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The Director of the Department of Consumer and Business Services, pursuant to the general 
rulemaking authority under ORS 656.726(4), and in accordance with the procedure provided by 

ORS 183.335, amends OAR chapter 436, Divisions 045, 055, 060, 070, 075, 085, and 150. 

On September 12, 2003, the Workers’ Compensation Division filed the Notice of Proposed 

Rulemaking/Hearing with the Secretary of State to amend these rules. A Notice of Periodic 
Review of Rules was contained in the Notice.  The Statement of Need and Fiscal Impact 
accompanied the Notice. Copies of the Notice and Statement were mailed to interested persons 

and legislators in accordance with ORS 183.335(1) and OAR 436-001-0000 and posted to the 
Workers’ Compensation Division’s web site. The notice was published in the October, 2003 

Oregon Bulletin. 

On October 22, 2003, a public hearing was held as announced. In addition, the record was held 
open for written testimony through 5:00 p.m. October 27, 2003. A written summary of testimony 

received and agency responses thereto, as well as principal documents relied upon, will be on file 
and available for public inspection upon request during regular business hours, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 

p.m., Monday through Friday, in the Administrator’s Office, Workers’ Compensation Division, 
Labor & Industries Building, 350 Winter Street NE, Salem, Oregon 97301-3879. 

RULE SUMMARY: 

These rules have been amended to reflect Senate Bill 233’s changes to ORS chapter 656.740. 
The time frame for appeal of a proposed order or proposed assessment of civil penalty will no 

longer be 60 days following the party’s receipt of notice, but instead 60 days from the date the 
order is mailed by the department. In addition, a number of “housekeeping” amendments have 
been made. 

FINDINGS: 

Having reviewed and considered the record and being fully informed, I make the following 

findings: 

(a) The applicable rulemaking procedures have been followed. 

(b) These rules are within the Director’s authority. 
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(c) The rules being adopted are a reasonable administrative interpretation of the statutes and are 
required to carry out statutory responsibilities. 

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED THAT: 

1) Amendments to OAR Chapter 436, as set forth in Exhibit "A", attached hereto and 

incorporated by reference herein, are adopted on this 3rd day of December 2003 to be 

effective January 1, 2004. 

2) A certified copy of the amended rules adopted herein shall be filed with the Secretary of 

State. 

3) A copy of the amended rules with revision marks shall be filed with the Legislative Counsel 

pursuant to ORS 183.715 within ten (10) days after filing with the Secretary of State. 

 

DATED this 3rd day of December, 2003. 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER  
AND BUSINESS SERVICES 

 

/s/ John L. Shilts 

John L. Shilts, Administrator 

Workers’ Compensation Division 
 
 

Pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities Act guidelines, alternative format 
copies of the rules will be made available to qualified individuals upon 

request. 

If you have questions about these rules or need them in an alternate format, 

contact the Workers’ Compensation Division at (503) 947-7810. 

 

Attachments 

Distribution: WCD-ID, S0, S1, S2, S3, NM 
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DIV. 150 - 1 

EXHIBIT “A” 

OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

CHAPTER 436, DIVISION 150 

436-150-0001 Authority for Rules 

 These rules are promulgated under the director’s authority contained in ORS 656.726(4) 

and section 6, chapter 974, Oregon Laws 2001. 

Stat. Auth.: Section 6, chapter 974, Oregon Laws 2001, ORS 656.726(4) 
Stats. Implemented: Section 6, chapter 974, Oregon Laws 2001 

Hist: Adopted 12/6/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-063, eff. 1/1/02 

436-150-0002  Purpose 

 The purpose of these rules is to establish guidelines for regulating, managing, and 

disbursing moneys in the Workers’ Benefit Fund for the purpose of advancing funds to injured 
workers who have not received payment of compensation due from an insurer in default. 

Stat. Auth.: Section 6, chapter 974, Oregon Laws 2001, ORS 656.726(4) 

Stats. Implemented: Section 6, chapter 974, Oregon Laws 2001 
Hist: Adopted 12/6/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-063, eff. 1/1/02 

436-150-0003 Applicability of Rules 

 (1) These rules carry out the provisions of section 6, chapter 974, Oregon Laws 2001. 

 (2) Applicable to this chapter, the director may, unless otherwise obligated by statute, in 
the director’s discretion waive any procedural rules as justice so requires. 

Stat. Auth.: Section 6, chapter 974, Oregon Laws 2001, ORS 656.726(4) 
Stats. Implemented: Section 6, chapter 974, Oregon Laws 2001 
Hist: Adopted 12/6/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-063, eff. 1/1/02 

436-150-0005  Definitions 

 As used in OAR 436-150-0001 through 436-150-0040, unless the context requires 
otherwise: 

 (1) “Compensation,” for the purposes of this program, means temporary and permanent 
disability due injured workers pursuant to ORS chapter 656, and out-of-pocket expenses for 

injured workers in accordance with OAR 436-009-0025, such as prescription and mileage 
reimbursements. Compensation does not include amounts payable to providers, or benefits 
payable pursuant to claim settlements or claim disposition agreements. 

 (2) “Default” means an insurer has failed to make payments of compensation due injured 
workers pursuant to ORS chapter 656 for which there is no dispute over the right of the worker 

to receive such compensation or the amount therein. 

 (3) “Director” means the director of the Department of Consumer and Business Services 
or the director’s delegate for the matter. 

 (4) “Hearings Division” means the Hearings Division of the Workers’ Compensation 
Board. 

 (5) “Insurer” means a guaranty contract insurer authorized under ORS chapter 731 to 
transact workers’ compensation insurance in this state.  
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 (6) “Oregon Insurance Guaranty Association” or “OIGA” means the association created 
by ORS 734.550. 

 (7) “Paying Agency” means the insurer, or the insurer’s authorized representative, 

responsible for paying compensation due under ORS chapter 656. 

Stat. Auth.: Section 6, chapter 974, Oregon Laws 2001, ORS 656.726(4) 

Stats. Implemented: Section 6, chapter 974, Oregon Laws 2001 
Hist: Adopted 12/6/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-063, eff. 1/1/02  

436-150-0006  Administration of Rules 

 Any orders issued by the division in carrying out the director’s authority to enforce ORS 

chapter 656 and these rules are considered orders of the director. 

Stat. Auth.: Section 6, chapter 974, Oregon Laws 2001, ORS 656.726(4) 

Stats. Implemented: Section 6, chapter 974, Oregon Laws 2001 
Hist: Adopted 12/6/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-063, eff. 1/1/02  

436-150-0008  Administrative Review 

 (1) Any party as defined by ORS 656.005, and including the Oregon Insurance Guaranty 

Association, aggrieved by a proposed order or proposed assessment of civil penalty of the 
director or division issued pursuant to ORS 656.745 or 656.750 may request a hearing by the 

Hearings Division of the Workers’ Compensation Board in accordance with ORS 656.740 
(section 9, chapter 170, Oregon Laws 2003). 

 (a) The request for hearing must be sent in writing to the Administrator of the Workers’ 

Compensation Division. No hearing shall be granted unless the request specifies the grounds 
upon which the person requesting the hearing contests the proposed order or assessment. 

 (b) The request for hearing must be filed with the Administrator of the Workers’ 
Compensation Division by the aggrieved person within 60 days after the mailing date of the 
proposed order or assessment. No hearing will be granted unless the request is mailed or 

delivered to the administrator within 60 days after the mailing date of the proposed order or 
assessment. 

(2) Any party as described in section (1) of this rule, aggrieved by an action or order of 

the director or division pursuant to these rules, other than as described in section (1) of this rule, 
where such action or order qualifies for review as a contested case, may request review pursuant 

to ORS 183.310 through 183.550 as modified by these rules pursuant to ORS 183.315(1). When 
the matter qualifies for review as a contested case, the process for review will be as follows: 

 (a) The request for hearing must be sent in writing to the Administrator of the Workers’ 

Compensation Division. No hearing will be granted unless the request specifies the grounds upon 
which the action or order is contested and is mailed or delivered to the administrator within 30 

days of the action or from the date of mailing or other service of an order. 

 (b) The hearing will be conducted by an Administrative Law Judge of the Office of 
Administrative Hearings. 

 (c) Any proposed order issued by the administrative law judge is subject to revision by 
the director. The director may allow objections to the proposed order to be filed for the director’s 

consideration within 30 days of issuance of the proposed order. 
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Stat. Auth.: Section 6, chapter 974, Oregon Laws 2001, ORS 656.726(4) 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.445, ORS 656.740 (section 9, chapter 170, Oregon Laws 2003), 
Hist: Adopted 12/6/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-063, eff. 1/1/02 
 Amended 12/3/03 as WCD Admin. Order 03-078, eff. 1/1/04 

436-150-0010  Criteria for Eligibility 

 (1) In order for the director to authorize expenditures from the Workers’ Benefit Fund 

Claims Program there must be: 

 (a) Verification from an authority from the insurer’s state of domicile that the insurer 
responsible for payment of compensation is in default, such as a notice of voluntary or 

involuntary rehabilitation, conservatorship, or other information indicating the insurer cannot or 
will not make payments of compensation; and 

 (b) An order of the director authorizing disbursements to injured workers from the 
Workers’ Benefit Fund Claims Program. The order shall specify the qualifying claims, duration 
of payment obligation, and maximum expenditure limitation. The maximum expenditure 

limitation may not exceed the amount of securities on deposit for the insurer pursuant to ORS 
731.628. 

 (2) When expenditures are authorized pursuant to section (1) of this rule, the paying 
agency shall provide the director with sufficient information, as specified in OAR 436-150-
0030(2), to enable the director to advance funds to eligible injured workers.   

 (3) To be eligible for payment under the program: 

(a) Compensation must be due and payable pursuant to ORS chapter 656; and  

(b) There must be an effective guaranty contract or record of insurance policy on file with 

the director by the insurer covering the employer on the date of injury. 

(4) Payments to eligible injured workers in accordance with these rules shall be applied 

toward the insurer's payment obligations under ORS chapter 656 and will be deducted from 
compensation due, pursuant to ORS 734.570. 

Stat. Auth.: Section 6, chapter 974, Oregon Laws 2001, ORS 656.726(4) 

Stats. Implemented: Section 6, chapter 974, Oregon Laws 2001 
Hist: Adopted 12/6/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-063, eff. 1/1/02  

436-150-0020  Limitation of Program 

 (1) Payment of compensation shall be limited to the amount of securities on deposit for 
the insurer pursuant to ORS 731.628 and only to the extent the monies are available in the 
Workers’ Benefit Fund. 

 (2) Payments for individual claims shall be limited to compensation that becomes due 
and payable during the period of default.  

(3) Notwithstanding any other provision of these rules, the director may, in the director’s 
discretion, authorize additional benefits for specific claims in cases of extreme hardship. 

 (4) In the event of insufficient funds in the Workers’ Benefit Fund, the director shall have 

final authority to determine an equitable distribution, which will proportionately distribute the 
available funds among the claims having qualified for reimbursement under the Program. 

Stat. Auth.: Section 6, chapter 974, Oregon Laws 2001, ORS 656.726(4) 
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Stats. Implemented: Section 6, chapter 974, Oregon Laws 2001 
Hist: Adopted 12/6/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-063, eff. 1/1/02  

436-150-0030 Payment of Benefits 

 (1) Payment of compensation may be made by the director after receipt of documentation 
that compensation is due and payable. 

(2) Documentation to support payment from the Workers’ Benefit Fund Claims Program 

shall be submitted by the paying agent to include, but not be limited to:  

(a) Insurer name, address, and policy number; 

(b) Injured worker name, address, insurer claim number, Workers’ Compensation 
Division claim number, and date of injury; 

(c) Employer name and address; 

(d) Amount, duration, and purpose of compensation due;  

(e) Amounts payable for support pursuant to ORS 656.236, along with supporting 

documentation; and 

(f) Any other information deemed necessary by the director. 

Stat. Auth.: Section 6, chapter 974, Oregon Laws 2001, ORS 656.726(4) 

Stats. Implemented: Section 6, chapter 974, Oregon Laws 2001 
Hist: Adopted 12/6/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-063, eff. 1/1/02 

436-150-0040 Accounting and Repayment of Payment of Benefits 

 (1) The director shall establish an account of record to monitor all expenditures and 
transactions relating to the Workers’ Benefit Fund Claims Program and these rules. The 
accounting shall provide a detailed record of payments to each injured worker and the respective 

insurer responsible for the claim to include, but not be limited to, information as specified in 
OAR 436-150-0030(2). 

 (2) When the obligation to make payment of compensation is assumed by the Oregon 
Insurance Guaranty Association (OIGA) due to the insolvency of an insurer, the OIGA shall 
reimburse the Workers’ Benefit Fund for all moneys advanced to injured workers for covered 

claims, as specified by OAR 734.510(4) and these rules. The OIGA shall reimburse the director 
within 60 days of receipt of sufficient information necessary to support the covered claims. All 

moneys received from the OIGA by the director shall be placed into the Workers’ Benefit Fund.   

 (3) If an insurer defaults in its payments to injured workers, but later resumes its 
obligation to make payments, the insurer shall reimburse the director for any moneys paid to the 

injured worker. Such payment shall be in such amounts and at such intervals as prescribed by an 
order of the director. Failure of the insurer to comply with the order of the director may result in 

civil penalty pursuant to ORS 656.745. 

 (4) Any dispute over an amount owing the director in accordance with these rules shall be 
resolved pursuant to OAR 436-150-0008(2). 

Stat. Auth.: Section 6, chapter 974, Oregon Laws 2001, ORS 656.726(4) 
Stats. Implemented: Section 6, chapter 974, Oregon Laws 2001 
Hist: Adopted 12/6/01 as WCD Admin. Order 01-063, eff. 1/1/02
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Secretary of State 

Certificate and Order for Filing 

PERMANENT ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
 

I certify that the attached copies* are true, full and correct copies of the 

PERMANENT Rule(s) adopted on December 3, 2003 by the 
 Date prior to or same as filing date 

Department of Consumer and Business Services  

Workers’ Compensation Division OAR chapter 436 
Agency and Division Administrative Rules Chapter No. 

Fred Bruyns (503) 947-7717 
Rules Coordinator Telephone 

350 Winter Street NE; Salem OR 97301-3879 

PO Box 14480, Salem OR 97309-0405 
Address 

to become effective January 1, 2004 

Rulemaking Notice 

was published in the October 2003 Oregon Bulletin.** 

 Date upon filing or later  Month and Year 

RULEMAKING ACTIO N 
List each rule number separately, 000-000-0000. 

ADOPT: OAR 436-050-0165, 436-050-0480 

 

AMEND: OAR

436-045-0008 

436-050-0003 

436-050-0005 

436-050-0006 

436-050-0008 

436-050-0040 

436-050-0050 

436-050-0055 

436-050-0060 

436-050-0080 

436-050-0090 

436-050-0100 

436-050-0110 

436-050-0120 

436-050-0150 

436-050-0160 

436-050-0170 

436-050-0175 

436-050-0180 

436-050-0185 

436-050-0190 

436-050-0195 

436-050-0200 

436-050-0210 

436-050-0220 

436-050-0260 

436-050-0270 

436-050-0280

436-050-0290 

436-050-0400 

436-050-0440 

436-055-0008 

436-060-0008 

436-070-0008 

436-075-0008 

436-080-0001 

436-080-0002 

436-080-0003 

436-080-0005 

436-080-0006 

436-080-0010 

436-080-0020 

436-080-0030 

436-080-0040 

436-080-0060 

436-080-0065 

436-080-0070 

436-080-0080 

436-085-0008 

436-150-0008 

436-160-0003 

436-160-0310 

436-160-0320 

436-160-0340 

436-160-0350 

436-160-0360

 

REPEAL: OAR 436-050-0020, 436-050-0150T, 436-050-0160T 436-050-0165T,OAR 436-080-0050 

 

 

ORS 656.704, 656.726(4) 
Statutory Authority 

ORS 183.335; OAR 137-001;  OAR 436-001-0000 and 436-001-0005 
Other Authority 

ORS chapter 656 
Statutes being Implemented 

RULE SUMMARY 
These rules have been amended in part to reflect Senate Bill 233’s changes to ORS 656. The time frame for appeal 

of a proposed order or proposed assessment of civil penalty will no longer be 60 days following the party’s receipt 

of notice, but instead 60 days from the date the order is mailed by the department. SB 233 also eliminated claim 

closure penalties for non-complying employers and changed the notification requirements for termination of 

guaranty contracts. In addition, these rules include a number of “housekeeping” amendmen ts and supersede 

temporary OAR 436-050 rules indicated above after “REPEAL.” 
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These rules: 

 Repeal specific requirements affecting service of orders by the director. 

 Reduce data reporting requirements for industry codes. 

 Eliminate certain requirements to report coverage elections and cancellation of elections. 

 Explain the notice and reporting requirements regarding the insurer’s termination of guaranty contracts.  

 State that active self-insurance certification remains in effect if a guaranty contract has been  filed. 

 Require notification of workers and other parties at least 10 days prior to changing claims processing locations.  

 Require insurers and self-insured employers to keep documentation of dates payments are mailed. 

 Require submission of audited financial statements by self-insured employers under certain conditions. 

 Provide that an irrevocable standby letter of credit may be accepted by the director as an alternative to a surety 
bond as a security deposit. This provision has been in effect under authority of temporary rules effective 7/18/03. 

 Provide that government securities, certificates of deposit, or time deposit accounts will not be accepted as new or 

replacement security deposits by self-insured employers effective January 1, 2004; require self-insured employers 

with existing securities of this type to complete a “Security Agreement and Notice to Intermediary,” Form 440-
4023, granting the department a security interest in and control over those financial assets. 

 Provide that excess insurance coverage must be specific on a per occurrence basis, and that such coverage may 

include aggregate excess insurance. 

 Incorporate annual reporting requirements for self-insured employers formerly published only in Bulletin 209. 

 Require that future claim liability estimates or annual incurred losses include losses incurred but not reported. 

 Require that a new self-insured employer’s deposit is not less than the amount of the approved self-insured 

employer retention level for the employer’s excess workers’ compensation insurance. 

 Require that each entity included under a self-insurance certification enter into an agreement making the entity 
jointly and severally liable for payment of compensation and moneys due. 

 Require that self-insured employer groups maintain coverage records relating to each member. 

 Prohibit a worker leasing company from providing workers’ compensation coverage to another leasing company.  

 Provide for assessment of civil penalties against worker leasing companies or prospective leasing companies that  

fail to meet the requirements of relevant rules. Provide penalty matrixes for worker leasing companies that violate 

these rules and for companies that operate as worker leasing companies without a license  

 
Direct questions to: Fred Bruyns, Rules Coordinator; phone 503-947-7717; fax 503-947-7581; or e-mail 
fred.h.bruyns@state.or.us. Rules are available on the internet: 
http://www.oregonwcd.org/policy/rules/rules.html#permrules 

For a copy of the rules, contact Publications at 503-947-7627, Fax 503-947-7630. 

 

/s/ John L. Shilts  December 3, 2003 
Authorized Signer  Date 

John L. Shilts, Administrator, Workers’ Compensation Division  
 

Printed name   

 
*Copies include a photocopy of this certificate with paper and electronic copies of each rule listed in the Rulemaking Action. 
 
**The Oregon Bulletin is published on the 1st of each month and updates the rule text found in the Oregon Administrative Rules Compilation.  
Notice forms must be submitted to the Administrative  Rules Unit, Oregon State Archives, 800 Summer Street NE, Salem, Oregon 97310 by 5:00 

p.m. on the 15th day of the preceding month unless this deadline falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday when Notice forms are accepted 
until 5:00 p.m. the preceding workday. 

mailto:fred.h.bruyns@state.or.us
http://www.oregonwcd.org/policy/rules/rules.html

