or authorized to provide a product or service pursuant to ORS chapter 656 

 (2) Applicable to this chapter, the director may, unless otherwise obligated by statute, in the 

director's discretion waive any procedural rules as justice so requires.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4) 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.245, 656.248, 656.250, 656.252, 656.254, 656.256, 656.260, 656.268, 656.273, 

656.313, 656.325, 656.327, 656.331, 656.704, 656.794  

Hist:  Filed 10/20/76, as Admin. Order 4-1976, eff 11/1/76 

 Filed 6/5/78 as Admin. Order 7-1978, eff 6/5/78 

 Amended 1/28/80 as Admin. Order 2-1980, eff 2/1/80 

 Amended 2/23/82 as Admin. Order 5-1982, eff 3/1/82 

 Amended 1/16/84 as Admin. Order 1-1984, eff 1/16/84 

 Amended 4/29/85 as Admin. Order 2-1985, eff 6/3/85; 

 Renumbered from OAR 436-69-004, 5/1/85 

 Amended 12/10/85, as Admin. Order 6-1985, eff 1/1/86 

 Amended 1/20/88 as Admin. Order 1-1988, eff 2/1/88 

 Amended 1/5/90 as Admin. Order 1-1990, eff 2/1/90 

 (formerly OAR 436-010-0004) 

 Amended 1/24/90 as Admin. Order 3-1990, eff 2/1/90 (Temp) 

 Amended 4/29/90 as Admin. Order 4-1990, eff 5/1/90 (Temp) 

 Amended 6/20/90 as Admin. Order 6-1990, eff 7/1/90 (Temp) 

 Amended 8/7/90 as Admin. Order 16-1990, eff 8/7/90 

 Amended 12/10/90 as Admin. Order 32-1990, eff 12/26/90 

 Amended 6/11/92 as Admin. Order 13-1992, eff 7/1/92 

 Amended 12/20/94 as Admin. Order 94-064, eff 2/1/95 

 Amended 12/4/95 as Admin. Order 95-071, eff 12/4/95 (Temp) 

 Amended 5/3/96 as Admin. Order 96-060, eff 6/1/96  

 Amended 12/16/98 as Admin. Order 98-060, eff 1/1/99 

 Amended 12/17/01 as Admin. Order 01-065, eff 1/1/02 

 Amended 3/4/04 as Admin. O rder 04-055, eff. 4/1/04 

436-010-0005 Definitions 

 For the purpose of these rules, OAR 436-009, and OAR 436-015, unless the context 

otherwise requires: 

 (1) "Administrative Review" means any decision making process of the director requested by a 

party aggrieved with an action taken pursuant to these rules except the contested case process 

described in OAR 436-001. 

 (2) "Attending Physician" means a doctor or physician who is primarily responsible for the 

treatment of a worker's compensable injury or illness and who is: 
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(a) A medical doctor or doctor of osteopathy licensed under ORS 677.100 to 677.228 by the 

Board of Medical Examiners for the State of Oregon or an oral surgeon licensed by the Oregon Board 

of Dentistry;  

 (b) A medical doctor, doctor of osteopathy, or oral surgeon practicing in and licensed under the 

laws of another state;  

 (c) For a period of 30 days from the date of first chiropractic visit on the initial claim or for 12 

chiropractic visits, during that 30 day period, whichever first occurs, a doctor or physician licensed by 

the State Board of Chiropractic Examiners for the State of Oregon;  

 (d) For a period of 30 days from the date of first chiropractic visit on the initial claim or for 12 

chiropractic visits during that 30 day period, whichever first occurs, a doctor or physician of 

chiropractic practicing and licensed under the laws of another state; or 

 (e) Any medical service provider authorized to be an attending physician in accordance with a 

managed care organization contract. 

 (3) “Authorized nurse practitioner” means a nurse practitioner authorized pursuant to 

ORS 656.245 (§3, ch. 811, OL 2003) to provide compensable medical services to an injured 

worker for a period of 90 days from the date of the first nurse practitioner visit on the initial 

claim, during that 90 day period.  The authorized nurse practitioner may also authorize 

temporary disability benefits for a period of up to 60 days from the first nurse practitioner 

visit on the initial claim.  Effective October 1, 2004, to be an authorized nurse practitioner, the 

nurse practitioner must certify to the director that the nurse practitioner has reviewed 

informational materials about the workers’ compensation system provided by the director. 

 (4) "Chart note" means a notation made in chronological order in a medical record in which the 

medical service provider records such things as subjective and objective findings, diagnosis, treatment 

rendered, treatment objectives, and return to work goals and status. 

 [(4)] (5) "Contested Case" means a proceeding as defined in ORS 183.310(2) pursuant to 

OAR 436-001. 

 [(5)]  (6)  "Coordinated Health Care Program" means an employer program providing for the 

coordination of a separate policy of group health insurance coverage with the medical portion of 

workers' compensation coverage, for some or all of the employer's workers, which provides the worker 

with health care benefits even if a worker's compensation claim is denied. 

 [(6)] (7) "Current Procedural Terminology" or "CPT" means the Current Procedural 

Terminology codes and terminology most recently published by the American Medical Association 

unless otherwise specified in these rules. 

 [(7)] (8) "Customary Fee" means a fee that falls within the range of fees normally charged for a 

given service. 

 [(8)] (9) "Days" means calendar days. 
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 [(9)]  (10) "Direct control and supervision" means the physician is on the same premises, at the 

same time, as the person providing a medical service ordered by the physician. The physician can 

modify, terminate, extend, or take over the medical service at any time. 

 [(10)] (11) "Division" means the Workers' Compensation Division of the Department of 

Consumer and Business Services. 

 [(11)] (12) "Eligible" means an injured worker who has filed a claim and is employed by an 

employer who is located in an MCO's authorized geographical service area, covered by an insurer who 

has a contract with that MCO. "Eligible" also includes a worker with an accepted claim having a date of 

injury prior to contract when that worker's employer later becomes covered by an MCO contract. 

 [(12)] (13) "Enrolled" means an eligible injured worker has received notification from the insurer 

that the worker is being required to treat under the auspices of the MCO.  However, a worker may not 

be enrolled who would otherwise be subject to an MCO contract if the worker's primary residence is 

more than 100 miles outside the managed care organization's certified geographical service area. 

 [(13)] (14) "First Chiropractic Visit" means a worker's first visit to a chiropractic physician on the 

initial claim. 

 [(14)]  (15) "Health Care Practitioner" has the same meaning as a "medical service provider." 

 [(15)]  (16) "HCFA form 2552" (Hospital Care Complex Cost Report) means the annual report 

a hospital makes to Medicare. 

 [(16)] (17) "Hearings Division" means the Hearings Division of the Workers' Compensation 

Board. 

[(17)] (18) “Home Health Care” means medically necessary medical and medically related 

services provided in the injured worker’s home environment. These services might include, but are not 

limited to, nursing care, medication administration, personal hygiene, or assistance with mobility and 

transportation.   

 [(18)] (19) "Hospital" means an institution licensed by the State of Oregon as a hospital. 

 [(19)] (20) "Initial Claim" means the first open period on the claim immediately following the 

original filing of the occupational injury or disease claim until the worker is first declared to be medically 

stationary by an attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner. For nondisabling claims, the 

"initial claim" means the first period of medical treatment immediately following the original filing of the 

occupational injury or disease claim ending when the attending physician or authorized nurse 

practitioner does not anticipate further improvement or need for medical treatment, or there is an 

absence of treatment for an extended period.  

 [(20)] (21) "Inpatient" means an injured worker who is admitted to a hospital prior to and 

extending past midnight for treatment and lodging. 

 [(21)] (22) "Insurer" means the State Accident Insurance Fund Corporation; an insurer 

authorized under ORS chapter 731 to transact workers' compensation insurance in the state; or, an 
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employer or employer group that has been certified under ORS 656.430 meeting the qualifications of a 

self-insured employer under ORS 656.407. 

 [(22)] (23) “Interim Medical Benefits” means those services provided pursuant to ORS 656.247 

on initial claims with dates of injury on or after January 1, 2002 that are not denied within 14 days of the 

employer’s notice of the claim. 

 [(23)] (24) "Mailed or Mailing Date," for the purposes of determining timeliness pursuant to these 

rules, means the date a document is postmarked [or, pursuant to O RS 84.043, the date an electronic record is 

sent].  Requests submitted by facsimile or “fax” are considered mailed as of the date printed 

on the banner automatically produced by the transmitting fax machine.  Hand-delivered 

requests shall be considered mailed as of the date stamped or punched in by the Workers’ 

Compensation Division.  Phone or in-person requests, where allowed under these rules, shall 

be considered mailed as of the date of the request. 

 [(24)] (25) "Managed Care Organization" or "MCO" means an organization formed to provide 

medical services and certified in accordance with OAR chapter 436, division 015. 

 [(25)] (26) "Medical Evidence" includes, but is not limited to: expert written testimony; written 

statements; written opinions, sworn affidavits, and testimony of medical professionals; records, reports, 

documents, laboratory, x-ray and test results authored, produced, generated, or verified by medical 

professionals; and medical research and reference material utilized, produced, or verified by medical 

professionals who are physicians or medical record reviewers in the particular case under consideration. 

 [(26)](27) "Medical Service" means any medical, surgical, diagnostic, chiropractic, dental, 

hospital, nursing, ambulances, and other related services, and drugs, medicine, crutches and prosthetic 

appliances, braces and supports and where necessary, physical restorative services. 

 [(27)] (28) "Medical Service Provider" means a person duly licensed to practice one or more of 

the healing arts. 

 [(28)] (29) "Medical Provider" means a medical service provider, a hospital, medical clinic, or  

vendor of medical services. 

 [(29)] (30) "Medical Treatment" means the management and care of a patient for the purpose of 

combating disease, injury, or disorder. Restrictions on activities are not considered treatment unless the 

primary purpose of the restrictions is to improve the worker's condition through conservative care. 

 [(30)] (31) "Non-attending Physician" means a medical service provider who is not qualified to 

be an attending physician, or a chiropractor who no longer qualifies as an attending physician pursuant 

to ORS 656.005 and subsections (2)(c) and (2)(d) of this rule. 

 [(31)] (32) "Outpatient" means a worker not admitted to a hospital prior to and extending past 

midnight for treatment and lodging. Medical services provided by a health care provider such as 

emergency room services, observation room, or short stay surgical treatments which do not result in 

admission are also outpatient services. 
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 [(32)] (33) "Parties" mean the worker, insurer, MCO, attending physician, and other medical 

provider, unless a specific limitation or exception is expressly provided for in the statute. 

 [(33)] (34) "Physical Capacity Evaluation" or "PCE" means an objective, directly observed, 

measurement of a worker's ability to perform a variety of physical tasks combined with subjective 

analyses of abilities by worker and evaluator. Physical tolerance screening, Blankenship's Functional 

Evaluation, and Functional Capacity Assessment shall be considered to have the same meaning as 

Physical Capacity Evaluation. 

 [(34)] (35) “Physical Restorative Services” means those services prescribed by the attending 

physician or authorized nurse practitioner to address permanent loss of physical function due to 

hemiplegia, a spinal cord injury, or to address residuals of a severe head injury.  Services are designed 

to restore and maintain the injured worker to the highest functional ability consistent with the worker’s 

condition.  Physical restorative services are not services to replace medical services usually prescribed 

during the course of recovery. 

 [(35)] (36) "Report" means medical information transmitted in written form containing relevant 

subjective and/or objective findings. Reports may take the form of brief or complete narrative reports, a 

treatment plan, a closing examination report, or any forms as prescribed by the director. 

 [(36)] (37)  "Residual Functional Capacity" means an individual's remaining ability to perform 

work-related activities despite medically determinable impairment resulting from the accepted 

compensable condition. A residual functional capacity evaluation includes, but is not limited to, 

capability for lifting, carrying, pushing, pulling, standing, walking, sitting, climbing, balancing, 

bending/stooping, twisting, kneeling, crouching, crawling, and reaching, and the number of hours per day 

the worker can perform each activity. 

 [(37)] (38) “Specialist Physician” means a licensed physician who qualifies as an attending 

physician and who examines a worker at the request of the attending physician or authorized nurse 

practitioner to aid in evaluation of disability, diagnosis, and/or provide temporary specialized treatment. 

A specialist physician may provide specialized treatment for the compensable injury or illness and give 

advice and/or an opinion regarding the treatment being rendered, or considered, for a workers’ 

compensable injury.   

 [(38)] (39) "Usual Fee" means the fee charged the general public for a given service. 

 [(39)] (40) "Work Capacity Evaluation" or "WCE" means a physical capacity evaluation with 

special emphasis on the ability to perform a variety of vocationally oriented tasks based on specific job 

demands. Work Tolerance Screening shall be considered to have the same meaning as Work Capacity 

Evaluation. 

 [(40)] (41) "Work Hardening" means an individualized, medically prescribed and monitored, 

work oriented treatment process. The process involves the worker participating in simulated or actual 

work tasks that are structured and graded to progressively increase physical tolerances, stamina, 

endurance, and productivity to return the worker to a specific job. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4) 
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Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.000 et seq.; 656.005 

Hist: Filed 10/20/76 as Admin. Order 4-1976, eff 11/1/76 

 Amended 6/5/78 as Admin. Order 7-1978, eff 6/5/78 

 Amended 1/28/80 as Admin. Order 2-1980, eff 2/1/80 

 Amended 2/23/82 as Admin. Order 5-1982, eff 3/1/82 

 Amended 1/16/84 as Admin. Order 1-1984, eff 1/16/84 

 Amended 4/29/85 as Admin. Order 2-1985, eff 6/3/85; 

 Renumbered from OAR 436-69-005, 5/1/85 

 Amended 12/10/85 as Admin. Order 6-1985, eff 1/1/86 

 Amended 6/26/86 as Admin. Order 4-1986, eff 7/1/86 

 Amended 2/20/87 as Admin. Order 2-1987, eff 3/16/87 

 Amended 1/20/88 as Admin. Order 1-1988, eff 2/1/88 

 Amended 1/5/90 as Admin. Order 1-1990, eff 2/1/90 

 Amended 6/20/90 as Admin. Order 6-1990, eff 7/1/90 (Temp) 

 Amended 7/20/90 as Admin. Order 14-1990, eff 7/20/90 (Temp) 

 Amended 8/17/90 as Admin. Order 17-1990, eff 8/17/90 (Temp) 

 Amended 12/10/90 as Admin. Order 32-1990, eff 12/26/90 

 Amended 6/11/92 as Admin. Order 13-1992, eff 7/1/92 

 Amended 12/20/94 as Admin. Order 94-064, eff 2/1/95 

 Amended 5/3/96 as Admin. Order 96-060, eff 6/1/96 

 Amended 12/16/98 as Admin. Order 98-060, eff 1/1/99 

 Amended 12/17/01 as Admin. Order 01-065, eff 1/1/02 

 Amended 9/27/02 as Admin. Order 02-061, eff 11/01/02 

 Amended 12/12/03 as Admin. Order 03-069, eff 1/1/04 (Temp) 

 Amended 3/4/04 as Admin. O rder 04-055, eff. 4/1/04 

436-010-0008 Administrative Review and Contested Cases 

 (1) Administrative review before the director:  

 (a) Except as otherwise provided in ORS 656.704, the director has exclusive jurisdiction to 

resolve all matters concerning medical services arising under ORS 656.245, 656.247, 656.260, and 

656.327. 

 (b) A party need not be represented to participate in the administrative review before the 

director except as provided in ORS chapter 183 and OAR chapter 436, division 001. 

 (c) Any party may request that the director provide voluntary mediation after a request for 

administrative review or contested case hearing is filed. The request must be in writing. When a dispute 

is resolved by agreement of the parties to the satisfaction of the director, any agreement shall be 

reduced to writing and approved by the director. Any mediated agreement may include an 

agreement on attorney fees, if any, to be paid to the claimant or claimant’s attorney.  If the 

dispute does not resolve through mediation, a director's order shall be issued. 

 (2) Administrative review and contested case processes for change of attending physician or 

authorized nurse practitioner issues are in OAR 436-010-0220; additional insurer medical 

examination (IMEs) matters are in OAR 436-010-0265; and fees and non-payment of compensable 

medical billings are described in OAR 436-009-0008. 

 (3) Except for disputes regarding interim medical benefits, when there is a formal denial of the 

compensability of the underlying claim, the parties must first apply to the Hearings Division of the 

Workers' Compensation Board to resolve the compensability issues. After the compensability of the 
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underlying claim is finally decided, any party may request director's review of appropriate medical issues 

within 30 days after the date the decision becomes final by operation of law. 

 (4) When there is a denial of the causal relationship between the medical service and the 

accepted condition or the underlying condition, the issue must first be decided by the Hearings Division 

of the Workers' Compensation Board. 

 (5) All issues pertaining to disagreement about medical services within a Managed Care 

Organization (MCO), including disputes under ORS 656.245(4)(a) about whether a change of provider 

will be medically detrimental to the injured worker, are subject to the provisions of ORS 656.260. A 

party dissatisfied with an action or decision of the MCO must first apply for and complete the internal 

dispute resolution process within the MCO before requesting an administrative review of the matter by 

the director. 

 (6) The following time frames and conditions apply to requests for administrative review before 

the director under this rule: 

 (a)[For all MCO enrolled claims,] For all disputes subject to dispute resolution within a 

Managed Care Organization, upon completion of the MCO process, the aggrieved party must 

request administrative review by the director within 60 days of the date the MCO issues its final 

decision [under the MCO's internal dispute resolution process]. If a party has been denied access to an MCO 

internal dispute process or the process has not been completed for reasons beyond a party's control, 

the party may request director review within 60 days of the failure of the MCO process.  If the MCO 

does not have a process for resolving the particular type of dispute, the insurer shall advise 

the medical provider or worker that they may request review by the director. 

 (b) For all claims not enrolled in an MCO, the aggrieved party must request administrative 

review by the director within 90 days of the date the party knew, or should have known, there was a 

dispute over the provision of medical services. This time frame only applies if the aggrieved party other 

than the insurer is given written notice that they have 90 days in which to request administrative review 

by the director. When the aggrieved party is a represented worker, and the worker’s attorney 

has given written notice of representation, the 90 day time frame begins when the attorney 

receives written notice or has actual knowledge of the dispute.  For purposes of this rule, the date 

the insurer should have known of the dispute is the date action on the bill was due. For disputes 

regarding interim medical benefits on denied claims, the date the insurer should have known of the 

dispute is no later than one year from the claim denial, or 45 days after the bill is perfected, which ever 

occurs last. Filing a request for administrative review under this rule may also be accomplished in the 

manner prescribed in OAR 438 chapter, division 005. 

 (c) Disputes regarding elective surgery shall be processed in accordance with OAR 436-010-

0250. 

 (d) The director may, on the director's own motion, initiate a medical services review at any 

time. 
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 (e) Medical provider bills for treatment or services which are subject to director's review shall 

not be deemed payable pending the outcome of the review. 

 (7) Parties shall submit requests for administrative review to the director in the form and format 

provided in Bulletin 293.  Unrepresented workers may seek help from the director in meeting 

the filing requirements. The requesting party shall simultaneously notify all other interested parties of 

the dispute, and their representatives, if known, as follows: 

 (a) Identify the worker's name, date of injury, insurer, and claim number; 

 (b) Specify what issues are in dispute and specify with particularity the relief sought; 

 (c) Provide the specific dates of the unpaid disputed treatment. 

 (8) In addition to medical evidence relating to the medical services dispute, all parties may 

submit other relevant information, including but not limited to, written factual information, sworn 

affidavits, and legal argument for incorporation into the record. Such information may also include timely 

written responses and other evidence to rebut the documentation and arguments of an opposing party. 

The director may take or obtain addition evidence consistent with statute. 

 (9) When a request for administrative review is filed pursuant to ORS 656.247, 656.260, or 

656.327, the insurer shall provide a record packet, without cost, to the director and all other parties or 

their representatives as follows: 

 (a) Except for disputes regarding interim medical benefits, the packet shall include certification 

that there is no issue of compensability of the underlying claim or condition. If there is a denial which has 

been reversed by the Hearings Division, the Board, or the Court of Appeals, a statement from the 

insurer regarding its intention, if known, to accept or appeal the decision. 

 (b) The packet shall include a complete, indexed copy of the worker's medical record and other 

documents that are arguably related to the medical service in dispute, arranged in chronological order, 

with oldest documents on top, and numbered in Arabic numerals in the lower right corner of each page. 

The number shall be preceded by the designation "Ex." and pagination of the multiple page documents 

shall be designated by a hyphen followed by the page number. For example, page two of document ten 

shall be designated "Ex. 10-2." The index shall include the document numbers, description of each 

document, author, number of pages, and date of the document. The packet shall include the following 

notice in bold type: 

As required by OAR 436-010-0008, we hereby notify you that the director is 

being asked to review the medical care of this worker. The director may issue 

an order which could affect reimbursement for the disputed medical service(s). 

 (c) If the insurer requests review, the packet must accompany the request, with copies sent 

simultaneously to the other parties. 

 (d) If the requesting party is other than the insurer, or if the director has initiated the review, the 

director will request the record from the insurer. The insurer shall provide the record within 14 days of 

the director's request in the form and format described in this rule. 
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 (e) If the insurer fails to submit the record in the time and format specified in this rule, the 

director may penalize or sanction the insurer under OAR 436-010-0340. 

 (10) If the director determines a review by a physician is indicated to resolve the dispute, the 

director, in accordance with OAR 436-010-0330, may appoint an appropriate medical service 

provider or panel of providers to review the medical records and, if necessary, examine the worker and 

perform any necessary and reasonable medical tests, other than invasive tests. Notwithstanding ORS 

656.325(1), if the worker is required by the director to submit to a medical examination as a step in the 

administrative review process, the worker may refuse an invasive test without sanction. 

 (a) A single physician selected to conduct a review shall be a practitioner of the same healing art 

and specialty, if practicable, of the medical service provider whose treatment is being reviewed. 

 (b) When a panel of physicians is selected, at least one panel member shall be a practitioner of 

the healing art and specialty, if practicable, of the medical service provider whose treatment is being 

reviewed. 

 (c) When such an examination of the worker is required, the director shall notify the appropriate 

parties of the date, time, and location of the examination. The physician or panel shall not be contacted 

directly by any party except as it relates to the examination date, time, location, and attendance. If the 

parties wish to have special questions addressed by the physician or panel, these questions must be 

submitted to the director for screening as to the appropriateness of the questions. Matters not related to 

the issues before the director are inappropriate for medical review and will not be submitted to the 

reviewing physician(s). The examination may include, but is not limited to: 

 (A) a review of all medical records and diagnostic tests submitted, 

 (B) an examination of the worker, and 

 (C) any necessary and reasonable medical tests. 

 (11) The director shall review the relevant information submitted by all parties and the 

observations and opinions of the reviewing physician(s). 

             (a) A dispute may be resolved by agreement between the parties to the dispute.  When 

the parties agree, the director may issue a letter of agreement in lieu of an administrative 

order, which will become final on the 10th day after the letter of agreement is issued unless the 

agreement specifies otherwise.  Once the agreement becomes final, the director may revise 

the agreement or reinstate the review only under one or more of the following conditions: 

 (A) A party fails to honor the agreement; 

 (B) The agreement was based on misrepresentation; 

 (C) Implementation of the agreement is not feasible because of unforeseen 

circumstances; or 

 (D) All parties request revision or reinstatement of the dispute. 
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 [(a)] (b) If the dispute is not resolved by agreement and i[I]f the director determines that no 

bona fide dispute exists in a claim not enrolled in an MCO, the director will issue an order pursuant to 

ORS 656.327(1). If any party disagrees with an order of the director that no bona fide medical services 

dispute exists, the party may appeal the order to the Workers' Compensation Board within 30 days of 

the mailing date of the order. Upon review, the order of the director may be modified only if it is not 

supported by substantial evidence in the record developed by the director. 

 [(b)] (c) When a bona fide dispute exists, the director will issue an administrative order and 

provide notice of the record used in the review.  

 (A) [The parties will have]A request for contested case hearing must be mailed to the 

director within 30 days from the issuance of an order pursuant to ORS 656.245, 656.260, or 

656.327, or 60 days from the issuance of an order pursuant to [section 14, chapter 865, Oregon Laws 

2001]ORS 656.247[, to request a contested case hearing before the director].  

 (B) The director may on the director's own motion reconsider or withdraw any order that has 

not become final by operation of law. A party also may request reconsideration of an administrative 

order upon an allegation of error, omission, misapplication of law, incomplete record, or the discovery 

of new material evidence which could not reasonably have been discovered and produced during the 

review. The director may grant or deny a request for reconsideration at the director's sole discretion. A 

request [for reconsideration] must be mailed before the administrative order becomes final[, or if appealed, before 

the contested case order is issued]. 

 (C) During any reconsideration of the administrative review order, the parties may submit new 

material evidence consistent with this subsection and may respond to such evidence submitted by 

others.  

 (D) Any party requesting reconsideration or responding to a reconsideration request shall 

simultaneously notify all other interested parties of their contentions and provide them with copies of all 

additional information presented. 

 (12) If the director issues an order declaring an already rendered medical service inappropriate, 

or otherwise in violation of the statute or medical services rules, the worker is not obligated to pay for 

such medical service. 

 (13) In any dispute in which a represented worker prevails after a proceeding has 

commenced before the director, the director shall award an attorney fee to be paid by the 

insurer or self-insured employer, as provided in ORS 656.385 (§2, ch. 756, OL 2003).  The 

attorney fee will be proportionate to the benefit to the injured worker.  Primary consideration 

shall be given to the results achieved and the time devoted to the case.  Absent extraordinary 

circumstances or agreement by the parties, the fee may not exceed $2000, nor fall outside the 

ranges for fees as provided in the following matrix: 
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Estimated Benefit 

Achieved 

Professional Hours Devoted 

 1-2 hours 2.1-4 hours 4.1-6 hours 6.1-8 hours 8.1-12 hours 

$1-$2000 $100-400 $200-700 $300-750 $600-1000 $800-1250 

$2001-$4000 $200-500 $400-800 $600-900 $800-1300 $1050-1500 

$4001-$6000 $300-700 $600-1000 $800-1250 $1000-1450 $1300-1750 

$6001-$10000 $400-900 $800-1300 $1050-1600 $1350-1800 $1550-2000 

 (a) An attorney must submit the following to the director in order to be awarded an 

attorney fee: 

 (A) A current, valid retainer agreement, and 

 (B) A statement of hours spent on the case if greater than two hours.  In the absence of 

such a statement, the director shall assume the time spent on the case was 1-2 hours. 

 (b) In determining the value of the results achieved, the director may consider, but is 

not limited to, the following: 

 (A) The fee allowed by the fee schedule provided in OAR 436-009; 

 (B) The overall cost of the medical treatment or service; or 

 (C) A written agreement between the parties regarding the value of the benefit to the 

worker submitted to the director prior to the issuance of an order. 

 (c) If any party believes extraordinary circumstances exist that justify a fee outside of 

the ranges provided in the above matrix or above $2000, they may submit a written or faxed 

statement of the extraordinary circumstances to the director.  

 (d) In order to provide parties an opportunity to inform the director of agreements, or 

submit statements of extraordinary circumstances or professional hours for consideration in 

determining the attorney fee, the director will provide the parties notice by phone or fax at 

least 3 business days in advance that an order or other written resolution of the dispute will be 

issued. Any information or statements provided to the director must simultaneously be 

provided to all other parties to the dispute. 

 (e)  An assessed attorney fee shall be paid within 30 days of the date the order 

authorizing the fee becomes final. 

 (14) Contested cases before the director: Any party that disagrees with an action or order 

pursuant to this rule, may request a contested case hearing before the director as follows: 
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 (a) The party must send a written request to the administrator of the Workers' Compensation 

Division. The request must specify the grounds upon which the order or other action of the director is 

contested, and include a copy of the administrative order being appealed. 

 (b) The appeal must be [made] mailed within 30 days of the mailing date of the order or notice 

of action being appealed.  

 (c) The hearing shall be conducted in accordance with the rules governing contested case 

hearings in OAR 436-001.  

 (d) In the review of orders issued pursuant to ORS 656.327(2), ORS 656.260(14) and (16), 

and [section 14, chapter 865, Oregon Laws 2001]ORS 656.247, no new medical evidence or issues shall be 

admitted at the contested case hearing. In these reviews, an administrative order may be modified at 

hearing only if it is not supported by substantial evidence in the record or if it reflects an error of law.  

 (e) For claims not enrolled in an MCO, disputes about whether a medical service after a worker 

is medically stationary is compensable within the meaning of ORS 656.245(1)(c) and whether a medical 

treatment is unscientific, unproven, outmoded, or experimental under ORS 656.245(3), are subject to 

administrative review by the director. If appealed, review at contested case hearing is not subject to the 

"no new medical evidence or issues rule" in subsection (13)(d) of this rule. However, if the disputed 

medical service is determined compensable under ORS 656.245(1)(c) or 656.245(3) all disputes and 

assertions about whether the compensable medical services are excessive, inappropriate, ineffectual, or 

in violation of the director's rules regarding the performance of medical services are subject to the 

substantial evidence rule at contested case hearing. 

 [(14)] (15)  Contested case hearings of sanction and civil penalties: Under ORS 656.740 (§9, 

ch. 170, OL 2003), any party that disagrees with a proposed order or proposed assessment of a civil 

penalty issued by the director pursuant to ORS 656.254 or 656.745 may request a hearing by the 

Hearings Division of the Workers' Compensation Board as follows: 

 (a) A written request for a hearing must be mailed to the administrator of the Workers' 

Compensation Division. The request must specify the grounds upon which the proposed order or 

assessment is contested. 

 (b) The request must be mailed to the division within 60 days after [service]the mailing date of 

the order or notice of assessment. 

 (c) The [D]division shall forward the request and other pertinent information to the Hearings 

Division of the Workers' Compensation Board. 

 [(d) An administrative law judge from the Hearings Division, acting on behalf of the director, shall conduct the hearing in 

accordance with ORS 656.740 and ORS chapter 183. 

 (15)] (16) Director's administrative review of other actions: Any party seeking an action or 

decision by the director or aggrieved by an action taken by any other party, not covered under sections 

(1) through [(14)] (15) of this rule, pursuant to these rules, may request administrative review by the 

director. Any party may request administrative review as follows: 
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 (a) A written request for review must be sent to the administrator of the Workers' 

Compensation Division within ninety (90) days of the disputed action and must specify the grounds upon 

which the action is contested. 

 (b) The division may require and allow such input and information as it deems appropriate to 

complete the review. 

 (c) A director's order may be issued and will specify if the order is final or if it may be appealed 

in accordance with section [(13)] (14) of this rule. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4) 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.245, 656.248, 656.252, 656.254, 656.256, 656.260, 656.268, 656.313, 656.325, 

656.327, 656.331, 656.704 

Hist: Filed 1/5/90 as Admin. Order 1-1990, eff 2/1/90 

 Amended 6/20/90 as Admin. Order 6-1990, eff 7/1/90 (Temp) 

 Amended 12/10/90 as Admin. Order 32-1990, eff 12/26/90 

 Amended 12/20/94 as Admin. Order 94-064, eff 2/1/95 

Amended 12/4/95 as Admin. Order 95-071, eff 12/4/95 (Temp) 

 Amended 5/3/96 as Admin. Order 96-060, eff 6/1/96 

 Amended 12/16/98 as Admin. Order 98-060, eff 1/1/99 

 Amended 10/25/99 as Admin. Order 99-061, eff 10/25/99 (Temp) 

 Amended  10/25/99 as Admin. Order 99-061, eff 10/25/99 (Temp) 

 Amended 4/4/00 as Admin. Order 00-052, eff 4/21/00 

 Amended 12/17/01 as Admin. Order 01-065, eff 1/1/02 

 Amended 9/27/02 as Admin. Order 02-061, eff 11/01/02 

 Amended 12/12/03 as Admin. Order 03-069, eff 1/1/04 (Temp) 

 Amended 3/4/04 as Admin. O rder 04-055, eff. 4/1/04 

436-010-0210 Who May Provide Medical Services and Authorize Timeloss 

 (1) Attending physicians  and authorized nurse practitioners may authorize time loss and 

manage  medical services subject to the limitations of these rules. However, an MCO may designate any 

medical service provider as an attending physician who may provide medical services to an enrolled 

worker in accordance with ORS 656.260. 

 (2) Authorized primary care physicians and authorized nurse practitioners may provide 

medical services to injured workers subject to the terms and conditions of the governing MCO. 

 (3) Attending physicians and authorized nurse practitioners may prescribe treatment to be 

carried out by persons licensed to provide a medical service.  Attending physicians may prescribe 

treatment to be carried out  [or] by persons not licensed to provide a medical service or treat 

independently [ Those persons not licensed to treat independently or not licensed to provide a medical service, may only 

provide treatment prescribed by the attending physician which is] only when such treatment is rendered under the 

physician's direct control and supervision.  Reimbursement to a worker for home health care provided 

by a worker’s family member is not required to be provided under the direct control and supervision of 

the attending physician if the family member demonstrates competency to the satisfaction of the 

attending physician. 

 (4) [Nurse practitioners and p]Physician assistants may provide compensable medical services for a 

period of 30 days from the date of injury or 12 visits on the initial claim, whichever occurs first. 

Thereafter, medical services provided are not compensable without authorization of an attending 
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physician. Additionally, those [nurse practitioners and] physician assistants practicing in Type A, Type B, and 

Type C rural hospital areas as specified in ORS 656.245, may authorize the payment of temporary 

disability compensation for a period not to exceed 30 days from the date of first visit on the initial claim. 

Definitions of Type A, Type B, and Type C rural hospitals are contained in ORS 442.470. 

 (5) Nurse practitioners and physician assistants working within the scope of their license and as 

directed by the attending physician, need not be working under a written treatment plan as prescribed in 

OAR 436-010-0230(4)(a), nor under the direct control and supervision of the attending physician. 

 (6) A physician assistant, licensed under ORS 677.515, may provide services when the 

physician assistant is approved for practice by the Board of Medical Examiners. 

 (7) Effective October 1, 2004, in order to qualify as an authorized nurse practitioner, a 

nurse practitioner must certify in a form provided by the director that the nurse practitioner 

has reviewed a packet of materials which the director will provide upon request to any nurse 

practitioner after April 1, 2004.   

 (8) In accordance with ORS 656.245(2)(a), with the approval of the insurer, the worker may 

choose an attending physician outside the state of Oregon. Upon receipt of the worker's request, or the 

insurer's knowledge of the worker's request to treat with an out-of-state physician, the insurer shall give 

the worker written notice of approval or denial of the worker's choice of attending physician within 14 

days. 

 (a) If the insurer does not approve the worker's out-of-state physician, notice to the worker 

shall clearly state the reason(s) for the denial which may include, but are not limited to, the out-of-state 

physician’s refusal to comply with OAR 436-009 and 436-010, and identify at least two other 

physicians of the same healing art and specialty whom it would approve . The notice shall also inform 

the worker that if the worker disagrees with the denial, the worker may refer the matter to the director 

for review under the provisions of OAR 436-010-0220.  

 (b) If the insurer approves the worker's choice of out-of-state attending physician, the insurer 

shall immediately notify the worker and the medical service provider in writing of the following: 

 (A) The Oregon fee schedule requirements; 

 (B) The manner in which the out-of-state physician may provide compensable medical services 

to Oregon injured workers; and 

 (C) Billings for compensable services in excess of the maximum allowed under the fee schedule 

may not be paid by the insurer. 

 [(8)](9) After giving prior approval, if the out-of-state physician does not comply with these 

rules, the insurer may object to the worker's choice of physician and shall notify the worker and the 

physician in writing of the reason for the objection, that payment for services rendered by that physician 

after notification shall not be reimbursable, and that the worker may be liable for payment of services 

rendered after the date of notification. 
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 [(9)](10) If the worker is aggrieved by an insurer decision to object to an out-of-state attending 

physician, the worker or the worker's representative may refer the matter to the director for review 

under the provisions of OAR 436-010-0220. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 656.726(4) 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.005(12), 656.245 (§3, ch. 811, OL 2003), 656.260 

Hist: Filed 2/23/82 as Admin. Order 5-1982, eff 3/1/82 

 Amended 1/16/84 as Admin. Order 1-1984, eff 1/16/84 

 Amended 8/20/84 as Admin. Order 5-1984, eff 8/20/84; 

 Renumbered from OAR 436-69-301, 5/1/85 

 Amended 12/10/85 as Admin. Order 6-1985, eff 1/1/86 

 Amended 9/6/88 as Admin. Order 6-1988, eff 9/15/88 

 Amended 6/20/90 as Admin. Order 6-1990, eff 7/1/90 (Temp) 

 Amended 12/10/90 as Admin. Order 32-1990, eff 12/26/90 

 Amended 6/11/92 as Admin. Order 13-1992, eff 7/1/92 

 Amended 12/20/94 as Admin. Order 94-064, eff 2/1/95 

 Amended and renumbered from OAR 436-010-050 5/3/96 as Admin. Order 96-060, eff 6/1/96 

 Amended 12/16/98 as Admin. Order 98-060, eff 1/1/99 

 Amended  10/25/99 as Admin. Order 99-061, eff 10/25/99 (Temp) 

 Amended 4/4/00 as Admin. Order 00-052, eff  4/21/00  

Amended 12/17/01 as Admin. Order 01-065, eff 1/1/02 

Amended 12/12/03 as Admin. Order 03-069, eff 1/1/04 (Temp) 

Amended 3/4/04 as Admin. O rder 04-055, eff. 4/1/04 

436-010-0220 Choosing and Changing Medical Providers 

 (1) A newly selected attending physician, authorized nurse practitioner, or a specialist 

physician who becomes primarily responsible for the worker's care, shall notify the insurer not later than 

five days after the date of change or first treatment, using Form 827. An attending physician or 

authorized nurse practitioner: 

(a) is primarily responsible for the worker’s care,  

(b) authorizes time loss,  

(c) monitors ancillary care and specialized care, and 

(d) is determined by the facts of the case and the actions of the physician, not whether a Form 

827 is filed. 

 (2) The worker may have only one attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner at a 

time. Simultaneous or concurrent treatment by other medical service providers shall be based upon a 

written request of the attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner, with a copy of the request 

sent to the insurer. Except for emergency services, or otherwise provided for by statute or these rules, 

all treatments and medical services must be authorized by the injured worker's attending physician or 

authorized nurse practitioner to be reimbursable. Fees for treatment by more than one physician at 

the same time are payable only when treatment is sufficiently different that separate medical skills are 

needed for proper treatment. 

 (3) The worker is allowed to change his or her attending physician[s] or authorized nurse 

practitioner by choice two times after the initial choice.  Referral by the attending physician or 

authorized nurse practitioner to another attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner, 
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initiated by the worker, shall count in this calculation. The limitations of the worker's right to choose 

physicians or authorized nurse practitioners pursuant to this section begin with the date of injury and 

extend through the life of the claim. For purposes of this rule, the following are not considered changes 

[of physician] by choice of the worker: 

 (a) Emergency services by a physician; 

 (b) Examinations at the request of the insurer; 

 (c) Consultations or referrals for specialized treatment initiated by the attending physician or 

authorized nurse practitioner;  

 (d) Referrals to radiologists and pathologists for diagnostic studies; 

 (e) When workers are required to change [physicians] medical service providers to receive 

compensable medical services, palliative care, or time loss authorization because their medical service 

provider is no longer qualified as an attending physician or authorized to continue providing 

compensable medical services.  

 (f) Changes of attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner required due to conditions 

beyond the worker's control. This could include, but not be limited to[,] :  

(A) [w]When the physician terminates practice or leaves the area[,]; 

(B) [w]When a physician is no longer willing to treat an injured worker[,];  

 (C) [w]When the worker moves out of the area requiring more than a 50 mile commute to the 

physician[,];  

 (D) When the 90 day period for treatment by an authorized nurse practitioner has 

expired; 

 (E) When the nurse practitioner is required to refer the worker to an attending 

physician for a closing examination or because of a possible worsening of the worker’s 

condition following claim closure; and 

 (F) [w]When a worker is subject to managed care and compelled to be treated inside an MCO; 

 (g) A Worker Requested Medical Examination; [or] 

 (h) Whether a worker has an attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner who works 

in a group setting/facility and the worker sees another group member due to team practice, coverage, or 

on-call routines[.]; or 

 (i)  When a worker’s attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner is not 

available and the worker sees a medical provider who is covering for that provider in their 

absence. 

 (4)  When a worker has made an initial choice of attending physician or authorized nurse 

practitioner and subsequently changed two times by choice or reaches the maximum number of 

changes established by the MCO, the insurer shall inform the worker by certified mail that any 
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subsequent changes by choice must have the approval of the insurer or the director. If the insurer fails to 

provide such notice and the worker subsequently chooses another attending physician or authorized 

nurse practitioner, the insurer shall pay for compensable services rendered prior to notice to the 

worker.  If an attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner begins treatment without being 

informed that the worker has been given the required notification, the insurer shall pay for appropriate 

services rendered prior to the time the insurer notifies the [physician] medical service provider that 

further payment will not be made and informs the worker of the right to seek approval of the director. 

 (5)(a) If a worker not enrolled in an MCO wishes to change his or her attending physician[s] 

or authorized nurse practitioner beyond the limit established in section (3) of this rule, the worker 

must request approval from the insurer. Within 14 days of receipt of a request for a change of [attending 

physician] medical service provider or a Form 827 indicating the worker is choosing to change his or 

her attending physician[s] or authorized nurse practitioner, the insurer shall notify the worker in 

writing whether the change is approved. If the insurer objects to the change, the insurer shall advise the 

worker of the reasons, advise that the worker may request director approval, and provide the worker 

with Form 2332 (Worker’s Request to Change Attending Physician[s] or Authorized Nurse 

Practitioner) to complete and submit to the director if the worker wishes to make the requested 

change. 

 (b) If a worker enrolled in an MCO wishes to change his or her attending physician[s] or 

authorized nurse practitioner beyond the changes allowed in the MCO contract or certified plan, the 

worker must request approval from the insurer. Within 14 days of receiving the [change of attending 

physician] request, the insurer shall notify the worker in writing whether the change is approved. If the 

insurer denies the change, the insurer shall provide the reasons and give notification that the worker may 

request dispute resolution through the MCO. If the MCO does not have a dispute resolution process 

for change of attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner issues , the insurer shall give 

notification that the worker may request director approval and provide the worker with a copy of Form 

2332. 

 (6) Upon receipt of a worker's request for an additional change of attending physician or 

authorized nurse practitioner, the director may notify the parties and request additional information. 

Upon receipt of a written request from the director for additional information, the parties shall have 14 

days to respond in writing. 

 (7) After receipt and review, the director will issue an order advising whether the change is 

approved. The change of attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner shall be approved if 

the change is due to circumstances beyond the worker’s control as described in section (3) of this rule. 

On a case by case basis consideration may be given, but is not limited to, the following: 

 (a) Whether there is medical justification for a change, including whether the attending physician 

or authorized nurse practitioner can provide the type of treatment that is appropriate for the 

worker's condition. 

 (b) Whether the worker has moved to a new area and wants to establish an attending physician 

or authorized nurse practitioner closer to the worker's residence. 
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 (c) Whether such a change will cause unnecessary travel costs and/or lost time from work. 

 (8) Any party that disagrees with the director's order may request a contested case hearing 

before the director, pursuant to ORS 183.310(2) and OAR 436-001, as follows: 

 (a) The party must send a written request to the administrator of the Workers' Compensation 

Division. The request must specify the grounds upon which the order or other action of the director is 

contested and must include a copy of the order appealed. 

 (b) The appeal must be [made]mailed within 30 days of the mailing date of the order. 

Stat. Auth:  ORS 656.726(4) 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.245 (§3, ch. 811, OL 2003), 656.252, 656.260 

Hist: Filed 2/23/82 as Admin. Order 5-1982, eff 3/1/82 

 Amended 1/16/84 as Admin. Order 1-1984, eff 1/16/84 

 Amended 4/29/85 as Admin. Order 2-1985, eff 6/3/85; 

 Renumbered from OAR 436-69-401, 5/1/85 

 Amended 1/20/88 as Admin. Order 1-1988, eff 2/1/88 

 Amended 1/5/90 as Admin. Order 1-1990, eff 2/1/90 

 Amended 6/20/90 as Admin. Order 6-1990, eff 7/1/90 (Temp) 

 Amended 12/10/90 as Admin. Order 32-1990, eff 12/26/90 

 Amended 6/11/92 as Admin. Order 13-1992, eff 7/1/92 

 Amended 12/20/94 as Admin. Order 94-064, eff 2/1/95 

 Amended and renumbered from OAR 436-010-060 5/3/96 as Admin. Order 96-060, eff 6/1/96 

 Amended 12/16/98 as Admin. Order 98-060, eff 1/1/99 

 Amended 12/17/01 as Admin. Order 01-065, eff 1/1/02 

 Amended 9/27/02 as Admin. Order 02-061, eff 11/01/02 

 Amended 12/12/03 as Admin. Order 03-069, eff 1/1/04 (Temp) 

 Amended 3/4/04 as Admin. O rder 04-055, eff. 4/1/04 

436-010-0230 Medical Services And Treatment Guidelines 

 (1) Medical services provided to the injured worker shall not be more than the nature of the 

compensable injury or the process of recovery requires. Services which are unnecessary or 

inappropriate according to accepted professional standards are not reimbursable. 

 (2)  An employer or insurer representative may not attend a worker’s medical appointment 

without written consent of the worker. The consent form must state that the worker’s benefits cannot be 

suspended if the worker refuses to have a representative present. The worker has the right to refuse 

such attendance. The insurer shall retain a copy of a signed consent form in the claim file. 

  (3) Insurers have the right to require evidence of the frequency, extent, and efficacy of 

treatment. Unless otherwise provided for by statute, or within utilization and treatment standards 

[established by the director or]under an MCO contract, treatment typically does not exceed 15 office visits by 

any and all attending physicians or authorized nurse practitioners in the first 60 days from first date 

of treatment, and two visits a month thereafter. This rule does not constitute authority for an arbitrary 

provision of or limitation of services, but is a guideline for reviewing treatment.  

 (4) (a) Except as otherwise provided by [the] an MCO, ancillary services including but not 

limited to physical therapy or occupational therapy, by a medical service provider other than the 

attending physician, authorized nurse practitioner, or specialist physician shall not be reimbursed 

unless prescribed by the attending physician, authorized nurse practitioner, or specialist physician 
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and carried out under a treatment plan prepared prior to the commencement of treatment and  [signed by] 

sent by the ancillary medical service provider to the attending physician, authorized nurse 

practitioner, or specialist physician, and the insurer within [30] seven days of beginning treatment. 

[The medical service provider shall provide an initial copy of the treatment plan to the attending physician or specialist  physician and 

the insurer within seven days of beginning treatment. A copy of the treatment plan signed by the attending physician  or specialist  

physician shall be provided to the insurer by the medical service provider within 30 days of beginning treatment.] The treatment 

plan shall include objectives, modalities, frequency of treatment, and duration. The treatment plan may 

be recorded in any legible format including, but not limited to, signed chart notes. Treatment plans 

required under this subsection do not apply to services provided pursuant to ORS 656.245(2)(b)(A). 

 (b) The attending physician, authorized nurse practitioner, or specialist physician shall 

sign a copy of the treatment plan within 30 days of the commencement of treatment and send 

it to the insurer. Failure of the physician or nurse practitioner to sign or mail the treatment 

plan may subject the attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner to sanctions under 

OAR 436-010-0340, but shall not affect payment to the ancillary medical service provider.  

[(b)](c) Medical services prescribed by an attending physician, specialist physician, or 

authorized nurse practitioner and provided by a chiropractor, naturopath, acupuncturist, or podiatrist 

shall be subject to the treatment plan requirements set forth in subsection (4)(a) and (b) of this rule. 

 [(c)](d) Unless otherwise provided for within utilization and treatment standards [prescribed by the 

director or] under an MCO contract, the usual range for therapy visits does not exceed 20 visits in the 

first 60 days, and 4 visits a month thereafter. This rule does not constitute authority for an arbitrary 

provision of or limitation of services, but is a guideline for reviewing treatment. The attending physician 

or authorized nurse practitioner shall document the need for services in excess of these guidelines 

when submitting a written treatment plan. The process outlined in OAR 436-010-0008 should be 

followed when an insurer believes the treatment plan is inappropriate. 

 (5) The attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner, when requested by the insurer 

or the director through the insurer to complete a physical capacity or work capacity evaluation, shall 

complete the evaluation within 20 days, or refer the worker for such evaluation within seven days. The 

attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner shall notify the insurer and the worker in writing if 

the worker is incapable of participating in such evaluation. 

 (6) Prescription medications are required medical services under the provisions of ORS 

656.245(1)(a), (1)(b), and (1)(c) and do not require prior approval under the palliative care provisions 

of OAR 436-010-0290. A pharmacist, [or ]dispensing physician, or authorized nurse practitioner 

shall dispense generic drugs to injured workers in accordance with and pursuant to ORS 689.515. For 

the purposes of this rule, the worker shall be deemed the "purchaser" and may object to the substitution 

of a generic drug. However, payment for brand name drugs are subject to the limitations 

provided in OAR 436-009-0090.   Workers may have prescriptions filled by a provider of their 

choice, unless otherwise provided for in accordance with an MCO contract. Except in an emergency, 

drugs and medicine for oral consumption supplied by a physician's or authorized nurse practitioner’s 

office are [not] compensable only for the initial supply to treat the worker with the medication up 
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to a maximum of 10 days, subject to the provisions of this rule and OAR 436-009-0090.  

Compensation for certain drugs are limited as provided in OAR 436-009-0090.  

 (7) Dietary supplements including, but not limited to, minerals, vitamins, and amino acids are not 

reimbursable unless a specific compensable dietary deficiency has been clinically established in the 

injured worker or they are provided in accordance with a utilization and treatment standard adopted by 

the director. Vitamin B-12 injections are not reimbursable unless necessary because of a specific dietary 

deficiency of malabsorption resulting from a compensable gastrointestinal condition. 

 (8) X-ray films must be of diagnostic quality and accompanied by a report. 14" x 36" lateral 

views are not reimbursable.  

 (9) Upon request of either the director or the insurer, original [X-ray films] diagnostic studies 

shall be forwarded to the director or the insurer. Films shall be returned to the medical provider. A 

reasonable charge may be made for the costs of delivery of films. If a medical provider refuses to 

forward the films to the director or the insurer within 14 days of receipt of a written request, civil 

penalties may be imposed. 

 (10) Articles including but not limited to beds, hot tubs, chairs, Jacuzzis, and gravity traction 

devices are not compensable unless a need is clearly justified by a report which establishes that the 

"nature of the injury or the process of recovery requires" the item be furnished. The report must 

specifically set forth why the worker requires an item not usually considered necessary in the great 

majority of workers with similar impairments. Trips to spas, to resorts or retreats, whether prescribed or 

in association with a holistic medicine regimen, are not reimbursable unless special medical 

circumstances are shown to exist. 

 (11) Physical restorative services may include but are not limited to a regular exercise program 

or swim therapy. Such services are not compensable unless the nature of the worker’s limitations 

requires specialized services to allow the worker a reasonable level of social and/or functional activity. 

The attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner shall justify by report why the worker 

requires services not usually considered necessary for the majority of injured workers. 

 (12) The cost of repair or replacement of prosthetic appliances damaged when in use at the time 

of and in the course of a compensable injury, is a compensable medical expense, including when the 

worker received no physical injury. For purposes of this rule, a prosthetic appliance is an artificial 

substitute for a missing body part or any device by which performance of a natural function is aided, 

including but not limited to hearing aids and eye glasses. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 656.726(4) 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.245 (§3, ch. 811, OL 2003), 656.248, 656.252 

Hist: Filed 2/23/82 as Admin. Order 5-1982, eff 3/1/82 

 Amended 1/16/84 as Admin. Order 1-1984, eff 1/16/84 

 Amended 8/20/84 as Admin. Order 5-1984, eff 8/20/84 

 Amended 4/29/85 as Admin. Order 2-1985, eff 6/3/85; 

 Renumbered from OAR 436-69-110, 5/1/85 

 Amended 12/10/85 as Admin. Order 6-1985, eff 1/1/86 

 Amended 2/20/87 as Admin. Order 2-1987, eff 3/16/87 

 Amended 6/15/87 as Admin. Order 3-1987, eff 6/15/87 
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 Amended 1/20/88 as Admin. Order 1-1988, eff 2/1/88 

 Amended 9/6/88 as Admin. Order 6-1988, eff 9/15/88 

 Amended 8/21/89 as Admin. Order 2-1989, eff 9/1/89 

 Amended 1/5/90 as Admin. Order 1-1990, eff 2/1/90 

 Amended 12/10/90 as Admin. Order 32-1990, eff 12/26/90 

 Amended 6/11/92 as Admin. Order 13-1992, eff 7/1/92 

 Amended 12/20/94 as Admin. Order 94-064, eff 2/1/95 

 Amended and renumbered from OAR 436-010-040, 5/3/96 as Admin. Order 96-060, eff 6/1/96 

 Amended 12/16/98 as Admin. Order 98-060, eff 1/1/99 

 Filed 2/11/99 as Admin. Order 99-052, eff. 2/11/99 (Temp) 

Amended 4/28/99 as Admin. Order 99-055, eff 4/28/99 

 Amended 12/17/01 as Admin. Order 01-065, eff 1/1/02 

Amended 12/12/03 as Admin. Order 03-069, eff 1/1/04 (Temp) 

Amended 3/4/04 as Admin. O rder 04-055, eff. 4/1/04 

436-010-0240 Reporting Requirements for Medical Providers 

 (1) The act of the worker in applying for workers' compensation benefits constitutes 

authorization for any medical provider and other custodians of claims records to release relevant 

medical records under ORS 656.252. Medical information relevant to a claim includes a past history of 

complaints or treatment of a condition similar to that presented in the claim or other conditions related to 

the same body part. The authorization is valid for the duration of the work related injury or illness and is 

not subject to revocation by the worker or the worker's representative. However, this authorization 

does not authorize the release of information regarding: 

 (a) Federally funded drug and alcohol abuse treatment programs governed by Federal 

Regulation 42, CFR 2, which may only be obtained in compliance with this federal regulation, or 

 (b) The release of HIV related information otherwise protected by ORS 433.045(3). HIV 

related information should only be released when a claim is made for HIV or AIDS or when such 

information is directly relevant to the claimed condition(s).  

 (2) Any physician, hospital, clinic, or other medical service provider, shall provide all relevant 

information to the director, the insurer or their representative upon presentation of a signed Form 801, 

827, or 2476 (Release of Information). "Signature on file," printed on the worker's signature line of any 

authorized Release of Information prescribed by the director, is a valid medical release, provided the 

insurer maintains the signed original in accordance with OAR 436-010-0270. However, nothing in this 

rule shall prevent a medical provider from requiring a signed authorized Release of Information.   

 (3) When the worker has initiated a claim or wishes to initiate a claim, the worker and the first 

medical service provider on the initial claim shall complete the first medical report (Form 827) in every 

detail, to include the worker's name, address, and social security number (SSN), and information 

required by ORS 656.252 and 656.254. The medical service provider shall mail it to the proper insurer 

no later than 72 hours after the worker's first visit (Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays will not be counted 

in the 72-hour period).  

 (a) Diagnoses stated on Form 827 and all subsequent reports shall conform to terminology 

found in the International Classification of Disease-9-Clinical Manifestations (ICD-9-CM) or taught in 

accredited institutions of the licentiate's profession. 
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 (b) The worker's SSN will be used by the director to carry out its duties under ORS chapter 

656. The worker may voluntarily authorize additional use of the worker's SSN by various government 

agencies to carry out their statutory duties. 

 (4) All medical service providers shall notify the worker at the time of the first visit of the manner 

in which they can provide compensable medical services and authorize time loss. The worker shall also 

be notified that they may be personally liable for noncompensable medical services. Such notification 

should be made in writing or documented in the worker's chart notes. 

 (5) Attending physicians or authorized nurse practitioners shall, upon request from the 

insurer, submit verification of the worker's medical limitations related to the worker's ability to work, 

resulting from an occupational injury or disease. If the insurer requires the attending physician or 

authorized nurse practitioner to complete a release to return to work form, the insurer shall use Form 

3245.   

 (6) Medical providers shall maintain records necessary to document the extent of services 

provided to injured workers. 

 (7) Progress reports are essential. When time loss is authorized by the attending physician or 

authorized nurse practitioner, the insurer may require progress reports every 15 days through the use 

of the physician's report, Form 827. Chart notes may be sufficient to satisfy this requirement. If more 

information is required, the insurer may request a brief or complete narrative report. Fees for such 

narrative reports shall be in accordance with OAR 436-009-0015 (11), 436-009-0070 (2) or (3), 

whichever applies  

 (8) Reports may be handwritten and include all relevant or requested information. 

 (9) All records shall be legible and cannot be kept in a coded or semi-coded manner unless a 

legend is provided with each set of records. 

 (10) The medical provider shall respond within 14 days to the request for relevant medical 

records as specified in section (1) of this rule, progress reports, narrative reports, and any or all 

necessary records needed to review the efficacy of treatment, frequency, and necessity of care. The 

medical provider shall be reimbursed for copying documents in accordance with OAR 436-009-0070 

(1). If the medical provider fails to provide such information within fourteen (14) days of receiving a 

request sent by certified mail, penalties under OAR 436-010-0340 or 436-015-0120 may be imposed.  

 (11) The attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner shall inform the insurer and the 

worker of the anticipated date of release to work, the anticipated date the worker will become 

medically stationary, the next appointment date, and the worker's medical limitations. To the extent any 

medical provider can determine these matters they must be included in each progress report. The insurer 

shall not consider the anticipated date of becoming medically stationary as a release to return to work. 

 (12) At the time the attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner declares the worker 

medically stationary, the attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner shall notify the worker, 

the insurer, and all other medical providers who are providing services to the worker. For disabling 
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claims, if the worker has been under the care of an authorized nurse practitioner, the 

authorized nurse practitioner must refer the worker to a qualified attending physician to 

complete a closing examination. The attending physician shall send a closing report to the insurer 

within 14 days of the examination in which the worker is declared medically stationary, except where a 

consulting physician examines the worker. The procedures and time frames for a consulting physician to 

perform the closing exam are provided in OAR 436-010-0280. 

 (13) The attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner shall advise the worker, and 

within five days provide the insurer with written notice, of the date the injured worker is released to 

return to regular or modified work. The physician or nurse shall not notify the insurer or employer of 

the worker's release to return to regular or modified work without first advising the worker. 

 (14)  An injured worker's claim for aggravation must be filed on Form 827 and must be 

accompanied by a medical report from the attending physician supported by objective findings that can 

be used to determine whether the worker has suffered a worsened condition attributable to the 

compensable injury under the criteria contained in ORS 656.273. The attending physician, on the 

worker's behalf, shall submit within five days the claim for aggravation and the medical report directly to 

the insurer 

 (15) The attending physician, authorized nurse practitioner, or the MCO may request 

consultation regarding conditions related to an accepted claim. The attending physician, authorized 

nurse practitioner, or the MCO shall promptly notify the insurer of the request for consultation. This 

requirement does not apply to diagnostic studies performed by radiologists and pathologists. The 

attending physician, authorized nurse practitioner, or MCO shall provide the consultant with all 

relevant clinical information. The consultant shall submit a copy of the consultation report to the 

attending physician, authorized nurse practitioner, the MCO, and the insurer within 10 days of the 

date of the examination or chart review. No additional fee beyond the consultation fee is allowed for this 

report. MCO requested consultations that are initiated by the insurer, which include examination of the 

worker, shall be considered insurer medical examinations subject to the provisions of 436-010-0265. 

 (16) A medical service provider shall not unreasonably interfere with the right of the insurer, 

pursuant to OAR 436-010-0265(1), to obtain a medical examination of the worker by a physician of 

the insurer's choice. 

 (17)  [When]Any time an injured worker [elects to] changes his or her attending physician[s] or 

authorized nurse practitioner: 

 (a) The new provider is responsible for: 

 (A) Submitting Form 827 to the insurer not later than five days after the change or the 

date of first treatment; and 

 (B) Requesting all available medical information, including information concerning 

previous temporary disability periods, from the previous attending physician, authorized nurse 

practitioner, or from the insurer. 
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 (b) The requirements of paragraphs (A) and (B) also apply anytime a worker is 

referred to a new physician qualified to be an attending physician or to a new authorized nurse 

practitioner primarily responsible for the worker’s care. 

 (c) Anyone failing to forward requested information within 14 days to the new physician 

or nurse will be subject to penalties under OAR 436-010-0340[or is referred to a new physician who is 

qualified to be an attending physician and who becomes primarily responsible for the worker's care, th e new attending physician shall 

notify the insurer, using Form 827, not later than five days after the change or the date of first  treatment. The new attending 

physician shall request all available medical information, including information concerning prev ious temporary disability periods, from 

the previous attending physician or from the insurer. A previous attending physician  who fails to forward requested information within 

14 days to the new attending physician will be subject to penalties as provided by OAR 436-010-0340]. 

 (18) Injured workers, or their representatives, are entitled to copies of all [relevant]protected 

health information in the medical records. These records should ordinarily be available from the 

insurers, but may also be obtained from medical providers under the following conditions:    [upon the 

payment of an appropriate charge for copies in accordance with OAR 436 -009-0070 (1) However, records that contain medical and 

psychological information relevant to the claim, which in the judgment of the writer of the report should not be shown to the worker 

because it  would not be in the worker's best interest, need not be supplied to the worker, but must be supplied to the worker 's 

representative. Upon request by the insurer, the director, or  the worker, records containing the relevant information shall be provided, 

subject to the above exception.]     

 (a) A medical provider may charge the worker for copies in accordance with OAR 436-

009-0070(1), but a patient may not be denied summaries or copies of his/her medical records 

because of inability to pay.  

 (b) For the purpose of this rule, “protected health information in the medical record” 

means any oral or written information in any form or medium that is created or received and 

relates to: 

 (A) The past, present, or future physical or mental health of the patient; 

 (B) The provision of health care to the patient; and 

 (C) The past, present, or future payment for the provision of health care to the patient.  

 (c) A worker or the worker’s representative may request all or part of the record.  A 

summary may substitute for the actual record only if the patient agrees to the substitution.  

Upon request, the entire health information record in the possession of the medical provider 

will be provided to the worker or the worker’s representative.  This includes records from 

other healthcare providers, except that the following may be withheld: 

 (A) Information which was obtained from someone other than a healthcare provider 

under a promise of confidentiality and access to the information would likely reveal the source 

of the information; 

 (B) Psychotherapy notes; 

 (C) Information compiled for use in a civil, criminal, or administrative action or 

proceeding; and 

 (D) Other reasons specified by federal regulation. 
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Stat. Auth : ORS 656.726(4) 

Stat. Implemented: ORS 656.245 (§3, ch. 811, OL 2003), 656.252, 656.254, 656.273  

Hist: Filed 2/23/82 as Admin. Order 5-1982, eff 3/1/82 

 Amended 1/16/84 as Admin. Order 1-1984, eff 1/16/84 

 Renumbered from OAR 436-69-101, 5/1/85 

 Amended 12/10/85 as Admin. Order 6-1985, eff 1/1/86 

 Amended 1/20/88 as Admin. Order 1-1988, eff 2/1/88 

 Amended 1/5/90 as Admin. Order 1-1990, eff 2/1/90 

 Amended 6/20/90 as Admin. Order 6-1990, eff 7/1/90 (Temp) 

 Amended 7/20/90 as Admin. Order 14-1990, eff 7/20/90 (Temp) 

 Amended 12/10/90 as Admin. Order 32-1990, eff 12/26/90 

 Amended 6/11/92 as Admin. Order 13-1992, eff 7/1/92 

 Amended 12/20/94 as Admin. Order 94-064, eff 2/1/95 

 Amended and renumbered from OAR 436-010-030, 5/3/96 as WCD Admin. Order 96-060, eff 6/1/96 

 Amended 12/16/98 as Admin. Order 98-060, eff 1/1/99 

 Amended 12/17/01 as Admin. Order 01-065, eff 1/1/02 

 Amended 12/12/03 as Admin. Order 03-069, eff 1/1/04 (Temp) 

 Amended 3/4/04 as Admin. O rder 04-055, eff. 4/1/04 

436-010-0250 Elective Surgery 

 (1) "Elective Surgery" is surgery which may be required in the process of recovery from an 

injury or illness but need not be done as an emergency to preserve life, function or health. 

 (2) Except as otherwise provided by the MCO, when the attending physician or surgeon upon 

referral by the attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner, believes elective surgery is 

needed to treat a compensable injury or illness, the attending physician, authorized nurse practitioner, 

or the surgeon shall give the insurer actual notice at least seven days prior to the date of the proposed 

surgery. Notification shall give the medical information that substantiates the need for surgery, and the 

approximate surgical date and place if known.  

 (3) When elective surgery is recommended, the insurer may require an independent consultation 

with a physician of the insurer's choice. The insurer shall notify the recommending physician, the worker 

and the worker's representative, within seven days of receipt of the notice of intent to perform surgery, 

whether or not a consultation is desired by submitting Form 440-3228 (Elective Surgery Notification) to 

the recommending physician. When requested, the consultation shall be completed within 28 days after 

notice to the [attending ] physician. 

 (4)(a) Within seven days of the consultation, the insurer shall notify the recommending physician 

of the insurer's consultant's findings. 

 (b) When the insurer's consultant disagrees with the proposed surgery, the recommending 

physician and insurer shall endeavor to resolve any issues raised by the insurer's consultant's report.  

Where medically appropriate, the recommending physician, with the insurer's agreement to pay, shall 

obtain additional diagnostic testing, clarification reports or other information designed to assist them in 

their attempt to reach an agreement regarding the proposed surgery. 

 (c) The recommending physician shall provide written notice to the insurer, the worker and the 

worker's representative when further attempts to resolve the matter would be futile by signing Form 

440-3228. 
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 (5) If the insurer believes the proposed surgery is excessive, inappropriate, or ineffectual and 

cannot resolve the dispute with the recommending physician, the insurer shall request an administrative 

review by the director within 21 days of the notice provided in subsection(4)(c) of this rule. Failure of 

the insurer to timely respond to the physician's elective surgery request by submitting Form 440-3228, 

or to timely request administrative review pursuant to this rule shall bar the insurer from later disputing 

whether the surgery is or was excessive, inappropriate, or ineffectual. 

 (6) If the recommending physician and consultant disagree about the need for surgery, the 

insurer may inform the worker of the consultant's opinion. The decision whether to proceed with surgery 

remains with the attending physician and the worker. 

 (7) A recommending physician who prescribes or proceeds to perform elective surgery and fails 

to comply with the notification requirements in section (2) of this rule, may be subject to civil penalties as 

provided in ORS 656.254(3)(a) and OAR 436-010-0340. 

 (8) Surgery which must be performed promptly, i.e., before seven days, because the condition 

is life threatening or there is rapidly progressing deterioration or acute pain not manageable without 

surgical intervention, is not considered elective surgery. In such cases the attending physician or 

authorized nurse practitioner should endeavor to notify the insurer of the need for emergency 

surgery. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 656.726(4) 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.245 (§3, ch. 811, OL 2003), 656.248, 656.252, 656.260, 656.327 

Hist: Filed 2/23/82 as Admin. Order 5-1982, eff 3/1/82 

 Amended 1/16/84 as Admin. Order 1-1984, eff 1/16/84 

 Amended 4/29/85 as Admin. Order 2-1985, eff 6/3/85; 

 Renumbered from OAR 436-69-501, 5/1/85 

 Amended 12/10/85 as Admin. Order 6-1985, eff 1/1/86 

 Amended 1/5/90 as Admin. Order 1-1990, eff 2/1/90 

 Amended 12/10/90 as Admin. Order 32-1990, eff 12/26/90 

 Amended 6/11/92 as Admin. Order 13-1992, eff 7/1/92 

 Amended 12/20/94 as Admin. Order 94-064, eff 2/1/95 

 Amended and renumbered to OAR 436-010-0250 5/3/96 as Admin Order 96-060, eff 6/1/96 

 Amended 12/16/98 as Admin. Order 98-060, eff 1/1/99 

 Amended 12/17/01 as Admin. Order 01-065, eff 1/1/02 

 Amended 9/27/02 as Admin. Order 02-061, eff 11/01/02 

 Amended 12/12/03 as Admin. Order 03-069, eff 1/1/04 (Temp) 

 Amended 3/4/04 as Admin. O rder 04-055, eff. 4/1/04 

436-010-0265 Insurer Medical Examinations (IME) 

 (1) The insurer may obtain three medical examinations of the worker by physicians of their 

choice for each opening of the claim. These examinations may be obtained prior to or after claim 

closure. A claim for aggravation, Board's Own Motion, or reopening of a claim where the worker 

becomes enrolled or actively engaged in training according to rules adopted pursuant to ORS 656.340 

and 656.726 permits a new series of three medical examinations. For purposes of this rule, "insurer 

medical examination" (IME) means any medical examination including a physical capacity or work 

capacity evaluation or consultation that includes an examination, except as provided in section (5) of this 

rule, that is requested by the insurer and completed by any medical service provider, other than the 

worker's attending physician. The examination may be conducted by one or more medical providers 
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with different specialty qualifications, generally done at one location and completed within a 72-hour 

period. If the medical providers are not at one location, the examination is to be completed within a 72-

hour period and at locations reasonably convenient to the worker. 

 (2) When the insurer has obtained the three medical examinations allowed under this rule and 

wishes to require the worker to attend an additional examination, the insurer shall first notify and request 

authorization from the director. Insurers that fail to first notify and request authorization from the 

director, may be assessed a civil penalty. The process for requesting such authorization shall be as 

follows: 

 (a) The insurer shall submit a request for such authorization to the director in a form and format 

as prescribed by the director in Bulletin 252 including, but not limited to, the reasons for an additional 

IME, the conditions to be evaluated, dates, times, places, and purposes of previous examinations, 

copies of previous IME notification letters to the worker, and any other information requested by the 

director. A copy of the request shall be provided to the worker and the worker's attorney; and  

 (b) The director will review the request and determine if additional information is necessary prior 

to issuing an order approving or disapproving the request. Upon receipt of a written request for 

additional information from the director, the parties shall have 14 days to respond. If the parties do not 

provide the requested information, the director will issue an order approving or disapproving the request 

based on available information. 

 (3) In determining whether to approve or deny the request for an additional IME, the director 

may give consideration, but is not limited, to the following: 

 (a) Whether an IME involving the same discipline(s) and/or review of the same condition has 

been completed within the past six months. 

 (b) Whether there has been a significant change in the worker's condition. 

 (c) Whether there is a new condition or compensable aspect introduced to the claim. 

 (d) Whether there is a conflict of medical opinion about a worker's treatment, impairment, 

stationary status, or other issue critical to claim processing/benefits. 

 (e) Whether the IME is requested to establish a preponderance for medically stationary status. 

 (f) Whether the IME is medically harmful to the worker. 

 (g) Whether the IME requested is for a condition for which the worker has sought treatment or 

the condition has been included in the compensable claim. 

 (4) Any party aggrieved by the director's order may request a hearing by the Hearings Division 

of the Workers' Compensation Board pursuant to ORS 656.283 and OAR chapter 438. 

 (5) For purposes of determining the number of insurer required examinations, any examinations 

scheduled but not completed are not counted as a statutory IME. The following examinations shall not 

be considered IMEs and do not require approval as outlined in section (2) of this rule: 
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 (a) An examination conducted by or at the request or direction of the worker's attending 

physician or authorized nurse practitioner; 

 (b) An examination obtained at the request of the director; 

 (c) A consultation obtained in accordance with OAR 436-010-0250(3);  

 (d) An examination of a permanently totally disabled worker required under ORS 656.206(5); 

and 

 (e) An examination by a consulting physician that has been arranged by the worker's attending 

physician or authorized nurse practitioner in accordance with OAR 436-010-0280. 

 (6) Examinations shall be at times and intervals reasonably convenient to the worker and shall 

not delay or interrupt proper treatment of the worker. 

 (7) When a worker is required to attend an examination by a physician of the insurer's choice, 

the insurer shall comply with the notification and reimbursement requirements contained in OAR 436-

009-0025 and 436-060-0095. 

(8) When scheduling an IME, the insurer shall provide Form 440-3227 (Invasive Medical 

Procedure Authorization) to the medical service provider. 

(9) If a medical service provider intends to perform an invasive procedure as part of an IME, 

the worker shall sign Form 440-3227 and may refuse the procedure.  For the purposes of this rule, an 

invasive procedure is a procedure in which the body is entered by a needle, tube, scope, or scalpel. 

 (10) The person conducting the examination shall determine the conditions under which the 

examination will be conducted. Subject to the physician's approval, the worker may use a video camera 

or tape recorder to record the examination. Also subject to the physician's approval, the worker may be 

accompanied by a family member or friend during the examination. If the physician does not approve a 

worker's request to record an examination or allow the worker to be so accompanied, the physician 

must document the reasons. 

 (11) Upon completion of the examination, the examining physician(s) shall send a copy of the 

report to the insurer [and attending physician] within seven days.  The insurer shall forward a copy of the 

report to the attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner within 72 hours of its receipt 

of the report. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 656.726(4) 

Stat. Implemented: ORS 656.252, 656.325, 656.245 (§3, ch. 811, OL 2003), 656.248, 656.260, 656.264 

Hist: Filed 12/16/98 as Admin. Order 98-060, eff 1/1/99 

 Filed 2/11/99 as Admin. Order 99-052, eff. 2/11/99 (Temp) 

Amended 4/28/99 as Admin. Order 99-055, eff 4/28/99 

Amended 12/17/01 as Admin. Order 01-065, eff 1/1/02 

Amended 9/27/02 as Admin. Order 02-061, eff 11/01/02 

Amended 12/12/03 as Admin. Order 03-069, eff 1/1/04 (Temp) 

Amended 3/4/04 as Admin. O rder 04-055, eff. 4/1/04 
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436-010-0270 Insurer's Rights and Duties 

 (1) Insurers shall notify the injured worker in writing, immediately following receipt of notice or 

knowledge of a claim, of the manner in which they may receive medical services for compensable 

injuries.  

 (2) Insurers may obtain relevant medical records, using a computer-generated equivalent of 

Form 2476 (Release of Information), with "signature on file" printed on the worker's signature line, 

provided the insurer maintains a worker-signed original of the release form. 

 (3) The insurer shall notify the attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner, if 

known, and the MCO, if any, when it denies or partially denies a previously accepted claim.  

In claims which have been denied [and are on appeal], the insurer shall notify the medical service provider 

and MCO, if any, within ten days of any change of status of the claim. 

 (4) Upon request, the insurer shall forward all relevant medical information to return-to-work 

specialists, [or] vocational rehabilitation organizations, or new attending physician or authorized 

nurse practitioner within 14 days. 

 (5) In disabling and non-disabling claims, immediately following notice or knowledge that the 

worker is medically stationary, insurers shall notify the injured worker and the attending physician or 

authorized nurse practitioner in writing which medical services remain compensable under the 

system. This notice must list all benefits the worker is entitled to receive under ORS 656.245 (1)(c).  

 (6) When a medically stationary date is established by the insurer and is not based on the 

findings of an attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner, the insurer shall notify all medical 

service providers of the worker's medically stationary status.  Applicable to all injuries occurring on or 

after October 23, 1999, the insurer shall be responsible for reimbursement to all medical service 

providers for services rendered until the insurer provides the notice to the attending physician or 

authorized nurse practitioner. 

 (7) Insurers shall reimburse workers for actual and reasonable costs for travel, prescriptions, 

and other claim related services paid by a worker in accordance with ORS 656.245(1)(e), 656.325, 

and 656.327.  

 (a)  Reimbursement by the insurer to the worker for transportation costs to visit [their] his or 

her attending physician may be limited to the theoretical distance required to realistically seek out and 

receive care from an appropriate attending physician of the same specialty who is in a geographically 

closer medical community in relationship to the worker's home.  If a worker seeks treatment from 

an authorized nurse practitioner, reimbursement by the insurer to the worker for 

transportation costs to visit his or her authorized nurse practitioner may be limited to the 

theoretical distance required to realistically seek out and receive care from an appropriate 

nurse practitioner of the same specialty who is in a geographically closer medical community 

in relationship to the worker’s home.  All medical practitioners within a metropolitan area are 

considered part of the same medical community and therefore are not considered geographically closer 

than any other physician in that metropolitan medical community for purposes of travel reimbursement. 
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 (b) A worker who relocates within the State of Oregon may continue treating with the 

established attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner and be reimbursed transportation 

costs.  

 (c) Prior to limiting reimbursement under subsection (7)(a) of this rule, the insurer shall provide 

the worker a written explanation and a list of providers who can timely provide similar services within a 

reasonable traveling distance for the worker. The insurer shall inform the worker that treatment may 

continue with the established attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner; however, 

reimbursement of transportation costs may be limited as described.  

 (d) When the director decides travel reimbursement disputes at administrative review or 

contested case level, the determination will be based on principles of reasonableness and fairness within 

the context of the specific case circumstances as well as the spirit and intent of the law. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 656.726(4) 

Stat. Implemented: ORS 656.252, 656.325, 656.245 (§3, ch. 811, OL 2003), 656.248, 656.260, 656.264 

Hist: Filed 2/23/82 as Admin. Order 5-1982, eff 3/1/82 

 Amended 1/16/84 as Admin. Order 1-1984, eff 1/16/84 

 Renumbered from OAR 436-69-801, 5/1/85 

 Amended 12/10/85 as Admin. Order 6-1985, eff 1/1/86 

 Amended 1/20/88 as Admin. Order 1-1988, eff 2/1/88 

 Amended 9/6/88 as Admin. Order 6-1988, eff 9/15/88 

 Amended 1/5/90 as Admin. Order 1-1990, eff 2/1/90 

 Amended 6/20/90 as Admin. Order 6-1990, eff 7/1/90 (Temp) 

 Amended 12/10/90 as Admin. Order 32-1990, eff 12/26/90 

 Amended 6/11/92 as Admin. Order 13-1992, eff 7/1/92 

 Amended 12/20/94 as Admin. Order 94-064, eff 2/1/95 

 Amended and renumbered from OAR 436-010-100 5/3/96 as Admin. Order 96-060, eff 6/1/96 

 Amended 12/16/98 as Admin. Order 98-060, eff 1/1/99 

 Amended  10/25/99 as Admin. Order 99-061, eff 10/25/99 (Temp) 

 Amended 4/4/00 as Admin. Order 00-052, eff 4/21/00 

 Amended 12/17/01 as Admin. Order 01-065, eff 1/1/02 

 Amended 12/12/03 as Admin. Order 03-069, eff 1/1/04 (Temp) 

 Amended 3/4/04 as Admin. O rder 04-055, eff. 4/1/04 

436-010-0275 Insurer's Duties under MCO Contracts 

 (1) Insurers who enter into an MCO contract in accordance with OAR 436-015, shall notify 

the affected insured employers of the following: 

 (a) The names and addresses of the complete panel of MCO medical providers within the 

employer's [GSA] geographical service area(s); 

 (b) The manner in which injured workers can receive compensable medical services within the 

MCO; 

 (c) The manner in which injured workers can receive compensable medical services by medical 

providers outside the MCO; and 

 (d) The geographical service area governed by the MCO. 

 (2) Insurers under contract with an MCO shall notify all newly insured employers in accordance 

with section (1) of this rule, prior to or on the effective date of coverage. 
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 (3) At least 30 days prior to any significant changes to an MCO contract affecting injured 

worker benefits, the insurer shall notify in accordance with OAR 436-015-0035 all affected insured 

employers and injured workers of the manner in which injured workers will receive medical services. 

 (4) When the insurer is enrolling a worker in an MCO, the insurer shall simultaneously provide 

written notice to the worker, all medical service providers, and the MCO of enrollment. [Any notification to 

the MCO or medical service provider required by this subsection may be given via electronic mail subject to the requirements for 

electronic transmissions described in OAR 436-010-0005(23).] The notice shall: 

  (a) Notify the worker of the eligible attending physicians within the relevant MCO geographic 

service area and describe how the worker may obtain the names and addresses of the complete panel 

of MCO medical providers; 

 (b) Advise the worker of the manner in which the worker may receive medical services for 

compensable injuries within the MCO; 

 (c) Describe how the worker can receive compensable medical treatment from a primary care 

physician or authorized nurse practitioner qualified to provide services as described in OAR 

436-015-0070,  who is not a member of the MCO, including how to request qualification of their 

primary care physician or authorized nurse practitioner; 

 (d) Advise the worker of the right to choose the MCO when more than one MCO contract 

covers the worker's employer except when the employer provides a coordinated health care program 

as defined in OAR 436-010-0005(5);  

 (e) Provide the worker with the title, address and telephone number of the contact person at the 

MCO responsible for ensuring the timely resolution of complaints or disputes; 

 (f) Advise the worker of the time lines for appealing disputes beginning with the MCO's internal 

dispute resolution process through administrative review before the director, that disputes to the MCO 

must be in writing and filed within 30 days of the disputed action and with whom the dispute is to be 

filed, and that failure to request review to the MCO precludes further appeal; and 

 (g) Notify the MCO of any request by the worker for qualification of a primary care physician 

or authorized nurse practitioner. 

 (5) Insurers under contract with MCOs who enroll workers prior to claim acceptance shall 

inform the worker in writing that the insurer will pay as provided in ORS 656.248 for all reasonable and 

necessary medical services received by the worker that are not otherwise covered by health insurance, 

even if the claim is denied, until the worker receives actual notice of the denial or until three days after 

the denial is mailed, whichever occurs first. 

 (6) Insurers enrolling a worker who is not yet medically stationary and is required to change 

medical providers, shall notify the worker of the right to request review by the MCO if the worker 

believes the change would be medically detrimental. 

 (7) If, at the time of MCO enrollment, the worker's medical service provider is not a member of 

the MCO and does not qualify as a primary care physician or authorized nurse practitioner, the 
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insurer shall notify the worker and medical service provider regarding provision of care under the MCO 

contract, including the provisions for continuity of care. 

 (8) When an insurer under contract with an MCO receives a dispute regarding a matter that is 

to be resolved through the MCO dispute resolution process and that dispute has not been 

simultaneously provided to the MCO, the insurer shall within 14 days: 

 (a) Send a copy of the dispute to the MCO; or 

 (b) If the MCO does not have a dispute resolution process for that issue, the insurer shall notify 

the parties in writing to seek administrative review before the director. 

 (9) The insurer must also notify the MCO of the name, address, and telephone number of the 

worker and, if represented, the name of the worker's attorney, and must keep the MCO informed of 

any changes. 

 (10) Insurers under contract with MCOs shall maintain records as requested including, but not 

limited to, a listing of all employer's covered by MCO contracts, their WCD employer numbers, the 

estimated number of employees governed by each MCO contract, a list of all injured workers enrolled 

in the MCO, and the effective dates of such enrollments. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 656.726(4) 

Stat. Implemented: ORS 656.252, 656.325, 656.245 (§3, ch. 811, OL 2003), 656.248, 656.260, 656.264 

Hist: Filed 12/16/98 as Admin. Order 98-060, eff 1/1/99 

 Amended 12/17/01 as Admin. Order 01-065, eff 1/1/02 

 Amended 12/12/03 as Admin. Order 03-069, eff 1/1/04 (Temp) 

 Amended 3/4/04 as Admin. O rder 04-055, eff. 4/1/04 

436-010-0280 Determination of Impairment 

 (1) The attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner shall notify the insurer of the date 

on which the worker became medically stationary from the compensable injury or illness and whether or 

not the worker is released to any form of work. The medically stationary date should not be a projected 

date and should relate to an examination. On disabling claims, when finding or notification that the 

worker is medically stationary, an authorized nurse practitioner shall refer the worker to a 

qualified attending physician to complete a closing examination. 

 (2)  The attending physician shall perform a closing examination pursuant to OAR 436-030-

0020 (2) and submit the closing report within 14 days of the examination in which the worker was 

determined medically stationary, or shall arrange or request the insurer to arrange for the worker to be 

examined by a consulting physician for all or any part of the closing examination within five days of the 

examination in which the worker is declared medically stationary.  

 (3) A closing examination shall be performed when the attending physician is notified by the 

insurer that the worker's accepted injury is no longer the major contributing cause of the worker's 

condition and a denial has been issued. The attending physician shall submit a closing report within 14 

days of the examination. If the attending physician refers the worker to a consulting physician for all or 

any part of the closing examination, the examination shall be scheduled within five days of the denial 

notification. Upon notification that the worker’s accepted condition in a disabling claim is no 
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longer the major contributing cause of the worker’s condition, an authorized nurse practitioner 

shall refer the worker to a qualified attending physician to complete a closing examination. 

 (4) Closing reports for examinations performed by a [consulting]specialist physician pursuant to 

this rule shall be submitted to the attending physician within seven days of the examination. The attending 

physician must review the report and, within seven days of receipt of the report, concur in writing or 

provide a report to the insurer describing any finding/conclusion with which the attending physician 

disagrees. 

 (5) [The insurer or the director may request an examination to determine the extent of impairment.] The physician 

conducting the examination shall provide all objective findings of impairment pursuant to these rules and 

in accordance with OAR 436-035-0007. 

 (6) The closing examination report does not include any rating of impairment or disability, but 

describes impairment findings to be rated by either the insurer or the director. Physicians shall provide 

comments regarding the validity of the examination findings as they pertain to the accepted compensable 

conditions. 

 (7) The director may prescribe by bulletin what comprises a complete closing report, including, 

but not limited to, those specific clinical findings related to the specific body part or system affected. The 

bulletin may also include the impairment reporting format or form to be used as a supplement to the 

narrative report. 

 (8) The attending physician shall specify the worker's residual functional capacity or refer the 

worker for completion of a second level PCE or WCE (as described in OAR 436-009-0070 (4) 

pursuant to the following: 

 (a) A PCE when the worker has not been released to return to regular work, has not returned 

to regular work, has returned to modified work, or has refused an offer of modified work. 

 (b) A WCE when there is question of the worker's ability to return to suitable and gainful 

employment. It may also be required to specify the worker's ability to perform specific job tasks. 

 (9) When the worker's condition is not medically stationary and a denial has been issued 

because the worker's accepted injury is no longer the major contributing cause of the worker's 

condition, the physician shall estimate the worker's future impairment and residual functional capacity 

pursuant to OAR 436-035-0007(5). 

Stat. Auth:  ORS 656.726(4), 656.245(2)(b)(B) 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.245 (§3, ch. 811, OL 2003), 656.252 

Hist: Filed 2/23/82 as Admin. Order 5-1982, eff 3/1/82 

 Amended 1/16/84 as Admin. Order 1-1984, eff 1/16/84 

 Renumbered from OAR 436-69-601, 5/1/85 

 Amended 1/5/90 as Admin. Order 1-1990, eff 2/1/90 

 Amended 12/10/90 as Admin. Order 32-1990, eff 12/26/90 

 Amended 6/20/90 as Admin. Order 6-1990, eff 7/1/90 (Temp) 

 Amended 12/10/90 as Admin. Order 32-1990, eff 12/26/90 

 Amended 6/11/92 as Admin. Order 13-1992, eff 7/1/92 

 Amended 12/20/94 as Admin. Order 94-064, eff 2/1/95 

 Amended and renumbered from OAR 436-010-080 5/3/96 as Admin. Order 96-060, eff 6/1/96  

 Amended 12/16/98 as Admin. Order 98-060, eff 1/1/99 
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 Amended 12/17/01 as Admin. Order 01-065, eff 1/1/02 

 Amended 12/12/03 as Admin. Order 03-069, eff 1/1/04 (Temp) 

 Amended 3/4/04 as Admin. O rder 04-055, eff. 4/1/04 

436-010-0340 Sanctions and Civil Penalties 

 (1) If the director finds any medical provider in violation of the medical reporting requirements 

established pursuant to ORS 656.245, 656.252, and 656.254(1), as found in OAR 436-009 and 436-

010, the director may impose one or more of the following sanctions: 

 (a) Reprimand by the director; 

 (b) Non-payment, reduction or recovery of fees in part, or whole, for services rendered; 

 (c) Referral to the appropriate licensing board; or 

 (d) Civil penalty not to exceed $1,000 for each occurrence. In determining the amount of 

penalty to be assessed, the director shall consider: 

 (A) The degree of harm inflicted on the worker or the insurer; 

 (B) Whether there have been previous violations; and 

 (C) Whether there is evidence of willful violations. 

 (2) The director may impose a penalty of forfeiture of fees and a fine not to exceed $1,000 for 

each occurrence on any health care practitioner who, pursuant to ORS 656.254 and 656.327, has been 

found to: 

 (a) Fail to comply with the medical rules;  

 (b) Provide medical treatment that is excessive, inappropriate or ineffectual; or 

 (c) Engage in any conduct demonstrated to be dangerous to the health or safety of a worker. 

 (3) If the conduct as described in section (2) is found to be repeated and willful, the director 

may declare the practitioner ineligible for reimbursement for treating workers' compensation claimants 

for a period not to exceed three years. 

 (4) A health care practitioner whose license has been suspended or revoked by the licensing 

board for violations of professional ethical standards may be declared ineligible for reimbursement for 

treating workers' compensation claimants for a period not to exceed three years. A certified copy of the 

revocation or suspension order shall be prima facie justification for the director's order. 

 (5) If a financial penalty is imposed on the attending physician or authorized nurse 

practitioner for violation of these rules, no recovery of  penalty fees may be sought from the worker. 

 (6) If an insurer or worker believes sanctions under sections (1) or (2) of this rule are 

appropriate, either may submit a complaint in writing to the director. 

 (7) If the director finds an insurer in violation of the notification provisions of OAR 436-010 

limiting medical treatment, the director may order the insurer to reimburse any affected medical service 

providers for services rendered until the insurer complies with the notification requirement.  Any penalty 

shall be limited to the amounts listed in section (8) of this rule. 
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 (8) If the director finds any insurer in violation of OAR 436-009 or OAR 436-010, or an order 

of the director, the insurer [shall] may be subject to penalties pursuant to ORS 656.745 of not more 

than $2000 for each violation or $10,000 in the aggregate for all violations within any three month 

period. Each violation, or each day a violation continues, shall be considered a separate violation. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 656.726(4) 

Stat. Implemented: ORS 656.245 (§3, ch. 811, OL 2003), 656.254, 656.745 

Hist: Filed 2/23/82 as Admin. Order 5-1982, eff 3/1/82 

 Amended 1/16/84 as Admin. Order 1-1984, eff 1/16/84 

 Renumbered from OAR 436-69-901, 5/1/85 

 Amended 1/20/88 as Admin. Order 1-1988, eff 2/1/88 

 Amended 1/5/90 as Admin. Order 1-1990, eff 2/1/90 (formerly OAR 436-010-0110 

 Amended 6/20/90 as Admin. Order 6-1990, eff 7/1/90 (Temp) 

 Amended 12/10/90 as Admin. Order 32-1990, eff 12/26/90 

 Amended 6/11/92 as Admin. Order 13-1992, eff 7/1/92 

 Amended 12/20/94 as Admin. Order 94-064, eff 2/1/95 

 Amended and renumbered to OAR 436-010-0340 5/3/96 as Admin. Order 96-060, eff 6/1/96 

 Amended 12/16/98 as Admin. Order 98-060, eff 1/1/99 

 Amended  10/25/99 as Admin. Order 99-061, eff 10/25/99 (Temp) 

 Amended 4/4/00 as Admin. Order 00-052, eff 4/21/00 

 Amended 12/17/01 as Admin. Order 01-065, eff 1/1/02 

 Amended 12/12/03 as Admin. Order 03-069, eff 1/1/04 (Temp) 

 Amended 3/4/04 as Admin. O rder 04-055, eff. 4/1/04 

436-010-0350 Service of Orders 

 [(1) When the director imposes a sanction or assesses a penalty under the provisions of 436-010-0340, the order, including 

a notice of the party's appeal rights, shall be served on the party.  

 (2) The director shall serve the order by delivering a copy to the party in the manner provided by Oregon Rules of Civil 

Procedure 7 D, or by sending a copy to the party by certified mail with return receipt requested.] 

Stat Auth:   ORS 656.740 

Stat. Implemented: ORS 656.740 

Hist: Filed 2/23/82 as Admin. Order 5-1982, eff 3/1/82 

 Renumbered from OAR 436-69-903, 5/1/85 

 Amended 1/5/90 as Admin. Order 1-1990, eff 2/1/90 (formerly OAR 436-010-0010) 

 Amended 6/20/90 as Admin. Order 6-1990, eff 7/1/90 (Temp) 

 Amended 12/10/90 as Admin. Order 32-1990, eff 12/26/90 

 Renumbered from OAR 436-010-135 5/3/96 as Admin. Order 96-060, eff 6/1/96 

 Amended 12/16/98 as Admin. Order 98-060, eff  1/1/99 

 Repealed 3/4/04 as Admin. O rder 04-055, eff. 4/1/04 


