
 

 

February 21, 2018 
 

Fred Bruyns, Policy Analyst and Rules Coordinator  

Department of Consumer and Business Services  

Workers’ Compensation Division  

350 Winter St. NE 

Salem, OR 97301 
 

Re: OAR 436-060-0025 Rate of Temporary Disability Compensation  
 

Dear Mr. Bruyns et al., 
 

The Oregon School Employees Association (OSEA) represents nearly 22,000 employees working in Oregon 

school districts, community colleges, education service districts, Head Start agencies, libraries and park and 

recreation districts. This includes educators in early learning, special and general education, public safety, health 

and nutrition.  
 

Many of OSEA’s school employees working in special education are not provided with the necessary information 

or supports to avoid injury on the job. OSEA is working with state agencies, the Legislature, school districts and 

other stake holders to address injuries occurring on the job, and as you know change takes time. Until this issue is 

fully addressed school employees are being seriously injured on the job. To illustrate, according to Oregon OSHA 

there are more workers’ compensation benefit claims coming from school employees than from workers in the 

non-commercial construction industry.  
 

Our interest in the temporary rule is to ensure school employees, who have irregular and in most cases seasonal 

work, get the fairest workers’ compensation benefit possible should they be injured on the job. For OSEA 

members, that means a benefit that reflects their wage at the time of injury and the actual number of hours 

worked/per week during the school year. The temporary rule addresses ‘the wage at time of injury’ issue, but does 

not take into account the seasonal nature of school employees’ work.  
 

School employees are often unable to work during breaks from academic terms and years, resulting in as few as 

37 weeks worked during a year. OSEA members are at a disadvantage when hour calculations are based on a 52 

week average instead of on an average of hours worked during the 37 weeks worked. The impact of the workers’ 

compensation benefit to an injured school employee when the average is based on 52 weeks and not on the actual 

time worked results in a 30 percent reduction in the number of hours calculated for benefits.    
 

We recently became aware of this issue and did our best to alert stakeholders at the last rule advisory committee 

meeting on Feb. 1, 2018. It is not our intention to delay the process for the temporary rule but instead to address 

this issue in the final rule making process.  
 

Thank you,  
 

Soren Metzger, Government Relations Specialist  

 

 




