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Regarding (link to current rules): 

(link to) Draft proposed OAR 436-009, Oregon Medical Fee and Payment 

(link to) Draft proposed OAR 436-010, Medical Services 

(link to) Draft proposed OAR 436-015, Managed Care Organizations 

Issue # 1 

Rules: OAR 436-009 Appendix A, OAR 436-010 Appendix A, and OAR 436-010-0210 

Issues: 

• Enrolled House Bill (HB) 3412 (2023) modifies ORS 656.005(12) to give physician

assistants attending physician status for 180 days rather than the current 60 days, and

allows physician assistants to authorize the payment of temporary disability

compensation for 180 days rather than the current 30 days. Further, the bill removes the

18-visit limitation for the number of visits to a physician assistant.

Background: 

• HB 3412 modifies ORS 656.005(12), in relevant part, as follows:

(12)(a) “Doctor” or “physician” means a person duly licensed to practice one or more of

the healing arts in any country or in any state, territory or possession of the United States

within the limits of the license of the licensee.

(b) Except as otherwise provided for workers subject to a managed care contract,

“attending physician” means a doctor, physician or physician assistant who is primarily

responsible for the treatment of a worker’s compensable injury and who is:

(A) A physician licensed under ORS 677.100 to 677.228 by the Oregon Medical Board,

or a podiatric physician and surgeon licensed under ORS 677.805 to 677.840 by the

Oregon Medical Board, an oral and maxillofacial surgeon licensed by the Oregon Board

of Dentistry or a similarly licensed doctor in any country or in any state, territory or

possession of the United States; [or]

(B) For a cumulative total of 60 days from the first visit on the initial claim or for a

cumulative total of 18 visits, whichever occurs first, to any of the medical service

providers listed in this subparagraph, a:

(i) Doctor or physician licensed by the State Board of Chiropractic Examiners for the

State of Oregon under ORS chapter 684 or a similarly licensed doctor or physician in any

country or in any state, territory or possession of the United States; or

[(ii)  Physician assistant licensed by the Oregon Medical Board in accordance with ORS

677.505 to 677.525 or a similarly licensed physician assistant in any country or in any

state, territory or possession of the United States; or]

[(iii)] (ii) Doctor of naturopathy or naturopathic physician licensed by the Oregon Board

of Naturopathic Medicine under ORS chapter 685 or a similarly licensed doctor or

physician in any country or in any state, territory or possession of the United States[.];  or

(C) For a cumulative total of 180 days from the first visit on the initial claim, a

physician assistant licensed by the Oregon Medical Board in accordance with ORS

https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Pages/current-rules.aspx
https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2023R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/HB3412/Enrolled
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677.505 to 677.525 or a similarly licensed physician assistant  in  any  country  or  in  

any  state,  territory  or possession of  the  United  States. 

*** 

• Current rules refer to:

o “Type A” attending physicians (medical doctor, doctor of osteopathic medicine,

oral and maxillofacial surgeon, or podiatric physician and surgeon) as defined in

ORS 656.005(12)(b)(A); and

o “Type B” attending physicians (chiropractic physician, naturopathic physician, or

physician assistant) as defined in current ORS 656.005(12)(b)(B).

• Based on HB 3412’s amendments to ORS 656.005(12)(b), physician assistants are no

longer considered “Type B” attending physicians.

Options: 

• Add physician assistants to the list of providers in OAR 436-010-0210(1) who may

authorize temporary disability and manage medical services:

(b) Type A and B attending physicians, physician assistants, and authorized

nurse practitioners may authorize temporary disability and manage medical

services subject to the limitations of ORS chapter 656 or a managed care

organization contract. (See Appendix A “Matrix for Health Care Provider

Types”).

• Remove “physician assistants” from OAR 436-010-0210(2):

(2) Chiropractic Physicians, and Naturopathic Physicians, Physician Assistants

(Type B providers).

• Create a new OAR 436-010-0210(3):

(3) Physician Assistant.

(a) Prior to providing any compensable medical service or authorizing

temporary disability benefits under ORS 656.245, a physician assistant must 

certify to the director that the provider has reviewed a packet of materials 

provided by the director. 

(b) Physician assistants may assume the role of attending physician for a

cumulative total of 180 days from the first visit on the initial claim with any 

physician assistant. 

(c) Physician assistants may authorize payment of temporary disability

compensation for a period not to exceed 180 days from the date of the first 

visit on the initial claim to any physician assistant. 

(d) Physician assistants may not make findings regarding the worker’s

impairment for the purpose of evaluating the worker’s disability. 

• Update Appendix A (Matrix for health care provider types) to divisions 009 and 010 to

reflect the amended statutes. (See end of this issues document.)

• Other?

Fiscal Impacts, including cost of compliance for small business: 
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How will adoption of this rule affect racial equity in Oregon? 

Recommendations: 
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Issue # 2 

Rule: OAR 436-010-0220(2)(c)(D) and (E), 436-010-0280(1) and (7)(b) 

Issue: Current rules are not consistent with statute amendments by HB 3412. 

Background:  

• Physician assistants are no longer considered “Type B” attending physicians. OAR 436-

010-0220(2)(c) lists certain conditions where a change of attending physician or

authorized nurse practitioner does not count towards the worker’s two changes by choice.

• HB 3412 amends ORS 656.245(2)(b)(D)(iii) as follows: “When an injured worker

treating with a nurse practitioner or physician assistant authorized to provide

compensable services under this section becomes medically stationary within the 180-day

period in which the nurse practitioner or physician assistant is authorized to treat the

injured worker, shall refer the injured worker to a physician qualified to be an attending

physician as defined in ORS 656.005 for the purpose of making findings regarding the

worker’s impairment for the purpose of evaluating the worker’s disability. If a worker

returns to the nurse practitioner or physician assistant after initial claim closure for

evaluation of a possible worsening of the worker’s condition, the nurse practitioner or

physician assistant shall refer the worker to an attending physician and the insurer shall

compensate the nurse practitioner or physician assistant for the examination

performed.”

Options: 

• Amend OAR 436-010-0220(2)(c)(D) to reflect that physician assistants are no longer

considered “Type B” attending physician:

“When the period for treatment or services by a type B attending physician, a 

physician assistant, or an authorized nurse practitioner has expired (See 

Appendix A “Matrix for Health Care Provider Types”);” 

• Amend OAR 436-010-0220(2)(c)(E) to reflect the amendments to ORS

656.245(2)(b)(D)(iii):

“When the physician assistant or the authorized nurse practitioner is required to 

refer the worker to an attending physician for a closing examination or because of 

a possible worsening of the worker’s condition following claim closure;” 

• Amend OAR 436-010-0280(1) to reflect that physician assistants are no longer

considered “Type B” attending physician:

“When a worker becomes medically stationary and there is a reasonable 

expectation of permanent disability, the attending physician must complete a 

closing exam or refer the worker to a consulting physician for all or part of the 

closing exam. If the worker is under the care of an authorized nurse practitioner, 

physician assistant, or a type B attending physician, other than a chiropractic 
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physician, naturopathic physician the provider must refer the worker to a type A 

attending physician to do a closing exam.” 

• Amend OAR 436-010-0280(7)(b) to reflect that physician assistants are no longer

considered “Type B” attending physician:

“An authorized nurse practitioner, physician assistant, or a type B attending 

physician, other than a chiropractic physician, naturopathic physician must refer 

the worker to a type A attending physician for a closing exam. 

• Other?

Fiscal Impacts, including cost of compliance for small business: 

How will adoption of this rule affect racial equity in Oregon? 

Recommendations: 
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Issue # 3 

Rule:  OAR 436-010-0005(7), 436-015-0005(2), 436-015-0040(6), and 436-015-0070 

Issue:   HB 3412 creates a new provision that allows a worker enrolled in a managed care 

organization (MCO) to choose a physician assistant as a come-along provider. 

Background: 

• Current ORS 656.245(5) provides:

(a) A nurse practitioner licensed under ORS 678.375 to 678.390 who is not a member of

the managed care organization is authorized to provide the same level of services as a

primary care physician as established by ORS 656.260 (4) if the nurse practitioner

maintains the worker’s medical records and with whom the worker has a documented

history of treatment, if that nurse practitioner agrees to refer the worker to the managed

care organization for any specialized treatment, including physical therapy, to be

furnished by another provider that the worker may require and if that nurse practitioner

agrees to comply with all the rules, terms and conditions regarding services performed by

the managed care organization.

(b) A nurse practitioner authorized to provide medical services to a worker enrolled in the

managed care organization may provide medical treatment to the worker if the treatment

is determined to be medically appropriate according to the service utilization review

process of the managed care organization and may authorize temporary disability

payments as provided in subsection (2)(b)(D) of this section. However, the managed care

organization may authorize the nurse practitioner to provide medical services and

authorize temporary disability payments beyond the periods established in subsection

(2)(b)(D) of this section.

• HB 3412 replaces current ORS 656.245(5) with the following:

(a) A nurse practitioner, or a physician assistant described in ORS 656.005

(12)(b)(C), who is not a member of the managed care organization is authorized to

provide the same level of services as a primary care physician as established by ORS

656.260 (4) if the nurse practitioner or physician assistant:

(A) Maintains the worker’s medical records;

(B) Has a documented history of treatment with the worker;

(C) Agrees  to refer the worker to the managed care organization for any

specialized treatment, including physical therapy, to be furnished by another

provider that the worker may require; and

(D) Agrees to comply with all the rules, terms and conditions regarding services

performed by the managed care organization.

(b)(A) A nurse practitioner or physician assistant authorized to provide medical

services to a worker enrolled in the managed care organization may:

(i) Provide medical treatment to the worker if the treatment is determined to be

medically appropriate according to the service utilization review process of the

managed care organization; and

(ii) Authorize temporary disability payments as provided in subsection (2)(b)(D) of

this section.
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(B) The managed care organization may also authorize the nurse practitioner or

physician assistant to provide medical services and authorize temporary disability

payments beyond the periods established in subsection (2)(b)(D) of this section.

• OAR 436-015-0040(6) requires each MCO to report to the director denials and

terminations of the authorization of come-along providers.

• OAR 436-015-0070 mandates MCOs to authorize come-along providers, and lists

provider types and requirements.

Options: 

• Amend the definition of “come-along provider” in OAR 436-010-0005(7) and 436-015-

0005(2) as follows:

“Come-along provider” means a primary care physician, chiropractic physician, 

physician assistant, or an authorized nurse practitioner who is not a managed 

care organization (MCO) panel provider and who continues to treat the worker 

when the worker becomes enrolled in an MCO. (See OAR 436-015-0070.) 

• Amend OAR 436-015-0040(6) to include physician assistants:

(6) By April 30 of each year, each MCO must report to the director denials and

terminations of the authorization of come-along providers. The MCO’s report

must include the following:

(a) Provider type (primary care physician, chiropractic physician, physician

assistant, or authorized nurse practitioner) reported by geographic service area

(GSA). 

• Amend OAR 436-015-0070 to include physician assistants:

(1) The MCO must authorize a physician, physician assistant, or nurse

practitioner who is not an MCO panel provider to provide medical services to an

enrolled worker if:

(a) The nurse practitioner is an authorized nurse practitioner under ORS 656.245,

the chiropractic physician or physician assistant has certified to the director that

the chiropractic physician or physician assistant has reviewed required materials

under ORS 656.799, or the physician is a primary care physician under ORS

656.260(4)(g);

(b) The physician, physician assistant, or authorized nurse practitioner agrees to

comply with MCO treatment standards, protocols, utilization review, peer review,

dispute resolution, billing and reporting procedures, and fees for services under

OAR 436-015-0090; and

(c) The physician, physician assistant, or authorized nurse practitioner agrees to

refer the worker to the MCO for specialized care that the worker may require,

including physical therapy.

(2) The physician, physician assistant, or authorized nurse practitioner who is

not an MCO panel provider will be deemed to have maintained the worker’s

medical records and established a documented history of treatment, if the

physician’s, physician assistant’s, or nurse practitioner’s medical records show
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treatment has been provided to the worker prior to the date of injury. 

Additionally, if a worker has selected a physician, physician assistant, or 

authorized nurse practitioner through a private health plan, prior to the date of 

injury, that selected provider will be deemed to have maintained the worker’s 

medical records and established a documented history of treatment prior to the 

date of injury.  

(3) The MCO may not limit the length of treatment authority of a come-along

provider unless such limits are stated in ORS chapter 656.

(4) Notwithstanding section (1), for those workers receiving their medical

services from a facility that maintains a single medical record on the worker, but

provides treatment by multiple primary care or chiropractic physicians, physician

assistants, or authorized nurse practitioners who are not MCO panel providers,

the requirements of sections (1) and (2) will be deemed to be met. In this

situation, the worker must select one primary care or chiropractic physician,

physician assistant, or authorized nurse practitioner to treat the compensable

injury. 

(5) Any questions or disputes relating to the worker's selection of a physician,

physician assistant, or authorized nurse practitioner who is not an MCO panel

provider must be resolved under OAR 436-015-0110.

(6) Any disputes relating to a come-along provider’s or other non-MCO

provider’s compliance with MCO standards and protocols must be resolved under

OAR 436-015-0110.

• Other?

Fiscal Impacts, including cost of compliance for small business: 

How will adoption of this rule affect racial equity in Oregon? 

Recommendations: 
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Issue # 4 

Rule: OAR 436-015-0030(6) 

Issue: HB 3412 authorizes physician assistants to provide the same level of service as nurse 

practitioners for workers’ compensation claims in a managed care organization setting. 

Background: 

• OAR 436-015-0030(6)(b) requires the MCO to have a process that allows workers to

select an authorized nurse practitioner. If the MCO has fewer than three authorized nurse

practitioners within a GSA or the MCO is unable to provide a list of three authorized

nurse practitioners willing to treat a worker within a reasonable period of time, the MCO

must allow the worker to seek treatment outside the MCO from an authorized nurse

practitioner, consistent with the MCO’s treatment and utilization standards and ORS

656.245(2)(b)(D).

• Current rule does not entail such a requirement for physician assistants.

Options: 

• Create a new subsection to OAR 436-015-0030(6):

(c) A process that allows workers to select a physician assistant. If the MCO has

fewer than three physician assistants within a GSA or the MCO is unable to provide 

a list of three physician assistants willing to treat a worker within a reasonable 

period of time, the MCO must allow the worker to seek treatment outside the MCO 

from a physician assistant, consistent with the MCO’s treatment and utilization 

standards and ORS 656.245(2)(b)(D). Such physician assistants cannot be required 

to comply with the terms and conditions regarding services performed by the MCO. 

These physician assistants are not bound by the MCO's treatment and utilization 

standards, however, workers are subject to those standards. 

• Other?

Fiscal Impacts, including cost of compliance for small business: 

How will adoption of this rule affect racial equity in Oregon? 

Recommendations: 
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Issue # 5 

Rule: OAR 436-009-0110(1) and 436-010-0225 

Issue: Under Enrolled HB 2696 (2023), only a licensed sign language interpreter may provide 

signed language interpretation services. Additionally, only a licensed medical sign language 

interpreter may provide signed language interpretation services in a medical setting. Current 

administrative rules allow a worker to choose an interpreter, including sign language interpreter, 

who is not a licensed medical sign language interpreter. 

Background: 

• HB 2696 establishes the State Board of Sign Language Interpreters within the Health

Licensing Office.

• Under HB 2696, the Health Licensing Office may issue a medical sign language

interpreter license to an applicant who meets the requirements established by the State

Board of Sign Language Interpreters.

• HB 2696 provides that only a licensed medical sign language interpreter may provide

signed language interpreter services in a medical setting.

• OAR 436-009-0110(1) and 436-010-0225(1) provide:

A worker may choose a person to communicate with a medical provider when the 

worker and the medical provider speak different languages, including sign 

language. The worker may choose a family member, a friend, an employee of the 

medical provider, or someone who provides interpreter services as a profession. 

However, a representative of the worker’s employer may not provide interpreter 

services. The medical provider may disapprove of the worker’s choice at any time 

the medical provider feels the interpreter services are not improving 

communication with the worker, or feels the interpretation is not complete or 

accurate. 

• Under HB 2696, a worker may continue to choose “a family member, a friend, an

employee of the medical provider, or someone who provides interpretation services as a

profession” as a sign language interpreter; however, such interpreters must be licensed

sign language interpreters.

Options: 

• Amend OAR 436-009-0110(1)(a) and 436-010-0225(1) as follows:

A worker may choose a person to communicate with a medical provider when the 

worker and the medical provider speak different languages, including sign 

language. The worker may choose a family member, a friend, an employee of the 

medical provider, or someone who provides interpreter services as a profession. 

However, for signed language interpretation services, the worker may only 

choose an interpreter who is a medical sign language interpreter licensed 

under Oregon Laws 2023, chapter XX {to be assigned}, section 6. However, a 

A representative of the worker’s employer may not provide any interpreter 

services. The medical provider may disapprove of the worker’s choice at any time 

https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2023R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/HB2696/Enrolled
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the medical provider feels the interpreter services are not improving 

communication with the worker, or feels the interpretation is not complete or 

accurate. 

• Amend OAR 436-009-0110(1)(b) as follows:

(b) When a worker asks an insurer to arrange for interpreter services, the insurer

must:

(A) use For interpretation services, other than signed language

interpretation services, use a certified or qualified health care interpreter

listed on the Oregon Health Care Interpreter Registry of the Oregon

Health Authority available at:

http://www.oregon.gov/OHA/OEI/Pages/HCI-Program.aspx. The

interpreter’s certification or qualification must be in effect on the date the

interpreter services are provided. If no certified or qualified health care

interpreter is available, the insurer may schedule an interpreter of its

choice subject to the limits in subsection (a) of this section.

(B) For signed language interpretation services, use a sign language

interpreter licensed under Oregon Laws 2023, chapter XX {to be 

assigned}.   

• Amend OAR 436-010-0225(2) as follows:

(2) When a worker asks an insurer to arrange for interpreter services, the insurer

must:

(a) use For interpretation services, other than signed language

interpretation services, use a certified or qualified health care interpreter

listed on the Oregon Health Care Interpreter Registry of the Oregon

Health Authority available at:

http://www.oregon.gov/OHA/OEI/Pages/HCI-Program.aspx. The

interpreter’s certification or qualification must be in effect on the date the

interpreter services are provided. If no certified or qualified health care

interpreter is available, the insurer may schedule an interpreter of its

choice subject to the limits in subsection (a) of this section.

▪ (b) For Signed language interpretation services, use a sign language

interpreter licensed under Oregon Laws 2023, chapter XX {to be

assigned}.

http://www.oregon.gov/OHA/OEI/Pages/HCI-Program.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/OHA/OEI/Pages/HCI-Program.aspx
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Housekeeping 

Reason for change: Make language in OAR 436-010-0230(7)(c) consistent with (7)(b). 

OAR 436-010-0230(7)(b): “The ancillary medical service provider must send the treatment plan 

to the prescribing provider and the insurer within seven days of beginning treatment. *** “ 

[Emphasis added] 

OAR 436-010-0230(7)(c): “ *** The ancillary care provider also must send a new treatment plan 

to the insurer and physician or authorized nurse practitioner prescribing provider within seven 

days.” 
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Appendix A - Matrix for health care provider types * See OAR 436-010-0210 
Attending physician 
status (primarily 
responsible for 
treatment of a patient) 

Provide compensable medical 
services for initial injury or 
illness 

Authorize payment of 
temporary disability and 
release the patient to work 

Establish 
impairment 
findings 
(permanent 
disability) 

Provide compensable 
medical services for 
aggravation of injury 
or illness 

Type A attending physician 
 Medical doctor  
 Doctor of osteopathic medicine 
 Oral and maxillofacial surgeon 
 Podiatric physician and surgeon 

Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes 

Type B attending physician 
 Chiropractic physician 
 Naturopathic physician 
 Physician assistant 

Yes, for a total of 60 
consecutive days or 18 
visits, from the date of 
the initial first visit on 
the initial claim with any 
Type B attending 
physician. 

Yes, unless the total of 60 
consecutive days or 18 visits 
from the date of the initial 
first visit on the initial claim 
with any Type B attending 
physician has passed. 
Or, if authorized by an 
attending physician and under 
a treatment plan. (Note: 
physician assistants are not 
required to have a written 
treatment plan) 

Yes, 30 days from the date 
of the first visit with any 
type B attending physician 
on the initial claim, if 
within the specified 18 
visit period. 

No, unless the 
type B 
attending 
physician is a 
chiropractic 
physician. 

No, unless authorized 
by a type A attending 
physician and under a 
written treatment plan 
(Note: physician 
assistants are not 
required to have a 
written treatment 
plan) 

Physician Assistant Yes, for a total of 180 
consecutive days 
from the date of the 
first visit on the 
initial claim with any 
physician assistant. 

Yes, for 180 consecutive 
days from the date of the 
first visit to any physician 
assistant on the initial 
claim. Or if authorized by 
attending physician. 

Yes, for 180 days from 
the date of the first 
visit with any physician 
assistant on the initial 
claim. 

No No, unless 
authorized by a 
type A  attending 
physician. 

 Emergency room physicians No, if the physician 
refers the patient to a 
primary care physician 

Yes An ER physician who is not 
authorized to serve as 
attending physician under 
ORS 656.005(12)(c) may 
authorize temporary 
disability for up to 14 
days, including retroactive 
authorization. 

No, if patient 
referred to a 
primary care 
physician 

Yes 
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Attending physician 
status (primarily 
responsible for 
treatment of a patient) 

Provide compensable medical 
services for initial injury or 
illness 

Authorize payment of 
temporary disability and 
release the patient to work 

Establish 
impairment 
findings 
(permanent 
disability) 

Provide compensable 
medical services for 
aggravation of injury 
or illness 

 Authorized nurse practitioner No Yes, for 180 consecutive days 
from the date of the first visit 
to any authorized nurse 
practitioner on the initial 
claim. 
Or if authorized by attending 
physician.  

Yes, for 180 days from the 
date of the first visit with 
any authorized nurse 
practitioner on the initial 
claim. 

No No, unless authorized 
by the a type A 
attending physician 

 “Other Health Care Providers” 
e.g., acupuncturists

No Yes, for 30 consecutive days 
or 12 visits from the date of 
the first visit on the initial 
claim with any “Other Health 
Care Providers.” 
Thereafter, services must be 
provided under a treatment 
plan and authorized by the 
attending physician. 

No No No, unless referred by 
the a type A 
attending physician 
and under a written 
treatment plan  

* This matrix does not apply to Managed Care Organizations
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436-009-0005 Page 1 436-009-0005

OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

CHAPTER 436, DIVISION 009 

NOTE: Revisions are marked: new text | deleted text. 

436-009-0005 Definitions 

Note: The division has not drafted any changes to these definitions, but Appendix A, Matrix for 

Health Care Provider Types, is part of this rule. 

(1) Unless a term is specifically defined elsewhere in these rules or the context otherwise

requires, the definitions of ORS chapter 656 are hereby incorporated by reference and made

part of these rules.

(2) Abbreviations used in these rules are either defined in the rules in which they are used or

defined as follows:

(a) CMS means Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services.

(b) CPT® means Current Procedural Terminology published by the American Medical

Association.

(c) DMEPOS means durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, and supplies.

(d) EDI means electronic data interchange.

(e) HCPCS means Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System published by CMS.

(f) ICD-9-CM means International Classification of Diseases, Ninth Revision, Clinical

Modification, Vol. 1, 2 & 3 by US Department of Health and Human Services.

(g) ICD-10-CM means International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision, Clinical

Modification.

(h) MCO means managed care organization certified by the director.

(i) NPI means national provider identifier.

(j) OSC means Oregon specific code.

(k) PCE means physical capacity evaluation.
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(l) WCE means work capacity evaluation.

(3) “Administrative review” means any decision making process of the director requested

by a party aggrieved with an action taken under these rules except the hearing process

described in OAR 436-001.

(4) “Ambulatory surgery center” or “ASC” means:

(a) Any distinct entity licensed by the state of Oregon, and operated exclusively for the

purpose of providing surgical services to patients not requiring hospitalization; or

(b) Any entity outside of Oregon similarly licensed, or certified by Medicare or a

nationally recognized agency as an ASC.

(5) “Attending physician” has the same meaning as described in ORS 656.005(12)(b). See

Appendix A, “Matrix for Health Care Provider Types.”

(6) “Authorized nurse practitioner” means a nurse practitioner licensed under

ORS 678.375 to 678.390 who has certified to the director that the nurse practitioner has

reviewed informational materials about the workers’ compensation system provided by the

director and who has been assigned an authorized nurse practitioner number by the director.

(7) “Board” means the Workers’ Compensation Board and includes its Hearings Division.

(8) “Chart note” means a notation made in chronological order in a medical record in which

the medical service provider records such things as subjective and objective findings,

diagnosis, treatment rendered, treatment objectives, and return to work goals and status.

(9) “Clinic” means a group practice in which several medical service providers work

cooperatively.

(10) “CMS form 2552” (Hospital and Hospital Health Care Complex Cost Report) means

the annual report a hospital makes to Medicare.

(11) “Current procedural terminology” or “CPT®” means the Current Procedural

Terminology codes and terminology published by the American Medical Association unless

otherwise specified in these rules.

(12) “Date stamp” means to stamp or display the initial receipt date and the recipient’s name

on a paper or electronic document, regardless of whether the document is printed or

displayed electronically.
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(13) “Days” means calendar days.

(14) “Director” means the director of the Department of Consumer and Business Services or

the director’s designee.

(15) “Division” means the Workers’ Compensation Division of the Department of Consumer

and Business Services.

(16) “Enrolled” means an eligible worker has received notification from the insurer that the

worker is being required to receive treatment under the provisions of a managed care

organization (MCO). However, a worker may not be enrolled who would otherwise be

subject to an MCO contract if the worker’s primary residence is more than 100 miles outside

the MCO’s certified geographical service area.

(17) “Fee discount agreement” means a direct contract entered into between a medical

service provider or clinic and an insurer to discount fees to the medical service provider or

clinic under OAR 436-009-0018.

(18) “Good Cause” means circumstances that are outside the control of a party or

circumstances that are considered to be extenuating by the division.

(19) “Hospital” means an institution licensed by the State of Oregon as a hospital.

(a) “Inpatient” means a patient who is admitted to a hospital prior to and extending past

midnight for treatment and lodging.

(b) “Outpatient” means a patient not admitted to a hospital prior to and extending past

midnight for treatment and lodging. Medical services provided by a health care provider

such as emergency room services, observation room, or short stay surgical treatments that

do not result in admission are also considered outpatient services.

(20) “Initial claim” means the first open period on the claim immediately following the

original filing of the occupational injury or disease claim until the worker is first declared to

be medically stationary by an attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner. For

nondisabling claims, the “initial claim” means the first period of medical treatment

immediately following the original filing of the occupational injury or disease claim ending

when the attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner does not anticipate further

improvement or need for medical treatment, or there is an absence of treatment for an

extended period.

(21) “Insurer” means the State Accident Insurance Fund Corporation; an insurer authorized

under ORS chapter 731 to transact workers’ compensation insurance in the state; or, an
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employer or employer group that has been certified under ORS 656.430 and meets the 

qualifications of a self-insured employer under ORS 656.407. 

(22) “Interim medical benefits” means those services provided under ORS 656.247 on 

initial claims with dates of injury on or after January 1, 2002, that are not denied within 14 

days of the employer’s notice of the claim. 

(23) “Interpreter” means a person who: 

(a) Provides oral or sign language translation; and 

(b) Owns, operates, or works for a business that receives income for providing oral or 

sign language translation. It does not include a medical provider, medical provider’s 

employee, or a family member or friend of the patient. 

(24) “Interpreter services” means the act of orally translating between a medical provider 

and a patient who speak different languages, including sign language. It includes reasonable 

time spent waiting at the location for the medical provider to examine or treat the patient as 

well as reasonable time spent on necessary paperwork for the provider’s office. 

(25) “Legal holidays” means holidays listed in ORS 187.010 and 187.020. 

(26) “Mailed or mailing date” means the date a document is postmarked. Requests 

submitted by facsimile or “fax” are considered mailed as of the date printed on the banner 

automatically produced by the transmitting fax machine. Hand-delivered requests will be 

considered mailed as of the date stamped by the division. Phone or in-person requests, where 

allowed under these rules, will be considered mailed as of the date of the request. 

(27) “Managed care organization” or “MCO” means an organization formed to provide 

medical services and certified in accordance with OAR chapter 436, division 015. 

(28) “Medical provider” means a medical service provider, a hospital, a medical clinic, or a 

vendor of medical services. 

(29) “Medical service” means any medical treatment or any medical, surgical, diagnostic, 

chiropractic, dental, hospital, nursing, ambulances, and other related services, and drugs, 

medicine, crutches and prosthetic appliances, braces and supports and where necessary, 

physical restorative services. 

(30) “Medical service provider” means a person duly licensed to practice one or more of 

the healing arts. 
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(31) “Medical treatment” means the management and care of a patient for the purpose of 

combating disease, injury, or disorder. Restrictions on activities are not considered treatment 

unless the primary purpose of the restrictions is to improve the worker’s condition through 

conservative care. 

(32) “Parties” mean the worker, insurer, MCO, attending physician, and other medical 

provider, unless a specific limitation or exception is expressly provided for in the statute. 

(33) “Patient” means the same as worker as defined in ORS 656.005(28). 

(34) “Physical capacity evaluation” means an objective, directly observed, measurement of 

a patient’s ability to perform a variety of physical tasks combined with subjective analyses of 

abilities by patient and evaluator. Physical tolerance screening, Blankenship’s Functional 

Capacity Evaluation, and Functional Capacity Assessment have the same meaning as 

Physical Capacity Evaluation. 

(35) “Provider network” means a health service intermediary other than an MCO that 

facilitates transactions between medical providers and insurers through a series of contractual 

arrangements. 

(36) “Report” means medical information transmitted in written form containing relevant 

subjective or objective findings. Reports may take the form of brief or complete narrative 

reports, a treatment plan, a closing examination report, or any forms as prescribed by the 

director. 

(37) “Residual functional capacity” means a patient’s remaining ability to perform work-

related activities. A residual functional capacity evaluation includes, but is not limited to, 

capability for lifting, carrying, pushing, pulling, standing, walking, sitting, climbing, 

balancing, bending/stooping, twisting, kneeling, crouching, crawling, and reaching, and the 

number of hours per day the patient can perform each activity. 

(38) “Specialist physician” means a licensed physician who qualifies as an attending 

physician and who examines a patient at the request of the attending physician or authorized 

nurse practitioner to aid in evaluation of disability, diagnosis, or provide temporary 

specialized treatment. A specialist physician may provide specialized treatment for the 

compensable injury or illness and give advice or an opinion regarding the treatment being 

rendered, or considered, for a patient’s compensable injury. 

(39) “Type A attending physician” means an attending physician under ORS 

656.005(12)(b)(A). See Appendix A, “Matrix for Health Care Provider Types.” 



ORDER NO. 23-999 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AND BUSINESS SERVICES 

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION DIVISION 

Draft proposed OREGON MEDICAL FEE AND PAYMENT RULES 
 

436-009-0110 Page 6 436-009-0110 

(40) “Type B attending physician” means an attending physician under ORS 

656.005(12)(b)(B). See Appendix A, “Matrix for Health Care Provider Types.” 

(41) “Usual fee” means the medical provider’s fee charged to the general public for a given 

service. 

(42) “Work capacity evaluation” means a physical capacity evaluation with special 

emphasis on the ability to perform a variety of vocationally oriented tasks based on specific 

job demands. Work Tolerance Screening has the same meaning as Work Capacity 

Evaluation. 

(43) “Work hardening” means an individualized, medically prescribed and monitored, 

work-oriented treatment process. The process involves the patient participating in simulated 

or actual work tasks that are structured and graded to progressively increase physical 

tolerances, stamina, endurance, and productivity to return the patient to a specific job. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4); Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.000 et seq.; 656.005; 656.726(4) 

Hist: Amended 3/11/19 as Admin. Order 19-051, eff. 4/1/19 
Amended 3/2/22 as Admin. Order 22-050, eff. 4/1/22 

See also the Index to Rule History: https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Documents/Rule_history/436_history.pdf. 

436-009-0110 Interpreters 

(1) Choosing an Interpreter. 

(a) A patient worker may choose a person to communicate with a medical provider when 

the patient worker and the medical provider speak different languages, including sign 

language. The patient worker may choose a family member, a friend, an employee of the 

medical provider, or an interpreter. However, for signed language interpretation services, 

the worker may only choose an interpreter who is a medical sign language interpreter 

licensed under Oregon Laws 2023, chapter XX{to be assigned – see Enrolled HB 2696 

(2023)}, section 6.a A representative of the worker’s employer may not provide 

interpreter services. The medical provider may disapprove of the patient’s worker’s 

choice at any time the medical provider feels the interpreter services are not improving 

communication with the patient worker, or feels the interpretation is not complete or 

accurate. 

(b) When a worker asks an insurer to arrange for interpreter services, the insurer must: 

(A) For interpretation services, other than signed language interpretation services, 

use a certified or qualified health care interpreter listed on the Oregon Health Care 

Interpreter Registry of the Oregon Health Authority available at: 

http://www.oregon.gov/OHA/OEI/Pages/HCI-Program.aspx. The interpreter’s 

certification or qualification must be in effect on the date the interpreter services are 

provided. If no certified or qualified health care interpreter is available, the insurer 

https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Documents/Rule_history/436_history.pdf
https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2023R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/HB2696/Enrolled
https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2023R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/HB2696/Enrolled
http://www.oregon.gov/OHA/OEI/Pages/HCI-Program.aspx
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may schedule an interpreter of its choice subject to the limits in subsection (a) of this 

section. 

(B) For signed language interpretation services, use a sign language interpreter 

licensed under Oregon Laws 2023, chapter XX{to be assigned – see Enrolled HB 

2696 (2023)}. 

(2) Billing. 

(a) Interpreters must charge the usual fee they charge to the general public for the same 

service. 

(b) Interpreters may only bill an insurer or, if provided by contract, a managed care 

organization (MCO). However, if the insurer denies the claim, interpreters may bill the 

patient. 

(c) Interpreters may bill for interpreter services and for mileage when the round-trip 

mileage is 15 or more miles. For the purpose of this rule, “mileage” means the number of 

miles traveling from the interpreter’s starting point to the exam or treatment location and 

back to the interpreter’s starting point. 

(d) If the interpreter arrives at the provider’s office for an appointment that was required 

by the insurer or the director, e.g., an independent medical exam, a physician review 

exam, or an arbiter exam, the interpreter may bill for interpreter services and mileage 

according to section (2)(c) of this rule even if: 

(A) The patient worker fails to attend the appointment; or 

(B) The provider has to cancel or reschedule the appointment. 

(e) If interpreters do not know the workers’ compensation insurer responsible for the 

claim, they may contact the division at 503-947-7814. They may also access insurance 

policy information at http://www4.cbs.state.or.us/ex/wcd/cov/index.cfm. 

(3) Billing and Payment Limitations. 

(a) When an appointment was not required by the insurer or director, interpreters may not 

bill any amount for interpreter services or mileage if the provider cancels or reschedules 

the appointment. 

(b) Other than missed appointments for arbiter exams, director required medical exams, 

independent medical exams, worker requested medical exams, and closing exams, an 

interpreter may bill a workers’ compensation client if the client fails to attend the 

appointment and if: 

(A) The interpreter has a written missed-appointment policy that applies not only to 

workers’ compensation clients, but to all clients; 

https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2023R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/HB2696/Enrolled
https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2023R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/HB2696/Enrolled
http://www4.cbs.state.or.us/ex/wcd/cov/index.cfm


ORDER NO. 23-999 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AND BUSINESS SERVICES 

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION DIVISION 

Draft proposed OREGON MEDICAL FEE AND PAYMENT RULES 
 

436-009-0110 Page 8 436-009-0110 

(B) The interpreter routinely notifies all clients of the missed-appointment policy; 

(C) The interpreter’s written missed-appointment policy shows the cost to the client; 

and 

(D) The client has signed the missed-appointment policy. 

(c) The implementation and enforcement of subsection (b) of this section is a matter 

between the interpreter and the client. The division is not responsible for the 

implementation or enforcement of the interpreter’s policy. 

(d) The insurer is not required to pay for interpreter services or mileage when the services 

are provided by: 

(A) A family member or friend of the patient; or 

(B) A medical provider’s employee. 

(4) Billing Timelines. 

(a) Interpreters must bill within: 

(A) 60 days of the date of service; 

(B) 60 days after the interpreter has received notice or knowledge of the responsible 

workers’ compensation insurer or processing agent; or 

(C) 60 days after any litigation affecting the compensability of the service is final, if 

the interpreter receives written notice of the final litigation from the insurer. 

 

(b) If the interpreter bills past the timelines outlined in subsection (a) of this section, the 

interpreter may be subject to civil penalties as provided in ORS 656.254 and OAR 436-

010-0340. 

(c) When submitting a bill later than outlined in subsection (a) of this section, an 

interpreter must establish good cause.  

(d) A bill is considered sent by the date the envelope is post-marked or the date the 

document is faxed. 

(5) Billing Form. 

(a) Interpreters must use an invoice when billing for interpreter services and mileage and 

use Oregon specific code: 

(A) D0004 for interpreter services, excluding American Sign Language interpreter 

services, provided by noncertified interpreters; 

(B) D0005 for American Sign Language interpreter services;  
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(C) D0006 for interpreter services, excluding American Sign Language interpreter 

services, provided by a health care interpreter certified by the Oregon Health 

Authority; and 

(D) D0041 for mileage. 

(b) An interpreter’s invoice must include: 

(A) The interpreter’s name, the interpreter’s company name, if applicable, billing 

address, and phone number; 

(B) The patient’s name; 

(C) The patient’s workers’ compensation claim number, if known; 

(D) The correct Oregon specific codes for the billed services (D0004, D0005, D0006, 

or D0041); 

(E) The workers’ compensation insurer’s name and address; 

(F) The date interpreter services were provided; 

(G) The name and address of the medical provider that conducted the exam or 

provided treatment; 

(H) The total amount of time interpreter services were provided; and 

(I) The mileage, if the round trip was 15 or more miles. 
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(6) Payment Calculations. 

(a) Unless otherwise provided by contract, insurers must pay the lesser of the maximum 

allowable payment amount or the interpreter’s usual fee. 

(b) Insurers must use the following table to calculate the maximum allowable payment 

for interpreters: 

For: The maximum payment is: 

Interpreter services provided by a 

noncertified interpreter of an hour or less 

$65.00 

Interpreter service of an hour or less 

provided by health care interpreters 

certified by the Oregon Health Authority1 

$76.00 

American sign language interpreter 

services of an hour or less 

$76.00 

Interpreter services provided by a 

noncertified interpreter of more than one 

hour 

$16.25 per 15-minute increment; a 15-

minute increment is considered a time 

period of at least eight minutes and no 

more than 22 minutes. 

Interpreter service of more than one hour 

provided by health care interpreters 

certified by the Oregon Health Authority1 

$19.00 per 15-minute increment; a 15-

minute increment is considered a time 

period of at least eight minutes and no 

more than 22 minutes. 

American sign language interpreter 

services of more than one hour 

$19.00 per 15-minute increment; a 15-

minute increment is considered a time 

period of at least eight minutes and no 

more than 22 minutes. 

Mileage of less than 15 miles round trip No payment allowed 

Mileage of 15 or more miles round trip The private vehicle mileage rate published 

in Bulletin 112 

An examination required by the director 

or insurer that the patient fails to attend 

or when the provider cancels or 

reschedules 

$65.00 no-show fee plus payment for 

mileage if 15 or more miles round trip 

An interpreter who is the only person in 

Oregon able to interpret a specific 

language  

The amount billed for interpreter services 

and mileage 

1 A list of certified health care interpreters can be found online under the Health Care 

Interpreter Registry at http://www.oregon.gov/oha/oei/Pages/HCI-Program.aspx . 

http://wcd.oregon.gov/Bulletins/bul_112.pdf
http://www.oregon.gov/oha/oei/Pages/HCI-Program.aspx
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(7) Payment Requirements. 

(a) When the medical exam or treatment is for an accepted claim or condition, the insurer 

must pay for interpreter services and mileage if the round-trip mileage is 15 or more 

miles. 

(b) When the patient fails to attend or the provider cancels or reschedules a medical exam 

required by the director or the insurer, the insurer must pay the no-show fee and mileage 

if the round-trip mileage is 15 or more miles. 

(c) The insurer must retain the invoice and pay the interpreter within: 

(A) 14 days of the date of claim acceptance or any action causing the service to be 

payable, which includes receiving a bill for or chart note of the corresponding 

medical appointment, or 45 days of receiving the invoice, whichever is later; or 

(B) 45 days of receiving the invoice for an exam required by the insurer or director. 

(d) When an interpreter bills within 12 months of the date of service, the insurer may not 

reduce payment due to late billing. 

(e) When an interpreter bills over 12 months after the date of service, the bill is not 

payable, except when a provision of subsection (4)(c) of this rule is the reason the billing 

was submitted after 12 months. 

(f) If the insurer does not receive all the information to process the invoice, other than a 

bill for or chart note of the corresponding medical appointment, the insurer must return 

the invoice to the interpreter within 20 days of receipt. The insurer must provide specific 

information about what is needed to process the invoice. 

(g) When there is a dispute over the amount of a bill or the appropriateness of services 

rendered, the insurer must, within 45 days, pay the undisputed portion of the bill and at 

the same time provide specific reasons for nonpayment or reduction of each service 

billed. 

(h) The insurer must provide a written explanation of benefits for services paid or denied 

and must send the explanation to the interpreter that billed for the services. If the billing 

is done electronically, the insurer or its representative may provide this explanation 

electronically. All the information on the written explanation must be in 10 point size 

font or larger. 

(i) Electronic and written explanations must include: 

(A) The payment amount for each service billed. When the payment covers multiple 

patients, the explanation must clearly separate and identify payments for each patient; 
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(B) The specific reason for nonpayment, reduced payment, or discounted payment for 

each service billed; 

(C) An Oregon or toll-free phone number for the insurer or its representative, and a 

statement that the insurer or its representative must respond to an interpreter’s 

payment questions within two days, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and legal 

holidays; 

(D) The following notice, Web link, and phone number: 

“To access the information about Oregon’s Medical Fee and Payment rules, visit 

www.oregonwcdoc.info or call 503-947-7606”; 

(E) Space for a signature and date; and 

(F) A notice of the right to administrative review as follows: 

“If you disagree with this decision about this payment, please contact {the 

insurer or its representative} first. If you are not satisfied with the response you 

receive, you may request administrative review by the Director of the 

Department of Consumer and Business Services. Your request for review must 

be made within 90 days of the mailing date of this explanation. To request 

review, sign and date in the space provided, indicate what you believe is 

incorrect about the payment, and mail this document with the required 

supporting documentation to the Workers’ Compensation Division, Medical 

Resolution Team, PO Box 14480, Salem, OR 97309-0405. Or you may fax the 

request to the director at 503-947-7629. You must also send a copy of the request 

to the insurer. You should keep a copy of this document for your records.” 

(j) The insurer or its representative must respond to an interpreter’s inquiry about 

payment within two days, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays. The insurer 

or its representative may not refer the interpreter to another entity to obtain the answer. 

(k) The insurer or its representative and an interpreter may agree to send and receive 

payment information by email or other electronic means. Electronic records sent are 

subject to the Oregon Consumer Identity Theft Protection Act under ORS 646A.600 to 

646A.628 and federal law. 

 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4); Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.245, 656.248 

Hist: Amended 3/4/20 as Admin. Order 20-053, eff. 4/1/20 
Amended 3/2/22 as Admin. Order 22-050, eff. 4/1/22 

See also the Index to Rule History: https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Documents/Rule_history/436_history.pdf. 

 
 

 

https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Documents/Rule_history/436_history.pdf
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Appendix A - Matrix for health care provider types* See OAR 436-009-0005 and 436-010-0210 

 Attending physician status 
(primarily responsible for 
treatment of a patient) 

Provide compensable medical 
services for initial injury or illness 

Authorize payment of 
temporary disability and 
release the patient to work 

Establish 
impairment 
findings 
(permanent 
disability) 

Provide compensable 
medical services for 
aggravation of injury or 
illness  

Type A attending physician 
 Medical doctor 
 Doctor of osteopathic medicine 
 Oral and maxillofacial surgeon 
 Podiatric physician and surgeon 

Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes 

Type B attending physician 
 Chiropractic physician 
 Naturopathic physician 
 Physician assistant 

Yes, for a total of 60 
consecutive days or 18 
visits, from the date of the 
initial first visit on the 
initial claim with any Type 
B attending physician. 
 

Yes, unless the total of 60 
consecutive days or 18 visits from 
the date of the initial first visit on 
the initial claim with any Type B 
attending physician has passed. 
Or, if authorized by an attending 
physician and under a treatment 
plan. (Note: physician assistants 
are not required to have a written 
treatment plan) 

Yes, 30 days from the date 
of the first visit with any type 
B attending physician on the 
initial claim, if within the 
specified 18 visit period. 
 

No, unless the 
type B 
attending 
physician is a 
chiropractic 
physician.  

No, unless authorized 
by a type A attending 
physician and under a 
written treatment plan. 
(Note: physician 
assistants are not 
required to have a 
written treatment plan) 

Physician Assistant Yes, for a total of 180 
consecutive days from the 
date of the first visit on 
the initial claim with any 
physician assistant. 

Yes, for 180 consecutive days 
from the date of the first visit to 
any physician assistant on the 
initial claim. Or, if authorized by 
attending physician. 

Yes, for 180 days from the 
date of the first visit with any 
physician assistant on the 
initial claim. 

No No, unless authorized 
by a type A attending 
physician. 

 Emergency room physicians No, if the physician refers 
the patient to a primary 
care physician. 

Yes An ER physician who is not 
authorized to serve as 
attending physician under 
ORS 656.005(12)(c) may 
authorize temporary 
disability for up to 14 days, 
including retroactive 
authorization. 

No, if patient 
referred to a 
primary care 
physician. 

Yes 

 Authorized nurse practitioner 
 

No Yes, for 180 consecutive days 
from the date of the first visit to 
any authorized nurse practitioner 
on the initial claim. 
 
 Or, if authorized by attending 
physician.  

Yes, for 180 days from the 
date of the first visit with any 
authorized nurse practitioner 
on the initial claim. 

No No, unless authorized 
by the a type A 
attending physician. 
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 Attending physician status 
(primarily responsible for 
treatment of a patient) 

Provide compensable medical 
services for initial injury or illness 

Authorize payment of 
temporary disability and 
release the patient to work 

Establish 
impairment 
findings 
(permanent 
disability) 

Provide compensable 
medical services for 
aggravation of injury or 
illness  

 “Other Health Care Providers” 
 e.g. acupuncturists 

No Yes, for 30 consecutive days or 
12 visits from the date of the first 
visit on the initial claim with any 
“Other Health Care Providers.” 
 
 Thereafter, services must be 
provided under a treatment plan 
and authorized by the attending 
physician. 

No No No, unless referred by 
the a type A attending 
physician and under a 
written treatment plan.  

 
* This matrix does not apply to managed care organizations 



DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AND BUSINESS SERVICES 

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION DIVISION 
 

i 

  Medical Services 

Oregon Administrative Rules 

Chapter 436, Division 010 
 

 

 

DRAFT Proposed, to be effective Jan. 1, 2024 
 

TABLE OF CONTENTS 

 

Rule  Page 

436-010-0005 Definitions .........................................................................................................1 

436-010-0210 Attending Physician, Authorized Nurse Practitioner, and 

Temporary Disability Authorization..............................................................5 
(2) Chiropractic Physicians and Naturopathic Physicians (Type B providers). ............................... 5 

(3) Physician Assistants. .................................................................................................................. 6 

(4) Emergency Room Physicians. .................................................................................................... 6 

(5) Authorized Nurse Practitioners. ................................................................................................. 6 

(6) Unlicensed to Provide Medical Services. ................................................................................... 7 

(7) Out-of-State Attending Physicians. ............................................................................................ 7 

436-010-0220 Choosing and Changing Medical Providers ..................................................8 
(2) Changing Attending Physician or Authorized Nurse Practitioner. ............................................ 8 

(3) Insurer Notice to the Worker. ..................................................................................................... 9 

(4) Worker Requesting Additional Changes of Attending Physician or Authorized Nurse 

Practitioner. .................................................................................................................................... 10 

(5) Managed Care Organization (MCO) Enrolled Workers. ......................................................... 11 

436-010-0225 Choosing a Person to Provide Interpreter Services ....................................11 

436-010-0230 Medical Services and Treatment Guidelines ...............................................12 
(4) Consent to Attend a Medical Appointment. ............................................................................. 12 

(5) Request for Records at a Medical Appointment. ..................................................................... 13 

(6) Requesting a Medical Provider Consultation. .......................................................................... 13 

(7) Ancillary Services – Treatment Plan. ....................................................................................... 13 

(8) Massage Therapy...................................................................................................................... 14 

(9) Therapy Guidelines and Requirements. ................................................................................... 14 

(10) Physical Capacity Evaluation. ................................................................................................ 14 

(11) Prescription Medication. ........................................................................................................ 15 

(12) Diagnostics. ............................................................................................................................ 15 

(13) Articles. .................................................................................................................................. 15 

(14) Physical Restorative Services. ................................................................................................ 15 



DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AND BUSINESS SERVICES 

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION DIVISION 

ii 

(15) Lumbar Artificial Disc Replacement Guidelines. .................................................................. 16 

436-010-0280 Determination of Impairment / Closing Exams ..........................................17 

Appendix A - Matrix for health care provider types | See OAR 436-010-0210......................21 

 

Historical rules: https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Documents/Rule_history/436_history.pdf  

 
 

 

https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Documents/Rule_history/436_history.pdf


ORDER NO. 23-XXX 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AND BUSINESS SERVICES 

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION DIVISION 

Draft proposed MEDICAL SERVICES RULES 
 

DIVISION 010 Page 1 436-010-0005 

 

OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

CHAPTER 436, DIVISION 010 
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436-010-0005 Definitions 

(1) Unless a term is specifically defined elsewhere in these rules or the context otherwise 

requires, the definitions of ORS chapter 656 are hereby incorporated by reference and made 

part of these rules. 

(2) “Administrative review” means any decision making process of the director requested 

by a party aggrieved with an action taken under these rules except the hearing process 

described in OAR 436-001. 

(3) “Attending physician” has the same meaning as described in ORS 656.005(12)(b). See 

Appendix A “Matrix for Health Care Provider Types.” 

(4) “Authorized nurse practitioner” means a nurse practitioner licensed under ORS 

678.375 to 678.390 who has certified to the director that the nurse practitioner has reviewed 

informational materials about the workers’ compensation system provided by the director 

and who has been assigned an authorized nurse practitioner number by the director. 

(5) “Board” means the Workers’ Compensation Board and includes its Hearings Division. 

(6) “Chart note” means a notation made in chronological order in a medical record in which 

the medical service provider records information such as subjective and objective findings, 

diagnosis, treatment rendered, treatment objectives, and return-to-work goals and status. 

(7) “Come-along provider” means a primary care physician, chiropractic physician, 

physician assistant, or an authorized nurse practitioner who is not a managed care 

organization (MCO) panel provider and who continues to treat the worker when the worker 

becomes enrolled in an MCO. (See OAR 436-015-0070.) 

(8) “Date stamp” means to stamp or display the initial receipt date and the recipient’s name 

on a paper or electronic document, regardless of whether the document is printed or 

displayed electronically. 
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(9) “Days” means calendar days. 

(10) “Direct control and supervision” means the physician is on the same premises, at the 

same time, as the person providing a medical service ordered by the physician. The physician 

can modify, terminate, extend, or take over the medical service at any time. 

(11) “Direct medical sequela” means a condition that is clearly established medically and 

originates or stems from an accepted condition. For example: The accepted condition is low 

back strain with herniated disc at L4-5. The worker develops permanent weakness in the leg 

and foot due to the accepted condition. The weakness is considered a “direct medical 

sequela.” 

(12) “Director” means the director of the Department of Consumer and Business Services or 

the director’s designee. 

(13) “Division” means the Workers’ Compensation Division of the Department of Consumer 

and Business Services. 

(14) “Eligible worker” means a worker who has filed a claim or who has an accepted claim 

and whose employer is located in an MCO’s authorized geographical service area, covered 

by an insurer that has a contract with that MCO.  

(15) “Enrolled” means an eligible worker has received notification from the insurer that the 

worker is being required to treat under the provisions of a managed care organization 

(MCO). However, a worker may not be enrolled who would otherwise be subject to an MCO 

contract if the worker’s primary residence is more than 100 miles outside the managed care 

organization’s certified geographical service area. 

(16) “Health care practitioner or health care provider” has the same meaning as a 

“medical service provider.” 

(17) “Home health care” means necessary medical and medically related services provided 

in the patient’s home environment. These services may include, but are not limited to, 

nursing care, medication administration, personal hygiene, or assistance with mobility and 

transportation. 

(18) “Hospital” means an institution licensed by the State of Oregon as a hospital. 

(19) “Initial claim” means the first open period on the claim immediately following the 

original filing of the occupational injury or disease claim until the worker is first declared to 

be medically stationary by an attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner. For 

nondisabling claims, the “initial claim” means the first period of medical treatment 
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immediately following the original filing of the occupational injury or disease claim ending 

when the attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner does not anticipate further 

improvement or need for medical treatment, or there is an absence of treatment for an 

extended period. 

(20) “Insurer” means the State Accident Insurance Fund Corporation; an insurer authorized 

under ORS chapter 731 to transact workers’ compensation insurance in the state; or, an 

employer or employer group that has been certified under ORS 656.430 that meets the 

qualifications of a self-insured employer under ORS 656.407. 

(21) “Interim medical benefits” means those services provided under ORS 656.247 on 

initial claims with dates of injury on or after January 1, 2002 that are not denied within 14 

days of the employer’s notice of the claim. 

(22) “Mailed or mailing date” means the date a document is postmarked. Requests 

submitted by facsimile or “fax” are considered mailed as of the date printed on the banner 

automatically produced by the transmitting fax machine. Hand-delivered requests will be 

considered mailed as of the date stamped by the division. Phone or in-person requests, where 

allowed under these rules, will be considered mailed as of the date of the request. 

(23) “Managed care organization” or “MCO” means an organization formed to provide 

medical services and certified in accordance with OAR chapter 436, division 015. 

(24) “Medical evidence” includes, but is not limited to: expert written testimony; written 

statements; written opinions, sworn affidavits, and testimony of medical professionals; 

records, reports, documents, laboratory, X-ray and test results authored, produced, generated, 

or verified by medical professionals; and medical research and reference material used, 

produced, or verified by medical professionals who are physicians or medical record 

reviewers in the particular case under consideration. 

(25) “Medical provider” means a medical service provider, a hospital, a medical clinic, or a 

vendor of medical services.  

(26) “Medical service” means any medical treatment or any medical, surgical, diagnostic, 

chiropractic, dental, hospital, nursing, ambulances, or other related services; drugs, medicine, 

crutches, prosthetic appliances, braces, and supports; and where necessary, physical 

restorative services. 

(27) “Medical service provider” means a person duly licensed to practice one or more of 

the healing arts. 
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(28) “Medical treatment” means the management and care of a patient for the purpose of 

combating disease, injury, or disorder. Restrictions on activities are not considered treatment 

unless the primary purpose of the restrictions is to improve the worker’s condition through 

conservative care. 

(29) “Parties” mean the worker, insurer, MCO, attending physician, and other medical 

provider, unless a specific limitation or exception is expressly provided for in the statute. 

(30) “Patient” means the same as worker as defined in ORS 656.005(28). 

(31) “Physical capacity evaluation” means an objective, directly observed, measurement of 

a worker’s ability to perform a variety of physical tasks combined with subjective analyses of 

abilities by worker and evaluator. Physical tolerance screening, Blankenship’s Functional 

Capacity Evaluation, and Functional Capacity Assessment have the same meaning as 

Physical Capacity Evaluation. 

(32) “Physical restorative services” means those services prescribed by the attending 

physician or authorized nurse practitioner to address permanent loss of physical function due 

to hemiplegia or a spinal cord injury, or to address residuals of a severe head injury. Services 

are designed to restore and maintain the patient’s highest functional ability consistent with 

the patient’s condition.  

(33) “Report” means medical information transmitted in written form containing relevant 

subjective or objective findings. Reports may take the form of brief or complete narrative 

reports, a treatment plan, a closing examination report, or any forms as prescribed by the 

director. 

(34) “Residual functional capacity” means a patient’s remaining ability to perform work-

related activities. A residual functional capacity evaluation includes, but is not limited to, 

capability for lifting, carrying, pushing, pulling, standing, walking, sitting, climbing, 

balancing, bending/stooping, twisting, kneeling, crouching, crawling, and reaching, and the 

number of hours per day the patient can perform each activity. 

(35) “Specialist physician” means a licensed physician who qualifies as an attending 

physician and who examines a patient at the request of the attending physician or authorized 

nurse practitioner to aid in evaluation of disability, diagnosis, or provide temporary 

specialized treatment. A specialist physician may provide specialized treatment for the 

compensable injury or illness and give advice or an opinion regarding the treatment being 

rendered, or considered, for a patient’s compensable injury. 

(36) “Work capacity evaluation” means a physical capacity evaluation with special 

emphasis on the ability to perform a variety of vocationally oriented tasks based on specific 
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job demands. Work Tolerance Screening has the same meaning as Work Capacity 

Evaluation. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.726(4) | Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.000 et seq.; 656.005 
Hist: Amended 3/7/16 as Admin. Order 16-051  

Amended 3/11/19 as Admin. Order 19-052, eff.4/1/19 

See also the Index to Rule History: https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Documents/Rule_history/436_history.pdf. 

436-010-0210 Attending Physician, Authorized Nurse 

Practitioner, and Temporary Disability Authorization 

(1) An attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner is primarily responsible for the 

patient’s care, authorizes temporary disability, and prescribes and monitors ancillary care and 

specialized care. 

(a) No later than five days after becoming a patient’s attending physician or authorized 

nurse practitioner, the provider must notify the insurer using Form 827. Regardless of 

whether Form 827 is filed, the facts of the case and the actions of the provider determine 

if the provider is the attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner. 

(b) Type A and B attending physicians, physician assistants, and authorized nurse 

practitioners may authorize temporary disability and manage medical services subject to 

the limitations of ORS chapter 656 or a managed care organization contract. (See 

Appendix A “Matrix for Health Care Provider Types”) 

(c) Except for emergency services, or otherwise provided for by statute or these rules, all 

treatments and medical services must be approved by the worker’s attending physician or 

authorized nurse practitioner. 

(2) Chiropractic Physicians, and Naturopathic Physicians, Physician 

Assistants (Type B providers). 

(a) Prior to providing any compensable medical service or authorizing temporary 

disability benefits under ORS 656.245, a type B provider must certify to the director that 

the provider has reviewed a packet of materials provided by the director. 

(b) Type B providers may assume the role of attending physician for a cumulative total of 

60 days or 18 visits, whichever occurs first, from the first visit on the initial claim with 

any type B provider. 

(c) Type B providers may authorize payment of temporary disability compensation for a 

period not to exceed 30 days from the date of the first visit on the initial claim to any type 

B provider. 

https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Documents/Rule_history/436_history.pdf
http://wcd.oregon.gov/wcdforms/827.doc
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(d) Except for chiropractic physicians serving as the attending physician at the time of 

claim closure, type B providers may not make findings regarding the worker’s 

impairment for the purpose of evaluating the worker’s disability. 

(3) Physician Assistants. 

(a) Prior to providing any compensable medical service or authorizing temporary 

disability benefits under ORS 656.245, a physician assistant must certify to the director 

that the provider has reviewed a packet of materials provided by the director. 

(b) Physician assistants may assume the role of attending physician for a cumulative total 

of 180 days from the date of the first visit on the initial claim with any physician 

assistant. 

(c) Physician assistants may authorize payment of temporary disability compensation for 

a period not to exceed 180 days from the date of the first visit on the initial claim to any 

physician assistant. 

(d) Physician assistants may not make findings regarding the worker’s impairment for the 

purpose of evaluating the worker’s disability. 

(34) Emergency Room Physicians. 

Emergency room physicians may authorize temporary disability for no more than 14 days 

when they refer the patient to a primary care physician. If an emergency room physician sees 

a patient in the physician’s private practice apart from their duties as an emergency room 

physician, the physician may be the attending physician. 

(45) Authorized Nurse Practitioners. 

(a) In order to provide any compensable medical service, a nurse practitioner licensed in 

Oregon under ORS 678.375 to 678.390 must review a packet of materials provided by the 

division and complete the statement of authorization. (See www.oregonwcdoc.info) Once 

the nurse practitioner has completed the statement of authorization, the division will 

assign an authorized nurse practitioner number. 

(b) An authorized nurse practitioner may: 

(A) Provide compensable medical services to an injured worker for a period of 180 

days from the date of the first visit with a nurse practitioner on the initial claim. 

Thereafter, medical services provided by an authorized nurse practitioner are not 

compensable without the attending physician’s authorization; and 

(B) Authorize temporary disability benefits for a period of up to 180 days from the 

date of the first nurse practitioner visit on the initial claim. 



ORDER NO. 23-XXX 

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AND BUSINESS SERVICES 

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION DIVISION 

DRAFT proposed MEDICAL SERVICES RULES 
 

436-010-0210 Page 7 436-010-0210 

(56) Unlicensed to Provide Medical Services.  

Attending physicians may prescribe services to be carried out by persons not licensed to 

provide a medical service or treat independently. These services must be rendered under the 

physician’s direct control and supervision. Home health care provided by a patient’s family 

member is not required to be provided under the direct control and supervision of the 

attending physician if the family member demonstrates competency to the satisfaction of the 

attending physician. 

(67) Out-of-State Attending Physicians.  

The worker may choose an attending physician outside the state of Oregon with the approval 

of the insurer. When the insurer receives the worker’s request or becomes aware of the 

worker’s request to treat with an out-of-state attending physician, the insurer must give the 

worker written notice of approval or disapproval of the worker’s choice of attending 

physician within 14 days. If an approved out-of-state attending physician does not comply 

with OAR 436-009 or 436-010, the insurer may withdraw approval of the attending 

physician. 

(a) If the insurer approves the worker’s choice of out-of-state attending physician, the 

insurer must immediately notify the worker and the physician in writing of the following: 

(A) The Oregon medical fee and payment rules, OAR 436-009; 

(B) The manner in which the out-of-state physician may provide compensable 

medical treatment or services to Oregon workers; and 

(C) That the insurer cannot pay bills for compensable services above the Oregon fee 

schedule. 

(b) If the insurer disapproves the worker’s out-of-state attending physician or withdraws 

a prior approval, the insurer must send the worker written notice that: 

(A) Clearly states the reasons for the disapproval or withdrawal of the prior approval, 

for example, the out-of-state physician’s refusal to comply with OAR 436-009 and 

436-010; 

(B) Identifies at least two other physicians of the same healing art and specialty in the 

same area that the insurer would approve; 

(C) Informs the worker that if the worker disagrees with the disapproval or 

withdrawal, the worker may request approval from the director under OAR 436-010-

0220; and 

(D) Informs the worker that the worker may be liable for payment of services 

provided after the date of notification if the worker receives further medical services 

from the disapproved or no longer approved out-of-state physician. 

(c) If the insurer withdraws approval of the out-of-state attending physician, the insurer 

must notify the physician of the following in writing:  
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(A) The reasons for withdrawing the approval;  

(B) That any future services provided by that physician will not be paid by the 

insurer; and 

(C) That the worker may be liable for payment of services provided after the date of 

notification. 

(d) The worker or worker’s representative may request approval from the director under 

OAR 436-010-0220 if the worker disagrees with the insurer’s decision to: 

(A) Disapprove an out-of-state attending physician; or 

(B) Withdraw the approval of the out-of-state attending physician. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 656.726(4) 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.005(12), 656.245, 656.260, 656.799 

Hist: Amended 3/11/19 as Admin. Order 19-052, eff.4/1/19 

Amended 6/13/22 as Admin. Order 22-054, eff. 7/1/22 
See also the Index to Rule History: https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Documents/Rule_history/436_history.pdf. 

436-010-0220 Choosing and Changing Medical Providers 

(1) The worker may have only one attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner at a 

time. Concurrent treatment or services by other medical providers, including specialist 

physicians, must be sufficiently different that separate medical skills are needed for proper 

care, and must be based on a written referral by the attending physician or authorized nurse 

practitioner. The referral must specify any limitations and a copy must be sent to the insurer. 

A specialist physician is authorized to provide or order all compensable medical services and 

treatment the physician considers appropriate, unless the referral is for a consultation only. 

The attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner continues to be responsible for 

authorizing temporary disability even if the specialist physician is providing or authorizing 

medical services and treatment. Physicians who provide the following services are not 

considered attending physicians: 

(a) Emergency services; 

(b) Insurer or director requested examinations; 

(c) A Worker Requested Medical Examination; 

(d) Consultations or referrals for specialized treatment or services initiated by the 

attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner; and 

(e) Diagnostic studies provided by radiologists and pathologists upon referral. 

(2) Changing Attending Physician or Authorized Nurse Practitioner.  

The worker may choose to change attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner only 

twice after the initial choice. When the worker requests a referral by the attending physician 

https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Documents/Rule_history/436_history.pdf
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or authorized nurse practitioner to another attending physician or authorized nurse 

practitioner, the change will count as one of the worker’s choices. The limitation of the 

worker’s right to choose attending physicians or authorized nurse practitioners begins with 

the date of injury and extends through the life of the claim. The following are not considered 

changes of attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner initiated by the worker and do 

not count toward the worker’s two changes: 

(a) When the worker has an attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner who 

works in a group setting/facility and the worker sees another group member due to team 

practice, coverage, or on-call routines; 

(b) When the worker’s attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner is not 

available and the worker sees a medical provider who is covering for that provider in 

their absence; or 

(c) When the worker is required to change attending physician or authorized nurse 

practitioner due to conditions beyond the worker’s control. This could include, but is not 

limited to:  

(A) When the attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner terminates practice 

or leaves the area; 

(B) When the attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner is no longer willing 

to treat the worker; 

(C) When the worker moves out of the area requiring more than a 50 mile commute 

to the attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner; 

(D) When the period for treatment or services by a type B attending physician, a 

physician assistant, or an authorized nurse practitioner has expired (See Appendix A 

“Matrix for Health Care Provider Types”); 

(E) When the physician assistant or authorized nurse practitioner is required to refer 

the worker to an attending physician for a closing examination or because of a 

possible worsening of the worker’s condition following claim closure;  

(F) When the worker becomes subject to a managed care organization (MCO) 

contract and must change to an attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner 

on the MCO’s panel;  

(G) When the worker who, at the time of MCO enrollment was required to change 

attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner, is disenrolled from an MCO; or 

(H) When the worker has to change because their attending physician or authorized 

nurse practitioner is no longer qualified as an attending physician or authorized to 

continue providing compensable medical services. 

(3) Insurer Notice to the Worker.  
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When the worker has changed attending physicians or authorized nurse practitioners twice by 

choice or has reached the maximum number of changes established by the MCO, the insurer 

must notify the worker by certified mail that any additional changes by choice must be 

approved by the insurer or the director. If the insurer fails to provide such notice and the 

worker later chooses another attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner, the insurer 

must pay for compensable medical services rendered prior to notice to the worker. The 

insurer must notify the newly selected provider that the worker was not allowed to change 

attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner without approval of the insurer or 

director, and therefore any future services will not be paid. The insurer must pay for 

appropriate medical services rendered prior to this notification. 

(4) Worker Requesting Additional Changes of Attending Physician or 

Authorized Nurse Practitioner. 

(a) If a worker not enrolled in an MCO has changed attending physicians or authorized 

nurse practitioners by choice twice (or for MCO enrolled workers, the maximum allowed 

by the MCO) and wants to change again, the worker must request approval from the 

insurer. The worker must make the request in writing or by signing Form 827. The 

insurer must respond to the worker within 14 days of receiving the request whether the 

change is approved. If the insurer objects to the change, the insurer must:  

(A) Send the worker a written explanation of the reasons; 

(B) Send the worker Form 2332 (Worker’s Request to Change Attending Physician or 

Authorized Nurse Practitioner); and 

(C) Inform the worker that the worker may request director approval by sending 

Form 2332 to the director. 

(b) When the worker submits a request to the director for an additional change of 

attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner, the director may request, in writing, 

additional information. If the director requests additional information, the parties must 

respond in writing within 14 days of the director’s request. 

(c) The director will issue an order advising whether the request for change of attending 

physician or authorized nurse practitioner is approved. On a case-by-case basis the 

director will consider circumstances, such as: 

(A) Whether there is medical justification for a change, e.g., whether the attending 

physician or authorized nurse practitioner can provide the type of treatment or service 

that is appropriate for the worker’s condition. 

(B) Whether the worker has moved to a new area and wants to establish an attending 

physician or authorized nurse practitioner closer to the worker’s residence. 

(d) Any party that disagrees with the director’s order may request a hearing by filing a 

request for hearing as provided in OAR 436-001-0019 within 30 days of the mailing date 

of the order. 

http://wcd.oregon.gov/wcdforms/827.doc
http://wcd.oregon.gov/wcdforms/2332.doc
http://wcd.oregon.gov/wcdforms/2332.doc
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(5) Managed Care Organization (MCO) Enrolled Workers.  

(a) An MCO enrolled worker must choose: 

(A) A panel provider unless the MCO approves a non-panel provider, or 

(B) A “come-along provider” who provides medical services subject to the terms and 

conditions of the governing MCO. 

(b) Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, if a worker is unable to find three 

providers that are willing to treat the worker in a category of providers listed in OAR 

436-015-0030(6)(a) and (b) in the worker’s geographic service area (GSA), the worker 

may contact the MCO for a list of three providers who are willing to treat the worker. If 

the MCO, within a reasonable period of time, is unable to provide a list of three providers 

who are willing to treat the worker, the worker may choose a non-panel provider in that 

category. 

(c) Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, if the MCO has fewer than three 

providers in a category of providers listed in OAR 436-015-0030(6)(a) and (b) in the 

worker’s GSA, the worker may choose a non-panel provider in that category. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 656.726(4) 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.245, 656.252, 656.260 

Hist: Amended 3/11/19 as Admin. Order 19-052, eff.4/1/19 

Amended 6/13/22 as Admin. Order 22-054, eff. 7/1/22 
See also the Index to Rule History: https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Documents/Rule_history/436_history.pdf. 

436-010-0225 Choosing a Person to Provide Interpreter 

Services 

(1) A worker may choose a person to communicate with a medical provider when the worker 

and the medical provider speak different languages, including sign language. The worker 

may choose a family member, a friend, an employee of the medical provider, or someone 

who provides interpreter services as a profession. However, for signed language 

interpretation services, the worker may only choose an interpreter who is a medical sign 

language interpreter licensed under Oregon Laws 2023, chapter XX{to be assigned – see 

Enrolled HB 2696 (2023)}, section 6.a A representative of the worker’s employer may not 

provide interpreter services. The medical provider may disapprove of the worker’s choice at 

any time the medical provider feels the interpreter services are not improving communication 

with the worker, or feels the interpretation is not complete or accurate. 

(2) When a worker asks an insurer to arrange for interpreter services, the insurer must: 

(a) For interpretation services, other than signed language interpretation services, use a 

certified or qualified health care interpreter listed on the Oregon Health Care Interpreter 

Registry of the Oregon Health Authority, available at: 

http://www.oregon.gov/OHA/OEI/Pages/HCI-Program.aspx. The interpreter’s 

certification or qualification must be in effect on the date the interpreter services are 

https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Documents/Rule_history/436_history.pdf
https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2023R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/HB2696/Enrolled
http://www.oregon.gov/OHA/OEI/Pages/HCI-Program.aspx
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provided. If no certified or qualified health care interpreter is available, the insurer may 

schedule an interpreter of its choice subject to the limits in section (1) of this rule. 

(b) For signed language interpretation services, use a sign language interpreter licensed 

under Oregon Laws 2023, chapter XX{to be assigned – see Enrolled HB 2696 (2023)}. 

(3) For the purpose of this rule, interpreter services means the act of orally translating 

between a medical provider and a patient who speak different languages, including sign 

language. It includes reasonable time spent waiting at the location for the medical provider to 

examine or treat the patient as well as reasonable time spent on necessary paperwork for the 

provider’s office. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 656.726(4) 
Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.245 

Adopted 5/27/10, as Admin. Order 10-053, eff. 7/1/10 

Amended 3/13/18 as Admin. Order 18-054, eff. 4/1/18 

 

436-010-0230 Medical Services and Treatment Guidelines 

(1) Medical services provided to the worker must not be more than the nature of the 

compensable injury or the process of recovery requires. Services that are unnecessary or 

inappropriate according to accepted professional standards are not reimbursable. 

(2) If the provider’s chart notes do not provide evidence of frequency, extent, and efficacy of 

treatment and services, the insurer may request additional information from the provider. 

(3) All medical service providers must notify the patient at the time of the first visit of how 

they can provide compensable medical services and authorize temporary disability. Providers 

must also notify patients that they may be personally liable for noncompensable medical 

services. Such notification should be made in writing or documented in the patient’s medical 

record. 

(4) Consent to Attend a Medical Appointment. 

(a) An employer or insurer representative, such as a nurse case manager, may not attend a 

patient’s medical appointment without written consent of the patient. The patient has the 

right to refuse such attendance. 

(A) The consent form must be written in a way that allows the patient to understand it 

and to overcome language or cultural differences.  

(B) The consent form must state that the patient’s benefits cannot be suspended if the 

patient refuses to have an employer or insurer representative present. 

(C) The insurer must keep a copy of the signed consent form in the claim file.  

(b) The patient or the medical provider may refuse to allow an employer or insurer 

representative to attend an appointment at any time, even if the patient previously signed 

https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2023R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/HB2696/Enrolled
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a consent form. The medical provider may refuse to meet with the employer or insurer 

representative. 

(5) Request for Records at a Medical Appointment.  

The medical provider may refuse to provide copies of the patient’s medical records to the 

insurer representative without proof that the person is representing the insurer. The provider 

may charge for any copies that are provided. 

(6) Requesting a Medical Provider Consultation.  

The attending physician, authorized nurse practitioner, or the MCO may request a 

consultation with a medical provider regarding conditions related to an accepted claim. 

MCO-requested consultations that are initiated by the insurer, which include an exam of the 

worker, must be considered independent medical exams under OAR 436-010-0265. 

(7) Ancillary Services – Treatment Plan. 

(a) Ancillary medical service providers include but are not limited to physical or 

occupational therapists, chiropractic or naturopathic physicians, and acupuncturists. 

When an attending or specialist physician or an authorized nurse practitioner prescribes 

ancillary services, unless an MCO contract specifies other requirements, the ancillary 

provider must prepare a treatment plan before beginning treatment. 

(b) The ancillary medical service provider must send the treatment plan to the prescribing 

provider and the insurer within seven days of beginning treatment. If the treatment plan is 

not sent within seven days, the insurer is not required to pay for the services provided 

before the treatment plan is sent.  

(c) The treatment plan must include objectives, modalities, frequency of treatment, and 

duration. The treatment plan may be in any legible format, e.g., chart notes. If the 

ancillary treatment needs to continue beyond the duration stated in the treatment plan, the 

ancillary care provider must obtain a new prescription from the attending or specialist 

physician or authorized nurse practitioner to continue treatment. The ancillary care 

provider also must send a new treatment plan to the insurer and physician or authorized 

nurse practitioner the prescribing provider within seven days. 

(d) Treatment plans required under this subsection do not apply to services provided 

under ORS 656.245(2)(b)(A). (See Appendix A “Other Health Care Providers.”)  

(e) Within 30 days of the beginning of ancillary services, the prescribing provider must 

sign a copy of the treatment plan and send it to the insurer. If the prescribing provider 

does not sign and send the treatment plan, the provider may be subject to sanctions under 

OAR 436-010-0340. However, this will not affect payment to the ancillary provider. 
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(f) Authorized nurse practitioners, out-of-state nurse practitioners, and physician 

assistants directed by the attending physician do not have to provide a written treatment 

plan as prescribed in this section. 

(8) Massage Therapy.  

Unless otherwise provided by an MCO, when an attending physician, authorized nurse 

practitioner, or specialist physician prescribes ancillary services provided by a massage 

therapist licensed by the Oregon State Board of Massage Therapists under ORS 687.011 to 

687.250, the massage therapist must prepare a treatment plan before beginning treatment. 

Massage therapists not licensed in Oregon must provide their services under the direct 

control and supervision of the attending physician. Treatment plans provided by massage 

therapists must follow the same requirements as those for ancillary providers in section (7) of 

this rule. 

(9) Therapy Guidelines and Requirements. 

(a) Unless otherwise provided by an MCO’s utilization and treatment standards, the usual 

range for therapy visits is up to 20 visits in the first 60 days, and four visits a month 

thereafter. This is only a guideline and insurers should not arbitrarily limit payment based 

on this guideline nor should the therapist arbitrarily use this guideline to exceed 

medically necessary treatment. The medical record must provide clinical justification 

when therapy services exceed these guidelines. When an insurer believes the treatment is 

inappropriate or excessive, the insurer may request director review as outlined in OAR 

436-010-0008.  

(b) Unless otherwise provided by an MCO, a physical therapist must submit a progress 

report to the attending physician (or authorized nurse practitioner) and the insurer every 

30 days or, if the patient is seen less frequently, after every visit. The progress report may 

be part of the physical therapist’s chart notes and must include:  

(A) Subjective status of the patient; 

(B) Objective data from tests and measurements conducted; 

(C) Functional status of the patient; 

(D) Interpretation of above data; and 

(E) Any change in the treatment plan.  

(10) Physical Capacity Evaluation.  

The attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner must complete a physical capacity or 

work capacity evaluation within 20 days after the insurer or director requests the evaluation. 

If the attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner does not wish to perform the 

evaluation, they must refer the patient to a different provider within seven days of the 
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request. The attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner must notify the insurer and 

the patient in writing if the patient is incapable of participating in the evaluation. 

(11) Prescription Medication. 

(a) Unless otherwise provided by an MCO contract, prescription medications do not 

require prior approval even after the worker is medically stationary. For prescription 

medications, the insurer must reimburse the worker based on actual cost. When a 

provider prescribes a brand-name drug, pharmacies must dispense the generic drug (if 

available) according to ORS 689.515. When a worker insists on receiving the brand-name 

drug, and the prescribing provider has not prohibited substitution, the worker must pay 

the total cost of the brand-name drug out-of-pocket and request reimbursement from the 

insurer. However, if the insurer has previously notified the worker that the worker is 

liable for the difference between the generic and brand-name drug, the insurer only has to 

reimburse the worker the generic price of the drug. Except in an emergency, prescription 

drugs for oral consumption dispensed by a physician’s or authorized nurse practitioner’s 

office are compensable only for the initial supply to treat the worker, up to a maximum of 

10 days. Unless otherwise provided by an MCO contract, the worker may choose the 

dispensing provider.  

(b) Providers should review and are encouraged to adhere to the division’s opioid 

guidelines. See https://wcd.oregon.gov/medical/provider-training/Pages/opioid-

guidelines.aspx. 

(12) Diagnostics.  

Unless otherwise provided by an MCO, a medical provider may contact an insurer in writing 

for pre-authorization of diagnostic imaging studies other than plain film X-rays. The request 

must be separate from chart notes and clearly state that it is a request for pre-authorization of 

diagnostic imaging studies. Pre-authorization is not a guarantee of payment. The insurer must 

respond to the provider’s request in writing whether the service is pre-authorized or not pre-

authorized within 14 days of receipt of the request. 

(13) Articles.  

Articles, including but not limited to, beds, hot tubs, chairs, and gravity traction devices are 

not compensable unless a report by the attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner 

clearly justifies the need. The report must:  

(a) Establish that the nature of the injury or the process of recovery requires the item be 

furnished, and  

(b) Specifically explain why the worker requires the item when the great majority of 

workers with similar impairments do not.  

(14) Physical Restorative Services. 

https://wcd.oregon.gov/medical/provider-training/Pages/opioid-guidelines.aspx
https://wcd.oregon.gov/medical/provider-training/Pages/opioid-guidelines.aspx
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(a) Physical restorative services include, but are not limited to, a regular exercise 

program, personal exercise training, or swim therapy. They are not services to replace 

medical services usually prescribed during the course of recovery. Physical restorative 

services are not compensable unless:  

(A) The nature of the worker’s limitations requires specialized services to allow the 

worker a reasonable level of social or functional activity, and 

(B) A report by the attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner clearly 

justifies why the worker requires services not usually considered necessary for the 

majority of workers. 

(b) Trips to spas, resorts, or retreats, whether prescribed or in association with a holistic 

medicine regimen, are not reimbursable unless special medical circumstances are shown 

to exist. 

(15) Lumbar Artificial Disc Replacement Guidelines. 

(a) Lumbar artificial disc replacement is always inappropriate for patients with the 

following conditions (absolute contraindications): 

(A) Metabolic bone disease – for example, osteoporosis; 

(B) Known spondyloarthropathy (seropositive and seronegative); 

(C) Posttraumatic vertebral body deformity at the level of the proposed surgery; 

(D) Malignancy of the spine; 

(E) Implant allergy to the materials involved in the artificial disc; 

(F) Pregnancy – currently; 

(G) Active infection, local or systemic; 

(H) Lumbar spondylolisthesis or lumbar spondylolysis; 

(I) Prior fusion, laminectomy that involves any part of the facet joint, or facetectomy 

at the same level as proposed surgery; or 

(J) Spinal stenosis – lumbar – moderate to severe lateral recess and central stenosis. 

(b) Lumbar artificial disc replacement that is not excluded from compensability under 

OAR 436-009-0010(12)(g) may be inappropriate for patients with the following 

conditions, depending on severity, location, etc. (relative contraindications): 

(A) A comorbid medical condition compromising general health, for example, 

hepatitis, poorly controlled diabetes, cardiovascular disease, renal disease, 

autoimmune disorders, AIDS, lupus, etc.; 

(B) Arachnoiditis; 

(C) Corticosteroid use (chronic ongoing treatment with adrenal immunosuppression); 
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(D) Facet arthropathy – lumbar – moderate to severe, as shown radiographically; 

(E) Morbid obesity – BMI greater than 40; 

(F) Multilevel degenerative disc disease – lumbar – moderate to severe, as shown 

radiographically; 

(G) Osteopenia – based on bone density test; 

(H) Prior lumbar fusion at a different level than the proposed artificial disc 

replacement; or 

(I) Psychosocial disorders – diagnosed as significant to severe. 

Stat. Auth: ORS 656.726(4); Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.245, 656.248, 656.252 
Hist: Amended 3/11/19 as Admin. Order 19-052, eff.4/1/19 

Amended 3/3/21 as Admin. Order 21-052, eff. 4/1/21 

See also the Index to Rule History: https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Documents/Rule_history/436_history.pdf. 

436-010-0280 Determination of Impairment / Closing 

Exams 

(1) When a worker becomes medically stationary and there is a reasonable expectation of 

permanent disability, the attending physician must complete a closing exam or refer the 

worker to a consulting physician for all or part of the closing exam. If the worker is under the 

care of an authorized nurse practitioner, physician assistant, or a type B attending 

naturopathic physician, other than a chiropractic physician, the provider must refer the 

worker to a type A attending physician to do a closing exam.  

(2) The closing exam must be completed under OAR 436-030 and 436-035 and Bulletin 239. 

(See Appendix A "Matrix for Health Care Provider Types".)  

(3) When the attending physician completes the closing exam, the attending physician has 14 

days from the medically stationary date to send the closing report to the insurer. When the 

attending physician does not complete the closing exam, the attending physician must 

arrange, or ask the insurer to arrange, a closing exam with a consulting physician within 

seven days of the medically stationary date. 

(4) When an attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner requests a consulting 

physician to do the closing exam, the consulting physician has seven days from the date of 

the exam to send the report to the attending physician for concurrence or objections. Within 

seven days of receiving the closing exam report, the attending physician must state in writing 

whether the physician concurs with or objects to all or part of the findings of the exam, and 

send the concurrence or objections with the report to the insurer.  

(5) The attending physician must specify the worker’s residual functional capacity if: 

https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Documents/Rule_history/436_history.pdf
http://wcd.oregon.gov/Bulletins/bul_239.pdf
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(a) The attending physician has not released the worker to the job held at the time of 

injury because of a permanent work restriction caused by the compensable injury, and  

(b) The worker has not returned to the job held at the time of injury, because of a 

permanent work restriction caused by the compensable injury. 

(6) Instead of specifying the worker’s residual functional capacity under section (5) of this 

rule, the attending physician may refer the worker for:  

(a) A second-level physical capacities evaluation (see OAR 436-009-0060) when the 

worker has not been released to return to the job held at the time of injury, has not 

returned to the job held at the time of injury, has returned to modified work, or has 

refused an offer of modified work; or  

(b) A work capacities evaluation (see OAR 436-009-0060) when there is a question of 

the worker’s ability to return to suitable and gainful employment. The provider may also 

be required to specify the worker’s ability to perform specific job tasks. 

(7) When the insurer issues a major contributing cause denial on an accepted claim and the 

worker is not medically stationary:  

(a) The attending physician must do a closing exam or refer the worker to a consulting 

physician for all or part of the closing exam; or  

(b) An authorized nurse practitioner, physician assistant, or a type B attending 

naturopathic physician, other than a chiropractic physician, must refer the worker to a 

type A attending physician for a closing exam. 

(8) The closing report must include all of the following: 

(a) Findings of permanent impairment. 

(A) In an initial injury claim, the closing report must include objective findings of any 

permanent impairment that is caused in any part by an accepted condition or a direct 

medical sequela of an accepted condition. 

(B) In a new or omitted condition claim, the closing report must include objective 

findings of any permanent impairment that is caused in any part by an accepted new 

or omitted condition or a direct medical sequela of an accepted new or omitted 

condition. 

(C) In an aggravation claim, the closing report must include objective findings of any 

permanent impairment that is caused in any part by an accepted worsened condition 

or a direct medical sequela of an accepted worsened condition. 

(D) In an occupational disease claim, the closing report must include objective 

findings of any permanent impairment that is caused in any part by an accepted 

occupational disease or a direct medical sequela of an accepted occupational disease. 
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(b) Findings documenting permanent work restrictions. 

(A) If the worker has no permanent work restriction, the closing report must include a 

statement indicating that: 

(i) The worker has no permanent work restriction; or 

(ii) The worker is released, without restriction, to the job held at the time of 

injury. 

(B) In an initial injury claim, the closing report must include objective findings 

documenting any permanent work restriction that: 

(i) Prevents the worker from returning to the job held at the time of injury; and 

(ii) Is caused in any part by an accepted condition or a direct medical sequela of 

an accepted condition. 

(C) In a new or omitted condition claim, the closing report must include objective 

findings documenting any permanent work restriction that: 

(i) Prevents the worker from returning to the job held at the time of injury; and 

(ii) Is caused in any part by an accepted new or omitted condition or a direct 

medical sequela of an accepted new or omitted condition. 

(D) In an aggravation claim, the closing report must include objective findings 

documenting any permanent work restriction that: 

(i) Prevents the worker from returning to the job held at the time of injury; and 

(ii) Is caused in any part by an accepted worsened condition or a direct medical 

sequela of an accepted worsened condition. 

(E) In an occupational disease claim, the closing report must include objective 

findings documenting any permanent work restriction that: 

(i) Prevents the worker from returning to the job held at the time of injury; and 

(ii) Is caused in any part by an accepted occupational disease or a direct medical 

sequel of an accepted occupational disease. 

(c) A statement regarding the validity of an impairment finding is required in the 

following circumstances: 

(A) If the examining physician determines that a finding of impairment is invalid, the 

closing report must include a statement that identifies the basis for the determination 

that the finding is invalid. 

(B) If the examining physician determines that a finding of impairment is valid but 

the finding is not addressed by any applicable validity criteria under Bulletin 239, the 

closing report must include a statement that identifies the basis for the determination 

that the finding is valid. 

http://wcd.oregon.gov/Bulletins/bul_239.pdf
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(C) If the examining physician chooses to disregard applicable validity criteria under 

Bulletin 239 because the criteria are medically inappropriate for the worker, the 

closing report must include a statement that describes why the criteria would be 

inappropriate. 

 

Stat. Auth: ORS 656.726(4), 656.245(2)(b) | Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.245, 656.252 
Hist: Amended 8/20/15 as Admin. Order 15-060, eff. 10/1/15 

Amended 4/10/17 as Admin. Order 17-052, eff. 4/11/17 (temp) 

Amended 9/7/17 as Admin. Order 17-055, eff. 10/8/17  
Amended 3/13/18 as Admin. Order 18-054, eff. 4/1/18 

See also the Index to Rule History: https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Documents/Rule_history/436_history.pdf. 

 

http://wcd.oregon.gov/Bulletins/bul_239.pdf
https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Documents/Rule_history/436_history.pdf
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Appendix A - Matrix for health care provider types *     See OAR 436-010-0210 

 
 

Attending physician status 
(primarily responsible for 
treatment of a patient) 

Provide compensable medical 
services for initial injury or illness 

Authorize payment of 
temporary disability and 
release the patient to work 

Establish  
impairment 
findings 
(permanent 
disability) 

Provide compensable 
medical services for 
aggravation of injury or 
illness  

Type A attending physician 
 Medical doctor  
 Doctor of osteopathic medicine 
 Oral and maxillofacial surgeon 
 Podiatric physician and surgeon 

Yes Yes Yes Yes Yes 

Type B attending physician 
 Chiropractic physician 
 Naturopathic physician 
 Physician assistant 

Yes, for a total of 60 
consecutive days or 18 
visits, from the date of the 
initial first visit on the 
initial claim with any Type 
B attending physician. 
 

Yes, unless the total of 60 
consecutive days or 18 visits from 
the date of the initial first visit on 
the initial claim with any Type B 
attending physician has passed. 
Or, if authorized by an attending 
physician and under a treatment 
plan. (Note: physician assistants 
are not required to have a written 
treatment plan) 

Yes, 30 days from the date 
of the first visit with any type 
B attending physician on the 
initial claim, if within the 
specified 18 visit period. 
 

No, unless the 
type B 
attending 
physician is a 
chiropractic 
physician.  

No, unless authorized 
by a type A attending 
physician and under a 
written treatment plan. 
(Note: physician 
assistants are not 
required to have a 
written treatment plan) 

Physician Assistant Yes, for a total of 180 
consecutive days from the 
date of the first visit on 
the initial claim with any 
physician assistant. 

Yes, for 180 consecutive days 
from the date of the first visit to 
any physician assistant on the 
initial claim. Or, if authorized by 
attending physician. 

Yes, for 180 days from the 
date of the first visit with any 
physician assistant on the 
initial claim. 

No No, unless authorized 
by a type A attending 
physician. 

 Emergency room physicians No, if the physician refers 
the patient to a primary 
care physician. 

Yes An ER physician who is not 
authorized to serve as 
attending physician under 
ORS 656.005(12)(c) may 
authorize temporary 
disability for up to 14 days, 
including retroactive 
authorization. 

No, if patient 
referred to a 
primary care 
physician. 

Yes 

 Authorized nurse practitioner 
 

No Yes, for 180 consecutive days 
from the date of the first visit to 
any authorized nurse practitioner 
on the initial claim. 
 Or, if authorized by attending 
physician.  

Yes, for 180 days from the 
date of the first visit with any 
authorized nurse practitioner 
on the initial claim. 

No No, unless authorized 
by the a type A 
attending physician. 
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Attending physician status 
(primarily responsible for 
treatment of a patient) 

Provide compensable medical 
services for initial injury or illness 

Authorize payment of 
temporary disability and 
release the patient to work 

Establish  
impairment 
findings 
(permanent 
disability) 

Provide compensable 
medical services for 
aggravation of injury or 
illness  

 “Other Health Care Providers” 
 e.g., acupuncturists 

No Yes, for 30 consecutive days or 
12 visits from the date of the first 
visit on the initial claim with any 
“Other Health Care Providers.” 
Thereafter, services must be 
provided under a treatment plan 
and authorized by the attending 
physician. 

No No No, unless referred by 
the a type A attending 
physician and under a 
written treatment plan.  

 

* This matrix does not apply to Managed Care Organizations 
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OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 

CHAPTER 436, DIVISION 015 

 
 

NOTE: Revisions are marked: new text | deleted text. 

 

436-015-0005 Definitions 
Unless a term is specifically defined elsewhere in these rules or the context otherwise requires, 

the definitions of ORS chapter 656 and OAR 436-010-0005 are hereby incorporated by reference 

and made a part of these rules. 

(1) “Administrative review” means any decision making process of the director requested 

by a party aggrieved with an action taken under these rules except the hearing process 

described in OAR 436-001.  

(2) “Come-along provider” means a primary care physician, a chiropractic physician, 

physician assistant, or an authorized nurse practitioner who is not a managed care 

organization (MCO) panel provider and who is authorized to continue to treat the worker 

when the worker becomes enrolled in an MCO.  

(3) “Coordinated health care program” means an employer program providing for the 

coordination of a separate policy of group health insurance coverage with the medical portion 

of workers’ compensation coverage, for some or all of the employer’s workers, which 

provides workers with health care benefits even if a workers’ compensation claim is denied.  

(4) “Division” means the Workers’ Compensation Division of the Department of Consumer 

and Business Services. 

(5) “Geographic service area (GSA)” means an area of the state in which a managed care 

organization may be authorized by the director of the Department of Consumer and Business 

Services to provide managed care services. There are 15 geographic service areas in Oregon.  

(6) “Good cause” means circumstances that are outside the control of a party or 

circumstances that are considered to be extenuating by the division. 

(7) “Group of medical service providers” means individuals duly licensed to practice one 

or more of the healing arts who join together to provide medical services through a managed 

care organization, whether or not such providers have an ownership interest in the managed 

care organization.  
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(8) “Health care provider” means an entity or group of entities, organized to provide health 

care services or to provide administrative support services to entities providing health care 

services. An entity solely organized to become an MCO under these rules is not, in and of 

itself, a health care provider.  

(9) “Insurer” means the State Accident Insurance Fund Corporation; an insurer authorized 

under ORS chapter 731 to transact workers’ compensation insurance in the state; or an 

employer or employer group that has been certified under ORS 656.430 and meets the 

qualifications of a self-insured employer under ORS 656.407.  

(10) “Managed care organization” (“MCO”) means an organization formed to provide 

medical services and certified under these rules.  

(11) “Medical provider” means a medical service provider, a hospital, a medical clinic, or a 

vendor of medical services.  

(12) “Medical service” means any medical treatment or any medical, surgical, diagnostic, 

chiropractic, dental, hospital, nursing, ambulance, and other related services, and drugs, 

medicine, crutches and prosthetic appliances, braces and supports, and, where necessary, 

physical restorative services.  

(13) “Medical service provider” means a person duly licensed to practice one or more of 

the healing arts.  

(14) “Non-qualifying employer” means either:  

(a) An insurer as defined in this rule, with respect to managed care services to be 

provided to any subject worker; or  

(b) An employer as defined under ORS 656.005(13), other than a health care provider, 

with respect to managed care services to such employer’s employees.  

(15) “Primary care physician” means a physician qualified to be an attending physician 

according to ORS 656.005(12)(b)(A) and who is a general practitioner, family practitioner, 

or internal medicine practitioner.  

(16) “Show-cause hearing” means an informal meeting with the director or the director’s 

designee where the MCO is provided an opportunity to explain and present evidence 

regarding any proposed orders by the director to suspend or revoke the MCO’s certification.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.260, 656.726(4) 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.260 
Hist: Amended 2/16/12, as Admin. Order 12-052, eff. 4/1/12 

Amended 3/13/18, as Admin. Order 18-055, eff. 4/1/18 
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Amended 3/11/19, as Admin. Order 19-053, eff. 4/1/19 

See also the Index to Rule History : https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Documents/Rule_history/436_history.pdf. 

436-015-0030 Applying for Certification 
(1) General. 

The MCO must establish one place of business in Oregon where it administers the plan and 

keeps membership and other records as required by OAR 436-015-0050.  

(2) An applicant for MCO certification must submit the following to the director:  

(a) One copy of the application;  

(b) A nonrefundable fee of $1,500, payable to the Department of Consumer and Business 

Services, which will be deposited in the Consumer and Business Services Fund;  

(c) Affidavits of each person identified in section (3) of this rule, certifying that the 

individuals have no interest in a non-qualifying employer under OAR 436-015-0009;  

(d) An affidavit of an authorized officer or agent of the MCO, certifying that the MCO is 

financially sound and able to meet all requirements necessary to ensure delivery of 

services under the plan, and in full satisfaction of the MCO’s obligations under ORS 

656.260 and OAR 436-015; and  

(e) A complete organizational chart.  

(3) MCO Application. 

The application must include:  

(a) The name of the MCO;  

(b) The name of each person who will be a director of the MCO;  

(c) The name of the person who will be the president of the MCO;  

(d) The title and name of the person who will be the day-to-day administrator of the 

MCO;  

(e) The title and name of the person who will be the administrator of the financial affairs 

of the MCO; and  

(f) A proposed plan for the MCO, in which the applicant identifies how the MCO will 

meet the requirements of ORS 656.260 and these rules.  

https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Documents/Rule_history/436_history.pdf
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(4) MCO Plan - General. 

The plan must: 

(a) Identify the initial GSAs in which the MCO intends to operate (For details regarding 

GSAs, see http://wcd.oregon.gov/Bulletins/bul_248.pdf);  

(b) Describe the reimbursement procedures for all services provided;  

(c) Include a process for developing financial incentives directed toward reducing service 

costs and utilization, without sacrificing quality of service;  

(d) Describe how the MCO will provide insurers with information that will inform 

workers of all choices of medical service providers and how workers can access those 

providers;  

(e) Provide a procedure to identify those providers in the panel provider listings that only 

accept existing patients as workers’ compensation patients. This procedure is not subject 

to the timeframe established in subsection (f) of this section;  

(f) Provide a procedure for regular, periodic updating of all MCO panel provider listings, 

with published updates being available electronically no less frequently than every 30 

days; and  

(g) Include a procedure for timely and accurate reporting to the director of necessary 

information regarding medical and health care service costs and utilization under OAR 

436-015-0040 and OAR 436-009.  

(5) MCO Plan – Worker Rights. 

The plan must provide a description of the times, places, and manner of providing services 

adequate to ensure that workers governed by the MCO will be able to:  

(a) Access an MCO panel with a minimum of one attending physician within the MCO 

for every 1,000 workers covered by the plan;  

(b) Receive initial treatment by an MCO attending physician or authorized nurse 

practitioner of the worker’s choice within 24 hours of the MCO’s knowledge of the need 

or a request for treatment;  

(c) Receive treatment by an MCO attending physician or authorized nurse practitioner of 

the worker’s choice within five working days after the worker received treatment outside 

the MCO;  

(d) Receive information on a 24-hour basis regarding medical services available within 

the MCO which must include:  

(A) The worker’s right to receive emergency or urgent care, and  

http://wcd.oregon.gov/Bulletins/bul_248.pdf
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(B) The MCO’s regular hours of operation if the worker needs assistance selecting an 

attending physician or has other questions.  

(e) Access medical providers, including attending physicians, within a reasonable 

distance from the worker’s place of employment, considering the normal patterns of 

travel. For purposes of this rule, 30 miles (one way) in urban areas and 60 miles (one 

way) in rural areas will be considered a reasonable distance;  

(f) Receive treatment by a non-MCO medical service provider when the enrolled worker 

resides outside the MCO’s geographic service area. Such a worker may only select non-

MCO providers if they practice closer to the worker’s residence than an MCO provider of 

the same category, and if the provider agrees to the MCO’s terms and conditions;  

(g) Receive services that meet quality, continuity, and other treatment standards which 

will provide all medical and health care services in a manner that is timely, effective, and 

convenient for the worker;  

(h) Receive specialized medical services the MCO is not able to provide;  

(i) Receive treatment that is consistent with MCO treatment standards and protocols; and  

(j) Remain eligible to receive authorized temporary disability benefits up to 14 days after 

the mailing date of a notice enrolling the worker’s claim in an MCO under OAR 436-

010-0270(4)(d). 

(6) MCO Plan – Choice of Provider. 

The plan must provide all of the following:  

(a) An adequate number, but not less than three, of medical service providers from each 

provider category. For purposes of these rules, the categories include acupuncturist, 

chiropractic physician, dentist, naturopathic physician, optometric physician, osteopathic 

physician, medical physician, and podiatric physician. The worker also must be able to 

choose from at least three physical therapists and three psychologists. The plan must meet 

this section’s requirements unless the MCO establishes that there is not an adequate 

number of providers in a given category able or willing to become members of the MCO.  

For categories where the MCO has fewer than three providers within a GSA or the MCO 

is unable to provide a list of three providers willing to treat a worker within a reasonable 

period of time, the MCO must allow the worker to seek treatment outside the MCO from 

a provider in each of those categories, consistent with the MCO's treatment and 

utilization standards. Such providers cannot be required to comply with the terms and 

conditions regarding services performed by the MCO. These providers are not bound by 

the MCO's treatment and utilization standards, however, workers are subject to those 

standards.  
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(b) A process that allows workers to select an authorized nurse practitioner. If the MCO 

has fewer than three authorized nurse practitioners within a GSA or the MCO is unable to 

provide a list of three authorized nurse practitioners willing to treat a worker within a 

reasonable period of time, the MCO must allow the worker to seek treatment outside the 

MCO from an authorized nurse practitioner, consistent with the MCO’s treatment and 

utilization standards and ORS 656.245(2)(b)(D). Such authorized nurse practitioners 

cannot be required to comply with the terms and conditions regarding services performed 

by the MCO. These authorized nurse practitioners are not bound by the MCO's treatment 

and utilization standards, however, workers are subject to those standards.  

(c) A process that allows workers to select a physician assistant. If the MCO has fewer 

than three physician assistants within a GSA or the MCO is unable to provide a list of 

three physician assistants willing to treat a worker within a reasonable period of time, the 

MCO must allow the worker to seek treatment outside the MCO from a physician 

assistant, consistent with the MCO’s treatment and utilization standards and ORS 

656.245(2)(b)(D). Such physician assistants cannot be required to comply with the terms 

and conditions regarding services performed by the MCO. These physician assistants are 

not bound by the MCO's treatment and utilization standards, however, workers are 

subject to those standards. 

(cd) A procedure that allows workers to receive compensable medical treatment from a 

come-along provider authorized under OAR 436-015-0070.  

(7) MCO Plan – Provider Agreement. 

The plan must include:  

(a) A copy of the standard provider agreement used by the MCO when a provider is 

credentialed as a panel provider. Variations from the standard provider agreement must 

be identified when the plan is submitted for director approval; and  

(b) An initial list of the names, addresses, and specialties of the individuals who will 

provide services within the MCO. This list must indicate which medical service providers 

will act as attending physicians in each GSA.  

(8) MCO Plan – Monitoring and Reviewing. 

The plan must provide adequate methods for monitoring and reviewing contract matters 

between providers and the MCO to ensure appropriate treatment and to prevent inappropriate 

or excessive treatment including:  

(a) A program of peer review and utilization review including the following:  

(A) Pre-admission review of elective admissions to the hospital and elective 

surgeries;  

(B) Individual case management programs, which identify ways to provide 

appropriate care at a lower cost for cases that are likely to prove very costly;  
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(C) Physician profile analysis which may include such information as each 

physician’s total charges, number and costs of related services provided, workers’ 

temporary disability, and total number of visits in relation to care provided by other 

physicians to patients with the same diagnosis. A physician’s profile must not be 

released to anyone outside the MCO without the physician’s specific written consent, 

except that the physician’s profile must be released to the director without the 

necessity of obtaining such consent;  

(D) Concurrent review programs that periodically review the care after treatment has 

begun, to determine if continued care is medically necessary;  

(E) Retrospective review programs that examine care after treatment has ended, to 

determine if the treatment rendered was excessive or inappropriate; and  

(F) Second surgical opinion programs that allow workers to obtain the opinion of a 

second physician when elective surgery is recommended.  

(b) A quality assurance program that includes:  

(A) A system for monitoring and resolving problems or complaints, including those 

identified by workers or medical service providers;  

(B) Physician peer review, which must be conducted by a group designated by the 

MCO or the director. The group must include members of the same healing art as the 

peer-reviewed physician; and  

(C) A standardized medical record system.  

(c) A program that specifies the criteria for selection and termination of panel providers 

and the process for peer review. The processes for terminating a panel provider and peer 

review must provide adequate notice and hearing rights.  

(d) A program that meets the requirements of ORS 656.260(4) for monitoring and 

reviewing other contract matters not covered under peer review, service utilization 

review, dispute resolution, or quality assurance.  

(9) MCO Plan – Dispute Resolution. 

The plan must include:  

(a) A procedure for internal dispute resolution to resolve complaints by enrolled workers, 

medical providers, and insurers under OAR 436-015-0110. The internal dispute 

resolution procedure must include a provision allowing waiver of the 30-day period to 

appeal a decision to the MCO upon a showing of good cause; and  

(b) A description of how the MCO will ensure workers continue to receive appropriate 

care in a timely, effective, and convenient manner throughout the dispute resolution 

process.  
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(10) MCO Plan – Treatment Standards, Protocols, and Guidelines. 

The plan must include a summary of the process the MCO uses to develop and review 

treatment standards, protocols, and guidelines. This summary must describe:  

(a) The medical expertise or specialties of the clinicians involved;  

(b) The basis for protocols and guidelines;  

(c) The criteria the MCO uses in selecting the conditions for which the MCO implements 

treatment protocols and guidelines;  

(d) The criteria the MCO uses to determine when it needs to review or revise its 

treatment standards, protocols, and guidelines;  

(e) How the MCO makes the standards, protocols, and guidelines available to its panel 

providers and how it notifies them of any changes; and  

(f) A process that provides sufficient flexibility to allow treatment outside the standards, 

protocols, and guidelines if such treatment is supported by persuasive professional 

medical judgment and reasoning.  

(11) MCO Plan – Return to Work and Workplace Safety. 

The plan must provide other programs that meet the requirements of ORS 656.260(4), 

including:  

(a) A program involving cooperative efforts by the workers, the employer, the insurer, 

and the MCO to promote early return to work for enrolled workers; and  

(b) A program involving cooperative efforts by the workers, the employer, and the MCO 

to promote workplace safety and health consultative and other services. The program 

must:  

(A) Identify how the MCO will promote such services;  

(B) Describe the method by which the MCO will report to the insurer within 30 days 

of knowledge of occupational injuries and illnesses involving serious physical harm 

as defined by OAR 437-001, occupational injury and illness trends as observed by the 

MCO, and any observations that indicate an injury or illness was caused by a lack of 

diligence of the employer;  

(C) Describe the method by which the MCO’s knowledge of needed loss control 

services will be communicated to the insurer for determining the need for services as 

detailed in OAR 437-001;  

(D) Include a provision that all notifications to the insurer from the MCO will be 

considered as a request to the insurer for services as detailed in OAR 437-001; and  
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(E) Include a provision that the MCO will maintain complete files of all notifications 

for a period of three years following the date that notification was given by the MCO.  

(12) Within 45 days of receipt of all information required for certification, the director will 

notify the applicant if the certification is approved, the effective date of the certification, and 

the initial GSA(s) of the MCO. If the certification is denied, the director will provide the 

applicant with the reason for the denial.  

(13) The director will not certify an MCO if the plan does not meet the requirements of these 

rules.  

(14) Communication Liaison. 

The MCO must designate an in-state communication liaison(s) to the director and the 

insurers at the MCO’s established in-state location. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.260, 656.726(4) 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.260 

Hist: Amended 3/13/18, as Admin. Order 18-055, eff. 4/1/18  
Amended 3/11/19, as Admin. Order 19-053, eff. 4/1/19 

Minor correction under ORS 183.335(7) (WCD 17-2020), filed and eff. 11/30/20 

See also the Index to Rule History : https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Documents/Rule_history/436_history.pdf . 

436-015-0040 Reporting Requirements for an MCO 
(1) In order to ensure the MCO complies with the requirements of these rules, each MCO 

must provide the director with a copy of the entire text of any MCO-insurer contract, signed 

by the insurer and the MCO, within 30 days of execution of such contracts. The MCO must 

submit any amendments, addenda, or cancellations to the director within 30 days of 

execution. 

(2) When an MCO-insurer contract contains a specific expiration or termination date, the 

MCO must provide the director with a copy of a contract extension, signed by the insurer and 

MCO, no later than the contract’s date of expiration or termination. If the MCO does not 

provide the director with a copy of the signed contract extension, workers will no longer be 

subject to the contract after it expires or terminates. 

(3) The MCO must submit any amendments to the certified plan to the director for approval. 

The MCO must not take any action based on a proposed amendment until the director 

approves the amendment. 

(4) Within 45 days of the end of each calendar quarter, each MCO must provide the 

following information to the director, current on the last day of the quarter, as described in 

Bulletin 247:  

https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Documents/Rule_history/436_history.pdf
https://wcd.oregon.gov/Bulletins/bul_247.pdf
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(a) The quarter being reported;  

(b) MCO certification number; and  

(c) Membership listings by category of medical service provider (in coded form), 

including:  

(A) Provider names;  

(B) Specialty (in coded form);  

(C) Tax ID number;  

(D) National Provider Identifier (NPI) number; and  

(E) Business address and phone number. When a medical service provider has 

multiple offices, only one office location in each geographic service area needs to be 

reported.  

(5) By April 30 of each year, each MCO must provide the director with the following 

information for the previous calendar year:  

(a) A summary of any sanctions or punitive actions taken by the MCO against its 

members; and 

(b) A summary of actions taken by the MCO’s peer review committee.  

(6) By April 30 of each year, each MCO must report to the director denials and terminations 

of the authorization of come-along providers. The MCO’s report must include the following:  

(a) Provider type (primary care physician, chiropractic physician, physician assistant, or 

authorized nurse practitioner) reported by geographic service area (GSA).  

(b) The number of workers affected, reported by provider type.  

(c) Date of denial or termination.  

(d) One or more of the following reasons for each denial or termination:  

(A) Provider failed to meet the MCO’s credentialing standards within the last two 

years;  

(B) Provider has been previously terminated from serving as an attending physician 

within the last two years;  

(C) Treatment is not according to the MCO’s service utilization process;  

(D) Provider failed to comply with the MCO’s terms and conditions after being 

granted come-along privileges; or  

(E) Other reasons authorized by statute or rule. 
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(7) An MCO must report any new board members or shareholders to the director within 14 

days of such changes. These parties must submit affidavits certifying they have no interest in 

an insurer or other non-qualifying employer as described under OAR 436-015-0009. 

(8) Nothing in this rule limits the director’s ability to require information from the MCO as 

necessary to monitor the MCO’s compliance with the requirements of these rules. 

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.260, 656.726(4) 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.260 

Hist: Amended 11/12/13 as Admin. Order 13-060, eff. 1/1/14 
Amended 3/13/18, as Admin. Order 18-055, eff. 4/1/18 

Amended 3/9/23, as Admin. Order 23-052, eff. 4/1/23 

See also the Index to Rule History : https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Documents/Rule_history/436_history.pdf . 

436-015-0070 Come-along Providers 
(1) The MCO must authorize a physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner who is not 

an MCO panel provider to provide medical services to an enrolled worker if:  

(a) The nurse practitioner is an authorized nurse practitioner under ORS 656.245, the 

chiropractic physician or physician assistant has certified to the director that the 

chiropractic physician or physician assistant has reviewed required materials under ORS 

656.799, or the physician is a primary care physician under ORS 656.260(4)(g); 

(b) The physician, physician assistant, or authorized nurse practitioner agrees to comply 

with MCO treatment standards, protocols, utilization review, peer review, dispute 

resolution, billing and reporting procedures, and fees for services under OAR 436-015-

0090; and  

(c) The physician, physician assistant, or authorized nurse practitioner agrees to refer the 

worker to the MCO for specialized care that the worker may require, including physical 

therapy.  

(2) The physician, physician assistant, or authorized nurse practitioner who is not an MCO 

panel provider will be deemed to have maintained the worker’s medical records and 

established a documented history of treatment, if the physician’s, physician assistant’s, or 

nurse practitioner’s medical records show treatment has been provided to the worker prior to 

the date of injury. Additionally, if a worker has selected a physician, physician assistant, or 

authorized nurse practitioner through a private health plan, prior to the date of injury, that 

selected provider will be deemed to have maintained the worker’s medical records and 

established a documented history of treatment prior to the date of injury.  

(3) The MCO may not limit the length of treatment authority of a come-along provider unless 

such limits are stated in ORS chapter 656.  

https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Documents/Rule_history/436_history.pdf
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(4) Notwithstanding section (1), for those workers receiving their medical services from a 

facility that maintains a single medical record on the worker, but provides treatment by 

multiple primary care or chiropractic physicians, physician assistants, or authorized nurse 

practitioners who are not MCO panel providers, the requirements of sections (1) and (2) will 

be deemed to be met. In this situation, the worker must select one primary care or 

chiropractic physician, physician assistant, or authorized nurse practitioner to treat the 

compensable injury.  

(5) Any questions or disputes relating to the worker's selection of a physician, physician 

assistant, or authorized nurse practitioner who is not an MCO panel provider must be 

resolved under OAR 436-015-0110.  

(6) Any disputes relating to a come-along provider’s or other non-MCO provider’s 

compliance with MCO standards and protocols must be resolved under OAR 436-015-0110.  

Stat. Auth.: ORS 656.260, 656.726(4) 

Stats. Implemented: ORS 656.260 
Hist: Amended 11/12/13 as Admin. Order 13-060, eff. 1/1/14  

Amended 3/13/18, as Admin. Order 18-055, eff. 4/1/18 

Amended 6/13/22 as Admin. Order 22-055, eff. 7/1/22 
See also the Index to Rule History : https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Documents/Rule_history/436_history.pdf . 

https://wcd.oregon.gov/laws/Documents/Rule_history/436_history.pdf
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