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Common Pitfalls and Emerging 
Workers' Compensation Trends 

for Oregon Employers 
WCD Ed Conference – Oct. 17, 2019

Department of Consumer and 
Business Services (DCBS)

• Oregon’s largest business regulatory and
consumer protection agency
– Oregon OSHA

– Building Codes Division

– Division of Financial Regulation

– Oregon Health Insurance Marketplace

– Ombudsmen 
• Injured Workers

• Small Businesses

Department of Consumer and 
Business Services (DCBS)

• Workers’ Compensation Division

• Workers’ Compensation Board

• Central Services Division
– Includes DCBS Accounts Receivable Unit

2019 Workers' Compensation Educational Conference
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Workers’ Compensation Division 
(WCD)

We don’t sell insurance,
we regulate the industry

The Grand Bargain
Benefit to Employer:

• Exclusive remedy
– Medical

– Indemnity

• Litigation reduced

The Grand Bargain

Benefit to worker: 

• No fault system
– Course and scope

• Subject employers must have coverage
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What is Coverage?

• Have a workers’ comp insurance policy

• Self-insured – Must be authorized by WCD

• Worker leasing coverage

Who is an Employer?

Anyone “who contracts to pay
a remuneration for and secures the right

to direct and control the services
of any person.”

– ORS 656.005(13)(a)

Who is a Subject Employer?

• Any employer who has at least one
subject worker
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Who is a Subject Worker?

• All workers are subject, except those exempted
in ORS Chapter 656

• Exemptions include:
– Independent contractors

– Business owners

– Industry-specific exemptions

Who is an Independent 
Contractor?

• Defined by ORS 670.600
– Independently established business

– Free from direction and control

– Tools and equipment

– Risk of loss

– Several other criteria

– Important distinction in workers comp law**

Nonclaim Investigations

• ECU learns of possible NCE
– Previous policy cancellation

– New business match with Employment Department

– Referral from other agency – (e.g., CCB and Oregon
OSHA)

– Miscellaneous referral
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Nonclaim Investigations

• If compliance is achieved and there is no claim
involved, case is closed with no order issued.

• If employer does not respond and does not
come into compliance, an order is issued
declaring a noncomplying employer.

Claim Investigations

• Worker files a claim

• Coverage not found

• ECU investigates
– Does employer have coverage?

– If no coverage, is employer subject?

Claim Investigations

• If employer is found to be NCE
– Order is issued

• Includes penalty for avoiding premiums

– If there is a claim, it is referred to assigned claims
agent for processing.

• Currently, Sedgwick Claims Management 
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Penalty Orders

• First penalty is two times the premiums avoided.
– Payroll during NCE period X assigned risk rate from

Scopes Manual X 2
• Minimum penalty is $1,000

• If no payroll provided, premiums estimated.
– Number of workers X AWW X number of weeks NCE

X assigned risk rate X 2
• Could be enormous

Subsequent Penalties

• Up to $250 per day for each calendar day the
employer is NCE.

• Can also result in referral to DOJ to seek
injunction in circuit court.

• A violation of injunction is contempt of court and
could result in incarceration.

Claims Costs

• Sedgwick bills DCBS for all claims costs,
including:
– Sedgwick’s administrative fee

• Currently $1,130 per claim, per year claim is open

– Medical payments (doctor and rehab)

– Indemnity payments (time loss, permanent disability,
return-to-work costs)

– Litigation and investigation costs, whether claim is
accepted OR denied
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Claims Costs

• Referral to Sedgwick is to get the claim
processed according to Chapter 656

- Sedgwick will investigate, then either accept or
deny claim.

- If accepted, Sedgwick pays all benefits due for the
life of the claim.

- If claim is denied, the worker is given appeal rights.

Claims Costs

• All claims costs billed to DCBS are charged to
the responsible parties of the NCE:
– Might include a claim reopening from an injury that

occurred many years ago

– Might include extensive litigation fees from a claim
that is ultimately denied

Responsible Parties

• All people responsible for the business
– Sole proprietors

– Partners

– Officers and directors of a corporation

– Members of an LLC

– Directors of a nonprofit

– Trustees of an estate or bankruptcy proceeding
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Responsible Parties

• They are jointly and severally liable for all
penalties and claims costs.
– They are not protected by corporate veil.

– Claims costs are not dischargeable in bankruptcy.

– Civil penalties are given preference in bankruptcy 
proceedings.

Horror Stories

• Sandwich shop, cut finger

• Mom and Pop accountants

• Logging crew

Summary

• If you are a subject employer, you must have
coverage.

– It’s required by law

– It protects you and your business

– It ensures a level playing field
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Miscellany

• Home office might nullify homeowners
exemption

• Call WCD or SBO if you need to know

• An “if any” policy will protect you.

WCD Contact

Questions about coverage,
penalties, independent contractors, or 

worker leasing:

Employer Compliance Unit

503-947-7815
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Agenda

• Background
• Commonly asked questions
• Horror Story
• Lessons learned
• Emerging trends

Small Business Ombudsman

• Position created in 1990
• Workers Compensation resource for

businesses of all sizes.
• We answer questions about whether you

need to buy insurance and how to buy
insurance

• We also help handle billing, classification and
audit disputes.

Commonly Asked Questions

• Do I need to buy workers compensation
insurance?

• How do I buy workers compensation
insurance?

• Can you help with a dispute with my workers
compensation insurer

• How do I appeal my workers compensation
premium audit?
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• Background Ms.Winnie Bago buys a new RV
business with 30 employees.  They are covered under
the workers compensation policy of the previous
owner. An old friend offers to handle their payroll
administration to relieve their administrative
headaches.  After a year the old friend says that they
are a Employee Leasing Company and that they can
take them on as a client and provide workers
compensation insurance for her company.

Horror story:
an insurance policy comes back 

to haunt them

• Ms. Bago agrees to this and cancels their policy and is
now covered by the leasing company.  It is now time for
the insurance company to conduct an audit and will
need payroll and classification information to complete
the audit.  The Employee Leasing Company is not
responding to requests for this information.  Several
months go by and the policy is cancelled for non-
compliance.  They receive a bill for $65,000 additional
premium.  A week after the policy is cancelled a claim is
filed for a back strain and Ms. Bago gets a call from the
Workers Compensation Division that an investigator will
be visiting them tomorrow.

Horror story:
an insurance policy comes back 

to haunt them

horror study
a case study

POST-MORTEM
• The policy of the prior owner cannot be assumed by the new owner.  A new 

policy needed to be issued for the new owner on the date of the change of 
ownership

• The old friend’s payroll company came under investigation for tax fraud.

• The old friend’s payroll company was not a licensed employee leasing company

• Because no accurate payroll was ever reported, the audit issued by the insurance 
company used an inflated estimate of payroll and placed all payroll in the highest
rated classification, resulting in an audit bill of $65,000.

• The business is placed in non-compliance and cannot get new coverage until 
they pay the bill.

• The WCD investigator determines that the company is in non-compliance and
issues an order with a large civil penalty.

• The claims cost plus handling charges are now the responsibility of the business.
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Employer Lessons Learned

• No Agent or Wrong Agent
• Not getting a policy when ownership changed
• Trusting and not verifying friend’s business
• Not calling Small Business Ombudsman earlier

SBO Information

• David Waki
Portland 971-283-0997
Salem 503-378-4209
David.Waki@Oregon.gov

• Caitlin Breitbach
503-947-7897
Caitlin.S.Breitbach@Oregon.
gov

DCBS/SBO
PO Box 14480

Salem, OR 97309-0405
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